BBB Accredited Business since

Auffenberg Hyundai

Additional Locations

Phone: (618) 622-9001 Fax: (618) 628-0697 View Additional Phone Numbers 1300 Central Park Dr, O Fallon, IL 62269 http://www.auffenberghyundai.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Auffenberg Hyundai meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Auffenberg Hyundai include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 18 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

18 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 11
Total Closed Complaints 18

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Auffenberg Hyundai
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 25, 2004 Business started: 04/01/1989 Business started locally: 04/01/1989 Business incorporated 03/02/1989 in
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Matt Auffenberg, General Manager Dave Adler, Business Manager Mr. James Auffenberg Jr., President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Matt Auffenberg, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Repair & Service

Alternate Business Names
Auffenberg Hyundai Inc

Additional Locations

  • 1300 Central Park Dr

    O Fallon, IL 62269 (618) 622-9001 (866) 762-6724 (866) 424-1111 (618) 401-4300

  • 1690 New Car Dr

    O Fallon, IL 62269

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/28/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife and I recently purchased a Pre-owned vehicle from the Augffenberg Hyundai lot. We purchased a 2010 Chevy Impala on or around 2/27/16. We were informed that this vehicle is a Certified Pre-owned vehicle with a 84 month/100,000 mile power train warranty. However, we weren't properly informed of the Certified Pre-owned status. I noticed after leaving the dealership that in our glove box with our owner's manual, was a booklet talking about warranties and maintenence called " Certified Pre-owned Owner Care. " In this booklet, it talked about how every CPO GM vehicle receives a 2 year/30,000 mile maintenance plan. Not even 2 months after our vehicle purchase, out dashboard indicator is telling us to " change oil soon." This ownercare maintenance booklet explained that any/all maintenance performed must be from an authorized GM dearlership. We set up an appointment with our nearest GM dealership and while we were there, they informed us that they couldn't perform the maintenance because our vehicle's vin number didn't show up in their system as a CPO vehicle. The technician informed us to go back and talk to someone from the dealership we bought our car from and ask to have our vin number entered into the system as a CPO. Auffenberg received the car the night before we bought it. Our saleman informed us that it got a full quality preowned check, including an oil change. However, our car is telling us to change the oil soon, well before the typical 3 month/3,000 mile recommendation. Also, the power steering fluid reservoir was critically low. It is obvious that 1) the car didn't get the proper full quality check as advertised and 2) it didn't get an oil change. I went to Auffenberg Hyundai to explain our dilemma to the service manager **** ****, only to leave appalled, insulted, and outraged that they wouldn't make any compromise to resolve this issue and/or make me satisfied in any way. He finally was able to see and understand my point of view only after insulting me and implying that I was only there to receive something for free. He never once thanked me for my time or apologized for his rude behavior. I will never do business with Auffenberg ever again and I will go out of my way to let as many people as I know about my situation, their lack of customer care and service, and steer them away. One thing I've learned in retail and sales is " A good word goes far but, a bad word goes farther. "

Desired Settlement: I deserve an apology first and foremost. The service manager **** **** requires remedial customer service training. My car needs it's oil changed and my vin number needs to be entered into the system as a CERTIFIED PRE-OWNED VEHICLE so, my services can be performed at any GM dealership like it's suppose to.

Business Response: The vehicle purchased is an Auffenberg Hyundai certified pre-owned vehicle.  The certified warranty that comes with the vehicle at no additional charge is an 84 month/100,000 mile powertrain warranty from the original in service date.  There is a small deductible associated with this warranty.  The customer should have a copy of this contract in his/her records, but if not, we will gladly mail one to the customer.  This warranty is an Auffenberg Hyundai warranty and not a GM warranty.  If the customer would like to purchase a GM warranty, he/she will have to take the vehicle to a GM dealer because we are a Hyundai dealer and not a GM dealer.  Different programs offer different things, and our contract states what our warranty covers and provides.  We are sorry for the confusion and for the way the customer was treated. 

4/21/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/4/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought my 2011 Hyundai Sonata Limited in to Auffenberg Hyundai in O'Fallon IL because of two recall notices I received in the mail. In the process of making those repairs, I was called and I was told that the car needed a new battery, had an oil leak, needed four new tires, and needed an alignment. The price I was quoted for tires was unreasonable so I said no to the tires but okay'd the rest of the work. I picked up my car and paid for a wheel alignment, an oil change, brake system flush, and a new battery. The total cost was $428.92. Two days later I bought my Sonata to ***** in Shiloh, IL and purchased four new tires. In the process of replacing tires ***** called and said I needed an alignment. I told them I just had one two days ago at Hyundai. They told me that is not possible and that the car is badly in need of an alignment. They provided me with the before and after diagnostics which clearly showed that when the car was bought in to ***** just that morning the front end was seriously out of the specified range. I have paperwork showing the before specs. It was very clear that Auffenberg Hyundai never did a wheel alignment. I paid over $100 for service that was not done. I went ahead and got the alignment done by ***** since I can no longer trust the work of Hyundai. ***** provided me with the after specs as well. Product_Or_Service: car repair, wheel alignment

Desired Settlement: I want to be reimbursed for the cost of the alignment $109.95 and I would like confirmation in writing that the other works was actually performed. I am now skeptical that my car got a new battery, oil change, brake system flush.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2016/02/04) */ This situation was resolved very quickly and very professionally by the Service Manager at Auffenberg Hyundai. I believe he did a very thorough and fair investigation into the matter. I received a full reimbursement for the alignment. I am so impressed with how this was handled. I will continue to do business with them because I believe this is business that is trying very hard to make improvements and be better.

9/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dishonest, Deceptive, and misleading sales practices as well as a failure for the dealership to take any responsibility. On about 10 July 2015 I purchased my third vehicle from this dealership. Prior to the sale I had worked for several days with a salesman to work a deal on my trade. I was asking $6500 for the trade and then the car was to be marked up a few thousand dollars and sold immediately to my stepson. I wanted to do this for several reasons. One was because he was graduating college the following week and just started working a job on the other side of St Louis. As everyone knows St Louis is a very dangerous city and I did not want to see him diving to a night job on the other side of St Louis in an undependable car. During the entire process of doing the paperwork on the new car I was constantly working with the salesman on my stepson's financing. I told the salesman if there were any issues with the financing I would be willing to cosign if necessary. I kept discussing the trade during the entire process of the new car sale. At one point the salesman told me that they noticed some hail damage on my roof so they could only give me $5600 for the trade in. Kind of ironic but that is exactly what I still owed on it. I agreed only because I knew I could make it because my stepson would not have as much to pay on the trade. As soon as the new car paperwork was done I told the salesman that I was ready to start working on my stepson's financing and purchasing the trade. He told me that seeing that it was 5 o'clock on a Friday afternoon the car would be going into their shop to be inspected and it would take a few days for them to look it over. He said as long as nothing major was wrong with it he should be sitting in t by Tuesday. The following day we called the dealership no less than 5 times to check on the financing and they said they were still working on it. At lunch that day they informed us that someone walked into the dealership and paid cash for it and it was sold. I was lied to and cheated. They stole my deal. I demanded to speak with a Manager and the best answer he could give me was. Oh well you should have sold it to him. I wanted my stepson to finance it so he could build credit. The Manager also stated that there were plenty more like it out there. He said he had no control over used cars coming and leaving the lot. If that is the case he has no need being a Manager. I have opened and closed a case with Hyundai Corporate who said this must be handled at the dealership level. Over a moth has gone by and no one from the dealership has reached out to me. By the way my stepson got financed at their used car lot and ended up paying 4 thousand more for a care with more miles. How were they able to finance him so quick but they couldn't at the main dealership. I will be taking my business elsewhere and advising others to do the same!! If I do not get satisfaction from them I will take them to court

Desired Settlement: I asked Corporate to have someone from leadership reach out to me and no one has. I want to speak with the **** ********** or the GM in person. I feel like I have lost over 5K between what they gave me for the trade and what my stepson had to pay for an older less reliable car

Business Response: The only question that I have if the customer wanted us to "hold" the car so his stepson could purchase it, why wouldn't he just sell his stepson the car himself? Why include the middle man? There was not a written agreement stating that we would hold the vehicle for a period of time. The same day the customer traded in the vehicle, another customer came in to our store, made an offer, and purchased the vehicle. The sales manager explained this to the customer and the customer was unhappy. I understand the customer's frustrations, but we are a for profit business and had a customer who was ready, willing, and able to purchase the vehicle who also made an extremely valid offer. I apologize for the mix up. In the future, we will try to be more clear that if we are to sell the trade-in vehicle to a specific person, that person should accompany the original customer so that we can sell the vehicle directly to him or her immediately after the first sale.

7/15/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Auto Butler Detail Package contract not honored When I purchased my vehicle, it came with a detail package (auto butler) that I didn't want, but was required to buy in order for the dealer to honor the advertised price. However, the dealer has consistently failed to honor the contract, which states they must contact me and schedule service. I have called and left messages repeatedly, and I am completely dissatisfied at this point. And this isn't limited to on attempt to get scheduled. I am supposed to get serviced every six months, and I have had it in for the service once in the year and a half I have owned my car, and that instance was only after contacting the service manager because I could not get any other phone calls returned. Again, O am completely dissatisfied because I was not given the chance to make what should have been two servicing a per the contract. At this point, I do not feel it is worth the paper it is written on. I last contacted the used car manager in person, and was told the owner pledged to call me the next day, and that they would call me the next Monday to try to get the service scheduled, even though I preferred a refund which they did not want to give. However, I was never contacted by any party from the dealer despite their promises.

Desired Settlement: I should get a refund for the service and have the contract cancelled.

Business Response: The customer requested a refund. We agreed to the refund and sent the customer a check for the amount originally paid. If a copy of the check is needed, I'll be happy to provide one.

5/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 3/5/15, I cancelled my Gap Coverage less than 30 days after purchasing my vehicle. Still not refund. On 2/4/15, I purchased a 2014 Hyundai Tuscon in Diamond Silver. This was the 4th auto I purchased from Auffenberg Hyundai in 6 years. First, I told my salesperson, ***, twice that I was pre-approved with ***** Credit Union and told the Finance Manager this twice as well. While paying for the car, the Finance Manager said "We are going with **********." When I inquired why I wouldn't use *** since I was pre-approved with them, he said "We haven't heard back from them on your application." He then signed me to a financing deal almost a full percentage rate higher than I was pre-approved for with *** as well as Gap Coverage for $800 instead of the $350 it would have cost me with ***. After purchasing the car, less than 30 days later, I spoke to *** and decided to refinance with them. The loan manager looked into my situation and informed me that AUFFENBERG HYUNDAI NEVER SENT MY LOAN APPLICATION TO THEM ALTHOUGH I HAD TOLD THEM MULTIPLE TIMES I WAS PRE-APPROVED WITH ***. My husband and I went to the dealership and spoke to the Finance Manager who completed our purchase. He was not apologetic and had me sign a form to cancel the Gap Coverage and stated I would get my refund in a few weeks. It's been 5 weeks later and no refund. We spoke to another employee who looked into my refund and said the Finance Manager at Auffenberg Hyundai NEVER SENT IN THE CANCELLATION REQUEST TO PROCESS THE REFUND. Now, no one is returning our calls or responding to our emails. All I want is my $800 refund.

Desired Settlement: $800 for Gap Coverage Cancellation Refund

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2015/05/22) */ The customer purchased a vehicle and wanted to finance the vehicle through a specific credit union. At the time of purchase, the credit union was closed and we could not receive an approval from that credit union. We did a poor job of explaining this to the customer. The customer signed the documents and took delivery of the vehicle using a different lender. She subsequently refinanced through her preferred credit union. If the GAP refund has not been received by the customer, I will personally see that the refund process takes place ASAP. Thanks. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 13, 2015/05/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) First of all, while I am accepting the response, the issue still remains that although the Credit Union I was pre-approved with was allegedly closed, per the loan manager at the Credit Union, Auffenberg NEVER EVEN SUBMITTED MY APPLICATION and lied to me about it. My husband was distracted by another salesperson while I was told that "we were going with *** ******** (****, the finance manager made is sound like that was my only option I being able to purchase this vehicle). On May 22, 2015 I did receive my refund check from the unprofessional, rude sales manager at Auffenberg Hyundai. I am accepting this case is resolved and closed but will never give Auffenberg Hyundai or any Auffenberg dealership another minute of my time or money. Thank you.

4/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2012 Hyundai Veloster from this dealership on 18 October, 2014. The finance officer was a ****, called me stupid to my face, but that's a different story. This complaint involves two cracks in the windshield of the vehicle I purcased. When negotiating the price of the vehicle, the salesman I was dealing with, *****, said that they would fill the cracks in one weeks time. Great! So I purchases the vehicle and drove it home. Fast forward to yesterday, 24 October. I make a special trip up to the Hyundai dealership to have my windshield and a minor headlight issue taken care of (which they did, good for them). When ***** took my vehicle to the ********* repair man (who I never got to meet, all I know is that he is a contractor who works at a couple different dealerships in the o'fallon area) he came back with my vehicle in about five minutes and said the work was completed. Now, when we signed the paperwork for this car, a "We Owe" document was filled out and ***** wrote on the document that the cracks would be "filled". So, to me, filling a crack is what ******** ********* does with their special resins, they fill the crack and the cracks cease to be. So, because I never met the ********* repair individual and I was not able to witness the repair myself, I got my car back with both chips still in my windshield. There was another man working in the service bay, ****, the services manager, I believe, who made a joke saying, "I can never tell when they are finished". Which is hilarious, because I can't either. I emailed ***** upon returning home to make sure that the "We Owe" paperwork we had in our possession did indeed say that they would fill the crack, which it does. I emailed ***** about it, and he said they put a glue in the crack to stop it from spreading, which is their definition of filled. He then said that if I wanted to replace the windshield, I could pay for it at a discounted price.Terrible service from start to finish, will not buy from again. Will not recommend. Product_Or_Service: Used vehicle

Desired Settlement: I would like my cracks properly filled in my windshield. But, going on my experience with this dealership in the last week alone, that probably won't happen. I just hope others don't get suckered by this dealerships tactics.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/27) */ If the customer is not completely satisfied with the current repair of his windshield, we will install a new windshield where he pays for the cost of the windshield and the winshield installation only. The customer agreed to purchase the vehicle if we repaired the windshield, we repaired the windshield, and the customer remains unsatisfied. Please let me know. Thank you. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/10/29) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The dealerships definition of filled was not explained when the vehicle was purchased. If the dealership had stated that they were going to use a glue instead of filling the crack, that would have influenced our buying decision. Filling means the cracks will go away. Now I have a preowned vehicle that has chips in the windshield. Having chips in the windshield devalues the vehicle. The promise of filling the cracks in the windshield would add that value back to the vehicle. The dealerships horrible solution of spending a couple hundred dollars on a windshield and installation of said windshield is appalling. The dealership should be ashamed of themselves for using dirty sales tactics just to make a few bucks. If I had known that the chips in the windshield were not going to be fixed to my satisfaction, I would have argued a lower buying price or walked away from the deal entirely. This dealership is a joke. I will be telling my superiors in the Air Force about this interaction with the dealership. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 12, 2015/02/24) */ 02-24-2015: Mediator left message for consumer. 03-03-2015: I would like a new windshield. 04-07-2015: Mediator left message for consumer. 04-07-2015: I was told that Auffenberg would replace my windshield for $600. When I bought the car the salesperson, ***** ******* gave me a written assurance that the cracks in the windshield would be fixed with a resin. I assumed that meant a competent repair where the cracks would be virtually invisible and keep them from spreading. On the day the windshield repair was done they only had the car to the tech who does the work for about 5 minutes. I knew that probably wasn't enough time to apply and cure and I should have done something about it at the time. The company has not offered anything other than the $600 cost of replacement. I would accept if they paid an authorized windshield repair company to come to my home that was skilled in crack repair to repair the damage that has existed since I took possession of the car. 04-21-2015: I understand that you have tried unsuccessfully to contact Auffenberg. Final Business Response /* (1000, 13, 2015/02/24) */ 03-03-2015: Mediator left message for **** ********** asking for clarification of what the actual customer cost would be to replace the windshield. 03-17-2015: Mediator left message for business. 03-17-2015: **** ********** left message for mediator. 03-24-2015: Mediator left message for business. 03-31-2015: Mediator left message for business. 04-07-2015: Mediator left message for business. 04-14-2015: Mediator left message for business. 04-21-2015: Mediation department sent email to business. 4-21-2015: The cost to the consumer will be between $300-$400 and all depends on our cost from the supplier. We are happy to discuss the options with the customer. The customer can email me at this address, ****@**********.com, and I'll ensure he gets taken care of.

3/10/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In response to advertisement (attached) Visited Auffenbergh the afternoon of 10-30 though ad explicitly stated vehicle (same vehicle pictures in ad) was for sale at $16,112, sales man insisted even after consulting sales manager that we must pay $17912. Plus miscellaneous charges such as taxes. A difference of 1800. At least. Event after being told he was abrogating the price in the ad he refused to lower the price. I did not buy the vehicle.

Desired Settlement: An admission in writing from Auffenbergh that it misrepresented the price in the ad. Or an offer to sell this vehicle at the advertised price of $16112. There must be a name for what Auffenbergh tried to do.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/11/04) */ Please send me a copy of the ad that is being referenced so that I can speak specifically to the ad. Our sale prices do not include taxes but will include the phrase "plus taxes". This is because taxes are based upon where the customer lives and we have no way of knowing specifically where the customer who is reading the ad has a permanent address. I would venture to guess that most, if not all, advertised sale prices for almost everything (milk, fast food, etc.) including cars, does not include taxes and other state mandated fees. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 17, 2015/02/27) */ 03/05/2015: I want to give up this case and I am happy to close it.

2/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Feb. 3, 2015 I took my car in for a 'scheduled' SERVICE ISSUE. I left my keys with **** ******** and he said they would contact me at my number XXX-XXX-XXXX. My appointment was at 3 pm central time. I called at 6:30 PM CENTRAL TIME to find out what the status of my car was. The girl said there was no one there to help me and I would have to call back tomorrow. Oh NO I said, they were going to call me when it was done. She put me on hold for over 15 minutes. When she said the clerk was there and I could come pay for it (was my car fixed??????????) she couldn't answer that! So I get to the O'Fallon IL facility and the woman behind the counter, said she called and left a message. OH NO.. I have proof and you can call my cell phone provider that there was NO call to my phone NONE. So I was very upset and then comes along 5 MEN. One is the GENERAL MANAGER. REALLY??? HE COULDN'T HELP OUT WHEN I CALLED THE FIRST TIME????? So I was very mad that this escalated to this level. If I treated a customer like this at my work place, I would be FIRED!!!!!!!!!!! I would like a call from the District or Regional Manager please. Thank you for your time with this awful situation. ****** ***** Product_Or_Service: Tire Balance

Desired Settlement: I want them to comp this charge for their gross misconduct and miscommunication. Also, the general manager was very very cocky and treated me like crap. How dare this person think he can treat me like this? I would never ever buy a car from them again.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/02/04) */ I was not part of the experience with the customer, but heard her from down the hallway screaming at my employees that no one called her. She was irrational and would not calm down and communicate her problem in a civil manner. She continued to scream and say things about how terrible we were as a business, etc. Long story short, if the customer would like to reach me directly, she may do so. It's probably best at this point if she doesn't visit us again anyway considering how rude she was with the employees of my business. We make mistakes and when we do we apologize, but yesterday's actions from the customer were not warranted. She may have just been having a bad day and that is understandable, but no one deserves to be treated like she treated the employees that she screamed at. Good day.

10/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have requested a refund for warranty that was put on my auto loan that I stated I didn't want.Email cancellation request, no action had been taken. When purchasing my car, I worked with the finance department, **** ******* I let him know that I did not want anything additional. Before I even entered his office the warranty was already put on the paperwork. He took them off most, but I missed one document that I overlooked. I stated several times that I did not want anything additional since the car is a 2013 and already has a warranty.He was being deceitful. I spoke with him and he stated that it was in best interest, I assertively told him I didn't want this feature. I called several times and he finally emailed me the documents to me. I faxed the cancellation documents to him on 8\15 and received a faxed confirmation. Afterwards I emailed and called and have been getting the run around. I would like for the cancellation to be processed. This have been my worse experience purchasing a car. These people are con artist.

Desired Settlement: The 2400 for the warranty.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/25) */ If the paperwork was faxed to us, we have started the process of cancelling the loan and sending the cancellation check to the leinholder. I will check on this and let everyone know the status.

8/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service
7/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/7/2014 Delivery Issues
2/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a vehicle from this dealership almost two months ago, and I have not received the correct title so I can register my vehicle legally. No one returns my phone calls, and I am not happy with the lack of professionalism from the workers at this dealership, nor the lack of response from anyone, including the owner, ***** **********. It should also be noted, that when signing paperwork, I was advised I had to buy a $199 package for my vehicle. When I told them I didn't want to because I do not live anywhere near the dealership, I was told I didn't have choice and it was per their manager. No where on any of the advertisement, does it say anything about a required $199 vehicle package. Product_Or_Service: **** ******

Desired Settlement: ********** Hyundai can take the vehicle and reimburse me what I paid for. Since I cannot legally register the vehicle due to their major mistake why would I have bought it? They can reimburse me the $199 fee that no where in any advertisement does it say someone has to buy it. If not then I want the $199.99 back and they will have to pay for all my late fees and the title fees. They have not returned any of my calls. I do not have a title for this car.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/09) */ We have reviewed the concern from Ms. . Auffenberg has sent all the proper paperwork to Ms. so she can title her vehicle. We have also sent a cancellation letter to the customer that once she signs and sends back we will cancel the vehicle protection plan and send the requested money to the lienholder. We apologize for any miscommunications on our part and hope to see Ms. in the future. If Ms. has any other questions or concerns she can contact us and we will take care of it. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 12, 2013/10/29) */ Thank you for the reply. I am not happy with the resolution. They owe me $28 for the late fee of registering my vehicle since I was not able to do on time because they gave me the wrong title. They also owe me for the time I had to take off to drive there to fix their mistake and registering the vehicle. I took off a total of 3 hours of work with an $45 hourly pay. So no on else falls victim to their scheme of the $199, they need to advertise this correctly. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 29, 2014/02/21) */ 1/28/14: I never received $28 that business promised on 11/06/13 or the cancellation letter promised on 10/09/13. I want the full $227 refunded. 1/30/14: I want proof. 2/06/14: I have not gotten a chance to check my bank account yet. I will do so on 2/7 and I will call back on 2/11. 2/11/14: Mediator left message for consumer. 2/13/14: Mediator left message for consumer. 2/20/14: Mediator left message for consumer. Final Business Response /* (1000, 30, 2014/02/21) */ 1/28/14: Checks were issued to *** ***** not the consumer, since she owed the balance to them. I am looking for the checks and will fax them over. 2/04/14: Mediator left message for business. 2/13/14: Mediator left message for business.

2/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service
1/9/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
5/30/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a 2000 Toyota solara on 04/15/13 and picked it up on 04/17/13 and took it back on 04/18/13 for a check engine light. I put down $4300 for the car. they added a bunch of fees and I had to take out a loan for $3652.43. I am very dissatisfied with my experience with this dealer and requested a refund after they couldn't tell me where the car was. they finally agreed to buy back, but I feel that I had it less that 24 hours the rest of the time it was in their possession. They are keeping some of my down payment for various fees I should not be responsible for.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund of the $4300 deposit.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/05/14) */ The customer purchased a vehicle from our dealership and drove away satisfied with the deal. About a day or two later, a check engine light came on in the car. We were under no legal obligation to fix anything, but we told the customer to bring us the car and we would have it repaired at no charge. Furthermore, we gave the customer a loaner vehicle to use while her vehicle was being repaired because she was inconvenienced. We truly strive to take care of our customers. To fully complete the repairs, the vehicle needed specific diagnostic equipment, which we did not have. We outsourced the vehicle to another shop that had the necessary diagnostic equipment. When the repairs were completed, we informed the customer. She arrived at the dealership with her son-in-law and wanted to speak with me (the owner/operator) and I told the operator that I would see them in my office. After listening to their complaints, the customer and I agreed that the dealership would purchase her vehicle back for the sale price on the original deal. I explained to the customer and her son-in-law how the process would work. In the original deal, the customer gave us a down payment and secured a loan through a local lending institution to cover the portion of the sales price not covered by the down payment. Also included in the loan amount was the taxes and fees charged by the state of Illinois when a customer purchases a vehicle. The customer was informed that the proper documentation would be given to our accounting department and they would issue a check to the lending institution for the customer's payoff. A numerical illustration is listed below. Original Deal: 7,074.96 Sale Price 877.47 Taxes and Fees 7,952.43 Total Balance Owed -4,300.00 Down Payment 3,652.43 Amount Financed Buyback: 7,074.96 Buyback price (Same price as the original purchase price) -3,652.43 Payoff (Check issued to lending institution to close the customer's loan) 3,422.53 Remaining balance paid to the customer These numbers were explained to the customer's son-in-law in a phone call prior to the buyback taking place. These numbers were then explained to the customer prior to the buyback taking place. These numbers were explained to the customer's daughter prior to the buyback taking place. It was thoroughly explained to the customer how we arrived at the 3,422.53 figure and why that figure did not match up with the original 4,300.00 that the customer used as a down payment. The state of Illinois collects taxes and fees associated with each vehicle transaction. I have offered to help the customer apply to have that money returned to her by the state of Illinois. In conclusion, we were under no obligation to fix anything with the vehicle in the first place. We agreed to fix the vehicle at no charge and provide a loaner vehicle. When the vehicle was fixed, and the customer was still unhappy. We offered to purchase the vehicle back for the original sales price. After agreeing to the buyback, and the customer was still unhappy. We offered to assist the customer with the state of Illinois, and the customer is still unhappy. Every business makes mistakes, and our business does as well. However, we have bent over backwards multiple times for the customer and she is still unhappy. Throughout the process, I have been extremely informative to the customer and her family as well as courteous. On multiple occasions, the customer and her daughter have been rude and raised their voices at me over the phone. I have continued to be nothing but nice, and try to solve their problems with this vehicle transaction. Consumer Response /* (3000, 13, 2013/05/22) */ I would like to disagree with the Mr. **********'s response. 1. Check engine light came on after 2 hours of ownership not 1-2 days. 2. He claims they are under no obligation to fix, but I have a 1 year limited warranty that came with the car. I was never told this problem was not covered. 3. Loaner Car - I never asked for a loaner car. This is a third vehicle for me so I didn't need one or ask for one. I only drove the loaner when I was supposed to pick up my car but it wasn't ready. 4. No proper diagnostic equipment - When I called about the status of my car, I was told on three different occasions that they could not locate my car and didn't know where it was. Only on the fourth attempt for a status update was I told it was being outsourced to a salvage yard that specializes in used parts. 5. Meeting with Mr. ********** in his office - During this meeting, no details were ever discussed concerning their repurchase of the vehicle. I was only told that he would give me a call with the details. He never explained how the process would work in detail. I was only told he had to figure out the details and he would call me and my son-in-law. 6. Phone call to son-in-law - My son-in-law told Mr. ********** that he did not have any financial details so Mr. ********** would have to call me to explain the financial details. When he called me this was the first discussion of the details of the repurchase, and when we got to the final number, I told him that was a difference of $884.03. I told him that was unacceptable for a car I only had in my possession for less than 24 hours. FYI, the numbers he outlines in his response is not what the check was written for. 7. Money from the state of Illinois - Mr. ********** stated this money would only be available for 30 days if I bought another car. This money only included the sales tax. What about the title and license? 8. While they had my car, they put a total of 200 miles on it. I only drove it no more than 20. 9. In my opinion, I was not rude. I would classify rude as being hung up on twice, once by the sales manager, and once by the service department. I would like the BBB to reopen my case. I find their response lacking all the details of the case. Nowhere does Mr. ********** mention the communication problems that he has at his dealership. Communication problems were his word. Sincerely, Business Response /* (4000, 15, 2013/05/30) */ I understand that Mrs. is dissatisfied and I have attempted numerous times to resolve the issue. Several times I have explained to the customer how the tax, title, and license fees work. They are collected by the dealer and the dealer is obligated to pay the state of Illinois. In the event a customer sells a vehicle without purchasing another vehicle, the customer has a window where he or she will receive a sales tax credit if he or she decides to purchase another vehicle. Mrs. was explained how this process works in detail and asked several times if she wanted me to complete the paperwork to purchase her vehicle back. Every time she said yes. I explained to Mrs. that I will help her file her paperwork with the state of Illinois requesting the refund of her tax, title, and license fees, but that I could not make any promises. Weeks ago, I sent her FedEx envelope with a check in the amount of the vehicle's original sale price, her license plates, and paperwork that needed her signature. I also included a stamped and self-addressed envelope so that she could simply sign and drop the documents back in the mail. Mrs. received the package and cashed the check, but has still not sent back the paperwork with her signature on it. When I called to check on the paperwork, the customer said that she had not sent it, but would call me back. She has not called me back as of now. I am happy to help her with the tax, title, and license situation with the state. Consumer Response /* (-5, 20, 2013/05/31) */ I didn't get a call from the dealer, they sent a check that is $800 less than what they were supposed to send. I haven't done anything because they are trying to keep $800 of my hard earned money. This is not resolved, I have lost faith in the company to be honest, what are they talking about the state keeping my money. I am trying to cancel the transaction and they are trying to keep it open.I feel they are not entitled to my $800 as I had the car less than 24 hours. I still want a full refund. Why are they blaming me for walking in their door? I just want a refund of the full amount.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Auffenberg Hyundai
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)