BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 11/01/2013

Great American Title Insurance Agency

Find a Location

(417) 823-0800View Additional Phone Numbers506 W Battlefield St, SpringfieldMO 65807-4122Send email to Great American Title Insurance Agency

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 11/01/2013

BBB has determined that Great American Title Insurance Agency meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Great American Title Insurance Agency include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Great American Title Insurance Agency

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
07/10/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
w ent to closing on 05/21/2015, after closing informed problem with not having received wire for cutting my checks
call on friday still no money to be disbursed, finally on tuesday received check to seller and told check to pay off loan to bank to be sent that day, no check reached bank to payoff loan until wed, damages at 5% for days calc to approx *******

Desired Settlement
reimbursement for interest lost due to bad closing

Business Response
From the closing agent:
This loan was scheduled to close at 2:00 on 5/21/15. Closing went fine. I sent off for funding, got funding approval right away. The out of State lender was provided our wiring instructions, however, sent the wire with out our name on it. Our local Bank rejected the wire. By the time we found this out the out of State lender had missed their wire cut off time. Friday morning I started email asking for the funds. I kept being told over and over the wire had been sent. At 3:00 that day I started calling. The people I was working with had all left early for the holiday weekend. I called and got a manager and was told the wire was never sent someone had missed a step. I told the out of State lender they need to pay the seller's interest which was ***** per day. The seller says he was ********** that is not the amount I came up with which was ******* Out of State lender on Tuesday sent the wire with out any additional. The borrowers called and I told them I had their check and they came and picked it up. I still have not received any additional funds to cover the seller's additional cost. I can send you all the emails back forth requesting the money. The out of State lender at this point has NOT sent funds to cover the interest due to their mistake or missed step.

Thank you
****** *************
HUD ID ***********


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
will be accepted when made right

Final Business Response
**** we have contacted the lender numerous times about their delay in funding costing their customer **** or so in fee's with no success and have asked either party to work it out amongst themselves if possible. I understand the consumer asking us to get the **** loss in interest for him through his lender but then to make a complaint on us for not being able to get the lender to pay for their mistake caught me a bit off guard. We can assist, we will continue to pursue for the consumer, but we cannot force the lender to do something for their consumer which is where we are stuck. The consumer just wants us to pay it in good will and pursue the lender for ourselves, and is using the BBB as leverage to get us to pay such a small fee of ***** I understand it would be easy for us just to pay, would be a quick way for us to resolve this situation, and a certain way to make a complaint go away for just **** but it is not the right or proper resolution. We do not feel it sets a good standard by paying for something that had 0% to do with our Company, Service, Product in order to make it go away.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Title Companies & Agents, Insurance Companies, Insurance - Homeowners, Insurance - Property, Insurance Services, Escrow Service

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/27/1999Business started: 01/01/1993
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Leslie Wagner (Complaints)
Number of Employees

65

Business Category

Title Companies & Agents, Insurance Companies, Insurance - Homeowners, Insurance - Property, Insurance Services, Escrow Service

Alternate Business Names
Great American Title Company, Great American Closing Company, LLC

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Great American Title Insurance Agency

506 W Battlefield St

Springfield, MO 65807-4122

To | From

Find a LocationX
Or, display all locations
Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southwest MO. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Great American Title Insurance Agency is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (417) 823-4994
  • (417) 844-6794
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Title Companies & Agents

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.