BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 02/04/1993

Bel O Sales & Service Inc

Phone: (618) 234-3310Fax: (618) 233-3672

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints1

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
08/07/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Central air unit replaced/installed improperly.
In July, 2011, my a/c unit was stolen from my home. I filed a police rpt. and my home owner's ins., ******** Ins. Co. of IL replaced it. Bel-O in Belleville, IL was awarded the bid for $2125, paid by check. One of Bel-O's reps., (NAME), and I discussed the process. The a/c unit was installed on 9/30/11. On or around 7/1/12 the a/c unit wasn't cooling properly, I attributed the poor performance to the extremely hot temperatures we've been experiencing across the country. On 7/11/12 the thermostat went out. I called my home warranty ins., ******************** and a serviceman from ******************. came out to replace for call out fee of $60. The a/c unit cooled for a while, but still wasn't cooling properly. Little did I know the compressor was shutting down and the fan was blowing constantly. I hope this issue hasn't affected any other parts of the inside unit that will cost me $$ after warranty expires. I contacted Bel-O, they told me it would be a $60 call out fee, I had no choice but to agree, considering the circumstances, and a serviceman came out on 7/20/12. The serviceman (NAME) said TXV valve was bad and not feeding the coil right. He stated the coil had blockage and compressor was pumping fluid instead of gas. To replace/install valve plus labor would cost approximately $396. I mentioned to him that I had home warranty insurance with *** and he suggested I contact them and try to get the coil, valve and possibly compressor replaced (he said they might replace the whole thing), but compressor still under warranty. At completion of (NAME) service call he wrote up a service ticket indicating, Repair No. (XX-XXXX), Description (Need new TXV valve), Repair Cost ($73.50) plus Trip Charge ($60), Subtotal ($133.50) minus Service Policy Discount ($6.50) resulting in a total amount due ($124.00), paid in cash. I purchased a portable a/c for $323, it has been operating non stop since time of purchase and air mattress $70 so we can sleep in living room and close all doors to other rooms in the home just to stay somewhat comfortable until this issue is rectified in the 100+ degree temperatures we've been experiencing. My 90 yr old mother is having a hard time adapting to sleeping on an air mattress and I hope the problem can be corrected ASAP. I contacted *** on 7/21/12 and the same serviceman from ******************s. that replaced thermostat returned on 7/24/12. I told him what Bel-O's serviceman said and he said the a/c unit and compressor were ******* products, still under warranty and there was nothing he could do. He look at the a/c unit outside, took some numbers off of the front of the inside unit and told me I needed to contact Bel-O, because the a/c unit had been installed improperly. The compressor and coil were not compatible and the valve was not bad. He stated he would submit his findings to ***, but thought they would deny the claim, which they did. I left 2 voicemail msgs. for (NAME) on 7/24 and didn't receive a return call. I left another voicemail msg. on 7/25 in the a.m. asking that something be done to resolve this issue, primarily for the health, safety and well being of my mother and son. (NAME) did return my call in the afternoon. I read to him what the serviceman from ***** wrote up and submitted to ***: "A/C unit installed improperly - unit in lock out mode - didn't change out evaporative coil - condenser or compressor? 13 sheer - evaporative 10 sheer - not compatible with each other - tried to make it work by installing TXV - also unit missing oil trap - oil going back into coil clogging TXV - found contaminates in refrigerant due to unit not being flushed out properly due to improper installation. "(NAME) said on 7/25/12 at approx 1:30 p.m. he would ctc. serviceman, (NAME), and get back with me on getting the issue rectified. As of 7/26/12, at 10:00 a.m. (CT), I've not been contacted by anyone from Bel-O in an attempt to resolve my problem.

Desired Settlement
I ask that Bel-O take into consideration the hardship being placed on my family, be honest, stand behind their work and correct the problem. As a sign of goodwill, since Bel-O's written proposal, dated 9/16/11, indicates, "Warranty: (5) years on all ******* parts; (1) year all parts and labor from Bel-O" I request to be reimbursed and made whole for all of my out of pocket expenses, inconveniences and sure to come astronomical electric bill due to their negligence. The (1) year warranty on all parts and labor from Bel-O be extended for an additional year from the date of correction to compensate for improper installation on 9/30/11.

Business' Initial Response
we contacted the consumer and have a appointment with her on 08/01/12 to get the unit going. we are in the process of resolving this complaint.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Air Conditioning Repair, Heating & Air Conditioning, Heating Contractors

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.