BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 01/23/2006

Autumn Exteriors, LLC

Phone: (417) 831-2200

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints3

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
09/17/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Made numerous calls requesting guarantee work on windows and doors. Met with slow (several months) or no response.
Purchased windows and doors about 3 years ago. Double pane windows and sliding doors have a discoloration forming between the panes that blocks view. Paid cash for windiws and installation.

Desired Settlement
They advertise that their windows are guaranteed. Would like them to honor guarantee.

01/21/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Rep came to our home in mid Oct. to give an estimate on siding our home. Signed the paperwork to have it done. Was told 4-6 weeks & haven't heard back
We were told the siding would be done on our home by December 1st. We haven't heard from anyone since the initial estimate where we signed the paperwork to have our home sided. We have called the office number & left a message for the project manager on December 07 & called the toll free number today & left a message & have yet to hear back from anyone. The paperwork we received said we would be informed at all times of the progress & we haven't been informed at all.

Desired Settlement
We want our siding done in a timely manner.

Business' Initial Response
In view of the unfortunate circumstances, we are grateful for your home improvement interest with our company and would like to again apologize for any mishaps or lack of communication with respect to your Contract dated October 16, 2012.
At Autumn Exteriors, we are very serious about our customer's satisfaction and we work hard to get to the bottom of any customer complaints. After analyzing the issue and conducting several internal reviews, we are taking the necessary steps to ensure that this will not happen again.
We do value your patronage as a customer and hope to have the pleasure of doing business with you in the future.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The service was not performed in a timely manner & we consider the contract cancelled.

Business' Final Response
At Autumn Exterior's we strive to ensure each customer is completely satisfied with our products and service. Therefore, we are eager to rectify the situation by allowing you to cancel your contract as of this date.
Thanking you in advance for your cooperation in this matter.

08/12/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Autumn Exteriors owner misrepresented the siding product and lifetime transferable warranty in June and August 2007.
We met with Autumn Exteriors owner at our home on June 9, 2009. The discussion lead us to selecting Alside Pelican Bay shakes and scallops. Our purchase decision was based on Autumn Exterior owners verbal statements that this was an Alside product and carried a transferable lifetime warranty that included fading. We signed a contract that specified Pelican Bay on June 9, 2007. When the materials arrived we noted that the boxes were labeled Pelican Bay and Alside. Autumn Exteriors completed the work in August 2007 and we received an Alside Lifetime transferable warranty that included fading. We paid Autumn Exteriors $26,973 for the siding by check.

We filed a claim with Alside warranty services in September 2012 because the product was defective (fading). Alside warranty services sent us a letter dated September 28, 2012 rejecting warranty service because they had not manufactured the product. I informed Autumn Exteriors of this fact and Autumn Exteriors contacted the outside sales representative for Alside in Springfield. A representative by the name of ***** called and told us that we would receive warranty instructions for Pelican Bay. The Alside outside representative sent us a letter telling us to file the Pelican Bay manufacturing claim with American Original Building Products. I contacted the product manager at American Original Building Products on October 12, 2012. The product manager asked me when the product was installed. I told him August 2007. He asked if the siding was one or two panel. When I responded two panel he told me the following: The product was not manufactured by American Original Building Product, therefore they would not warranty the product. The product was manufactured by Atlantis which was bankrupt and out of business, The siding was defective and the problem I described was inadequate UV protection. We later found out through Associated Materials (the parent company of Alside), that the product we had purchased had been manufactured by Atlantis plastics and that they had declared bankruptcy in 2008 and went out of business. Accordingly, they were no longer covering their warranties. We were never told this by Autumn Exteriors. We requested a review of our warranty claim with Alside through the Alside outside sales representative. On or about January 9, 2013 an employee of Autumn Exteriors, Johnny called our home to inform us that Alside was not going to honor the warranty but that he and the Autumn Exterior owner wanted to meet with us to discuss replacement. My spouse told him that we were not going to pay for replacement. Autumn Exteriors set a January date but cancelled it. We did meet with Autumn Exteriors representative Johnny on April 19 at our home. Johnny lead us to believe that Autumn Exteriors was going to replace the siding at no cost to us. The next meeting took place on June 21, 2013 at our home to discuss replacement. Autumn Exterior owner and Johnny were present. The Autumn Exterior owner, told us that he could not pay for replacement but he would replace the siding if we paid him $11,754. He later reduced the price to $10,000. We sent him a letter on June 24, 2013 requesting full replacement at no cost or a check for $27,973. As of this date, Autumn Exteriors has not responded. We relied on the owners misrepresentation to make our purchase. The owner in our June 21, 2013 meeting did not deny that he misrepresented the product or the warranty. We would not have made the purchase if we had known that the product was manufactured and the warranty was from Atlantis plastics, but we were not made aware of this fact. We believe that we should be made whole for our $26,973 and that Autumn Exteriors accurately represent their products and warranties.

Desired Settlement
We request a refund of $26,973.

Business' Initial Response
******* *******
Attorneys at Law, LLC

July 22, 2013

Better Business Bureau
430 S. Glenstone, Ste A
Springfield, MO 65802

RE: ***** ****** Complaint/Autumn Exteriors
Matter ID XXXXX-XXX

Dear Sirs:

This matter has been given to me to respond to Mr. ******'s complaint. Mr. ******'s complaint seems to be against Alside manufacturing. They say that they received an Alside lifetime transferrable warranty when the work was done on their house. I believe that is correct. The terms of the contract with Mr. and Mrs. ****** provide that:

"Seller warrants that the materials required will be installed in a workmanlike manner. However, seller makes no warranty as to materials and buyer is limited to the rights conferred by the warranty of the respective manufacture of said materials, as applicable."

The contract provided for guarantees for workmanship for one year from Autumn Exteriors and the Alside Guaranty on siding material. The fact that Alside will not now warranty their materials not something that Autumn Exteriors has control over. The fact that Alside, or a subsidiary may have gone of of business is not the responsibility of Autumn Exterior. I don't think it makes any difference, from a legal standpoint, who manufactured the material, the material was ordered from Alside, from an Alside catalog, the check was made to Alside, it was shipped form Alside, in an Alside box. It was an Alside product. If they want to try to blame it on a sub who is out of business, they can try that, but I don't think they will be successful. This was an Alside product and regardless of who the subcontract was who manufactured it for them and Alside should guaranty the product that they sold. Mr. ****** seems to believe that the Alside is responsible. I suggest that he pursue Alside if there is a problem with the product that was installed.

I am very sorry this event happened, but Autumn Exteriors does not manufacture the product that is installed and does not warrant it, and therefore should not be expected to have a warranty on it, especially when the contract language says exactly the opposite.

Thank you for your inquiry and please feel free to let me know if you need any further information.

Very truly yours,
******* *******
Attorneys at Law, LLC

***** ** *******

CFL:hlb

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Counsel for Autumn Exteriors states the following:
1. "I do not know who actually manufactured the product but it makes no difference." 2."There was no misrepresentation of anything by Autumn Exteriors." 3."It doesn't make any difference who manufactures the product for Alside, it was an Alside product. It could have been manufactured by Chinese siding, Inc., xyz manufacturing, Inc., or Taiwan siding production, inc. and it would make no difference."

We completely disagree with counsels statements.
We made a purchasing decision based on Autumn Exterior owner, ***'s statements that this was an Alside product with a lifetime transferable Alside warranty, which included fading. This was a misrepresentation. A seller of a product cannot tell the customer that the product was manufactured by company A and has a lifetime warranty with that company when it was made by company B and carries their warranty. We relied on the verbal misrepresentation of the Autumn Exterior owner to make our purchase. If the Autumn Exterior owner had not misrepresented the product manufacturer and warranty information, we would have had the opportunity to investigate the manufacturer prior to purchasing the product. Had we been told that this was not manufactured by Alside and did not carry the Alside warranty, we would not have made the purchase. The product we purchased in known as Pelican Bay. Pelican Bay is sold through Alside but it is not manufactured by Alside and Alside does not carry the warranty.

Pelican Bay is currently manufactured by American Original Building Products in Ohio.Pelican Bay carries the warranty, not Alside. If the seller of the product tells the customer that this is an Alside product with an Alside lifetime warranty, this is a misrepresentation because it is not true. The misrepresentation prevents the customer from investigating the viability of the manufacturer. If the customer relies on the misrepresentation of the seller to purchase the product,the customer is entitled to be made whole.

During our June 21, meeting,I told the Autumn Exteriors owner that he had misrepresented the product and warranty.He did not deny it.

We request that Autumn Exteriors do the right thing by this retired couple and refund the $26,973.

Sincerely,

***** ** ******

***** ** ******

Business' Final Response
******* *******
Attorneys at Law, LLC

July 30, 2013

Better Business Bureau
430 S. Glenstone, Ste A
Springfield, MO 65802

RE: ***** ****** Complaint/Autumn Exteriors
Matter ID XXXXX-XXX

Dear Sirs:

Mr. and Mrs. ****** are completely wrong on this issue. The product was delivered in an Alside box, was sold by Alside off of Alside samples. Autumn Exteriors paid Alside for the material. I do not know who actually manufactured the product, but it make no difference. Alside was the seller and Alside should stand behind their product. The fact that the manufacturer does not stand behind their product does not in any way make the installer liable. It was an Alside product, sold by Alside. When the Frenchs say "it was not an Alside product" they are absolutely wrong. It doesn't make any difference who manufactures the product for Alside, it was an Alside product. It could have been manufactured by Chinese Siding, Inc., xyz manufacturing, Inc., or Taiwan siding production, inc., and it would make no difference. It is an Alside product. Their complaint and I believe a valid one, is against Alside for not standing behind their warranty.

There was no misrepresentation of anything by Autumn Exteriors.

Very truly yours,

******* *******
Attorneys at Law, LLC

***** ** *******

CFL:hlb

Industry Comparison| Chart

Windows, Sunroom & Solarium Design & Construction, Siding Contractors

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.