BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/10/1995

Dale's Roofing, Inc.

Phone: (417) 882-2158Fax: (417) 882-62025681 E US Highway 60, RogersvilleMO 65742-9276Send email to Dale's Roofing, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/10/1995

BBB has determined that Dale's Roofing, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Dale's Roofing, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Delivery Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Dale's Roofing, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
02/03/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
December 16, 2013

Better Business Bureau
430 S. Glenstone
Springfield, MO 65802

To Whom It May Concern:

DALE'S ROOFING, INC.

I would like to register a complaint concerning this business establishment.

Since 2011, I have been a resident of Springfield and have had much work done on and around my home. This involved many companies and their employees. I am not a grouch and have had the best of relationships with all of them.

On August 2, 2013, I called and asked for an estimate with Dale's Roofing, Inc. for new guttering on my house. ***** *******, an employee of Dale's responded to this request and gave me a written estimate for the work. He did say it might be 3 to 4 weeks before the work could be done. I said that was fine.

August, September, and beyond October passed and nothing was done to the gutters/ Between August 2 and December 16, I called twice and talked with two different gentlemen at Dale's Roofing and told them of my (their) dilemma and they said they would take care of it right away.

It is not December 16 and nothing has been done, not even a phone call from this establishment. I realize this is Christmastime and it's not the time to be unkind and malicious; however, I sincerely believe that after five (5) months of "leading me on" and doing nothing, this company must be declared unreliable and untrustworthy. Additionally, this delay has now caused snow and ice to be packed and accumulate in the gutters which is detrimental to my roof. I called them today and alerted them that I was sending a negative letter to the BBB concerning their despicable conduct.

Sincerely,
*************************************************************************************************

Business Response
12/16/2013 **** ****** went by Mrs. ********'s house after her calling our office. He wanted to speak with her and apologize for her wait. Our schedule varies due to weather and work load. At the time when Mrs. ******** signed the contract we were scheduling out several weeks. We try to give a general time frame nothing specific because it can change. We are still completing work that was sold in August and September, due to weather and the number of jobs to be completed. We have a reputation for good work, we take our time to make sure jobs are completed correctly. So during high volume times we do get behind.
12/17/2013 **** met with Mrs. ******** and spoke with her that we are not "leading you on" we are behind on our work load. She told him she appreciated he took the time to come to her and speak with her she said there was a death in the family and would like some time to think about the job. He told her just to let him know at her convenience. He wanted to make sure she knew that her job was important too.
12/30/2013 That is when **** was notified of this complaint. He was addressing her concern before he was even notified of the BBB Complaint.
12/19/2013 Mrs. ******** contacted our office, she said she did want the work done but would like to wait a while.
01/14/2014 **** met with Mrs. ******** today, and she would like to cancel the job for now. She told him she was not unhappy just not ready to have the work completed now.


Final Consumer Response


**** ********: Part of this response is correct and part is not altogether correct. Yes, **** ****** did come to my house and apologized. I accepted his apology and told him I was very appreciative of his attempt to make the situation right. However, I can't imagine a company promising to do a job in August and totally ignoring the customer until December with several phone calls from me to the company between those times (5 months). Yes, I know that weather and a variety of other things can delay promised dates to delay the work but, again, 5 months without a single phone call to let us know what or when to expect some action, is simply unacceptable. In fact, it is rude.



When **** ****** came to my house, he apologized and I asked why I had had no phone call or any sort of communication from them since August, he said, "I had fallen in the cracks" - not the weather or any other cause was

mentioned as his reason for ignoring me. This is the part he left out. He then wanted to know when they could come out to do the work. I told him I would think about it and let him know the next day. As promised, I called his office the next day and told the young lady I preferred to wait to have the work done.



Yes, we had a death in the family in November and I was not ready to make any further decisions at the time he arrived at my home. After discussing this with relatives and friends, I made the decision to make arrangements with another company to do the work. Now, this is rather ironic that after I had been ignored by ****'s company, I would care enough about ****'s feelings to inform him the second time he came by my home that I had decided to wait to have the work done at a later time, instead of informing him I had hired another company.



I truly regret this has happened. Additionally, this is the very first time I have EVER written a letter to the BBB; however, having moved here from another area of the country two years ago, I have had an enormous amount of work done in my home and yards, and this has involved well over 20 workmen from all areas and I must say I have been very pleased with all of them with the exception of ****'s Roofing. I feel certain they (****'s Roofing) regrets this also and although I hold no ill feelings toward them, I just wanted the work done and by a company I could actually rely on in order to move on to other repairs that needed to be done.



Mary E. ********

Final Business Response
We do understand why Mrs. ******** feels frustrated and feels her job was ignored. And there is no doubt she should have been notified of the current work load and scheduling at ****'s. Even though the gutter repair was a small job for us, it was never are intentions to ignore Mrs. ********.

**** did recognize a problem when Mrs. ******** called on December 16 and this is before we were notified of the BBB complaint. At that time he went to her house to visit with her. He apologized for the issue and wanted Mrs. ******** to know that we had made a mistake and he would see to it that the job was completed in a professional manner.

We hope that Mrs. ******** understands that ****'s cares about every customer rather it be a large or small job.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Roofing Contractors, Gutters & Downspouts

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 11/26/1991Business started: 01/01/1986
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 1996, MO

Contact Information
Principal: Dale L Rector (Vice President/Co-Owner) Jennifer Rector
Number of Employees

40

Business Category

Roofing Contractors, Gutters & Downspouts

Industry Tips
Roof Repair

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Dale's Roofing, Inc.

5681 E US Highway 60

Rogersville, MO 65742-9276

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 5681 E US Highway 60 

    Rogersville, MO 65742-9276

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southwest MO. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Dale's Roofing, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Roofing Contractors

Roof Repair
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.