BBB Accredited Business since

American Automotive Services & Collision Repair

Phone: (314) 531-2800 Fax: (314) 531-2802 3424 Delmar Blvd, Saint Louis, MO 63103 http://www.americanautomotiveonline.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that American Automotive Services & Collision Repair meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for American Automotive Services & Collision Repair include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on American Automotive Services & Collision Repair
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1960 Business started: 01/01/1929 Business started locally: 01/01/1929
Business Management
Mr. Gary R. Clark, President Ms. Linda M. Clark, Secretary
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gary R. Clark, President
Business Category

Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Paintless Dent Repair Auto - Collision Repair Auto Dent Repair Glass - Repair Hail Repair Insurance Claim Processing Services

Alternate Business Names
American Automotive Services Inc

Additional Locations

  • 3424 Delmar Blvd

    Saint Louis, MO 63103 (314) 531-2800

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/19/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On November 30, 2015, I dropped my car off to repair the rear passenger door and panel. My vehicle was supposed to be ready on December 7, 2015; however, when I called on that day I was told that it would be another week. I picked up my vehicle on the evening of December 10, 2015. I did not immediately notice anything. However, on the following morning I noticed that my aftermarket stereo had been tampered with and my external XM radio was broken. I park in a secure garage, so I had no doubt that the damage has been done at American Automotive. I called to speak with a manager and was told to bring the car up there. After talking in circles with your auto parts manager where he asked if we had pictures of the car stereo before we dropped it off. I told him the stereo was professionally installed at **** *** almost 1 year ago, and unfortunately taking pictures post installation had never crossed my mind. He shrugged and I then asked to speak with the manager who he said was not there. He became frustrated and walked off and went directly to the manager's office whom he previously stated was not on the premises. The manager came out and in no uncertain words said that they were not responsible and that I was welcomed to "do what I have to do" to prove otherwise. Every possible explanation we suggested for the damage was dismissed with a snort and a condescending "that wouldn't happen here". I've brought my vehicle there on multiple occasions and have always been impressed with the work done. Unfortunately, I can no longer say the same about their customer service. Whether it was an employee or possibly the car was parked overnight unsecured and it was tampered with by someone else, the fact that their employees and managers refused to take responsibility for damages that happened while my vehicle was being repaired in their possession shows a lack of integrity. v/r ********* *****

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I would like my car stereo and my XM radio fixed and the part the was broken replaced.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2016/01/16) */ I met with Ms. ***** because the manager was off-site when she dropped by. I do not believe my staff tampered with her stereo and my facility is fully secured at night.I always take responsibility for damages we feel we are responsible for,and we have done so for the last 87 years. **** *****

10/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After a minor accident, I brought my car to American Automotive Services for repair. My car was damaged in the front passenger side. It needed a new light, a new hood and some other parts on that side of the front. The car was in fine running condition when I brought it in. Two weeks later, I got the call that my car was ready. I went in, paid the tab, which was over $4000, toward which I only owed my deductible, plus an additional charge because my hood had some minor hail dings before they replaced it. The body of the car appeared to be fixed quite professionally. I drove off from American Auto in my "fixed" car, and within several minutes down the road, I noticed my air conditioner didn't blow cold air. Then my oil light started flashing off and on. My Aveo was a well-taken-care-of vehicle with only 60,000 miles. My oil was always well maintained, and my oil light had never before gone on. Shocked and frustrated, I turned around and headed straight back to American. They paged a gentleman whose name, I'm told, was ***. He lifted my hood and immediately and quite rudely told me I'd already had an oil leak. He said my air-conditioner compressor was bad. I told him I didn't previously have an oil leak or air conditioner problems. He insisted I'd had an oil leak that wasn't their problem. So I drove off again, deciding to take it straight to my regular mechanic. On the way there the oil light went on again, and I still had no AC. My mechanic discovered that in the process of American repairing the body, my radiator was removed or unhooked. A vital hose had been left disconnected by American. My car severely overheated, which might have damaged, or shortened the life, of my engine. This was noted by my mechanic who took photos of American's negligent mistake. My mechanic said there was no oil leak, and the AC compressor was fine. My car had lost all coolant because American left a hose unhooked. Two days later my car overheated again. I had to replace upper & lower radiator hoses. Product_Or_Service: auto body repair

Desired Settlement: I have not even received an apology from American Automotive, even after sending them a certified letter explaining the issue. My insurance company has also been apprised of the bad repair. I feel a portion of the repair bill should be refunded to me. This is because American's error was outrageous, and my mechanic told me it is likely to have caused engine damage that may not be immediately apparent. I also, via the BBB, wish to warn others about my experience with them.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/25) */ I apologize to Mr. ***** if he feels we treated him rudely, and I addressed this with my staff when I received his letter. American and ***** fully warranty any repairs that were performed on your car.I assume ***** is looking into this matter with your mechanic.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on American Automotive Services & Collision Repair
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)