BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/28/2001

Bryan Properties

Phone: (417) 864-6303Fax: (417) 864-7552840 S. Roanoke, SpringfieldMO 65806Send email to Bryan Properties

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/28/2001

BBB has determined that Bryan Properties meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Bryan Properties' rating include:

  • 3 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised Bryan Properties' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Bryan Properties

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
08/28/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Bryan property doesn't return any of the 1000$ deposit to me or my three roommates.
Before I left the apt ******* S ********** Springfield, Mo) on 12/31/14, one worker of Bryan property told me that I have to make sure nothing left in the room, or there will be no refund of deposit. And I did what she told me to do, not even a piece of paper has been left in the room. But still no refund at all. I didn't clean the floor, but the floor does not take 1000$ to clean. Bryan property makes it very difficult to get even one dollar of deposit back. Me and all Chinese students living in at least four apts of the building get no refund at all.

Desired Settlement
I am the last one to leave the apt. and I did all the cleaning for all my roommates. I think two-days work deserves 100$ refund. So 100$ out of the 1000$ deposit should be paid to me. Or I will try other method, like media, to get a fair result.

Business Response
All the flooring in your apartment needed to be replaced because it was so dirty. The kitchen require intensive cleaning. You had $356 of unpaid utilities which we never received payment for. You also kept putting paper towels down the toilets (after being told SEVERAL times to stop) and ruined the plumbing. We had to replace the toilet and pipes. We had to replace all the blinds because they were broken. All the drips pans had to be replaced. We automatically keep $300 as stated in your lease and the remaining $700 did not come close to covering all the repair costs in your unit. In addition, trash was left. As stated in your lease, your deposit is automatically forfeited if anything is left in your apartment.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I don't know about other things. I think you can show me some evidence proving that you replaced almost everything in the room.
But what I do know is that no trash left. I went around in the room for several times.Nothing is left.
And how could there be so many unpaid utilities? Please send me some evidence, such as pictures or charts, thank you.

Final Business Response
There is no way to attach such proof through this. Feel free to stop by the office and we can show you. The biggest problem we had was you all ignoring our requests to stop putting paper towels down the toilet. There was major damage done to the pipes. Another huge problem was your flooring. It looked like it had never been cleaned. It was also damaged in several areas. It all had to be replaced. You technically owe us money but we decided to not charge you for additional costs and we did not ask for the money for utilities that were owed. We have told you all this several times and have showed you proof.
Please make sure you are talking about the ENTIRE apartment. While your personal room might have been clean the entire apartment was not. You were on a JOINT lease. The entire apartment all bedrooms and common areas factor in.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

07/31/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The lack of a refund policy for application fees charged on properties already leased, but still listed.
My complaint is the lack of a refund policy with Bryan Properties application fees. I inquired about a property's availability on March 26th and I completed my online application the following afternoon. Apparently I was not quick enough properties move fast in a college housing area. The application fee was charged to my account and I was alerted by them on March 29th that the property was already preleased. When I emailed back asking when my account would be credited the $***** application fee I was told they do not refund application fees. The property was listed on their site until the 31st and you could go through the application process and be charged for the fee. This is a terrible business practice. There should be a safeguard against purchasing an out of stock item or there should be a refund policy for those who apply for a property that Bryan Properties fails to unlist after it has been leased

Desired Settlement
Refund the application fee of $*****

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ***** - Manager
Contact Phone: 417*********
Contact Email: ******@bryan-properties.net
We would be more than happy to issue a refund of $** for the application. If Mr. **** would please give us a call at 417********* we can make arrangements for him to come by our office and pick up a check or cash.

03/08/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Maintenance issues, black mold, exorbitant fees deducted from deposit
I rented a duplex from Bryan Properties. I remained with them for the year so as not to be penalized under the lease contract. Upon moving into the house, I found that the electric outlets spat sparks whenever you plugged or unplugged something into them and that the water spigot for the washer was leaking. A maintenance man came and worked on the plug ins, but two days later they were again spitting sparks. The maintenance man said the leaky spigot was not repairable. The water continued to leak and a musty smell developed. I called again, but it was not fixed. Soon, mold was growing the the closet behind the utility area and I was sick all the time. I ended up losing my job because of my frequent illnesses. The clothing in the closet was ruined and had to be thrown away because some of it was actually wet from the mold. When the air conditioner quit working, I called maintenance who came out and said the temperature was just too hot outside and it was operating properlyat 92 degrees when set on 60. I had to call them a second time to get it fixed. I had the place professionally cleaned when I moved out. When I received my deposit back, $150 was charged for administrative fees and $150 for a mandatory sanitation fee. They originally said the household deposit was refundable, but not the pet deposit, but the lease, which I admit I did not read in its entirety as the manager said she would go over the highlights so I didn't have to read it, stated $300 would be deducted from the deposit. I feel the fees deducted were exorbitant in view of my experience with them.

Desired Settlement
I realize this complaint will probably be dismissed because of an apparently unread clause in the lease. However, several online reviews indicate that other tenants have had similar problems. It would be nice to receive a total refund of my deposit for the damages which resulted from the mold.

Business Response
I'm sorry to hear that Miss. ********* is disappointed in her deposit refund. Not only did she sign page 2 of the lease where it stated the cleaning and sanitation fees along with admin. fees. She initialed in the spot directly under the statement acknowledging the fees. She received the maximum amount back according to the lease.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Real Estate, Property Management, Apartment Finding & Rental Service

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 02/28/1995Business started: 07/01/1982Business started locally: 01/01/1983
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Missouri State Real Estate Commission
3605 Missouri Blvd
Jefferson City, MO 65102
(573) 751-2628
http://pr.mo.gov/realestate.asp

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Bryan W Magers (Owner)Customer Contact: Craig Edwards (General Manager)
Number of Employees

18

Business Category

Real Estate, Property Management, Apartment Finding & Rental Service

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Bryan Properties

840 S. Roanoke

Springfield, MO 65806

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southwest MO. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Bryan Properties is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Real Estate

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.