BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 02/01/1984

Bass Pro Shops (Headquarters)

Phone: (417) 873-5000Fax: (417) 873-5882

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

72 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 21 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues34
Billing / Collection Issues3
Delivery Issues9
Guarantee / Warranty Issues2
Problems with Product / Service24
Total Closed Complaints72

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (72)
07/29/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased a coat on Feb 4, 2016, my birthday. From Bass Pro Shop using a new credit card I signed up for at the time. In early July we got a notice that our card was being cancelled for lack of payment of bill. I had used the card and the original cost was $95.21. They did not send us a bill and we did not notice we had not gotten a bill. They had been sending our bill to an address with the incorrect city and zip code. The sent us a new bill for $129.56, we sent a check for this amount a few days late when we found the bill. We got another bill for another $39.40 for late fees. I wrote out another check for $39.40 which will be mailed tomorrow, 7/22/2016. So the coat for $95.21 cost us $168.96. That seems excessive. Remember we did not pay the bill because we did not receive it for several months. They located us by getting our correct address on an older card with Bass Pro Shop that I had not used in a long time. I believe the incorrect address was their mistake. I did not tell them an incorrect city and zip code.
Product_Or_Service: winter coat
Account_Number: XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
I think Bass Pro Shop should pay half of the overdue charges, if not discount all of them since they did not bill us correctly

Business Response
We contacted Bank of America about the issue. They have contacted the customer and are working with him to resolved this.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


07/21/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I ordered a bow yesterday and was told it would be shipped within 5-7 business days. Now it won't be there until the 9th day and that is too late
I ordered a bow yesterday (7/13) and was told it would be delivered in 5-7 business days or we could ship to a store, but that would take 7-10 business days. We chose to ship to our vacation home so we could use the bow on vacation. When we finished the call, the lady then told us it wouldn't get there until the 26, which is 13 days later after the order, or 9 business days. I called today to ask why so long. We are getting it shipped to the place we are vacationing so we can use it there. We were told it was a large item and needed more time to ship but we could pay an additional $75 to get it there in time. I said we should have been told of this extended delay when we ordered or it should be clearly stated on the website. The lady I spoke with today said it is stated on the website. I looked today and there is nothing about this bow being large and therefore shipping being delayed..not even in the "Important Notices" section. I think BassPro should adhere to its standard of shipping an item between 5-7 business days and get me the bow in the time they verbally told me they would AND what is stated on the website and I should not have to pay an extra $75 to do it.
http://www.basspro.com/Barnett-Vortex-H20-Bowfishing-Compound-Bow-Package/product/XXXXXXXXXXXXXX/

Desired Settlement
Have BassPro Shop pick up the additional $75 charge to get me the bow in the time frame they said they would and is stated on the website

Business Response
I emailed the customer to let him know that tracking shows both packages will be delivered within the 5-7 business day time frame. One is scheduled for delivery today and the other is scheduled for delivery on 7/21 so both packages should arrive prior to his vacation.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Thank you for your responset! I am still having delivery issues though. When we ordered, we were clear that no one eqould be there at our vacation house until the 19th so when the arrows were delivered on the 18th I see that usps now says it's undeliverable and sending them back. Can you help me resolve this? Looks like the bow should come ok. Fingers crossed

Final Business Response
Tracking information shows the arrows were not delivered until 7/20. The bow is scheduled for delivery on 7/21.

During the order, there was no mention that no one would be at the address until 7/19. The concern was for the order to arrive before 7/23 or 7/24.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

03/04/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
a problem with VIP membership after purchasing a new TRACKER boat.
I purchased a new tracker boat in January, since then I have had at least 5 times I have had difficulty receiving VIP discounts that I was promised. I also was told I have the VIP discount for 3 years as a veteran versus 2, but continue to have problems verifying this!

Desired Settlement
Make me a VIP member for 3 years and quit making me feel its my fault when I go to the store and make a purchase that the VIP membership doesn't take. Also on the Basspro.com website it is dumb not to have the discount register immediately once one makes a purchase, i'd spend more it I know immediately what the discount was.

Business Response
Tracker Marine has spoken with Mr. ******* directly and his concerns have been addressed.

Consumer Response

12/31/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I placed an order for via Bass Pro's website, received a confirmation and then Bass Pro canceled to order because they reconsidered.
On Monday, 21 December 2015, I placed an order on Bass Pro's online website for a ***** Steez EX 3012H fishing reel, Bass Pro item # XXXXXXX. Upon placing the order, I received a confirmation # XXXXXXXX. The fishing reel was listed as shipping from the vendor and to allow 2-3 weeks for delivery. To my surprise when I checked my email Bass Pro sent me a cancellation stating the item was under *** was not available to back order, or I did not want to back order the item. None of those reasons is true, so I wrote to customer service via their website contact us e-mail feature. I asked what there was to back order when the item was to drop ship from the manufacturer and to re-instate my order.
On Wednesday, 23 December 2015, I received a reply from customer service saying the item was discontinued per the manufacturer and therefore not able to be ordered. This is false as the item is currently listed on ******** own website with the option to purchase direct from Diawa.
On Wednesday evening, I contacted Bass Pro customer service via chat and asked why I was given yet another bogus reason as to why my order was cancelled. Chat connected me with a customer service representative named ******** and she stated she would have to pass *** inquiry along to the drop-ship department because she was not sure.
Much to my surprise, on Thursday, 24 December 2015 I received another response from customer service (not the drop-ship department) that stated the item was no longer going to be carried by Bass Pro Shops and could not be ordered. I contacted customer service via chat were I spoke to a representative named ****** I explained to ***** that the item was available to be ordered because it was on the website and I received an order confirmation upon checkout. She insisted the item could not be ordered.
Having been given three different answers as to why the order was cancelled I asked to speak with management. ***** told me to call X-XXX-XXX-XXXX and ask for ********. I asked ******** why I was now given three different reasons as to why my order was cancelled when it was available for purchase and the item remained on the website after I purchased the item if it was not for sale. ******** would only say the item could not be ordered from Diawa, as Bass Pro was not going to carry the item going forward. I explained to ******** that I understood going forward, but my order was placed before that decision occurred. ******** said she would have a merchandising team member contact me.
On Tuesday, 29 December 2015, I received a phone call from an employee stating to be the lead merchandiser for fishing reels. He stated the item was orderable but Bass Pro does not want to sell it for the price they listed on their website. I explained to him that it was not appropriate to cancel orders after they were placed when Bass Pro reconsiders their selling price. The merchandiser told me this was their standard policy. I asked if it was standard policy why he had now given me a fourth reason as to why my order was cancelled. He stated he did not know. He was to speak with his manager but I have not received a phone call back.
In short, Bass Pro listed a fishing reel on their website available for purchase and shipped direct from the manufacturer. I placed an order for one of those fishing reels. After the fact, Bass Pro has reconsidered their selling of that item and thinks it is appropriate to cancel my order as a result. I would like Bass Pro to fulfill the order as stated in the order confirmation.

Desired Settlement
I want Bass Pro to fulfill my order by placing the order with Diawa.

Business Response
We contacted the customer and let him know we can get him the reel he wanted. We have placed a new order with the manufacturer.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I received a phone call from ******** with a new order number for the fishing reel. The charge is currently pending/processing on my charge card so I assume the order has been placed. If I could receive an updated order status email it would be much appreciated.

12/31/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Refusal to deliver product or substantially similar product for a confirmed order of an in stock item
On 12/27/2015, I purchased a Nikon rifle scope (SKU XXXXXXX, Model M223 3x12x42mm) from Bass Pro Shop's website. The product was listed as in stock online as well as in my local store. I decided to order online as they offered free shipping that day. The product was purchased online for ******** The original ***** was ***** I received a confirmation number for my order (Order: XXXXXXX, Conf: XXXXXXXX) and went on to subsequently purchase accessories for the scope on a different retailer's website. The next day, I received an email stating that the product I ordered would not be delivered to me. I called customer service to inquire why my order would not be fulfilled. I was told that the item was not in stock and would no longer be available. Through a series of additional correspondence, I was informed that the item was not in stock even though the website and store inventory showed them as in stock and I had received an order confirmation. Finally, I asked for a substitute product since I was originally sold a product that didn't exist. Specifically, the Nikon M223 4x16x42mm product (SKU XXXXXXX) was almost identical to the one that I purchased. The list ***** was *** more than the original product I bought ***** vs. ****** I was told I could purchase the substitute product at full price, but the sale price would not be honored. I even offered to pay the *** difference between the original non-sale prices, but was told no. I would like to receive the product I purchased or receive a nearly identical product. I feel that the original purchase of an in stock item, constituted an agreement with myself and Bass Pro. Bass Pro reneged on the agreement and I am requesting a nearly identical substitute product. My last interaction on 12/29/2015 ended with the second line customer service representative (*****), rudely telling me that I could pay an additional **** for the substitute product and that was final.

Desired Settlement
If the original product I purchased will not be delivered, I would like a nearly identical product for the sale price that I was given. Specifically, SKU 1999076 as mentioned in my complaint.

Business Response
We were able to acquire the original scope the customer requested. I contacted the customer and let him know it will take a few days for us to receive the scope and ship it to him.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Bass Pro was able to locate the item that I ordered and will be shipping it to me for the sale price that I originally received. Quick response. Thank you.

Page 1 of 6
07/22/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On October 23, 2015, we drove from Corpus Christi, TX to Harlingen, TX to fix Bass Pro Shop interior exit automatic slide door. The door was fixed and customer satisfied. Since no parts were needed, they were only charged labor and a trip charge for a total of $427.59. Mr. ******* ******** our contact, was sent the bill several times and called several times. He has yet paid the bill or returned any phone calls. His phone number is accurate.

Desired Settlement
We would like to be paid for this job.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ******
Contact Phone: XXX XXX XXXX
Contact Email: ********@Basspro.com
We have Contacted ****, **** for billing information.

Attention: ******* *****
******@Basspro.com

06/13/2016Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I payed $8.95 for SHIPPING and HANDLING for my online order and the box arrived on my door step mangled and crushed. The contents in the box were also
Placed an online order and paid for my merchandise. I selected regular shipping and thus paid $8.95 for SHIPPING and HANDLING. When the box arrived at my address, the box was smashed as well as the contents inside was smashed and the packaging was damaged. The bubble padding that was placed in the box for protection was popped and no longer protecting my goods. These items were going to be a gift but could not be gifted due to their damaged packaging state.

It is wrong to pay $8.95 for SHIPPING and HANDLING if my package is going to be tossed around and smashed to this point. This payment was made with two gift cards ***** **** **** **** *** AND XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXX) for a total of $48.38

Order Number: XXXXXXX-XX
Date: 5/27/2016
Shipped Via: FedEx HOME

Desired Settlement
I would like the refund of my SHIPPING and HANDLING payment as well as the cost of the two items in the package that had damaged packaging.

Business Response
Called customer and sent a gift card for his shipping charges and replacing the two items with damaged packaging on order XXXXXXX.

06/03/2016Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Purchased new 2010 Mercury Motor after I was told the 3 year manufacturer's warranty would be intact. Mercury is saying they will not honor this.
Called Bass Pro Shops in Arundel Mills twice to confirm availability and price of a Mercury 30HP ELPT for my Tracker Pro 16 which was purchased from the same store in 2006. I was quoted $3994.00 for a 2010 model, new motor with original Mercury warranty. It was explained that this was just left over stock that hadn't sold. A new motor, I was told would be about $4600, so I chose the less expensive route based on the fact that I would still have a warranty.
On 3/30/2016, after a 4 hour ordeal trying to just purchase the motor (the staff didn't know about it or the price), I left my boat to have the new engine installed for $200 in labor for two and one half weeks. When I picked it up, I asked about having the parts to install the propeller and was told all I needed was the nut that was on the end of the spindle. Turns out, the nut was the wrong thread and the Thrust hub was missing. I had to purchase both these parts for about $50 total from a local marine shop. The big issue came up when I called Mercury Marine to confirm my 3 year warranty, they said that the motor was manufactured outside of a 6 year window and they could not honor the warranty. Had I known this, I would not have chosen the older model motor.
I've spoken to multiple managers (including the Tracker Service Manager, ****, Tracker Boat Center Manager, ****** Borden and the General Manager, ***** ******* at the store level and they have told me the only option they have is to "allow" me to return the motor, pay more for a new motor and have that installed. They explained that they did not know about the Mercury 6 year warranty limit and were doing this based on this new knowledge. They also explained that because I have now used the motor, they would have to sell it at a deep discount, so they would lose money on the deal. To avoid another 4 hours of travel and 2 -3 weeks of wait time, I asked that they apply the discount to the motor I already have in the form of a partial refund, so that I can use those funds for any future potential warranty issues. I was told this was not an option. I then posed this question to the Tracker Marine Manager; So you are saying I can bring the motor back, you will refund it, in theory I could then wait for you to put it at the deep discount, I could then buy it and pay you to install it again? And he said yes, that could happen. This seems like a ridiculous thing to do to a dedicated customer of over 20 years and I don't see how it makes things better for me or the store.

Grand Total of Purchase: $4466.82
Quote# XXXXXX
Motor Purchased: Stock# XXXXXX Serial# 0RXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
I would like a partial refund in an amount equal to the discount that would be applied to a used 2010 Mercury Marine 30HP ELPT Motor. I believe this would be approximately $1000.00.

Business Response
I have reached out to the store, and they are going to contact this customer to resolve the issue.

05/05/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I ordered online some ammo from Bass Pro Shops site, received an order confirmation saying thank you for your order, then said my oder is cancelled.
Bottom line from my summary, when I ordered my items they sent an email that appears to be a confirmation of your order. Its only when you look at the small print do they say:

"We sincerely regret that we are unable to fulfill your order. The items were either less than $5, not available to be backordered, or you requested that the items not be placed on backorder. We are sorry for any inconvenience this has caused. Most items are restocked within 30 days; however, you may check basspro.com for stock availability."

They take your money and start your order then cancel it without really telling you its cancelled or they choose not to reorder it for you. I have the online transcripts to include in this complaint. I have dealt with numerous online merchants and have never had this problem. This is false advertisement at a minimum and bad business in my opinion. They should be ashamed.

Desired Settlement
I do not feel Bass Pro Shops should be able to do this to anyone else again. I will never do business with them and I will tell everyone I know about this incident in the hopes they do not shop with them.

Business Response
We responded to the customer with an apology that our stock had not updated on our website when he placed his order. His credit card was never charged. We let him know we will honor the price of the ammo and free ground shipping when stock is available. We have offered to contact him when we have stock if he is still interested.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
********: Hi, my name is ********. Thank you for letting me assist you today!
********: One moment please.
** ********: ok
** ********: its there now thank you
********: You're welcome. Is there anything else that I can assist you with today ***
** ********: When I ordered this item it said it was in stock, not its saying it is not.
********: Let me look at the order, one moment please.
** ********: How is going to affect me getting the products in a timely manner?
********: Thank you for your patience.
I'm sorry we are out of stock of the item and we aren't expecting backorders at this time so the item will be removed from your order and you won't be charged for it. We are expecting another
shipment of the item within a week or two. You may reorder when it is restocked.
** ********: I don't understand, so your going to cancel my order?
Courtney: Yes, the order will be cancelled because it's out of stock and can't be back ordered. I apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused.
** ********: isn't this false advertisement?
** ********: Bass pro shops let me order this item, then when payment hits they tell me its not available?
********: No it's not false advertisement. Our web site isn't in live time so inventory isn't pulled until orders hit our system from online. If the item isn't available and can be backordered it will be. If it can't, the item is removed and you aren't charged for it.
** ********: its not about refunding the money its about your website said you have this product, you yourself said it would be about two weeks, so instead your going to cancel my order and make me go through the process again, almost guarantee no free shipping or the
price of this item.
** ********: this is bad business, i'm going to report this to the BBB
** ********: when you do this to people that search daily for cheaper prices to save money and your business does this its low.
********: I'm sincerely sorry the item is out of stock and unavailable right now. It should be restocked shortly. Is there anything else that I can assist you with today TJ?
** ********: your order confirmation is written small that people don't even notice it, and it says your going to cancel my order. So your confirmation of taking my money is your going to cancel my order. I will be posting this on many forums and social media in the hopes you stop doing this to customers from now on. Goodby
********: Thank you for contacting Bass Pro Shops. I hope you have a great evening!
Live Assistance 5/1/16, 9:47 AM

This is the online chat transcript from Bass Pro Shops, it show the real problem of they advertise a product at a price, the only way to find out it you can get this item is to attempt to purchase it, give your payment to them and create an account to track the progress. Then if they don't have it (as in my case specifically) they send you an email confirming your order, but in the small print it explains the order is canceled. So their advertising of items isn't close to being true or correct if they do not indeed have the product and aren't going to backorder the item. Their email to me explains, which can be provided, details how the ammo isn't going to be backordered, the transcripts person tells me 2 weeks, the email doesn't say that at all. I find these prices on a live forum that tracks several different vendors for prices of specific ammo (ammoseek.com). This didn't just happen to me it happened to many customers which caused the post from bass pro shops to be reported and flagged as false advertising. I called bass pro shops and asked for all of my account information, email address, physical address, account payment information and everything about me be removed. I was informed this would be done within 1 hour of the call. I still have an account, still have a pending order in the system, and this wasn't fixed at all. I wanted all of my data erased from their system and they have not done this yet. I do not accept their apology and still believe they are liars and promote false advertisement. You cannot sell a product unless you possess the product which they do not. They cannot agree when these items will be in stock. I will continue to put this on social media and show unsuspecting consumers of their unfair practices and dishonest advertising.


Final Business Response
Our system has updated and we are taking backorders for the ammo. We are supposed to receive a shipment from the vendor this month. We are still offering to honor the price and free ground shipping when stock is available.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Bass Pro Shops is essentially using the same excuse for POOR SERVICE. An example would be; pushing a hot dog cart yelling hot dogs for sale and when a patron hands me money I explain to them I am out of hot dogs and will get more in 2 weeks, 1 month or longer but will honor the same price. In the mean time just wait here and I will get hot dogs back real soon. In this example it shows a reflection of how bad Bass Pro Shops business advertisement is and how it is wrong. Its is blatant FALSE ADVERTISEMENT and while it continues there are more and more consumers that will fall prey to this unfair practices. I do not accept their resolution at all, hope they have an enormously low BBB rating until this issue is resolved for me and many others customers that expect respect and truth.

02/15/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased a gun case from Bass Pro East Peoria, online Bass Pro emails have not been helpful. My case fell apart after 10 uses.
I purchased a Red Head gun case from Bass Pro Shops in East Peoria, IL. The end of the case has fallen apart after 10 uses, causing the end of my $1300 gun to smack the concrete due to not realizing the case fell apart. I tried to contact Bass Pro through customer service email, and received a very unhelpful response. I no longer have the receipt only the case itself, I am very disappointed in the services I have received from Bass Pro. I have a pair of Red Head waders that I purchased and have not had any problems, this has made me question my loyalties to buying anything from Bass Pro. I have pictures available of the damage.

Desired Settlement
I would like a new case, but am also very disappointed this case damaged my $1300 barrel.

Business Response
We contacted the customer to let him know we are emailing a prepaid return label to return the gun case for exchange.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Bass Pro has chosen to ignore this issue over a month time with no response, the lack of care for customer satisfaction is terrible. Bass Pro sent me a Fed Ex label with no packaging to return this item. They are also not apologetic for their defective product damaging my gun barrel. I do not accept this response as it is not a resolution in any way, do the right thing and replace the case without a disruption to your customer.

Final Business Response
We are shipping a new gun case today on order 6406876 so the customer will have a box to return the defective case. A postage paid return label had already been sent. Once we receive the case, we can determine compensation for the scratches on his gun.

Page 1 of 9

Industry Comparison| Chart

Hunting & Fishing Services & Supplies, Sporting Goods - Retail

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.