BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/21/2013

North West Auto Body Service

Phone: (314) 770-2700Fax: (314) 770-261612990 St Charles Rock Road, BridgetonMO 63044 Send email to North West Auto Body Service

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/21/2013

BBB has determined that North West Auto Body Service meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised North West Auto Body Service's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Delivery Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on North West Auto Body Service

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
07/02/2012Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Had written on a business card from company the date car would be completed. June 18th (possibly even the 15th). They didnt complete till June 25th.
I took my car into Northwest Autobody over a month after my first phone call with them. Being a small company I should have known it would have been a slow process. Upon dropping the car off (Name) wrote on his biz card the date car would be completed. June 18th (maybe the 15th). They didnt complete till June 25th.
I called 11th & 13th to see where they were on the car. I was told the 15th. I called on the 15th & was told the 18th. When I called on the 18th I was told that it would be delayed due to some parts that didn't come in & having to do things the long (time consuming) way. I reminded them that I had a rental car I was paying on & only had so much my insurance company would pay.
I called them on 20th and was told the 22nd. I called on the 22nd & was told the 25th. I called the 25th (in the morning) assertively said that this was way too long for my car to be worked on and that I had a rental car that was driving. Finally while waiting on the phone I was told that I could come after 1pm. I called at 1:30pm and they were still finishing it but I could come for it.Upon going to the rental car company, I ended up having to pay $196 over the $500 limit that my insurance company would pay
At $39.95 a day, if I would have had my car back by the date written on the biz card given to me that (Name) had written out, I would have not had to pay all I have had to pay.
I had to pay an addtll $196 that the insurance company --**********'s policy wouldn't pay.

When I went to Nortwest Autobody and asked if they could pickup the difference that I was out of due to their misscheduling.

(Name) was VERY VERY VERY RUDE and Snotty to me. VERY! I was being assertive but was not rude nor did I raise my voice as he did to me. He said to me that he'd go out of business if he had to pay for things like that. (I think he should have to pay--might help him learn how to estimate better and not write a date of when the car would be complete that is week earlier than the actual completion date).

I told him that I would like to know when they actually started on the car and finished it. I asked them how long the car had to wait for them to order parts as when I brought it in, even though I had given them the parts quote the month prior, they don't order parts till the car is brought in.

I asked him why he wouldn't help make up the difference. He told me that he'd go out of business. I said to him that that wasn't a professional answer and the rental car company (********** said generally body shops will pay difference). I then said that perhaps I'd take this to BBB. THen (Name) BLEW UP & was totally a snot with me. He proceeded to call me bitter and said he could tell that I was just all about the money and was a bitter bitter lady. I proceeded to say "Sir you sound defensive esp as you are raising your voice with me". He then went on & on & said that it'd be a non-issue with me if I didn't have to pay the $196. I said that I would be asking him to pay the $196 so I guess yes. Also "I have written by you on this card that my car would be finished the 18th. I continually kept calling your Co 2 prod you along to be sure it would be done by that date, but to no avail. He said that he kept me posted & I said only because I called you constantly and you didnt' call me 1 time. NOT ONCE. Then he got really snotty & said he would go out to have a steak dinner and only pay 80% of it. I told him that I was complaining about the 20% I paid of my rental bill, but rather that it exceeded the $500 max of rental that the insurance company paid. My total rental bill was 906.40 in which I had to end up paying $406.00. At $39.95 plus taxes a day- I would have paid much less than the additional $196.00. I will be glad to send the BBB the bill I had to pay for rental car. I am only asking for them to pay the $196.00 over what the insurance company policy will pay on --not the 20% that I had to pay as long as it was under $500

Desired Settlement
I want the $196.00 to be paid for which is the $196.00 over the limit of the $500 max that the insurance company would pay.

By the way (Name) also insulted the insurance company (**********) calling them a cheap company and that I was cheap with my rental policy I had with them which told him what kind of person I am .... ALL about the money. I told him if you had to pay an additional $196 it'd be about the money as well, which it must be about the money as you won't pay the $196.00 I am asking you to pay.

I would like the $196.00 paid to me as well as a letter of apology from him personally apologizing for the rudeness and saying that he was (Language) at me. (which when I told him that he sounded defensive he said that he was (Language) at me for be so cheap and all about the money).

I am the customer and should be treated as such. Being told that I am bitter and cheap and all about the money and trying to milk him out of money so I didn't have to pay --that is not professional and something that I take huge huge offense to.

If there is no settlement please tell me what to do to be sure this company is severely written up, especially this unprofessional person.

If he were polite with me and said he couldn't pay the difference (as my insurance agent told me just a bit ago when I spoke with her--she was professional and not rude to me and didnt' yell at me. She told me that ********* has their policy but that most reputable autobody companies will pick up the difference when it is over the maximum that the insurane company is allowed to pay.
She at least called her claims dept and checked.
This (Name) just blew up at me and called me bitter and cheap and trying to milk him of money.

I want compensation. He (Name) wrote on the card the 18th when it'd be finished. If the car would have been finished by the 18th then this would be a non-issue and I would not have had to pay all that I had to pay including the $196.00 that went over the $500 max from the insurance company. In addition I want a letter of apology from him and his Father (as this is a family company).
THank you, (Name)

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: **** GM
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: nw_*********@sbcglobal.net
Our customers are given an ECD (estimate completion date) based on the original estimate written.Those where the dates on the business card. In this case it was not our estimate. It was an insurance written estimate. These dates are subject to change if there are inacuracies on the original. This is almost a guarantee on hail claims. They are not like a typical collision repairs.Shop size does not factor into this.We where not informed there was customer responsibility on rental. Actually we where told to take our time that having it done correctly was most important. While negotiating a pick up date Ms. went as far as to push it until the 25th saying Friday the 22nd was not convienient.I had two customers in the office that witnessed this whole event. Both where shocked at the fact she was so bold. After 10 minutes of explaing process and how claims work i was handed a rental bill and asked to pay her overage. I told her that on catastrophe claims that is typical and If I paid everones rental it would put a company out of business. The reality is it was not our delay that was the issue. It was her insufficient coverage and that is her responsibilty. Your coverage affects your premiums and it is the job of her agent to sell her a policy that covers her needs. Her response was " Well i didnt know it was going to hail!"
I never called her carrier cheap. I actually have the carrier for my personal insurance. I did however say she was bitter for not being accomadated by us paying her rental. Not once did she look at her vehicle. She would have notice we fixed the nonrelated damage on the right fender for FREE along with some nonrelated door dings tht were not hail dents. She would have also noticed we care about the quality of our work being it is warrantied for life.Her primary concern was her overage charges ( again insufficient rental coverage). A 500 max with 80% a day coverage is substandard. Also the vehicle you rent affects price per day so that has to be factored when choosing a rental vehicle. We feel the 196 is not our resposibility and again revert to inadequate coverage. There is no apology letter to be written. There were 4 witness (2 customers and 2 employees)that can attest to what transpired. This is a case of somebody wanting something for nothing.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Body Repair & Painting

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/05/2002Business started: 01/01/1932
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John C. Kitchin Jr. (President)Customer Contact: Pam Fair (Office Manager)
Business Category

Auto Body Repair & Painting

Alternate Business Names
North West Auto Bdoy Company

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for North West Auto Body Service

12990 St Charles Rock Road

Bridgeton, MO 63044

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 12990 St Charles Rock Road 

    Bridgeton, MO 63044(314) 770-2700

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Eastern Missouri & SouthernIllinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*North West Auto Body Service is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 2, 2010.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Body Repair & Painting

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.