BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Discount Timeshare Resale

Phone: (417) 334-0322Fax: (417) 334-0313View Additional Phone Numbers620 State Highway 165, BransonMO 65616-9000http://www.discounttimeshareresale.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Discount Timeshare Resale is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Discount Timeshare Resale's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Problems with Product / Service2
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Discount Timeshare Resale

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (4)BBB Closure Definitions
01/02/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We were mislead in June 2010 Discount Timeshare said they could sell our timeshare, every year we reduced price and now is at $0 for last 2 years They want ******** to liquidate, more money ******* requested our sales agreement emailed to us on 10/27 never received via email. Website is misleading when they state they can sell!

Desired Settlement
We do not wan to pay them any more money!

Business Response
On 6/3/10 Mr and Mrs ******* put their timeshare on the market for ********* They paid a marketing fee of ***** They signed an agreement that states earned on receipt. They did reduce the price over the years. Our office called them on 9/11/13 to explain they did have options of paying a Broker to take it out of their name for a guranteed quick transfer of ownership. Our office don't offer this service but because of all the timeshare scams we have found a reputable broker who can handle this for a fee of ******** to ******** on most resorts. We even got the Broker to agree to transfer for ******** and Mr. ******* said he would keep it before he paid anyone else. I explained folks are paying brokers because what he owns can be purchased on Ebay for as little as ***** and they arnt selling either. This economy has hit everything hard but has been devastating on the timeshare world. We only called them to explain we know alot of timeshare companies are harder to sell because the resort wont allow benefits to transfer to a new owner and maintenance fees keep going up without an end in sight, but with a broker it will end. We will continue to work on this until the owner informs us otherwise.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Discount Timeshare left out other communications at the end of October 2014, after ******* talked to an office assistant, they were supposed to email us a copy of our contract and the legal forms to liquidate, it was a Friday and their Office manager was not in getting chemo and we were supposed to receive forms the following Monday, because nobody seemed to know how to scan documents and run the computer system on Friday, so, we never received anything from them. Please have them send us a copy of our contract and the legal brokerage forms to fill out via email and even if we do pay them the enormous fee it is not guaranteed.....Typical!!!How about refunding our *****
*********@yahoo.com


Final Business Response

BBB Case # XXXXXX


****** ***** with Discount Timeshare Resale responding to the rebuttal from ******* & ******* ******* in regards to the marketing of their timeshare property. I do apologize for the delay in response and mis communication between our office and ******* & *******. I was out of the office for a few weeks while my wife was ill due to cancer treatment at the same time our office manager was out with chemo and we typically handle the liquidation process including faxing and emailing our Offer & Acceptance contracts for liquidations. Our office policy is a full credit of the ******* marketing fee at the point of sale or at the point of payment for the liquidation if that option is exercised. There is "never" any kind of guarantee of sale of timeshare properties at any price, and we make this "very" clear to all clients verbally and in every listing agreement we sign with every client. However in the event the client chooses to have us liquidate the timeshare property through one of our reputable brokers then we do 100% guarantee that it "will" be done and transferred out of their name in 4-6 months or their money back. We have not lost one yet. We have been doing this for a very long time and we know what we are doing and we do our very best to tell folks the way things really are and what is really going on with their timeshare and not just tell them what they want to hear. Unfortunately do to the economy and high maintenance fees at most resorts, when we tell folks the truth about their timeshare, most generally, its not what they want to hear. We try to keep up with what's going on in the timeshare industry and do our best to keep our clients updated on changes and what their options are. At this point Liquidation is the only guaranteed way to get out of their timeshare contracts. I will be more than happy to send the forms for liquidation including a full credit for the ******* marketing fee and the year end credit for 2015 maintenance that all owners have to pay in January. Please let me know if I can be of further assistance.

03/24/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This is the 3rd time I have contacted the BBB and have not heard a thing.We bought a resale timeshare from *********** at Discount Timeshare Resale on Oct 1, 2013 and cancelled it on Oct 2, 2013. Discount Timeshare has refused to give us our $****.00 back and sent all the paper work in to ******* Resorts anyway. Now we are being billed for the monthly dues and late charges.
Product_Or_Service: Discount time share, (*******)
Order_Number: N/A
Account_Number: ***********

Desired Settlement
We want a complete refund and a canceling of the time share. I do believe we had 5 business days to cancel this according to the law.

Business Response
I have answered this before but I will answer once again, first the law that the consumer keeps quoting doesn't pertain to resale if they are going to quote the law they should at least check their facts. When a individual purchase a timeshare then resales it the right of recession does not apply and when they bought the timeshare from ****** ***** ****** and the person who told them that the timeshare they purchased from us would not work the way we explained, well I guess the simplest way to explain is they lied, when they told the consumer that they would help them get their money back they lied. The consumer made an Offer and signed a Offer and Acceptance Contract, they put earnest money up and when they found out the offer had been accepted the rushed down to our office and paid the balance and ask us to expidiet the process because they were eager to use it, which we did everything according to protocal, the only complaint they should have is that they believed the person who sold them the second timeshare is the one who lied.

01/20/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My wife, ******** ******** and I purchased a resale time share (Club Wyndam Plus) from ****** **** on October 1,2013 for a cash sale of $****.00 and we cancelled the time share the very next day and to this day, we haven't received a refund. We purchased a different time share from Grand Crowne in Branson on Oct. 2nd and they guaranteed us that we would receive a full refund in three days. Now they tell us that we have to contact the seller to get our refund. We have done all this including contacting the Chamber of Commerce in Branson and the Attorney General and haven't heard a thing from them. **** (***) ******* of Grand Crowne told us that we would receive the refund, which has not happened. Please help us get our refund back.***** *************** ********
Product_Or_Service: Wyndham Time Share
Order_Number: ***********
Account_Number: ***********

Desired Settlement
We would just like a refund of our $****.00.Thank you,******************************

Business Response
10/1/13 Mr. ******* came in to our office after attending a presentation at Wyndham Resort in Branson said they had taken several presentations and really liked Wyndham but they weren't really sure how the points worked, so ***** spent several hours with Mr. & Mrs. ******* showing them how the system worked they were very pleased and wanted to make an Offer on some Wyndham Points it was explained how this was done which is a signed Offer & Acceptance Contract and earnest money musch like a real estate O & A, they were called back that day & told that their Offer had been accepted, they were very happy & came in 10/2/13 the next day and paid the balance so that we could proceed with the deeding & transfer of the timeshare, the deed was sent for recording and approximatly 10/5/13-10/8/13 received letter from the ******* wanting to cancel their Offer we called the ******* & explained that buying from a resort where they pay you to take a presentation is different than purchasing from an individual and that there was not a cancel period, and besides the deed had been recorded & was in the process of being transfered Mrs. ****** became very irate and hung up the phone and would not take our calls after that. Wyndham had transfered the ownership of the timeshare as of 11/15/13 and the ******* can start using it immediatly. Mrs. ****** called 12/4/13 demanding a refund and and it was explained that they owned the timeshare and it was in their name she hung up the phone again. The seller has been paid for his timeshare and everything has been done that the ******* paid us to do. I have since found out that they took another presentation at another resort and were told that they could cancel and purchase their timeshare and they would help them canceling our contract and that we mislead them as to how the points work which we did not. The ******* have what they made an offer on and everything is in order from the deeding to the transfer at the resort.

10/16/2012Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Company does not produces services in accordance with their guarantee claim on their website. No attempt has been made by staff to sell the property.
After researching the company with bbb I contacted them in March 2010 about listing our timeshare with them. I corresponded via email with a representative(************) and was advised to start the sale price at $21900.00. After a few months I contacted *** in July and asked if the price should be lowered, at that time it was lowered to $16,900.00. In April 2012 I sent an email to *** asking for an update and had no response. I call the company today and spoke with "******" I was informed that *** no longer was with the company. ****** was rude and stated the property was overpriced and she had a friend that worked at the resort where our property is and the resort is not selling properties for that price either. I stated it had been two years since the property listed and why I have not been contacted. She said I was told at the time of the agreement that her company did not have to contact me and I could call the 800 number anytime. I asked what should be done and she continued to state the property would not sell at that price and I could look on ebay and see for myself that the price was too high. I told her *** was the one who suggested the listing price at the time of the agreement and why was it suggested if that was too high. ****** stated two years ago that was the right price, but it isn't today and unless the economy changes it wouldn't sell. I then asked for the owner's name of the company and how many properties they had sold from our resort company of ********** in the last 30 to 45 days. ****** stated she did not have that information just the owner of the company ********. I do not understand if the price was right two years ago why the property didn't sell especially since it was lowered from the original start price. In addition, if properties are listed too high why are the owners not contacted to lower prices? Discount Timeshares is the company in the real estate market not owners of properties as a owner I had no idea what price properties were selling for. I don't believe any attempt has been made to sell our property.

Desired Settlement
I would like the listing price of $395.00 to be refunded to me since the company has not made any progress to sell my property. In addition, if the representative that handled my account was no longer there, I should have been contacted with information regarding the person that would handle my account from that point.

Business' Initial Response
First off we don't make any gurantees, ******* told us that she paid $14k + upgrades yet she priced her timeshare at $21,900 after we explained that timeshare is a usage investment not a finacial one. We recomended several times that they should lower the price but her response was that it was lower than the resort. We have tried very hard to sell this timeshare but we have not been able to get anyone to even make a offer because they felt the price was to high. 2/28/2011 she emailed *** & *** forwarded the email to us & I emailed her explaining that *** had taken a leave of absence & that she needed to lower the price. 5/12/2011 she emailed *** once again to check the status of her timeshare, *** emailed her back that she wasn't in the office but would forward the email to our office & someone would get back with her & 5/13/11 ***** in our office responed back to ******* & tried to explain @ $17,900 we hadn't had any offers & would she like to lower the price & ******* lowered the price to $16,900 & we let her know if we had any interest in her timeshare & todate we have not, but we continue to try & get it sold. The last response we've had from ******* was 9/27/12 was she called & she was told her price was too high especially with this economy & she got mad & was rude.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I was informed by *** from Discount sales to start the price at $21,900.00 and I have an email proving that it was her suggestion not mine. I even asked her at the time if the price was too high because I didn't want to be unrealistic. I was never contacted to lower the price, I made the contact to lower the price of the resort. I was never informed *** had left the company until I called the office on 9-27-12. As stated before I had sent an email in April to *** not knowing she already left the company which proves Discount never tried to get in contact with me. Once again, since their agent *** recommended the listing price, I should not be blamed for the price. Why didn't the other representatives let me know what she recommended was extremely high? Furthermore, Discount sales does not contact their property owners to keep them informed or make suggestions. This is not a professional business trying to satify the customers needs. I don't understand how their rating is so high with the BBB.

Business' Final Response
*** made the recomendation based on the high balance you owed & to have some negotiating room, and you were told that we don't contact you to tell you your timeshare isn't sold, that if you haven't heard from us its not sold, but anytime you had a question wanted to adjust the price or just talk about your timeshare all you had to do was call because you can talk to us, but that we would call you with all Offers, since there were no Offers we didn't contact you. 2/28/12 you were informed that *** had taken a leave of absence, 5/12/11 you emailed *** & 5/13/12 she informed you that she wasn't back at the office, but she would forward your email to us & 5/13/11 ***** explained that with this economy sales had been tough & you requested she lower the price to $16,900, this was the last time we had any contact with you, but we are still trying to sell you timeshare. The reason we have the reputation we have is because we do our best to tell customers the way things truly are, but some just don't want to hear the truth, but its your money & we work for you so we do what you tell us concerning price, we don't claim to know everything.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Timeshare Resale and Rental Marketing, Timeshare Companies, Resorts

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/10/2002Business started: 09/01/2001
Type of Entity

Partnership

Contact Information
Principal: Al Wells (Owner) Brian Buster (Sales Agent) Kay Wells (Owner) Karie West (Sales Manager)
Number of Employees

4

Business Category

Timeshare Resale and Rental Marketing, Timeshare Companies, Resorts

Industry Tips
Timeshares

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Discount Timeshare Resale

620 State Highway 165

Branson, MO 65616-9000

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 620 State Highway 165 

    Branson, MO 65616-9000(417) 334-0322
    (866) 737-2532

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southwest MO. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Discount Timeshare Resale is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (866) 737-2532
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Timeshare Resale and Rental Marketing

Timeshares
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.