BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Southwest MO

BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 08/25/1998

Reed's Plumbing Heating & Excavating

Phone: (417) 831-6122Fax: (417) 831-5610

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues3
Guarantee / Warranty Issues2
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints7

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (7)BBB Closure Definitions
09/22/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
feb 2014 did bathroom installed fixture that wasnt mine i had own i wanted all he installed was faucet piece from **** trim i got billed ******
i hired reeds plumbing to redo bathroom after pipes broke. i got pieces i wanted installed shower head, faucet and handle. the plumber tried to install **** trim kit but as i arrived so i stopped him from installing shower head but he had already installed drain kit that wasnt mine and took mine with him. they installled my shower head and bath faucet but i was billed ****** for drain and trim kit. all i have from the **** kit is the water handle. called 2 times was disregarded by staff.have pics to send to show bathroom./

Desired Settlement
fair amount for just the water faucet handle. refund the rest.

Business Response
The original Bid amount did not include the tub/shower valve. Customer wanted to provide the valve, however, she only provided a trim kit for a tub/shower. There was no tub/shower valve with her Trim kit. Customer's trim kit would not fit, the plumber talked this over with the Customer, informing her that we could provide the correct Tub/Shower valve with trim kit at an additional charge. The waste and overflow that the customer provided was also the wrong one for the tub, the plumber used one from our company's stock instead, and kept the customer provided waste and overflow as a trade. Customer was not charged extra for the Waste and Overflow. She was in agreement at the time so we proceeded to complete the job using Reed's Material. Reed's did not keep the customer's tub/shower trim kit. It was left on site. We do not feel that we owe the Customer for the Tub/Shower valve.

Consumer Response
In response to company saying the tub shower trim kit here that is false. When he did the work I wasn't made aware of overflow kit problems he just swapped them out then when I asked was told that.He also didn't want to install the shower head I provided I just happened to arrive at my house as he was installing his. I insisted on having mine instead and both he and the carpenter appeared aggravated by this because they had to use a dremel tool for the shower head bar to go through the tile. For his part the carpenter that the plumber that was recommended by the reeds plumber tried to bill me 700 above bid for this. I had talked to him and pointed out that this shower head was shown to him before job was started. I feel that this was on ordeal because of the custom pieces I wanted and not their box sets. That's why I have such an issue with this.the pictures are of shower as it is now. Lighted shower head is mine bath faucet is mine water faucet handle is only part of external pieces from reeds plumbing.


Business Response
When I bid the job, **** **** was supposed to provide her own fixtures. I told her we would provide the water lines, which had burst. After we repaired the water lines and the carpenter was ready for the rough in plumbing, she said she had the valve and he waste and overflow for the new tub. When I arrived, she had all the wrong material for the rough in. She had the wrong waste and overflow, it would not work on that application. I told her we could trade for the correct one and she agreed.
I was then ready for the tub rough in valve, she did not have a valve, she only had the trim. I explained that her trim would not fit the valve we provided and that we could put one in from our stock at an additional charge. She agreed. I left her trim and told her that she could send it back. She did supply her own shower head.
Note; The house was a total wreck and she had stuff everywhere. As far as her trim, it was left with her.
The job took longer that it should have due to her lack of responsibility and communication.
We do not feel that we owe Ms **** anything.

Thank you for calling Reed's Plumbing!

*** ****
Administrative Asst:

Reed's Plumbing
611 W Commercial St
Springfield, MO 65803
Phone: 417-831-6122
FAX: XXX-XXX-XXXX

07/18/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Faulty Repair of water line last year resulted in a new leak. Refused to warranty work. Broke the septic drain line and did not notify of it.
Refused to warranty there work. They incorrectly patched a line that should have been replaced. Never offered me the choice. New bid yesterday for *** to replace entire line. They then did just another patch and broke my sewer line and then still tried to charge me **** Talked to the owner who was belligerent and accused me of being a non paying customer for refusing to sign the work order.

Then tried to force me to pay **** to have them do the job again. When I refused I was called more names and told I was not needed as they have plenty of paying customers.

Finally agreed to replace the line as originaly quoted for ****

Talk to the workers and am told I have to pre-sign the work order now, for ****

I then have to call the estimator who got it back down to *** again.

Refused to honor warrany of work. Said it was my fault for not telling them to replace the whole line the first time (an extra 15 feet), even though I was never givin this as an option.

Then tried to force me to pay way more then the quoted price. Quote *** tried for force me to pay 1200.

Then tried to force me to pay *** more then the quoted price. *** instead of ****

No compensation given for breaking and then patching the sewer line (Which I would have never known about if I was not watching them from the window). No compensation given for the faulty repair last year.

Desired Settlement
The amount of the original patch repair that should have been a replacement of the entire line. *******

Business Response
We were hired by the customer's brother to repair the outside water service in November 2012. At that time the existing galvanized line had a small pinhole leak in one section, but the rest of the line appeared to be solid. We repaired the line, per his brother's instructions, Note: His Brother paid for this repair.
On June 19th, 2014, Customer called saying he had a leak on water line, we dug the line up and found that the PVC we had installed in November 2012 was okay. The only problem with the galvanized line was another pinhole further down the line, the rest of the line looked solid. We repaired the line while customer watched the entire procedure. When the plumber went to collect for the repair, the Customer then asked why we didn't replace the entire line. He refused to sign the work order and called the office to complain.
Contrary to the customer's note, the owner did not call him any names. The owner did say, that we would not charge for 4 hours of backhoe and plumber time. We would start the time 4 hours later than the crew had initially clocked in and would replace the line. The owner does not know of anyone trying to collect ********* although if we had figured the bill as time and material it would have exceeded that amount. Note: The initial bid was a range of **********
We believe that the entire amount should be paid.



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
So much incorrect.
How my brother got into this... All he did was refer me. Reed's did mess up and send the bill to his address. He most certainly did not hire nor pay for the first repair as if this is relevant in anyway.

Core of the issue.
1. First repair should have been replacing the whole line, but the risk of just doing a patch vs replacing the line was never given to me, and the patch was done on old galvanized pipe.

2. I was estimated for replacing the whole line after this time being told that it was a bad idea to patch old galvanized pipe. I did not watch the whole process, but did take a day off from work to make sure the job was done correctly this time. and I did see they had broken my septic line. When they told me they were done, I looked out back and they had clearly not dug up to the well. So there was no way they had replaced the whole line. Of course I did not sign the work release at this point. They then tried to charge me for replacing the entire line when having only patched it again. The plumber then told me that "He had been told to only do the patch" So this was an intentional action to commit fraud.

If I had signed at this point I would have paid *** for a full line replacement instead of the lesser charge for the patch.

I then talked to the owner on the phone...
If I would have agreed to the owners next offer I would have paid **** for the quoted **** job. (Yes it was the owner himself that told me this). He also said I was getting a great deal at **** because I was going to get charged for the morning patch which combined together would have been even more, ***** I assume but the even more was not spelled out). Finally agreed to do it again for the *** quoted.

Then I go out to talk to the plumbers and they have the work completed form for me to sign (even though it was not completed) with an **** amount on it.
If I would have agreed to the plumbers then telling me it was going to be *** I would have paid *** for the *** job.

During these attempt to commit fraud on me, I most certainly was called names and was treated with zero respect. To then force me to presign that the work had been done or be left with an incomplete job is more proof of this fraudulent behavior.

This leak had clearly been going on since the later part of 2013 as I had horrible staining all over the the house from the water. I never assumed it was from a leak that had so recently been repaired. It wasn't until the leak started coming out of the ground last week that I knew the pipe was broken again. Since the second repair the staining has stopped.

They claimed in there response the leak was further up the line. This is not true. I was shown the horrible looking piece of pipe the leak was coming from at it was a small section between the last patch and the house. They had patched onto this degraded pipe the first time. They took this small section with them. However they left the entire run of pipe from the the patch point back to the well laying in my yard that I am now left with finding a way to dispose of it.

There failure to do a proper repair the first time (replacing the 20' of old galvanized instead of just patching it), and never giving me warnings of what would happen when you do that, or the option to make the choice between a patch and a replacement has cost me. My well has now run nonstop for many months now because of the new leak, greatly reducing its life. Having to pay a second time for the same repair. Having to repaid my yard for a second time. Having my septic line now patched instead of replaced (Septic line is only around 10' long from he house) after they broke it.

I feel I am being very generous to only be asking for the amount of the original patch repair be refunded to me. I also feel an apology is in order from the Owner but after our encounter on the phone I do not see this happening.



Final Business Response
Good Afternoon *****
We have researched and found a copy of the check that paid the initial water service repair.
It doesn't appear to have come from the Consumer who filed this complaint.
The owner of Reed's Plumbing is willing to return the entire amount of this repair, to the entity the payment came from.
Please see attachment.
Also note the original repair was completed in November 2012.


Thank you for calling Reed's Plumbing!

*** ****
Administrative Asst.

Reed's Plumbing & Excavating
611 W Commercial St
Springfield, MO XXXXX

Phone: 417-831-6122
FAX: XXX-XXX-XXXX

04/21/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Problems indicated in initial service call were not resolved.
On Sunday March 2, 2014 my bathroom and utility room flooded for the 3rd time. I decided I needed to get what ever was wrong fixed once and for all. I called Reed's Plumbing on March 4, 2014 and told them I thought something was wrong with my commode. They sent ***** out to check the commode. ***** adjusted the flapper on the commode, we had a discussion about replacing the entire inside plumbing on the commode and he said it was not necessary as he had fixed the problem with the commode. He said that the drains were clogged. He then called ******* and he ran a cable down the clean out he said he hit a clog going back toward the house. He then ran a camera toward the city main and found that line was broken going toward the house and toward the city main. When he left everything was draining. I told him I wanted someone to come out and give me an estimate on fixing the problems he encountered. The estimate I was give was $**** to $**** if they didn't have to dig up the street, which they didn't have to do because they said the main was on the right away on my side of the street. ******* came out on March 6, 2014 and did what I was told needed to be done to fix the problem. None of the men that came to my house indicated that the problems would not be resolved. On April 5, 2014 I woke up to find the house flooded again and the commode overflowing. I was very upset and called Reed's Plumbing to complain. The man I talked to kept making excuses as to why this happened. That upset me further. He did send ******* out again to investigate the matter. ******* ran the cable again and everything was draining. We talked about whether the people that came to fix the line had ran the cable or the camera after they were done. ******* said that he told them to call him so he could camera the line to make sure everything was good. They never did call him. If they had done so I would not have had the flood. I feel that this was 100% the fault of Reed's Plumbing and they should take responsibility for it, fix the problem once and for all or give me back my $****. Because they did not check the line after they were done and because my commode was not fixed properly my bathroom and utility room flooded and I had to use all my towels and a shopvac to mop up all the water. Plus all my dirty clothes in the utility room got wet and I had to wash the all the towels and also wash all the laundry. Plus because of the flood my back door would not open and it is still stuck.
I talked to **** Reed on the phone Monday April 7, 2014. He wants to come out and finish the job up to the house and charge me the different between the $**** and what it would have cost to do the whole thing. I told him I thought he should finish the job with no additional charge because there was no conversation or anything given to me in writing that what they did on March 6, 2014 would not fix the entire problem. He insisted that there was a conversation with me. The only conversation I had with the guy was that if they had to go into the street to find the main that it would be an additional $****. Because that was not the case the charge was $**** total to fix the problem.
These are the mistakes that would made by the Company. There was no discussion about what they were going to do would not fix the problem that I was having. There was no contract showing that they would not guarantee that it would fix the problem. The commode was never fixed properly. I relied on them because they are the professionals. I agree to the price they told me and promptly paid the bill.
I feel they should come back and do what is necessary to fix the problem at no additional charge to me or else give me my money back so I can get another plumbing company to do it.

Desired Settlement
I feel they should come back and do what is necessary to fix the problem at no additional charge to me or else give me my money back so I can get another plumbing company to do it.

Business Response
The owner of Reed's Plumbing will repair the sewer line per customer's request, at no further cost.

03/10/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I had a faucet that Reeds Plumbing said they would fix. They did not fix it! They didn't try to work with me.
In August of last year I called Reeds Plumbing to fix a couple things around my house. One of the things that I had asked them to fix was a faucet in my bathroom. A couple of weeks later the faucet had some slow dripping. I didn't think too much of it until it started to get progressively worse. I know I waited till it was a pure stream and not just dripping. I then decided to call Reeds Plumbing and I believe I spoke with someone named ********. From what I understood they stand by their labor for one year so I thought I was covered. They explained to me that they fixed the hot side and not the cold side so it would not be under warranty. I told them that I understood, but I thought it was bad customer service to charge me for the whole hour when I had already had them out for this problem. I was then told that it was an old faucet and that they couldn't guarantee anything because it was old. I feel like they changed their policy on me because it was convenient.

Desired Settlement
I want the company to admit that this was bad customer service, and to not charge me for a full hour. I want them to fix the problem at a fair and reasonable price.

Business Response
It is true that we offer a one year warranty on parts and labor for fixtures that we supply. We do not warranty repairs to existing fixtures simply because we do not know the history of who installed them or what methods they used. Sometimes it is impossible to repair an old faucet because parts are no longer available. The owner of this company would like to propose this offer to the customer: He will allow the plumber to come out and repair the faucet as best we can, at no charge for this one time - there will be no further Warranty on this existing Tub faucet OR he will install a new 2 handle Tub faucet. If the customer will pay for the faucet we will not charge for the labor to install the new faucet. If customer supplies the tub faucet - there will be no warranty on future repairs. We do not warranty fixtures that we do not supply.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
After careful consideration, I decided that I do not want this company to come into my house again. I feel that I was treated poorly on the phone and that they were not willing to work with me until I filed a complaint with the Better Business Bureau. In their response to the BBB complaint, they neglected to take responsibility for their previous faulty repair service. Reed's Plumbing promised me that I had a one year warranty. They refused to do anything to honor their warranty the first time I asked and didn't even offer to do anything about it until they were defending themselves from the BBB complaint. In their response, they are giving me different stipulations on the warranty against what they already had promised me by telling me that my "old" faucet doesn't meet their guidelines for their warranty. When I contracted them for the work though, there was no mention of this. Reeds Plumbing told me that it would cost their normal rate to come out again and did not even try to offer a discount so; I decided to have ************************ come and fix the problem, because the leak was already costing us more in additional water expenses.
************ fixed the problem correctly the first time. They stated "I was informed Reeds Plumbing was out recently...they only did one washer in the hot side once I inspected the eight inch spread faucet, I realized it simply needed a minor rebuild. The seats on the hot and cold side were replaced by me and also the washers were replaced by me barrels seem ok now." Reed's only fixed a single washer in one side and they didn't even look at the other side. ************ went to a local hardware store and found parts for this "old faucet" and easily repaired it.
I asked Reeds to fix the faucet, not just one side of it, the problem was not fixed and they were not taking responsibility. To my understanding, it is common practice in plumbing ethics to fix both sides every time you replace one side. When I called and asked again how long they warranty their work, I was told a year on their labor... period. In light of recent events, I think it would be fair to reimburse the money that I had to spend to make sure I got a person who would treat me right the first time. ************ charged me $109.00 for this additional repair to fix what Reed's Plumbing neglected to do.


Final Business Response
The owner of Reed's Plumbing is willing to return half the amount customer paid. This is because, in addition to working on the tub faucet, Reed's Plumber also cleared the kitchen sink drain line and repaired a leak on the rear hosebib. We feel it is fair to be paid for these services.

01/14/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I called Reed's Plumbing to do a few very small jobs around my home and do to a disregarding industry protocol, I have a billing issue.
I called Reed's Plumbing for what I felt were simple repairs to my home. I requested Reed's to repair two outdoor faucets, a small leak in a copper basement line, and if possible repair a shut off faucet in my garage. The serviceman arrived at roughly 8:15 AM on the morning of August 27, 2013 and realized he had forgot to bring a cold soldier torch to do the job with. So he left to go purchase one and was gone roughly 15 to 25 minutes. He said he would adjust the time. He first fixed the basement leak, then replaced the rear exterior faucet, but had an issue with the front faucet due to a screw breaking from the handle. So I had him to just pack the faucet and leave it. Then he moved to the faucet shut off in the garage. Apparently when he went to shut the water off earlier that day, he found the meter was broken and wouldn't completely stop the slow flow of water in the line. Knowing this he continued to cut the line to install a new shut off valve. The problem is once he breached the water line, it made it impossible for him to get the cooper lines hot enough to apply a cold soldier seal at the joints. He tried for some time hoping to get the cooper joints hot enough to apply the soldier, but he was never able to get it to work. So he told me that I would have to have City Utilities to come out and fix the meter. So I called CU and was told they would send someone out. After about 15 to 30 minutes CU never arrived. Finally the serviceman called CU again and a CU Supervisor finally showed up approximately 30 to 35 minutes later. Then it took CU approximately another 30 to 40 minutes to fix the meter. Once fixed the water line needed to be bleed to make sure the dirt and other residue that had been picked up during the repairing of the meter. There was then a problem with the bleeding of the line because there was too much dirt in the line which in turn clogged a filtering part on the line under the house. The serviceman then had to go by a new filter and was gone another 30 to 35 minutes. With the completion of the repairs the serviceman left my home at around 3:15 to 3:20 pm.

A couple days passed and I receive the bill from Reed's for $***.18. I immediately called their office and spoke with **** **** their accounts receivable manager. **** and I discussed the amount of the bill and how she arrived at the hourly rate. She wasn't aware of the Serviceman not having a torch on his truck and having to go get one. Nor was she aware of his telling me he wouldn't charge me for the time. I was merely told you get charged from the time the serviceman leaves the shop, until he returns. She told me she would speak with Herb the owner and the serviceman about what could be done, but I heard nothing from her until I received a new bill yesterday. (November 20, 2013). The new bill had no credits given at all. But it sure included a finance charge of $**.27. I have since spoken anonymously with other plumbing companies about how they handle a situation where there is a broken meter. Their protocol is the serviceman is to stop their work, don't breach the water line, call CU for them to schedule repairs, and return to the shop. They are not to touch anything else! The reason being is if CU for some reason can't show up on the particular day the customer is now out of service due to not have water. The work at my home should have only taken somewhere between 2 and 2 1/2 hours and I'm sure that was the amount of time that Reed's had allowed for the job as well. In closing I would also like to add that on the morning I spoke with Ms. **** about my bill I was also calling to advise them that I still had a leak in the basement. She told me they would send the serviceman back out to fix it and made a few other trivial comments about my home and the issues they seem to always run into. This is only the second time I had ever used Reed's Plumbing! So I felt this complaint is necessary in hopes to come to an agreement before things escalate.

Desired Settlement
I feel I owe Reed's Plumbing for 2 to 2 1/2 hours of work, plus a fair value for parts. I personally feel that even Reed's Plumbing had allowed the same amount of time required for the amount of work I had done. Plus I have spoken anonymously with other plumbing businesses and that is the amount of time they also would have allowed for such small jobs.

Business Response
BBB Comment - BBB contacted the company and they stated the following: The company did contact the consumer regarding this complaint and the consumer was not satisfied with the response. The company has attempted many times since the first contact and the consumer has not returned their calls.

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Plumbers, Excavating Contractors, Sewer Cleaning Equipment & Supplies

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.