BBB Accredited Business since

Missouri Furnace Co.

Phone: (314) 261-6000 Fax: (314) 298-8017 1835 Scherer Pkwy, Saint Charles, MO 63303 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.missourifurnace.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Missouri Furnace Co. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Missouri Furnace Co. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Missouri Furnace Co.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1962 Business started: 01/01/1962 Business started locally: 01/01/1962
Business Management
Michael W. Hopen, President
Contact Information
Principal: Michael W. Hopen, President
Business Category

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Heating Contractors Heating & Air Conditioning

Alternate Business Names
Beckmann Heating & Cooling Findlay Heating J & S Abco Heating J & S Heating & Cooling St Louis Findlay Co.

Additional Locations

  • 1835 Scherer Pkwy

    Saint Charles, MO 63303 (314) 261-6000

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/11/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Currently, I have been doing business with Missouri Furnace for over 30 years. The last 3 years their service has been awful. Missouri Furnace would never fix my furnace correctly at my rental property at **** ******* (They knew it was a Flame Sensor, on the ticket dated Dec 2013). Since that time Missouri Furnace replaced Ignitor two times (Oct 2013) and (Nov 2014). These are brand new parts. I was charged 224 dollars for this part 11/13/13 and 11/21/14 (Not our problem). I called Missouri Furnace Oct 2014 to replaced the Flame Sensor (agreed on previous bill), they did the annual cleaning not replacing my Flame Sensor? My Furnace went down in November 2014.I called Missouri Furnace Nov 2014 to replaced the Flame Sensor, Missouri Furnace replaced my previous new ignitor with a new one but did not replace my Flame Sensor?These problems are causing me issues with my rent at **** *******.I called in a new Furnace Company 22 Dec 2014 (I will provide this name later). A new Flame Sensor was added and everything is now working fine.I should not be charged for the new ignitor by Missouri Furnace of 147 dollars on Dec bill. This is Missouri Furnace error because they did not check their records and seem to be guessing on repair issues. They gave me a 45 dollar discount after my complaint but after I reviewed my bills this is not a fair discount. Their service was poor and I'm losing rent money. I felt like I was being used.******* ********* ******************** MO XXXXX

Desired Settlement: Cancel Nov 2014 bill. They did not replaced Flame Sensor agreed on previous bill.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/12/23) */ In answer to Mr. *****'s complaint, Missouri furnace policy is not to replace parts that are not bad. In Mr. *****'s case, the flame sensor was not the problem. Mr. ***** has not paid on his invoice so we are cancelling the invoice but will not do any future work for him. Consumer Response /* (3000, 12, 2015/01/05) */ Hi, Notice on bill 89.95 (10/15/2014), I called them out to replaced the Flame Sensor per bill date 12/18/2013. Missouri Furnace has 12/14/2014 (wrong date on bill). They came back out again 11/21/2014 and added another new ignitor ??? Why? There records show that I need a new Flame Sensor (bill 12/18/2013). They refused to replaced the sensor. Furnace stop working I'm pretty tired of paying out money for poor service and I'm getting charge for it. I called in Superior Heating and Cooling. They ran Diagnostic and communicated that I needed a New Flame Sensor. Everything is morning great now. Missouri Furnace really owe me for their scam and poor service. ******* ***** **** ********* Florissant, Mo XXXXX For property at **** ******* Business Response /* (1000, 15, 2015/01/07) */ Missouri Furnace has cancelled the invoice #XXXXX for Mr. ******* *****. This was stated in our Business Response dated 12/23/14. We are not sure what more Mr ***** would like us to do. We are not charging him for the ignitor we replaced on 11/21/14. Please give our office a call @XXX-XXX-XXXX if you would need to speak to me. Thanks ******* **** / Office Manager Consumer Response /* (3000, 18, 2015/01/08) */ Hi, There was never service provide 12/18/2014. The correct date was (from credit card) 12/18/2013 (Note bill communicated that I needed a new Flame Sensor). We agreed to have it installed in the fall of 2014, but Missouri Furnace installed other parts that was not the problem. Well, my tenants is moving out and it will cost me to lose money until I replaced them. I called in Superior Heating and Cooling, and after their diagnostics, I needed a new Flame Sensor. Everything is working fine. This problem has been going on for the last 3 years (old tickets) and costing me to lose tenants. I have been a good customer with Missouri Furnace for over 30 years. All I want is to have my bill of 265 dollars cancelled. This would be fair. Finally, check old bill in 2010. A New Flame Sensor was installed?? but after that I started having issues with my furnace. All new parts were replaced since that time, but a bad Flame Sensor could have been installed. I paid out a lot of money and my wife is very angry with Missouri Furnace. ******* ***** **** ********* Florissant, Mo XXXXX (XXX)XXX-XXXX Business Response /* (-10, 22, 2015/02/05) */ See Attached Consumer Response /* (3000, 23, 2015/02/11) */ 2/04/2015: I also want the October bill, $89.95, numbered #XXXXXX, to be cancelled because I have never requested that service. 2/05/2015: The company came in December 2013 an recommended that the flame sensor be changed next fall. After that the business came two times; once for a regular cleaning and once for changing the igniter, but have not cancelled the one issued for the regular cleaning. If my balance is zero I will accept that as the solution. 2/05/2015: I accept this. Business Response /* (1000, 24, 2015/02/11) */ 2/05/2015: We have gone through all the invoices from 11/2012 to 2/2014 an all the services. The October bill that the customer wants to be cancelled was issued after a regular cleaning service. My understanding is that the consumer after seeing that his November bill got cancelled after the complaint, wanted to pus a little bit further to get a refund that actually has nothing to do with the complaint. The invoice, which is the subject matter of the complaint, has been cancelled and the consumer was not charged. We will send all the invoices to BBB and will call the consumer just to make sure that there is not further problem. He will be informed that the invoice he wanted to be cancelled has already been cancelled. 2/05/2015: The consumer's balance is zero.

3/25/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
1/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Missouri Furnace Co.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)