BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/05/2004

Campbell Pest Control

Phone: (417) 831-0444Fax: (417) 831-3339View Additional Phone Numbers651 W Brower St, SpringfieldMO 65802-3953Send email to Campbell Pest Control

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/05/2004

BBB has determined that Campbell Pest Control meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Campbell Pest Control's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Campbell Pest Control

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 3 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
06/03/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We hired Campbell Pest Control to come take care of our termite problem. They did not take care of the problem and three employees lied to me.
We personally hired Campbell Pest Control to come take care of our termite problem in our recently purchased home. We had them come before we did any remodeling so that we could fix any areas that were damaged during the treatments. This was in September/October 2013. In April 2014 we found our home to be infested with termite swarmers. When I called them, they told me it sounded like swarmers and that they would send somebody out to look at it. The man came and i asked him, does this mean we have termites still. I knew that it did already. He said no not at all. These are farther down in the ground. The worker termites are already dead. I said, well ive read that if we have swarmers we still have termites. He said, no, you dont. He said he would give us a free treatment. I asked him why it needed another treatment if we didnt have termites anymore. I also asked why it wasnt done properly the first time and he said we didnt give him permission to look under our carpet. I said well why would we not. We hired you to take care of the problem, but we dont know where the problems are. Thats why we hired a professional. Thats why we had you come before we did any remodeling. We dont care about that carpet. Nobody ever even asked if they could look elsewhere. He kept saying there was no problem and that this is totally normal. .I called the office after he left, and asked a lady, the secretary im assuming the same types of questions and she said no just because you have swarmers doesnt mean you have termites. The worker termites cant get past our barriers. They are dead. They came about a week later to do the free treatment and another man said the same things. Three men came including the one that came the first time. He swore up and down again that there was no problem even though we knew very well that it did. He said it was our realtors fault for not giving them permission to come in the house. Our realtor had nothing to do with hiring them. We hired them after the purchase of our home. Two days after the free treatment I found live worker termites crawling out of the holes the swarmers had chewed through my sheetrock. I have video evidence of this fact as well. All in all a horrible experience. I dont appreciate paying for a service I clearly did not recieve. I dont appreciate being treated like im stupid. I dont appreciate being lied to multiple times by multiple people within the company. I dont appreciate my house being torn up from repeat treatments that shouldve been done 7 months ago when they came the first time. I dont appreciate this company not taking responsibility for their poor quality of work and customer service. I dont appreciate having to leave my home for an entire weekend because the swarmers inside my home were so bad i couldnt stay there. I dont appreciate the fact that im now going to have to pay another company to redo the job because it wasnt done properly the first time. I dont appreciate that I can no longer trust this company because of the many lies they have told me and the poor quality of work.

Desired Settlement
I want a complete refund. I did not recieve the service I paid for and I can no longer trust the company to be honest with me or do the job properly.

Business Response
We originally did this inspection with the home inspector from ********************* before the sale of the home. At that time my inspector did call for a treatment due to evidence of termites and no previous treatment. At that time the termite report noted there was no access to the crawl space and on the main level there were fixed walls, ceilings and floor coverings that we cannot see behind. There was a slab room on the back that he did call to have drilled. The other side of that wall did have carpet on it and since there was no access to the crawl space he could not tell if that floor was on a slab or not due to the carpet. All of this is noted on the original report. We went out on 4-4-14 with a call on swarmers. Which this is swarming season. Swarmers are the reproductives and cause no damage and do not eat through anything. They come out of small cracks or follow old tubes up to the surface to swarm this time of year. They are an idication of active termites in the area but they come from deep underground. When we do the chemical barrier the workers cannot pass through the chemical. We did retreat the area they were swarming on 4-11-14. At that time my technician said that the carpet should be pulled on the other side of the slab room to treat that area. At that time the customer became upset and said it should have been done to begin with. Which at that time there were no active termites in that area and we had no access to the crawlspace and we did not there was carpet there with a possibility of it being over slab. We don't have the permission at the time of inspection to go pulling up people's carpet just to look. They swarmed again after we retreated and the homeowner called in rather upset saying we lied to her about the termites, which we did not. She has read several things online and believes she knows more about termites now than my Certified Technicians. I said I would send one of my senior inspectors who have been here for 15 years to see if there was a void or area that he could find where they could be generating from. She wasn't happy but after yelling at me and calling me a lier for 20 minutes agreed to have him come out. The day of the inspection they called and said something came up and they couldn't be there and canceled the inspection. We do not offer a money back guarantee and have never advertised that we do. Which the original treatment was September 12,2013, over 7 months ago. We will take care of the problem at no additional charge if we are allowed to do so. This customer from the beginning has not wanted to listen to anything my technicians have said. They all told her the same thing because that is the cycle of termites, but her reading on the internet has made her an expert and she says we are all liers. We have all tried to make this customer happy and they did not call back in to reschedule after canceling on April 15, 2014. We would still be happy to come take care of the problem if they would allow us to. If another company does any work on the house it will cancel out our warranty.

Consumer Response
This matter has not been responded to in a professional or satisfactory manner. The company is still not assuming any responsibility whatsoever. I do not feel they should be recommended by the BBB to other homeowners needing to have a serious issue such as termites taken care of properly and professionally.
*** ******
************

Final Business Response
We would be more than happy to resolve this issue. We had on the schedule to come out to address the problem and take care of it on April 15, 2014, but the customer called and said something came up and they wouldn't be home and would call when it is convenient for them. We have not got a call back from the customer to schedule this. We will be more than happy to take care of the termite issue in a satisfactory manner.

10/11/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Campbell Pest Control failed to provide or perform services discussed on phone.
Moved into rental property to find it had pest control that needed to be dealt with. Called company to get price check and service info. Person on phone said tech would spray all areas apply paste and traps and problem should be alleviated. However if it was not a follow up treatment would be done at no additional charge.
Tech arrives sprays a little in places throughout house. puts paste on a couple cabinet hinges and departs. visit was too short to fix problems described so i called back describing visit in detail. the man stated he would come out and spray and paste. at this time I was not aware that they should have sprayed, put down paste and bombed crawl space and attic. the tech I spoke to this time is one that came for 2nd visit. he sprayed as did other guy but without caution this time as he started to put spray on my gorgeous fireplace.....he proceeded to spray anyway he said wouldnt hurt it at all.......i firmly insisted he leave it aloned and he finally did.....but i had to clean it quickly to try and avoid damage. tech stated he would spray around windows and doors and he did.
problem continued...so i called company to tell them treatments didnt work...person to take 1st call answered and i spoke to her. i asked what all is the treat supposed to entail and she said spraying paste disks bombs under house and in attic. i stated tech didnt bomb attic or under house. she asked him if he did while i was sitting on phone and he stated THE ATTIC WAS NOT ACCESSIBLE. I STATED IT IS EASILY ACCESSIBLE AND THAT HE DIDNT EVEN LOOK. THE ATTIC ACCESS IS JUST INSIDE BEDROOM DOOR AND ALL HE HAD TO DO WAS LOOK UP! HE MADE NO EFFORT TO BOMB. I TOLD LADY WANT MY MONEY BACK AS I FELT THE REASON THE PROBLEM NEVER RESOLVED FROM 1ST TIME IS THAT THEY DIDNT DO EVERYTHING THEY NORMALLY DO ON 1ST VISIT. THE MAN WHO "COULDNT FIND" THE EASY TO SEE ATTIC ACCESS CALLED AND SAID WE WONT REFUND YOU BUT ANOTHER TECH WILL COME OUT AGAIN AND RETREAT. AND HE DID. HE ACTUALLY LOOKED UNDER HOUSE AND AT BASE BOARDS WHICH WAS THE 1ST TIME THIS OCCURRED WITH THIS COMPANY...THEY HAVE BEEN SLACKING FROM THE 1ST DAY.......I KNOW I CALLED ORKIN TO SEE WHAT A TREATMENT SHOULD BE LIKE....THEY STATE ....THEY LOOK FOR SOURCE OF PROBLEM AND THEN TREAT BY SOURCE THAT INCLUDES SPRAYING, PASTING, DISCS AND BOMBING AND SPRAYING YARD UP TO 2FT AROUND HOUSE. CAMPBELL NEVER STATED ANY OF THIS AND ONLY BEGAN DOING THINGS BEYOND SPRAYING AND PASTE AND LOOKING PAST SURFACE AFTER I WOULD NOT BACK OFF THEIR POOR QUALITY OF SERVICE. WHILE THE LAST TECH TEAM CAME OUT AND DID TAKE SOME TIME AND APPEAR TO LOOK INTO PROBLEM AND TREAT...INCLUDING BOMBING ATTIC AND CRAWL SPACE...WHICH THIS TECH LOOKED UP AND HAD NO PROBLEM FINDING ATTIC ACCESS...THE PASTE WAS NO PUT ON THEIR TRUCK AND TECH CALLED OFFICE AND SPOKE TO MAN I HAD BEEN SPEAKING TO AND SAID A PASTE STOP NEEDED TO BE ADDED FOR MY HOUSE FOR THIS WEEK.....SPEAKER ON OTHER END CONFIRMED........AND YET I HAVENT HEARD A THING FROM THIS COMPANY ALL WEEK!!!! THIS JUST FURTHERS MY FACTUAL STATEMENT THIS COMPANY PUTS LITTLE TO NO EFFORT IN GETTING THINGS RIGHT THE FIRST TIME......TAKING TIME TO PROVIDE GOOD SERVICE........FINALLY I RECOMMEND THAT TO FIND ATTIC ACCESS THE TECH MUST FIRST TRY LOOKING UP!!!^^^^^^^UP!!!!!!! Just like a basement is under a house....

Desired Settlement
refund ...still waiting for call about paste!

Business Response
BBB Comment - BBB called the business and the business states they have been to the consumers house on 7/9/13,7/29/13, 8/20/13, 9/10/13, 9/18/13 & 9/24/13. They have baited the house and fogged it. There is no sign of live bugs any where. The land lord has paid for the services and not the tenant.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Pest Control Services

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/02/1994Business started: 01/01/1954Business started locally: 01/01/1950
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Missouri Department of Agriculture
Po Box 630
Jefferson City, MO 65102-0630
(573) 751-4211
http://www.mda.mo.gov

BBB records show a license number of C265 for this company, issued by Missouri Department of Agriculture. Their web address is http://www.mda.mo.gov.

Type: State Professional License

Check License Status: https://apps.mda.mo.gov/moplants/PesticideApplicator/ApplicationExternalSearch.aspx

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 1993, MO

Contact Information
Principal: Terry Campbell (Owner) Sue Rebori
Number of Employees

10

Business Category

Pest Control Services

Industry Tips
Pest Control

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Campbell Pest Control

651 W Brower St

Springfield, MO 65802-3953

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 651 W Brower St 

    Springfield, MO 65802-3953

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southwest MO. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Campbell Pest Control is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 628-2906
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Pest Control Services

Pest Control
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.