BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 05/29/2003

Branson Tourism Center, LLC

Phone: (417) 334-4400Fax: (417) 334-4588

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Billing / Collection Issues2
Problems with Product / Service2
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints6

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (6)BBB Closure Definitions
10/24/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Their rep invited us to go to a "nice breakfast" at ******* Resort and get a tour of the facility. It would take 2 hours. He assured us there would be no individual sales pitch, that it would all be done in a group. For attending, we would be given ***** This was a total misrepresentation. A ******* sales rep accompanied each family. The "nice breakfast" was a biscuit breakfast sandwich wrapped in waxed paper, with coffee or juice. For that we were required to put down a *** refundable deposit! It took 2 1/2 hours. Before they gave us the signed voucher so we could get our **** from Branson Tourism, we were required to fill out what appeared to be a credit application, including personal data, even though we had no intention of applying for credit. I complained to Branson Tourism but have not received a response.

Desired Settlement
I'd like a response and an apology from the manager of Branson Tourism Center.

Business Response
Below is the response Branson Tourism Center would like to submit to Mrs. *******'s complaint, BBB Case # XXXXXX.


Dear Mrs. *******,

We would like to extend our sincerest and heartfelt apologies to you for any miscommunication that may have occurred from our staff to you. We value our customers and want to earn their continued business. We also apologize for the delay in responding to your initial email to us. Branson Tourism Center takes pride in its level of customer service and it is disheartening to learn an agent hasn't lived up to that level. Please know that we take feedback seriously and we have used your comments regarding your experience as a training opportunity for your check in agent. We would like to clarify that the ****** refundable deposit was only to hold your time slot at the resort. It was not held to pay for your breakfast during the presentation. The breakfast provided by Wyndham resort is complimentary.

Tour times may extend the 2 hour presentation time depending on the interest level from the customer and questions that are asked and answered during the final session of the presentation. We understand timeshare presentations are not for everyone. We offer this option to our customers because it has become a popular way to travel, and for the opportunity to help our customers offset the cost of their vacation by giving cash back. Branson Tourism Center never requires any customer to attend a timeshare presentation to receive our discounts or use our services.

We hope this experience will deter you from remaining a loyal Branson customer.

Sincerely,
***** ******
Manager
Branson Tourism Center

08/12/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Sold hotel room they didn't have and then tried to sell another at almost double the cost.
Order #: *******
Cart ID: *******
Cart Key: ******

We booked a family room at the ***** **** Hotel through bransonontheweb.com on 7/26/2014. On 7/27 we were contacted and told the room was not available and offered to find an alternative and get back with us in a couple of hours. We informed them we would not pay more than the $****** we agreed to when purchasing the room. We weren't contacted again until 7/28 and were told they had found rooms but were then informed they cost are one hotel was going to be over $*** and the other over $***. We told them that that was unacceptable and that since they were selling a product they didn't have that they should have been covering the difference in cost. They would not cover any of the difference at all. Even after we told them that we could still go online and book the same exact room while we were on the phone with them. As of this writing (about an hour since the last call) I can still go to the website and book the room.

Desired Settlement
Due to the fact that I'm now tasked with finding somewhere to stay for my trip due to the incompetence of The Branson Tourism Center I feel that offering either a free stay on another date or at a minimum a very highly discounted stay on another date would be appropriate.

Business Response
Thank you for contacting Branson Tourism Center with this customer's concerns. We have contacted this customer and have been able to procure lodging for him and his family for his original travel dates. We are also revamping our online reservations process to better inform our customers of hotel availability as well as final confirmation of their reservation requests.

As always, Branson Tourism Center strives to excel in customer service and provide a seamless vacation experience for all our customers. We value our customers and strive to exceed their expectations whenever possible. We have used this customer's feedback as a constructive training tool so this same situation does not occur in the future.

Thank you again.

Sincerely,
Branson Tourism Center

08/19/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
July 15, 2013

Re: Branson Tourism Center
*** ******* ***** ***** ***** K
Branson, Mo. XXXXX

Sir:

I have had a serious problem with the above Tourism Center and tried without success to have it resolved in a true, fair and justifiable manner. Branson depends upon tourism and the way we have been treated is questionable.

Discover, who we charged our package deal with said they are giving us credit for this disputed amount because we have been excellent customers of theirs since 1984, their inception date of existence. We are not happy with this resolution soley because of the principal of the matter... We feel Branson Tourism Center or ***** *** *** ***** who sold the package to us back in February should be held Responsible.

Last time to Branson I thought over 5 yrs.,ago but more like 15 yrs ago...our son gave us airline tickets and I called the Center Feb.11th and asked for accommodations and show ticket package, stating all we needed was a nice hotel room and bath...no hot breakfast or extras....All entertainers would not be back for the season and Cheryl was quite happy to be of assistance... and said we would get a good deal. We clearly depended upon her judgement.

Our trip was from 4/24/13 to 4/29/13.......Paid in full for package 2/11/13
Which included no questions asked cancellation protection........on our Discover bill. Total $573.57........................

The room at ******* *** was totally un-acceptable. We immediately called the Center and what was offered was ***** ***** which was "down the road," no other alternative...we were to go and see if we approved of ***** **** We had to walk with luggage, as our rental car was ordered for April 25th...."down the road:..which was nearly a full mile, up and up and around hills. We are in our seventies...so no easy task...***** *** was the type of accommodations we expected to begin with.. We called Center back and was informed that an Additional fee would be applied to our Discover card of $83.37....This is the disputed amount, which we feel ****** and/or The Center is responsible for not us. NO
OPTIONS===WE DENINITELY FEEL IT WAS NOT JUSTIFIED, FAIR, OR TOURIST FRIENDLY. WE ARE SENDING THIS TO THE BETTER BUSINESS BUREAU OF SPRINGVILLE, MO........ALSO.....

We were at their mercy and trust.

Sincerely,

**********, **., and wife ********* ****
***************
San Antonio, Texas, XXXXX

Business' Initial Response
July 29, 2013

Better Business Bureau
Southwest Missouri
430 S. Glenstone Ave. Suite A
Springfield, MO 65802

RE: BBB Case #XXXXXX
Branson Tourism Center Order ****** **** & ***** ****

The customer contacted Branson Tourism Center on February 11, 2013 and mad reservations for her vacation to Branson, MO. Their vacation consisted of a five night stay at ******* *** arriving on April 24, 2013. The customer went straight to their lodging then contacted Branson Tourism Center and stated they were unhappy with ******* **** Our Manager tried to find another location close to ******* *** and informed the customer about ***** **** Our reservation notes state in customer's conversation to our Manager that they had called a cab but it was going to take longer than they wanted to wait so they chose to walk to ***** **** Our Manager offered to search for other locations within the price range they paid for ******* *** but the customer declined because they liked ***** *** which was an upgrade in lodging property. Our Manager informed our customer that ***** *** was a higher priced property than ******* **** The customer informed our Manager they would not pay extra. Even though the customer chose a higher rate property, in order to come to an agreement our Manager approved to cover 25% of the cost so the customer's portion to upgrade to a higher valued property was only $83.37. Customer agreed as shown on the enclosed signed merchant receipt she signed when they came in to pick up their vacation package.

Our agents always ask questions of the customers so that they know what type of property they are accustom to staying at. Since we are a local company, our agents know the properties and can describe to the customer the type of rooms amenities available. A range of properties are provided by our agents based upon what the customer states they are looking for in a hotel. The decision is up to the customer where they wish to stay and in this case, Mr. and Mrs. **** **** chose the ******* Inn.

We are always happy to move customers to properties that are within the same price range the customer paid for their lodging when they made their reservations so there is no upgrade cost to the customer.

If we can provide any further explanation, please let me know.

Sincerely,

***** ******************

Branson Tourism Center
*** ******* ***** ******** ****** K
Branson, MO XXXXX

Consumer's Final Response
August 2, 2013

Better Business Bureau
Southwest Missouri - 430 S. Glenstone Ave., Suite A
Springfield, Mo., XXXXX

Re: BBB Case # XXXXXX

To Whom it may concern:

We cannot believe the reply that we received from you today. It is so appalling That they would even state such lies in a letter to you. Branson Tourism Center Of Branson, Mo., should no be a representative in any way for the City of Branson.

Our letter to you dated, July 15, 2013, is self-explanatory---word for word-

Truth for truth.......in every respect.

You may check our reputation with Discover...... We hae traveled to many places, far and wide and all charges for trips charged to our Discover bill... when possible. Never in our twenty some odd years with Discover have we ever had to dispute a charge., such as this one.

We are more disappointed and dis-satisfied. This is so unbelievable.

Please re-read our letter to you dated, July15, 2013.

Sincerely,

*****, ****,**., and wife, ***** ** ****

**** & ***** ****
*** ******* ***
****** ***** ****
*** ******** ** XXXXX
3of cc copy to Discover - Attorney Gen'l - Missouri

Business' Final Response
August 6th, 2013

BBB Serving Southwest Missouri
430 S. Glenstone Avenue - Suite A
Springfield, MO XXXXX

RE: Case #XXXXXX - Mr. and Mrs. ****

We truly do not want to cause any further anxiety for Mr. and Mrs. ****. As you know, we are a private company who specialized in travel to Branson and we take our customer service very seriously. I have read the entire file concerning Mr. and Mrs. ****'s experience with out company and find little value on either side in going back and forth with regard to what transpired.

As a good **** gesture, we **** refund the $83.37 that Mrs. **** signed for.

Thank you for providing a cooperative environment n which to resolve this. Please do not hesitate to contact me with any questions.

Sincerely,

***** ******* / DIRECTOR OF OPERATIONS

Branson Tourism Center
Ph: (XXX) XXX-XXXX / Fx: (XXX) XXX-XXXX
*** ******* ***** *******
Branson, MO XXXXX

Consumer Response
August 29, 2013

Rose Bruffett

Complaint Dept. - Case # ****** - Branson Tourism Center, LLC

BBB of Southwest Missouri, 430 S. Glennstone Ave., Ste.A

Springfield, MO 65802

Branson Tourism Center gave credit of $83.37 reluctantly back to our Discover card.

We have been in Seattle, Wa., and just returned and received this information. We have travel extensively in the past 25yr.. We have never tried to obtain Something that was not due us....this has been quite an experience and Branson Tourism Center will never be used by us again and needless to say, we will have No good words to say about them.... As said, our letter was word for word, truth For truth and all of the story of the people we encountered was not told....but in itself, it was self-explanatory...... We still remain disappointed and very dis-satisfied. Feel free to send this letter to your Attorney General's Office, as we do feel he Sent our original letter to you.... We do thank you for your assistance in this matter.
*************************************, San Antonio, Texas 78213

05/13/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I wont ever go to Branson again.
I had a reservation to go to a show and hotel for Apriil 6th and return April 7th. I went to one of the Visitor Centers on highway 268. The visitor center is on the Northwest side of US-65. A gentleman wanted me to go on a tour and it costs 20.00 deposit and if I wasnt able to make it I was gonna get my 20.00 that was refundable and Im still waiting. Im gonna press charges if I dont here from any body by Monday April 19th. Someone stole my money and I want them to be arrested for not refunnding my money like they told me they were gonna do.

Desired Settlement
I want my 20.00 back orIm pressing charges for stealing my money.

Business' Initial Response
**************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
****** **********
Manager
Ph: (417) XXX-XXXX
Fx: (417) XXX-XXXX
*************************
Branson, MO XXXXX
www.BransonTourismCenter.com



From: ****** wiskirchen (mailto:*****@bransontourismcenter.com)
Sent: Monday, April 22, 2013 3:40 PM
To: '*************'
Cc: ****** ******; ****** ******; maranda carter
Subject: FW: BBB Complaint Case#XXXXXX(Ref#REDACT36*****@bransontourismcenter.com35*****@bransontourismcenter.com37REDACT)



*******,



Attached is our response to Mr. ******'s complaint.



He placed an order with our company for lodging and shows. Our agent offered an opportunity for the customer to go on a Wyndham tour but he did not meet the qualifications to go on a tour (Did not make enough money annually) No deposit was taken. All this is explained in our attached response.



Also, our agent misspelled his last name in our reservation system. The attached documents states Horlocaer. We corrected last name in our reservation system and the correction is confirmed on the attached confirmation. (Last page attached)



Let me know if you are unable to open the attachment or if you need anything else.



Regards,

******



**************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
****** **********

04/15/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Branson tours did not tell me that there was a 10% cancellation fee to cancel reservations. THey charged $28.90 on my credit card. I will not pay it
I called on X-XX-XXXX to make a reservation at a hotel. THEY did not tell me that if I cancel there will be a 10% cancellation FEE. I got a customer receipt for $28.90. I did not authorize them to charge that on my card. I was not aware that there was a cancel fee to cancel. I even asked the guy if I cancel how long should I allow to cancel without any penalty. He said 72 hours. He did not mention that there was a cancel fee. I would of hung up immediately. I have contacted Brason Tourism and they said all their representative mark on a sheet of paper stating that they TOLD the customer about the cancel fee and there is another option for $19.00 that if I would cancel I would not be charge the 10%. I WAS NOT AND DID NOT HAVE THIS CONVERSATION with the reprentative.

Desired Settlement
I want my $28.90 credit back to my credit card.

Business' Initial Response
XXXXXX
****** ****** called us to book her Branson vacation on March 12, 2013 at 5:53pm and spoke to our Agent, ****. **** completed the handwritten form (See attached) that clearly shows he informed ****** of our ''No Questions Asked Cancellation Protection for $19.95'' in which she declined. Our whole purpose for offering Cancellation Protection is for cases such as this when unforeseen issues arise that causes customers to cancel their vacation. Since she declined the ''No Asked Cancellation Protection,'' **** informed ****** of our Standard Cancellation Policy of 10% cancellation fee. **** let ****** know that we could move their arrival date or put the total amount on Gift Card to be used at a later date. This has always been the police of Branson Tourist Center and it is standard procedures on every order booked through our company. The 72 hours ****** mentions in her complaint is on the handwritten order **** went over with her and states ''Refunds cannot be guaranteed for nonrefundable shows and cancellations within 72 hours of arrival'' and if she needed to cancel, **** gave her the date of 5/8 so that she was not within those 72 hours. All this information is also on the Confirmation letter emailed to ****** on 3/12/XXXX X:04pm by ****. ****** called us 3/13/2013 and spoke to our Agent, **** and requested to cancel. **** completed and turned in a Cancellation Request Form (attached) and customer's order was canceled with the standard 10% cancellation fee.
Our goal is to always provide avenues for our customer not to be charge the 10% cancellation fee by providing the options mentioned above that was explained to ******.
Enclosed are the following documents: 1) Branson Tourism Center Customer Order/****** ******; 2) Agents Handwritten Order; 3) Reservation System Notes of our Manager, **** and his conversation with ****** and her husband on March 18, 2013 at 8:35pm. My conversation with ****** on March 19, 2013 at 12:13pm; 4) Cancellation Request Form and 5) Merchant Receipt with 10% cancel fee withheld (Customer receipt mailed to ******)6)Confirmation letter.
Sincerely,
****** Wiskirchen- Manager

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The **** agent DID NOT tell me about the 19.95 "No Questions Asked Cancellation Protection. I told **** I want to hear the conversation regarding this $19.95 "No Questions Asked Cancellation Protection for $19.95. They told me the conversations was not RECORDED. If he would of told me about this cancellation I would not have taken it. And if he would of told me that there was a 10% cancellation fee on the 289.00 hotel package that I had purchased I WOULD NOT HAVE booked it. I asked him three times . IF I CANCEL is there a cancellation fee? He said as long as I call 72 hours before the scheduled date of arrival > I WOULD NOT BE CHARGED. I have booked a lot of items on the internet and I ALWAYS ask if there is a cancellation fee. **** DID NOT mention nothing about the No questions asked cancellation protection. I could of paid $19.95 but they charged me more money of 10% of my bill which was $28.90 . Why would I do that? That does not make sense to me. I had **** on the phone and we kept looking and looking for different dates of arrival time for me to book, I was not going to book the reservation with all the difficultly that I was having to get the dates to work with my schedule and availability with the hotel. **** DID NOT inform me about any 19.95 fee or any 10% fee. I did call the next morning at 8:00 am to cancel the reservation and the gentleman I talked to DID NOT MENTION about the 10%. or did not mention about the $19.95 . They should of mentioned that in that conversation, because maybe I would of changed my reservation or book it at a different time, if I knew that there was going to be a fee. I even asked the agent if I was going to be charged anything because I was cancelling this far in advance and he said NO.
I want to hear the phone conversation with these agents. I just made the reservation and gave them the Credit card with the understanding if I cancel 72 hours before arrival I WOULD NOT BE CHARGED ANYTHING. In the dispute from the Branson place **** talks about a GIFT CARD????? What is that????? He NEVER MENTIONED a gift card to ME!!!!!! These agents talk to a lot of people every day and they are just like a broken record, but each conversation is different and HE DID NOT MENTION anything about these charges to me. This is also a time share and they didn't mention that.

Business' Final Response
We refunded ****** the cancelation fee of $28.90. Attached is Branson Tourism Center Confirmation letter with a zero balance and the Customer Receipt reflecting the refund. Even though this information is forwarded onto ******, I placed a hard copy of the attached to go out to her in tomorrow's mail.

01/07/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We booked our trip with the branson tourism center for three nights at a beautiful hotel. at the time we booked they had smoking rooms. when we got to the tourism center we asked again if our rooms were smoking rooms. They said yes. Well come to find out this hotel had gone all none smoking back in july after we made our plans.No one called to let us know anything. OK so now we are in branson and no rooms. We paid for smoking rooms. When the tourism center was called they stated that they would find us comperable accomidations . This was not so. We were booked into a beautiful 5 star hotel and ended up in this place, is not even close. We went from a beautifully decorated 5 star in my book hotel where everything is inside to an ok hotel where everything is outside. If you want to go to the pool you have to go outside up a hill and then into the pool area. Did I tell you this is now December. If you want the breakfast this is also out side up the hill and then into the breakfast area. THIS IS NOT COMPOERABLE OR ACCEOTABLE.Then she stated that if this is not ok she could continue to try to find rooms and we could move again it just depended on how much we wanted to move. Really who wants to spend there whole vacation moving because they could not make a phone call or send an e-mail to let us know of the change in the hotel we booked. We drove 600 miles to have this vacation and rest and enjoy ourselves and have done anything but enjoy ourselves. This is not ok. When we spoke on the phone I was told that for 2 pakages that costed 998.00 I would get 66 dollars back to split between the 2 packages. This is not ok. I want alot more then that. I am beside myself with what they did to us. I will never use the tourism center for a vacation again.I want this made right whatever it takes but how do you make this right after all that we have been through already. I'm not sure iI would want to go through this for free would any of you? Thhis could all or have been avoided with one phone call 6 months ago
Product_Or_Service: vacation package
Account_Number: 998.00

Desired Settlement
I want compensation and more then 66.00. I want my money back and then compensation for all my stressand agrivation from this trip. If they could come up with a reasonable settlement for this I am willing to listen. But as of right now this is not a pleasurable trip they have ruined it for us. What would they expext if this happened to them. They can make this right and they should. I have 2 days left and would like to enjoy them but probably not going to happen in this situation!!

Business Response
Dear Rose,



This is Branson Tourism Center's response for the complaint filed under Case # 130130 for ****** ** *********:



Branson Tourism Center received a phone call from the original hotel on customers day of arrival stating they no longer offered smoking rooms, and our customer had requested smoking rooms. We immediately began an internal investigation to find out if the property had previously given us that information so we could have informed our customer. We were unable to find any information in our records showing the hotel had gone 100% nonsmoking. We were able to move the customer to a hotel that did have 2 smoking rooms available to accommodate her and her party. We refunded the price difference between the hotels to the customer's credit card in the amount of $66.50. Understandably, the customer was still upset about the change in lodging so we refunded the price of 2 Silver Dollar City tickets totaling $123.44. Customer stated to our management staff that she would accept that compensation and appeared thankful for our efforts in making the situation better for her and her party.



If there is anything we can do to help you, please let us know.



Sincerely,

http://media.bransontourismcenter.com/images/btc/email/btc icon.gifhttp://media.bransontourismcenter.com/images/btc/email/branson_icon.gif


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I don't care that it was newly renovated. We paid for what we wanted they did not deliver. The focal point is not the smoking it is the fact that they did not contact me to make other arrangements when this all started. This is very poor business on there part. the place we ended up at was on a steep hill and you had to go outside to get to EVERYTHING. I really wonder how these people would react if it was their vacation and the people they booked with were as unprofessional as these people I am dealing with. They had ample time to fix this. And as for the other couple they were not any happier then me. She also talked to these people she was just nicer about it. So obviously they didn't get that she was upset to. And it is hard to have a relaxing vacation when you have to continuously interrupt your trip 3 out of the 4 days to talk to these people. they just need to accept and admit that they were wrong and not try to blame us for a situation they caused. They need to own their mistake and they don't want to do anymore then the bare minimum to make it right. I am so tired of trying to deal with these people. Ask yourself this if you had to deal with this for 3 out 4 days of your vacation would less then 200.00 appease you for the inconvenience they caused? And could you relax and have a good time while doing so.

Final Business Response
We have reviewed the case for ****** ********* and honestly do not know what else to do to help her. The property she was moved to is newly renovated, branded and has a great location. In communication with her and the other couple travelling with them, we received very mixed signals from her compared to the other party in her group with regard to their satisfaction levels. We did immediately refund the difference in the lodging properties of $66.50 and then refunded another $123.44 for two of their Silver Dollar City tickets that they booked with us in an attempt to help appease Mrs. *********. We are unsure as to what else Mrs. ********* is looking for and feel we have made every effort to make her happy. We are very disappointed that the initial issue of the Hotel Grand Victorian moving to an all non-smoking status and our efforts to locate another smoking room on their behalf became the focal point of Mrs. *********'s entire trip to Branson and undermined what should have been a relaxing and memorable vacation for all of them.



If you or **** feel that additional measures need to be taken to resolve this for the customer, please let us know. As always, we appreciate your assistance in bringing this to a satisfactory resolution.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Tours - Operators & Promoters, Ticket Sales - Events

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.