BBB Accredited Business since

Keeven Appliance

Additional Locations

Phone: (314) 837-2723 Fax: (314) 837-7619 View Additional Phone Numbers 3350 Parker Spur, Florissant, MO 63033 http://www.keevenappliance.net/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Keeven Appliance meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Keeven Appliance include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 12 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 4
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 12

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Keeven Appliance
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 17, 1995 Business started: 01/01/1950 Business started locally: 01/01/1950 Business incorporated 01/04/1988 in MO
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Stan Keeven, President Mr. William Keeven, President
Contact Information
Principal: Stan Keeven, President
Business Category

Appliances - Major - Dealers


Additional Locations

  • 1879 S Old Highway 94

    Saint Charles, MO 63303 (314) 837-2723 (636) 949-2555

  • 3350 Parker Spur

    Florissant, MO 63033 (636) 949-2555 (314) 212-1032

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/31/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a new Whirlpool refrigerator from Keeven for $1279 on October 2, 2015. We bought it new off the floor. They delivered it that day. I noticed a crack in the back lining of the refrigerator down below the first shelf. I contacted Keeven about this and they sent a serviceman out and took pictures and told me they couldn't repair it and I had to contact Whirlpool. I contacted Whirlpool and they said it's not a manufacturer issue and Keeven shouldn't have had it on the floor damaged like that. This was in April 2015. I contacted Keeven and they said the next day it was repairable. I kept contacting Barb and they said they don't want the fridge back because they don't want a damaged item on their floor. They aren't willing to give me a refund of any kind or a replacement. It's not fair, I bought it advertised as new, I should get it new. I tried to work with Keeven and they won't work with me. I have contacted them and Whirlpool multiple times and no one will take fault.

Desired Settlement: I either want a new refrigerator or a partial refund.

Business Response:

****** ***** BBB Letter

Ms. ***** purchased a brand new refrigerator from out store on 9/30/15. She called on 4/15/16 complaining of a crack in the refrigerator liner. Our service technician confirmed a 5-6" long hairline crack on the back wall of the refrigerator. Refrigerator liner cracks are usually caused by contraction and expansion of the liner during normal operation.  The crack was not in the liner when the refrigerator left out store. However Ms. ***** has insisted this is a defective refrigerator and needs to be replaced. Whirlpool Corporation on the other hand maintains that this crack is simply a cosmetic concern and does not affect the operation of the refrigerator.  Whirlpool requests that we treat this matter as a warranty issue and suggested that we repair the refrigerator with a liner repair kit that is available through Whirlpool. Ms. ***** has refused our offer to repair the cracked liner and continues in her quest for a full refund. Keeven Appliance is willing to offer Ms. ***** a $150.00 refund on the refrigerator to resolve the matter.


Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
I am not asking for the full price of the refrigerator. I asked them to just replace my refrigerator.  I still want half of my money back. I paid $1200 for this icebox.


Sincerely,

****** & ***** M *****

Business Response:

*********** BBB letter

Ms. ***** purchased a brand new refrigerator from our store on 9/30/15.  She called on 4 /15/16 complaining of a crack in the refrigerator liner.  Our service technician confirmed a 5-6” long hairline crack on the back wall of the refrigerator.  Refrigerator liner cracks are usually caused by contraction and expansion of the liner during normal operation.  The crack was not in the liner when the refrigerator left our store.  However Ms. ***** has insisted this is a defective refrigerator and needs to be replaced.  Whirlpool Corporation on the other hand maintains that this crack is simply a cosmetic concern and does not affect the operation of the refrigerator. Whirlpool request that we treat this matter as a warranty issue and suggested that we repair the refrigerator with a liner repair kit that is available through Whirlpool.  Ms. ***** has refused our offer to repair the cracked liner and continues in her quest for a full refund.  Keeven Appliance is willing to offer Ms. ***** a $150.00 refund on the refrigerator to resolve the matter.

Respond to rejection:

Keeven Appliance as well as numerous personnel from The Whirlpool Corporation feels that the small hairline crack inside of the refrigerator does not hinder the quality of operation for the refrigerator nor does it hinder the cosmetic appearance of the refrigerator.   We are disappointed that Ms. ***** refused the offer of $150.00 refund whichwe felt was fair and reasonable considering the minor flaw on the unit.  It is believed that any and all damage to this refrigerator is a consumer created issue possibly caused by placing something sharp and/or hot inside of the refrigerator during the seven month period she used it. 

4/21/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 3/26/2016 we realized that our refrigerator went out, so I went to this store to purchase a new one. I gave them a check for $580.57 to purchase a new unit, and they agreed to pick up the old one. We received the new refrigerator the same day of purchase. My husband called on 3/28am to check on when they were going to come pick it up. I went into the store on Thursday or Friday of last week to see if they could get the unit. I called them today at 8:10am. She told me she would call back, and I feel that they are trying to put us off. They keep telling us the same thing, that they will get back to us. They might be waiting to see if the check clears, which is understandable, but it is past that time frame.

Desired Settlement: If they are not willing to switch it out, we just want our money back. If they are willing to switch it out, we are willing to work with them.

Business Response: This refrigerator was exchanged for the customer on 4/4/16.  I did not respond to the first BBB complaint because the issue had already been taken care of and the customer stated that she called the BBB office to notify them. 

2/10/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a washer and dryer from Keeven Appliance July 2014 and got it December 2014. It did not come with a warranty. The washer stopped working January 24, 2016 and I called requesting someone to come out and was told of the $55 fee. I was told I needed the model number and I returned home but neither the model or serial numbers were visible. I called back explaining the problem but the lady I was talking to continued to say I need to get the model number. I checked the washer again, but the numbers are not legible. I called back and the same lady was unprofessional, never offered to check your records and said you will not do business with me.

Desired Settlement: I would like the business to help with identifying the model/serial number and arrange a visit for the repair.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2016/02/10) */ Letter faxed to your office on 1-26-16 Business Name: Keeven Appliance Complaint Case #:XXXXXXX Consumer: ****** ******** (Location invovled:**** ****** **** , Florissant MO XXXXX-XXXX) Complaint Case #:XXXXXXX Consumer: ****** ******** Case Opened: XXXX-XX-XX Our records indicate that Ms. ******** purchased a used washer and dryer from our company on July 12, 2014. It is not indicated on her receipt the date of delivery however the used washers and dryers do come with a warranty of 90 days parts and labor. The warranty on her washer would have expired October 2014. Ms. ******** was informed that the washer was no longer under warranty and became upset when she was told that we could send out a service technician for a fee of $54.50 to diagnose the problem. The employees were under the impression she did not want to pay the service fee. Our company can arrange for service of the washer however there is the service charge of $54.50 plus parts and labor to do the repairs. We are not sure Ms. ******** is willing to pay for repairs and apologize if this is a misunderstanding. The model number of the washer is not necessary but very helpful to the service technician. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (1500, 9, 2016/02/10) */

10/28/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Keeven charged $97.80 for a pilot assembly that I purchased at Handyman Hardware for $40.00 On Oct.6 ****, the repairman came to fix my hot water heater. He did state that it would cost $280. I questioned the amount, but he assured me that was what it cost. I allowed him to fix it and then I checked around on pricing and found that he overcharged me. I understand that I should have checked prices before he did the work, but I trusted him. I called several times and went in the store a couple of times only to be talked to rudely. I asked for an itemized receipt and they refused. They refused to show me why the part cost so much, but did say that they paid $80.00 for it. I stopped payment on the check on Oct. 9th.to get their attention. I received a very rude voice mail from ****. He stated that he would come out and take the part back. I agreed and Handyman did the same job for $115. While undoing the job on Oct.22nd., **** was again very rude calling me a liar and hitting my cat with his toolbox. Very rude people that refuse to admit that they took advantage of me. Lesson learned. Just want others to know about my treatment. .

Desired Settlement: Refund the $30.00 stop payment charge

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/10/27) */ We are sorry to hear that Mr. ****** is dissatisfied with service from our company. We had no idea he was so upset with the repair costs. Mr. ****** did call for service on October 6th for repair on his hot water heater. Our dispatcher rerouted other customers' service calls so that we could get to him immediately because he stated he was out of hot water. Our technician arrived to his home within the hour, correctly diagnosed the problem, quoted the costs to repair the heater to which Mr. ****** agreed, and our technician proceeded with cleaning the burner assembly and flame guard and replacing the defective parts on the water heater. The water heater began to work properly and the technician completely checked it over for any additional issues. We assumed Mr. ****** was completely satisfied with the quality and efficiency of our service on his water heater. Customer satisfaction is our priority and again we feel we provided quick, dependable, accurate and reasonable service for Mr. ****** per his request and agreement. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/10/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Keeven appliances knew full well that I was not satisfied. I was at the store on Parker Spur several times. Each time I was called a liar about telling them they overcharged me. She refused to believe that I had found it much cheaper. She stated that they paid $80.00 for the part and they ask me who I talked to at ****** when I told her I didn't know his name, she said "THAT'S what I thought". She stated that she would "prove me wrong" snd laughed at me. When **** came to do the disconnect I again ask why they charged me so much. He said you agreed to the price. I told him Handyman was coming out to do it for $115.oo he said show me the receipt. I told him they haven't done it yet. He said that's what I thought. I told him he could come back later and I would show him and he said mail it to me. I have a recording of him telling me that he would cone and disconnect it and that he would contact a lawyer. I spent a lot of time trying to get them to admit that they overcharged me. Each time they were very rude and refused to show me how they arrived at their prices. I have all this documented on paper. So they are the liar when they report that they had no udea of my concerns.

8/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: About 2 months ago, we began having a problem with our double ovens and came across Keven appliance company. We decided to give them a call. On June 26, 2015 a repairman from Keeven came out to my house to diagnose the problem. I informed him that the digital read out had gone blank several times rendering the ovens inoperable during the times of these occurrences. The repairman took the oven panel apart and removed 2 parts from what I'll refer to as the "mother board", examined them, decided they needed to be replaced, and put them back in until he could return with replacement parts. I paid him $92 at the time for the service call which included a surcharge of $39 for the additional time he anticipated it would take for him to work with my warranty company. After returning to his office to check the availability of the parts from the Whirlpool factory, the repairman called me back to inform me that they were available but had to be ordered and would take several days to arrive. As I waited for the parts to arrive, the oven began working again sporadically. On July 8, he arrived with the new parts. I informed him that the oven was currently working but had again been operating sporadically as before. He went ahead and replaced the parts and I was charged an additional $751 in parts, labor and shipping cost. The oven worked fine for about a month until August 7, 2015, when I heard some beeping sounds. I went into the kitchen to discover the panel was no longer lit up and the oven would not work. On August 8, I called Keeven and reported the problem. They scheduled the same repairman to come out the morning of August 10. He took the oven apart and discovered that a part called the transformer was not working. He tested it and returned to the office to check the part's availability. Later he called me and informed me that the part was available but would cost an additional $260!I believe Keeven misdiagnosed the problem from the beginning. We are now up to a whopping $1,103 to repair our ovens! Product_Or_Service: Between June 26, and July 8, 2015 Order_Number: XXXXX, XXXXX

Desired Settlement: A subsequent repairman from a different company has diagnosed the problem as the transformer, which was probably the problem in the first place and not the expensive electronic boards. His charge to replace it:$168 not the outrageous $260 quoted by Keeven! We would like at a minimum to have the entire labor cost of approximately $308 that Keeven charged us, refunded. We probably could have also saved over $400 in unnecessary parts had the problem been diagnosed correctly in the beginning.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/08/14) */ On 7/8/15 we went out to work on his double built in oven and it came up with an F code. That F code means the overlay needed to be replaced. I called the manufacturer and they told me to replace the overlay. It had an issue of intermittent power. That was the power control board and we changed both after my suggestion. He had some sort of home warranty and he bypassed that at that time. I believe he got his money back from that company because we had to talk to them at that time. Everything was fine and in his complaint he said the unit started working when I had the parts ordered; that's how this works, intermittently. 8/10 it was completely dead. I went out to make sure he had voltage and checked the inline fuse and checked his transformer and that transformer was bad. I have to charge for a different problem. This is another part separate from previous issues. I worked in accordance with manufacturer instruction. $265 was the price given to him for the second repair. He said he had someone else replace for $168.

6/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On June 5, 2015, I purchased a washer from the business. As I was leaving, I heard the clerk talking to me telling me that the washer makes a whistling sound. I walked back and started a conversation. She explained what I should expect and did not want me to think something was wrong when I used it. I brought the washer home and found out it does not work automatically. You have to wait and then manually hit a button to move forward in the cycle. I called the business and was asked to take her off speaker phone and she hung up on me. She started yelling at me. I went up there and she had a note on the counter in red it said ********. I got my phone out to take a picture. She was sarcastic and told me it was common sense to change the hoses around. She just kept saying it's common seance. I don't want to have an altercation with her. She is going to send a repair man out, but I don't want the washer.

Desired Settlement: I no longer want the washer and I want to return the washer and get my money back.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/06/30) */ Customer returned the used washer yesterday June 30th and was given a full refund.

2/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a new garbage disposal in March 2013. The garbage disposal stopped working so I called Keeven and asked it it was under warranty and they told me "yes" that I had a two year warranty. I scheduled an appointment for 12/30/2014. The company called and talked to my mother and told her to reset it, had her run it so he could hear it over the phone, he told her that that he thinks something is in it and it's not covered under warranty and canceled my appointment. When I got the news about this, I called him on 12/26/2014 and I asked why he canceled my appointment? He told me that he was saving me money by not coming out and charging me a service fee. I told him that it was under warranty and there wasn't going be a charge. Then he got loud and rude telling me he should just come out and look for something and charge me for it. I would like to warn others about this company and the unprofessional customer service. I have been using them for years and never had a problem before this weekend.

Desired Settlement: I would like the garbage disposal repaired or replaced under warranty.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2015/02/02) */ Attempting to contact customer to arrange a service call on the disposer. We have a land line phone number but not a cell number. She can call the store and ask for ****. I have familiar with the situation and will coordinate an appointment.

10/15/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I made an appointment with Keeven Appliance to come out to repair my refrigerator. They sent out a repair person who told me the repair would cost me $240.00. Stated the compressor was not working and it would cost $240.00 which is a lot of money but I needed to get my refrigerator repaired. He said it should be up and working within 24 hours. I waited 24 hours to see if it started to cool and after waiting 24hours there was know change . I call Keeven Appliance back to advise my refrigerator is still not working. They set up another appointment sent the same repair guy out and he decided that wasn't the problem it might be a fuel problem he said and if that's the problem you might need to purchase a new refrigerator. At this time I requested a full refund due to he didn't know what he was doing the first time . I called the Keeven Appliance back to advise them the tech they sent to my house did not repair the refrigerator and told me I needed to purchase a new one. the little old lady on the phone screamed at me and told me don't say he didn't do anything and there is a problem when it comes to those high tech refrigerators. she stated this what we can do for you, we can give you back half of the $240.00. which will be $120.00 . I told her I'm requesting a full refund due to the repair was not done. She hung up on me after saying She was not the owner and to call back on Monday that's the best she was going to do. My refrigerator is only 2 years old a side by side. This problem came after a power outage I explained to them when setting up the appointment . They stated they could do the repair I also gave them the serial numbers for my refrigerator . This has been the worst customer service I have ever experience in my life time. Who screams at a customer and tells them they don't know what they are talking about. It sounds like a mom and pop business and she might have been protecting her son or something. I'm just a customer who gave $240.00 to a company who stated they can do the repair. Product_Or_Service: Refrigerator

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund back to my bank card ASAP.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/10/15) */ Our service technician replaced a part on the compressor of the refrigerator which is called the relay. Ms. ******'s husband, Mr. ****** was advised that this may or may not fix the problem with the refrigerator and we would not know for about 24 hours. Mr. ****** agreed therefore our technician went ahead with the repair and the compressor immediately started to work. A few days later it was determined by the technician that the compressor was not working as well. Although Ms. ****** keeps insisting our technician did nothing for $240.00 he in fact replaced the faulty relay on the compressor in an attempt to salvage her refrigerator. Ms. ****** was not home at the time of the service repair. Ms. ****** needs to realize that the salesperson working evenings on a Friday night does not have the authority or the resources to refund ANYONE. Harassing her by calling at least eight times within two hours **** not change this policy. Ms. ****** was told to call back on Monday morning and speak to an owner. This should have been understood by her with the first phone call. The manager would have been happy to assist her in resolving this matter. However the phone calling and harassment by Ms. ****** began again on Saturday. During these numerous calls Ms. ****** stated to the salesperson that she was going to stop payment on her check which invalidates a refund. As of this date we are not sure of her intentions with her payment. She was offered a refund of half of the total amount which is $120.00 which she refused.

7/15/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
6/5/2014 Delivery Issues
6/5/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
4/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Keeven Appliance
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart