BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Gamache & Myers PC

Phone: (314) 835-6600

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues4
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints5

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)
10/30/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They didn't assist in resolving an alleged debt from another company.
G&M purchased a debt from ************* I had been disputing the debt for some time with ********** After contacting G&M in an attempt to clear up any discrepancies, I was told that the firm had my account (VIXXXXXX) and that they were not pursuing any actions against me. My vehicle title is tied up because of this alleged debt which I couldn't get assistance in resolving. I spoke with **** who stated that she would research the account and reply back to me. It has been two months and I still haven't heard anything and still contend as I did with ********* that my account was paid in full. I paid my account off in May 2010. This has been ongoing for 5 years. G&M performed a inquiry on my credit 1/6/15 so they are aware of my account status. I would like the opportunity to resolve this issue and my car title released.

Desired Settlement
I wish to resolve this billing issue which I contest so my vehicle title can be released.

Business Response
Thank you for your inquiry of October 9, 2015. To begin with, it is important to note that the consumer statement that G&M purchased a debt from ********* *** is not an accurate statement. Rather, our office does handle legal matters from time- to- time for that company but were not actively pursuing an account involving the consumer. Mr ****** was apparently referred to our office back in August and at that time indicated that the account involving ********* *** had been paid. We have just received confrimation from ********* *** that their records do not reflect full payment. We will advise Mr ****** accordingly.

If you require anything further, please feel free to contact the undersigned.

10/13/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
After putting a lien on my home they realized they made a mistake but they say getting the lien off is my problem not theirs.
In August 2011 without my knowledge Gamache & Myers got a judgement to put a lien on my home. I had no idea until August 2014. Gamache & Myers made a mistake, this was not my debt. They give me a one line letter which says my social security number does not match the debt. And they tell me getting the lien off my property is my problem not theirs!




Desired Settlement
They need to file appropriate paperwork with the courts and remove the lien from my home immediately.

Business Response
This letter will acknowledge receipt of the above noted complaint. Please let this letter service as our reply to the complaint.

In essence, this complainant is mistaken in the contents of her complaint. Specifically, our office on behalf of our client, ******* ******* LLC, filed a law suit against a person by the name of ****** ****. Case Number 10sl-acXXXXX. This law suit resulted in a judgement against ****** ****, who is a different ****** **** that the complainant. This judgement ultimately resulted in a lien by operation of law against any property owned in the county where the judgement was taken, but the lien is only as to the proper ****** ****. At no time was there a specific lien put on the complainant's home.

It appears that the complainant is working with a title company, and the title company made a mistake in assuming that the lien referenced above was a lien on the complainant's home. In order to assist the complainant with this matte,r our office drafted a letter for the complainant explaining that the judgement in the case notes above does not involve the ****** **** with the last four digits of her social security number of 7751, nor should it affect property at **** ***** ********* ******** XXXXX. This letter further advised that no lien was placed on that property by this office as that is not how judgement liens operate. We assume that this letter, which was provided on September 26, 2014, resolved this matter.

Please do not hesitate to contact us if you should need any further information.
Sincerely,
Gamache & Meyers P.C.

04/29/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Auto pay set up. They retrieved all but $12 now been killing my credit for two months. No response from g &m.
I entered into a payment agreement of $150/mo. After paying for an estimated 6months ending in Jan 2013 i received no more contact or receipts from g&m assuming total amount was paid as scheduled i opened a new bank account and when credit check was run i was notified i was still $12 delinquent. I find this absolutely ridiculous and unprofessional seeing as they were auto deducting from my checking account all payments were out of my hands and should be paid in full. Why they decided to do this i Dont know. I contacted g & m today on X-XX-XX and received absolutely no help and told i have to talk to a supervisor who miraculously was un available. After reading many consumer reports i see that this is possibly a pretty common practice of theirs. I've been on a road to fix my past mistakes but am finding it hard to trust the companies that are receiving these payments. I stuck to my part of thru deal so why shouldn't g&m hold up to their part?

Desired Settlement
G & m cover the last $12 and clear up the hits on my credit due to this in past two months since they should have been paved in January since it was being auto deducted from my checking account.

Business' Initial Response
Dear Sir or Madam

This letter will acknowledge receipt of the above noted complaint. Please let this letter serve as our reply to the complaint.

At this point, I believe that the complaint has now been resolved. Mr. contacted our office in late March and set up payment arrangements to pay a small balance due, which we have now received. After his payment has cleared banking channels, our office will file a Satisfaction of Judgment with the court. Our office does not directly report any information to the credit bureaus, but credit bureaus do pick up judgment information from the courts.

We think that the above information is the information that you need in response to the complaint, however, if you need additional information, please do not hesitate to contact our office.

Sincerely,

Gamache & Myers P.C.

03/05/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
No validation of alleged debt from third party collection agency.
Dec 28, 2012 - I received notice from the collection agency that I owed them a debt.

Dec 30, 2012 - A requested for detailed validation of the debt was requested by certified mail.

Jan 03, 2012 - US Post office notified me the collection agency signed for the validation request on Jan 02, 2012

Feb 10, 2013 - No validation has been supplied, nor any correspondence from the collection agency.

Desired Settlement
Remove any and all current and/or future derogatory information from my credit record in connection with the alleged debt immediately per the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act, 15 USC 1692g Sec. 809 (b)

Business' Initial Response
Dear Sir or Madam,

We are in receipt of your letter of February 13, 2013. In response to the consumer's complaint, please note this account was sent to our office in October 2011. Since that time we corresponded with Mr on several occasions but did not receive a reply. It is true that we received an untimely validation request in December 2012 which technically we are under no obligation to acknowledge. however, we will provide the consumer with supportive documentation at our earliest possible convenience.

If you require anything further, please feel free to contact the undersigned.

Sincerely Yours,
Gamache & Myers P.C.
****** Gamache

12/03/2013Billing / Collection Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Attorneys, Collection Agencies

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.