BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/31/1995

Cox Roofing Co.

Phone: (417) 887-3874Fax: (417) 887-8609View Additional Phone Numbers3221 S Scenic Ave, SpringfieldMO 65807-3927Send email to Cox Roofing Co.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/31/1995

BBB has determined that Cox Roofing Co. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Cox Roofing Co.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 2 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
06/14/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

I have a leaky roof. Called several roofers for an estimate of repair. Contracted with Cox Roofing at a cost of $2,038 which I paid in full on 4/9/16.
After complete, the first rain resulted in the same leaks plus one more.
4/11/16- called about leak.***** from Cox came out and said the shingles had not sealed yet.
No rain until 5/23/16 - roof leaked again.
5/24/16 called again.No response.
5/31/16 called again.
6/1/16- ***** put some caulk under some shingles.
6/2/16- roof leaked- Called ***** who said they would remove & replace some shingles the first of next week.
6/10/16- No call back or anyone to fix roof.

Desired Settlement
Since they used some materials I would like 1/2 ($1,019)refunded.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *** President
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *************
We have received this and will respond after looking into this case later this week

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Their representative is to be at my home 6/14/16 with three options.
I will let you know the results.
Thank you for your prompt actions.

Final Consumer Response

04/16/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Repairs to roof were not performed properly. Roof is still leaking in both general areas where repairs were performed.
We called Cox to repair a couple of general areas of our roof due to small leaks. Cox performed the work in November, 2014 and we paid an amount of $*** in two separate installments. We've continued to have leaks in those same areas during strong thunderstorms and heavy rain. We called Cox after noticing new water stains in the dry wall of our ceilings in the same places as before after a particularly strong thunderstorm. We have pictures of the water stains in both areas. In one area, the stains were even larger than they had previously been. My wife first called on March 25th or 26th. We didn't receive a return call. She called again on April 1rst and received a call back the following day but Cox did not schedule an appointment for either inspection or repair. I called on April 10 and requested the service provider return my call and schedule an appointment. They did not. We have experienced multiple rain events during that time and risk repeating the repairs to the dry wall we had done after Cox did their work last November.

Desired Settlement
Replacement may not applicable in this situation but I would like them to follow up by inspecting their work and repairing the roof to eliminate the leaks in the areas they were hired to repair last year. They simply did not do the job for which we paid.

Business Response
I've spoke with your estimator and he is going to contact you and your wife today, the 12th, and come by to discuss the repair work we did and the active leak.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Roofing Contractors, Commercial Roofing

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 01/01/1986Business started: 06/01/1979Business started locally: 11/01/1981
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Business Management
Rebecca Morton (Office Manager)
Contact Information
Principal: Ken Mills (President)
Number of Employees


Business Category

Roofing Contractors, Commercial Roofing

Industry Tips
Roof Repair

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Cox Roofing Co.

3221 S Scenic Ave

Springfield, MO 65807-3927

To | From


1 Locations

  • 3221 S Scenic Ave 

    Springfield, MO 65807-3927(417) 335-7663
    (417) 895-9197
    (417) 213-5127

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southwest MO. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Cox Roofing Co. is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (417) 335-7663
  • (417) 895-9197
  • (417) 213-5127

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


Industry Tips for Roofing Contractors

Roof Repair

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.