BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that American Poolplayers Association meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for American Poolplayers Association include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on American Poolplayers Association
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 02, 2003 Business started: 05/01/1983 Business started locally: 05/01/1983
Business Management
Ms. Amy Huitt, Executive assistant Ms. Renee Lyle, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Amy Huitt, Executive assistant
Business Category

Associations


Additional Locations

  • 1000 Lake St Louis Blvd Ste 325

    Lake Saint Louis, MO 63367 (636) 625-8611 (636) 327-4136

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/2/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The league operator has failed to send me a regionals check my team was due and also my division rep check from the last session. I have been a paying APA member for 9 years. Since joining the league in massachusetts a few years back i have had nothing but trouble with the league coordinator here *** ********* Over the past year three times they have said i owed money and i would have to take time out of my day to send them money order receipts just to show them they already cashed my checks. 2 years ago i entered a team in a tournament and gave them $350. They gave our spot to someone else and it took me 4 months of arguing to get my money back. Most recently my team had made it to regionals and i have still yet to receive a check from that on top of division rep check they owe me. When i ask them about it they kept saying they were sending it. Now all of a sudden they say they are keeping it because allegedly i didnt send money last session which was 3 months prior. At no point did they notify me that they didnt receive any money until it came time for them to pay me. Now i have been arguing and fighting with them for a month and as a result they have suspended my membership. I dont see how its fair to suspend my membership for questioning where money owed to my team is. Last week they sent the division rep to my job to try to collect money. I have never heard of such a thing. A representative of the APA showed up at my place of employment asking for money while i was working and in front of customers. I am not the only captain that has been dealing with this stuff. There are several others who have records of there unorganized system in this league. We constantly month after paying fees have to provide proof after they have already cashed our checks. Instead of them returning my calls or working with me to settle the issue they have called members of my team and spoken bad about me and tried to blame the situation on me. I would like this issue resolved as soon as possible. I have paid into this league for 9 years. Since starting teams in the westfield mass league i am responsible for recruiting over 9 teams to all three nights and over 50 paying members. This is terrible the way i have been treated for all that ive done for this league.

Desired Settlement: I would like the headquarters to look into the way this league is being run. I would like to finally receive my teams money from regionals and my division rep money that was earned. And i would like my suspension lifted as they should not be allowed to suspend me for questioning them on how they operated.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 16, 2014/10/02) */ The American Poolplayers Association (APA) respectfully disagrees with the complaint of Mr. ********** and, therefore, we cannot agree to the resolution desired by Mr. **********. APA Leagues are independently owned and operated franchises. This League is owned and operated by franchisee *** ********* The League charges a weekly team fee for League play. Mr. ********** and the teams on which he was team captain were indebted to the League in the amount of $1,015 for unpaid League fees for the Spring and Summer Sessions 2014. Under APA Rules, the team captain is responsible for ensuring that the team pays its fees each week for League play. Certain payments due Mr. ********** and his team were withheld by the League to against the debt owed to the League. The APA (National Office) has, as requested by the Complaint, looked into the facts and circumstances to determine if the debt was properly owed and if the offset was appropriate. We have concluded that the debt was in fact owed and the offset was proper. The details of the debt and offset are set forth below: SPRING 2014 SESSION = $630 DELINQUENCY TOTAL FOR ALL TEAMS TEAM XXXXX - $245 DELINQUENT MISSING PAYMENT & SCORESHEETS REGULAR SESSION WEEKS: 6, 12, 18 = $105 MISSING PAYMENT & SCORESHEETS PLAYOFF WEEKS: 19 & 20 = $140* TEAM XXXXX - $175 DELINQUENT MISSING PAYMENT & SCORESHEETS REGULAR SESSION WEEKS: 18 = $35 MISSING PAYMENT & SCORESHEETS PLAYOFF WEEKS: 19 & 20 = $140* TEAM XXXXX - $210 DELINQUENT MISSING PAYMENT & SCORESHEETS REGULAR SESSION WEEKS: 6 & 16 = $70 MISSING PAYMENT & SCORESHEETS PLAYOFF WEEKS: 17 & 18 = $140 REGULAR SESSION WEEKS = $35/wk PLAYOFF WEEKS = $70/wk (Winning team mails in scoresheets & payment for both teams.) SPRING 2014 SESSION: $512.50 REGIONAL WINNINGS EARNED FOR ALL TEAMS TEAM XXXXX - $187.50 WINNINGS 2nd CHANCE REGIONAL TOURNAMENT/QUALIFIED FOR STATE CUP TEAM XXXXX - $325.00 WINNINGS 1st CHANCE REGIONAL TOURNAMENT - 1st ROUND SPRING SUMMARY $630.00 SPRING DELINQUENCY TOTAL FOR ALL TEAMS WITH **** ********** AS CAPTAIN (LESS) $512.50 SPRING WINNINGS TOTAL FOR ALL TEAMS WITH **** ********** AS CAPTAIN $117.50 NET SPRING DELINQUENCY STILL OWED AFTER WITHHOLDING WINNINGS SUMMER 2014 SESSION = $385 DELINQUENCY TOTAL FOR ALL TEAMS TEAM XXXXX - $35 DELINQUENT MISSING PAYMENT & SCORESHEETS REGULAR SESSION WEEKS: 5 = $35 **** ********** WAS REPLACED AS CAPTAIN BY APA AS OF WEEK 6 NO PROBLEMS WITH NEW CAPTAIN WITH PAYMENT OR SCORESHEETS TEAM XXXXX - $140 DELINQUENT MISSING PAYMENT & SCORESHEETS REGULAR SESSION WEEKS: 1, 2, 3 & 4 = $140 TEAM FOLDED AFTER PLAYING 4TH WEEK TEAM XXXXX - $210 DELINQUENT MISSING PAYMENT & SCORESHEETS REGULAR SESSION WEEKS: 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 & 7 = $210 **** ********** WAS REPLACED AS CAPTAIN BY APA AS OF WEEK 9 (WEEK 8 WAS A BYE WEEK) NO PROBLEMS WITH NEW CAPTAIN WITH PAYMENT OR SCORESHEETS SUMMER SUMMARY $117.50 NET SPRING DELINQUENCY STILL OWED $385.00 SUMMER DELINQUENCY TOTAL FOR ALL TEAMS WITH **** ********** AS CAPTAIN $502.50 TOTAL OF SPRING AND SUMMER DELIQUENCY (LESS) $150.00 DIVISION REP COMPENSATION OWED MR. ********** $352.50 DEBT STILL OWING AFTER WITHHOLDING WINNINGS AND DIVISION REP COMP. Mr. ******** on behalf of his League requested Mr. ********** send any cancelled checks to perhaps show that the League's records were inaccurate or that a payment was made but not properly accounted for. To date, the League has not received any cancelled checks from the player showing any unaccounted payment having been made. The League has had consistent financial problems with Mr. ********** for a number of years. The players from **********'s team were contacted to investigate why payments have been such a huge issue. They were asked if they had been paying their captain (Mr. **********) each week. The players indicated that they did give Mr. ********** the money weekly. If so, the money was not forwarded by Mr. ********** to the League weekly. Accordingly, we believe that Mr. *********** League acted appropriately. That Mr. ********** owed the debt to the League and that certain payments due Mr. ********** were properly withheld because of the debt. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 14, 2014/09/30) */ The issues have. Been resolved and id like to withdraw my complaint.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on American Poolplayers Association
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)