BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 04/05/2010

Porterhouse Fine Meats, LLC

Phone: (417) 724-1311

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints2

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
09/29/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Company will not honor return/exchange policy as promised by salesman. Salesman will not return calls as promised. I must pursue salesman and company.
On 7/16/14 I purchased a meat package from ***** ****** of Porterhouse Fine Meats costing ******* with check ***** and ****** cash so Logan could buy gas for the day. At time of purchase I informed ***** that I was willing to try the product however I was uncomfortable about purchasing such a large amount. He assured me if I was not happy he would refund my money. We had 2 T-bone stakes that night and we're not happy with the product. We left for a trip the next day and and on our return 5 days later we grilled 2 New York Strips and found it to be more to our dislike. On Friday 7/25/14 I called ***** and requested he return my money he told me he would call me on Saturday morning to make arrangements. I didn't receive a call so I called him around 2p and left a message I did not get a response so I called again around 6p and still no return call. I tried again Monday morning the 28th and then call office and spoke to the ***** manager he told me I was cooking my stake wrong, don't thaw it cook it from frozen he said. I informed him I'd just like my money back. He said he would have ***** call me. On Tuesday morning 7/29/14 still no call. I called the office again and left a message. I received a call from the owner who assure me I would receive a call from ***** in one hour. It was not until around 6p that I received a call from ***** and he told me his phone was stolen and gave me a new number. We discussed the option of exchanging the 3 boxes of beef stake for a case of sea food. I told him I would need to discuss with my wife. On Thursday 7/31/14 I called ***** and informed him we would do the exchange. We discussed him calling me on Friday morning to set time to exchange meat pack. It now 12:00 noon and ***** just called me and said he dose not have any sea food cases to exchange with me and he now wants to push this off till Wednesday 8/6/14 to discuss time of exchange.

Throughout all of this ****** the Owner, and the Service manager have said many things. They have told me I cooked the meat wrong. I seasoned it wrong. They like to sight their return policy. The 3 day right of resison. FDA regulations. They told me the meat would plump when I removed it from the value pack, it was listless. The meat is an ugly bule/gray when it's thawed, they tell me it's the vacuum packing. I have pictures of the ugly meat.

With them not sticking to there latest arrangement I would just like my money back and they can take theit remaining meat.

Desired Settlement
I wanted my money back minus the amount for the 4 beef stakes we ate. I agreed to and exchange of a case of sea food for the 3 boxes of beef stakes. Now that they can't fulfill that agreement as promised, and all the aggravation of hunting them down and taking valuable time out of my day waiting for them I would just like my ******* and they can have their product.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ****
THIS DOES NOT BELONG TO ME
PLEASE STOP SENDING THIS
I AM AN INDIVIDUAL, NOT A BUSINESS

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have their flyer with your logo on it, their address and phone number. I have their receipt and the salesmans (independent contractor of the company) cell phone number of the week. This is them.

Final Consumer Response
I have tried to contact ***** ******* the salesman, several times sence I loged this complaint using the phone numbers he provided me, and he does not answer.

Final Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *** ****
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: *******@me.com
Customer complaint addressed and resolved with customer.

08/03/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Cash one check early saleman said they would cash it on 7/15/2012
ON 6/21/2012 i brought $900.00 in meat from Porterhouse fine meats i paid $300.00 in cash and $600.00 in two check's first check was for $300.00 ck# **** was to be cash 07/15/12, 2nd check for $300.00 ck# **** to be cash 08/15/12. Sales Reb agree to this and promise not to cash them, told me not to date the check's but i did one already said that was ok. he said that the company holds check all the time. On 6/25/2012 they cash check # **** i call the company told them what happen. why they cash that check said they don't hold check's told him i have check's coming in and they wouldn't clear he blame it on the Sales Reb and the Sales Reb "*****" didn't work there no more and ***** cash the check but i told the company they deposit the check in there acct told me to call Sales Reb "*****" So i stop payment on the other check for they won't cash it before the date they agree on. and the Sale Reb know i draw Soc Sec and money is limited and Sales Reb is owner son. and looking at Receipt was made out on 3/21/12. I don't know want there trying to pull over people.

Desired Settlement
The Check i stop payment on, they can have the meat back. and money i spend on bank charges like stopping check any other bank charges

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: Brandi ******-Co-Owner
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@yahoo.com
We have tried to contact the customer with no response from him, we knew nothing about the second check for August but we were holding the first check for July 15th as it was dated. Our salesman at the time put and earlier date on the check and didn't notify us that it was truly to be held until August 15, so we deposited the check as it was dated for an earlier date. ****** is no longer an sales person for our company, but we are willing to work with this customer to resolve the problem promptly we have just been unable to make contact with him.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Were i lived sometime i has cell service and sometime not. but i haven't had no message on my phone from them.

Business' Final Response
Per the owner by phone:

He stated that the customer offer is fine. He will give him $30 discount. ~sd

Industry Comparison| Chart

Meat - Retail

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.