BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 06/05/2009

Traffic Jams Complete Car Center

Phone: (314) 725-7665

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints3

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
10/21/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I bought a **** ******** *** from this company on 09/03/13 and I was driving the car about two weeks later and the right front wheel twisted out and I had have it towed home. They sent out a mechanic to my house to fix the front wheel. The car was fine until 10/04/13 the car started knocking. i called the company and they told me that they would send someone out to look at it. I was told I had a warranty. I called the warranty company and they said they didn't have any record of me as of today. I called the dealer and he said he had mailed it to them, but he would fax it to them today and call me back. I paid $3500 cash for the car.

Desired Settlement
I would like my car repaired and covered by the warranty or if that's not possible then at the company expense as I have only had the car barely 30 days and I have already had it towed twice.

Business Response
CUSTOMER, STATED TO US THAT THEY DID NOT FILE A COMPLIANT BUT INQUIRERD ABOUT A RESLOUTION TO THEIR PROBLEM WITH THE BBB, CONCERNING A CONTRACT WITH CARS PROTECTION COMPANY, NOT WITH US. WE HAVE BEEN WORKING ON THEIR BEHALF TO FIND OUT WHY THE CONTRACT WITH A OUTSIDE PARTY COMPANY IS NOT BEING HONORED. CUSTOMER BOUGHT VEHICLE FROM US "AS-IS" WITH NO WARRANTY, ON 9/3/2013 BUT PURCAHESD A WARRANTY SERVICE CONTRACT FROM **** ********** **** A OUTSIDE COMPANY. CUSTOMER HAS BEEN INFORMED THAT WE ARE TALKING WITH **** ********** TO RESLOVE THE ISSUE, IT SEEMS CARS PROTECTION IS SAYING THAT THE CONTRACT AND OUR CHECK HAD NOT BEEN RECEIVED BY THEM. WE MAILED THE CONTRACT AND CHECK ON 9/13/2013 WHICH WAS WELL BEFORE THE 30 DAY PERIOD. CUSTOMER CALLED **** ********** ON 10/7/2013 TO ASK ABOUT THE WARANTY THAT WAS PURCHASED FROM **** ********** **** AND WAS TOLD THEY DID NOT HAVE ONE. WE CALLED **** ********** ON 10/7/2013 AS A FOLLOW UP AND WAS TOLD THAT THE CONTRACT WAS NOT RECEIVED AND MAY BE LOST IN THE MAIL AND HAD NOT BEEN RECEIVED, SO WE FAXED A COPY OF THE CONTRACT AND AUTHORIZE THEM TO DEBIT THE FUNDS FROM OUR ACCOUNT ON 10/7/2013 AND WAS TOLD BY THEM IT TAKE 3 DAYS TO SET UP ACH PROCESSING WITH THEM TO COLLECT THE FUNDS. THEY DID NOT COLLECT THE FUNDS FROM OUR ACCOUNT, INSTEAD WE RECEIVED THE CONTRACT AND OUR CHECK THEY SAID THEY DID NOT RECIEVE BACK IN THE MAIL ON 10/11/2013 FROM **** ********** *** STATING THEY WOULD NOT OFFER COVERGE, WE CALLED THEM, TALKED TO A MANAGER, WHICH REFERRED US TO THE FINE PRINT IN THEIR CONTRACT SIGNED BY THE CUSTOMER. WHICH READ AS FOLLOW: " I READ THIS SERVICE CONTRACT APPLICATION. I UNDERSTAND AND AGREE TO THE TERMS AND CONDITIONS AS STATED ON THE REVERSE SIDE OF THIS FORM. I ACKNOWLEDGE RECEIPT OF MY COPY OF THE SERVICE CONTRACT. THE SERVICE CONTRACT GOES INTO EFFECT WHEN THIS APPLICATION IS RECEIVED WITH PAYMENT AND APPROVED BY ******** ********** ***** **** I CERTIFY THE INFORMATION ABOVE IS TRUE AND CORRECT." THIER POSTION IS THE CONTRACT WAS NOT RECEIVED AND APPROVED BEFORE THE CUSTOMER CALLED TO MAKE A CLAIM. WE ARE WAITING TO SPEAK WITH A HIGHER LEVEL MANAGER TO GET THIS RESLOVED, SO FOR TO DATE NO RETURN PHONE CALL. NO FURTHER DETAILS AT THIS TIME, WAITING FOR A RESPONCE FROM **** ********** **** WE HAVE PROCESS CONTRACTS IN THE PAST WITH NO ISSUE AND ARE ALLOWED TO SEND CONTRACTS AND FUNDS BEFORE 30 DAYS FROM PURCHASE DATE, IF A CUSTOMER PURCHASE A WARRNTY FOR 3 MONTHS OR 4500 MILES THEY START THE CONTRACT FROM THE PURCAHSE DATE AND USE THE MILES ON THE VEHICLE AT THE TIME OF THE SALE, SO ITS VERY CONFUSING ON THEIR POLICY OF NON RECEIPT OF CONTRACT AND PAYMENT. BASED ON THE INFORMATION ABOVE. WE MAY NEED HELP FROM THE BBB TO RESLOVE THIS ISSUE WITH **** ********** **** ON BEHALF OF THE CUSTOMER AND US. WHEN I SPOKE WITH THE CUSTOMER, ON 10/7/2013 THEY STATED IT WAS NOT THEIR INTENT TO FILE A COMPLIANT AGAINST US.

10/15/2012Guarantee / Warranty Issues
09/09/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased a 2012 Chevrolet Malibu LTZ from ********** They referred me to Traffic Jams August 13, 2014 to have the windows tinted and speakers installed.

I am satisfied with the window tint. However with the speakers, I provided the equipment and paid $120 to cover parts. Two hours later I received a call and was told I needed to pay and additional $40 for another part, which I did. August 29th while driving the car's electrical system started to fail. I called ********* September 2nd and was told to bring it in September 4th. After looking it over ********* said Traffic Jams installed the components incorrectly and I paid Bommarito $100 to correct it. My husband took the bill to Traffic Jams and asked for reimbursement. They said I should have brought the car back to them and refused reimbursement.

I went to Traffic Jams September 5th and explained the issue and asked for reimbursement and they also refused. I called ********* again and spoke to the general manager and he contacted Traffic Jams and explained the problem and they still refused reimbursement.

Desired Settlement
Reimbursement of $100.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ****@trafficjams.biz

1.Customer called our shop on 9/4/2014 demanding $100, using verbal abuse at every person she talked to by phone, she initially refused to give her name and could not tell us what her complaint was nor when the work she was complaining about was done.

2.She sent a person to our shop later on 9/4/2014 with her vehicle with a receipt from a dealership showing they charged her $100 to tighten a accessory wire on her battery cable and to check the vehicle. This is when we learned to whom we were talking to by phone earlier that day.

3. We asked the person who showed up with the vehicle to provide a receipt showing the work or service our shop provided that she was having a issue with to see what the warranty cover, he did not produce the receipt after saying he had one. He only provided a receipt from the Dealership for $100. After explaining to him our policy, He was very understanding and let us know that the owner of the vehicle was going through some personal issue at the time she called us earlier in the day and that we would have to explain what we said him to her.

4.The owner of the vehicle showed up on 9/5/2014 in person demanding $100, she did not have a receipt for our work. We looked at her vehicle, all work we performed was working and correct and she agreed it is working but continue to demand a $100 because she paid the Dealership $100.

5. When we talked to the person at the dealership by phone who charged her the $100, He stated that he told her to take the vehicle back to were she had the work done (We installed a amp and a sub box in the trunk) He stated that she told them to check the vehicle and that she would send us the bill. According to the person on the phone one of the accessory terminals on the battery was not making good contact, but they were not clear who installed it, the vehicle had other items added to the vehicle that we did not install, he also stated there was a issue with the factory radio (original vehicle equipment), which we did not install nor service that was causing a issues.

6. We informed the customer that our warranty cover our work with a receipt when the vehicle is bought back to us, we also let her know we had no way of knowing what issue or the status of her vehicle without her contacting us. Our warranty information is writing on all our receipts and work orders. We were not giving the opportunity to see what her problem could have been. We were not contacted even after being advise by the Dealer to bring it back to us, which was verified by the person who showed up with the vehicle on 9/4/2014. He stated that since they were at the Dealership she had the vehicle checked, he also he stated that while they were waiting for the Dealership to check the vehicle, they believed the Dealership was checking the vehicle under the vehicle's warranty and they were not told about the $100 charge until after the check was done, however before the check was done the Dealer advised them to take the vehicle back to where the work was done once they saw the after market system in the vehicle. We were not called nor made aware of a issue before the vehicle was taking to the Dealership, we did not receive a phone call from the owner of the vehicle while it was at the dealership even after being advised by the dealer to contact us.

7. After a long discussion and looking at the vehicle we offered a $50 store credit without customer providing a receipt, it is still not clear what date the work was done, This is important to determine the warranty period, because the customer bought in their own equipment for us to install and that is normally a 30 day warranty on the labor. We offered the Customer a $50 in store credit to provide a courtesy to her for her customer loyalty because she had other vehicles that we worked on or services in the past.

8.She continued to demand $100 and left.

9. We are not sure why she believe we should pay her $100 bill when the dealer told her to bring the vehicle back to us but she decided to have them to check her vehicle and do other services.

10. It is very stressful dealing with a customer that continue to use verbal attacks and disrespect everyone that she talks to in our shop and refused to listen to all the facts in this matter concerning our policies after she agreed that noting was wrong with the service we provided. We even made a decision to compromised with her and offered her a $50 in store credit. She continued to demand and strongly suggest (with verbal abuse) she's going to get $100 from us one way or another.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Alarms & Security Systems, Alloys, Auto Service - Window Tinting, Auto Service - Sound Systems Sales & Service, Auto Detailing, Tire Dealers, Auto Radios & Stereos - Sales & Repair

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.