BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/20/2005

Hotels-Rates.com

Find a Location

Phone: (417) 866-1670Fax: (417) 429-1133View Additional Phone Numbers2847 S Ingram Mill Rd Ste C101, SpringfieldMO 65804-4013Send email to Hotels-Rates.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/20/2005

BBB has determined that Hotels-Rates.com meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Hotels-Rates.com's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 38 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

38 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 8 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues14
Billing / Collection Issues9
Problems with Product / Service15
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 38

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Hotels-Rates.com

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 4 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (38)BBB Closure Definitions
05/11/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My credit card was charged in advance when I was specifically told it would not be.
I called on Sunday, May 3, 2015 to book a room near ******** *** force ***** I specifically asked the representative if my card would be charged now or at the time of check in. Check in was not supposed to be until June 10. I was assured that it would be at check in. After I got off the phone with the hotel, I got a text from my bank that said I had a charge of ******** I have cancelled the reservation, but I still do not have the funds returned to my bank, and I have incurred ***** in overdraft fees. The fees continue to mount, and the bank will not waive them.

Desired Settlement
I am requesting the refund plus fees incurred due to this charge.

Business Response
I have personally reviewed this issue and determined that something was missed during the initial call review that our Quality Assurance department performed.

When reviewing the call, our Quality Assurance department found that the booking agent stated that this reservation would be charged at the time of booking twice before asking you to agree to the terms and policies. Additionally, your cancellation policy was stated verbatim, "You May Cancel Your Reservation For A Full Refund Minus A ****** Cancellation Fee If Cancelled Prior To 06/08/XXXX XX:XX Pm (Central Time). Any Cancellation Made After This Time Is Nonrefundable." Because these policies were disclosed verbatim, and you agreed to the terms and policies before the reservation was confirmed, the Quality Assurance department determined that it was not agent error that caused you to no realize that your reservation was a pre-paid (paid at the time of reservation - not check in) type of reservation.

However, when I reviewed the call, I caught that after the reservation had been booked (also after you had agreed to the terms), it seems like you had moment where you realized you weren't sure about when the reservation would be charged. The agent asked if you had a pencil for your confirmation number and after you stated you didn't, you said "And you guys charge the card when we get down there right?" It was at that point that our agent made a confusing statement regarding the reservation being prepaid. She replied "Yes"- which wasn't correct. After reviewing the call with her we have determined that she answered you without hearing you clearly. We are addressing this with her. Of course, it is expected that our agent would not only properly disclose these policies, but also remain consistent in explaining them to you. Due to this miscommunication after the reservation was booked - but still at a point when the charge could have been voided had she answered you correctly - we have agreed to refund your overdraft fees in full.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
As long as the overdraft fees are refunded in full in a timely fashion, I am accept their response.

05/11/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Charged money to make reservations, then did not make them
Company charged ***** for reservations. They never made them for hotel in ****** nevada on 4/11/15. When I tried to call they were closed

Desired Settlement
I would like my money refunded

Business Response
We have contacted the hotel regarding this reservation and they confirmed that they do not show it in their system. Issues such as this are rare - though they do happen. We have issued a full refund of our service fee and apologize that you had to doubt us. We hope you'll give us another chance in the future.

03/30/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Club Home and Away, LLC has posted charges on the ******************************, Inc debit card. I have been unable to find a phone number for this company or web site. The have a registered agent at 2847 S. INGRAM MILL ROAD SPRINGFIELD, MO 65804.The debit is for 9/30/2014 ****, 11/3/2014 ****, 12/02/2014 ****, 1/2/2015 **** and 2/2/2015 ****.Anything you can do to help us find this company and clear these erroneous charges would be helpful and appreciated.Thank you,Gene VogelPresident*****************************, Inc.
Product_Or_Service: none

Desired Settlement
We would like the charges refunded and no further charges.Thanks

Business Response
We have reviewed the call into our call center where the club membership was added to a hotel reservation that was made and have determined that our agent did not properly explain the terms of the membership. We have issue a full refund for all charges.

We take this very seriously and will be handling the matter internally.

02/03/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I made reservation for November 29 November 30 2014 I stayed 1 night that was on Nov. 30th hotel-rate charged me for 2 nights. paid for 30th seperatly
I called maid reservation on Nov.29 2014 for 2 days $****** at 4 pm about 6 pm I called hotel-rate to cancel 29th because of bad weather couldn't make about 6 pm on the 29th I thought every thing was fine got to the hotel on the 30th of Nov. 2014 I had to pay the motel for the 30th then out of my own pocket. about 6pm.I called the hotel- rate to see what was going on told me they would speak to their manager the following day.hotel-rate had ***** cents of my money. the clerk at the hotel said you have to cancel before 12 12am on the same day to get credit for the day I wasn't there because bad weather on the 29th of Nov. they charged me a no show as they call it. hotel- Rate still has my $****** I had to pay for the 30th of Nov. before they would let me stay so I paid for the room out of my pocket for 1 night on Nov 30th 2014 the only night that I stayed at that hotel.I ask for a refund they were working trying to get in touch with hotel manager I called several times in Dec.2014 to get credit for $****** on Dec 2nd I received a credit from at that time the names was International hotel reservations.of $***** they still owe me $***** never received credit. I called hotel-rate on Jan.2nd spoke to a lady stayed on the phone about 16 minutes waiting on her to talk to her manager the lady come back to the phone and said to me we are going to give you your refund I said ok thank you I ask how long will it take to get it about 5 days I should have the money back in my account.I called back on Monday Jan.5th man answered said call back on the seventh if I did not receive it I called bacon the 7th of Jan. I talked to a man he put me on hold for about 5 minutes and when he come back he told me that I was not getting a refund for the night of Nov 29th case closed so I paid for their mistake $*****. I am asking for my $***** back someone made a mistake I am not paying for their mistake I done exactly what I was supposed to do to cancel the 29th of Nov. reservations!

Desired Settlement
I am seeking $***** for the Nov. 29th reservation I made and canceled within 2 hours. Did not stay that night thank you!!!

Business Response
While I can certainly understand Mr. Burrell's frustration with the situation, it is unfortunately completely within the hotel's right to charge for the first night of his stay - whether he used it or not. When he made his reservation on 11/29/2014 at 4:43pm (CST) the cancellation policy for the reservation he was making was read to him as:

You May Cancel Your Reservation For A Full Refund Minus A USD ***** Cancellation Fee If Cancelled Prior To 11/27/2014 12:00 Pm (Central Time). Any Cancellation Made After This Time Is Nonrefundable.

So, at the time he made his reservation, his entire stay was completely non-refundable. It would have actually been completely within our right to keep the entire amount. However, we did try to work with the hotel to see if we could convince them to waive the no-show fee for the first night. They refused - which is within their right as well.

It is a common misconception that cancel policies should be related to the time at which you make the reservation. In fact, cancellation policies have nothing to do with when you make the reservation or how long you've had the reservation and everything to do with how far out from the day / time of arrival that you are booking for. If you are very near to the arrival date the cancel policies become very strict. If you are very far from the arrival date, they have a better chance to re-sell the room and therefore the cancel policy is often very lenient. This is not a rule that we made, it is simply the way it works in the industry.

We did receive a call from the hotel asking us to refund him for the 2nd night as they were charging him directly for the night of the 30th. This is the refund that he has received and mentioned in his complaint. At no time was he told that he would be receiving a full refund. We have reviewed the recordings of his calls into our customer service center. On the call he references where he was told when to expect his refund, only 1 night was ever referenced. He never asked about a full refund. Our agent saw the 1 night refund and told him when to expect that refund.

Unfortunately this is out of our control. We aren't able to refund for a night if the hotel is going to be charging us for that night. This wasn't a mistake on our part at all. Mr. Burrell simply made a reservation that was non-refundable at the time he made it.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not except anything they said completely changing the policy after the face get you no where I was not told any thing about their policy to begin with that is a lie.all they wanted from me was my credit card. I called on November 29th 2014 to make reservations for Nov 29th and 30th 2014 at 4:43pm I called back lesson good at this one at 6pm I talk to the same gentleman he told me he did not know how to give me credit he said I will talk to my manager in the morning about this so of course if he waited the next day to tell his manager it would have been after midnight who should this fault the hotel or internet hotel reservation I would say internet hotel reservation because the man working did not no how to do his job do I have to pay for this mistake they made no I will take it further if I have to they will not get by with this I am sorry. they can come up with all the excuses they want look at the truth. I need the $***** more than they by rights and by their on policy I should receive the ***** refund I will not pay for some one else mistake that is a promise

Final Consumer Response
They also said if I cancel before 11/27/2014 That is IMPOSSIBLE at that time I didn't know HOTEL RESERVATION I didn't know any thing about that company because I didn't call until 11/29/2014 How could I have canceled on the 27th Of November 2014 I hadn't made the reservations yet. On the 29th November 2014 is the first time I called Hotel reservation.something with that picture!!!

Final Business Response
I have issued a refund in the amount of $***** today to Mr. Burrell. I have personally reviewed all of his calls into our customer service center and his original booking call. The facts of this dispute are that he made a reservation that was completely non-refundable from the moment he made it. After listening to all calls it is clear to me that he doesn't understand that the primary issue is that his reservation - regardless of whether he used all nights or not - was not eligible for a refund at all according to the cancellation policy. Certain exceptions can be made if the hotel agrees to refund us, however, the hotel is completely within their right to hold both us and the guest to the booked cancellation policy.

In reviewing our booking call with Mr. Burrell I did determine that our booking agent did correctly explain the cancellation policy to him. The exact statement was "Your cancellation policy has already expired, but I'm required to read you the cancellation policy verbatim anyway. Your cancellation policy is 'You May Cancel Your Reservation For A Full Refund Minus A $***** Cancellation Fee If Cancelled Prior To 11/27/2014 12:00 Pm (Central Time). Any Cancellation Made After This Time Is Nonrefundable.'".

So, when he made the reservation, it was reasonable for us to assume that he understood it wouldn't be eligible for any refund - regardless of whether he used all nights or not. However, when he called into our customer service department to cancel the night of the 29th, he mistook our willingness to help try to get the hotel to refund him as meaning that he shouldn't have to pay for that night. Our willingness to try to get the hotel to agree to refund - outside of their policy - is simply a service that we offer to try and get the best for our customers. The hotel is completely within their right to hold to their cancel policy.

I decided to refund Mr. Burrell - even though we are still paying for that night - only because our agents were not successful in getting him to understand his cancellation policy. The problem wasn't with the hotel, the whole situation existed because he wasn't due a refund and we did not adequately communicate that to him. Had that initial fact been made more clear, the entire situation could have been avoided. He was confused by our attempts to help him into thinking that he didn't owe that night. I will be reviewing this with all agents involved in his reservation to make sure that it doesn't happen again.

12/15/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I searched the web for hotels near Richland Center, WI and the Ramada popped up so I called the 800 number thinking I was calling the hotel directly. The clerk made a reservation for me and told me there would be a ****** deposit to hold the room. I asked why and she said it was okay and the hotel would credit me when I kept the reservation. In the end I was billed for ****** separately from the hotel bill for this so called service along with paying for my hotel bill. I've booked hotels for 45 years and have never had this happen so I want to report this company and the hotel as a fraud. Please check into it and mark this web site as fraudulent.

Desired Settlement
The only desired settlement would be for them to refund my ***** and be put out of business. You can't trust anyone these days.

Business Response
I have personally reviewed the call recording of this call into our call center. I do want to note that we did actually refund the ****** fee as soon as you contacted our customer service department and notified us that you did not understand the service fee at the time your reservation was booked. After reviewing your call I believe that our agent did clearly disclose that the fee was a separate charge and was not a part of your room charge though she did use the phrase "so you don't have to pay the whole thing today" which is not a part of our script. This agent is no longer with our company or we would clarify that this phrase should not have been used during your call.

I can assure you that the misunderstanding was in no way intentional and was simply a mistake by the agent. We have already refunded you in full for the booking fee.

In addition, we have done nothing fraudulent in coming up in independent search results under a search term for hotels near Richland Center, WI because we do actually book for hotels near Richland Center, WI. At no time during the call did the agent imply that we were any specific hotel. We are sorry if there was any confusion - but it was certainly not intentional. We do offer that service and feel it is perfectly appropriate for us to come up when someone searches for a service that we offer.

Page 1 of 7
11/15/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
When booking room on the website the $22.99 fee was not disclosed until the reservation was made. I got negative results trying to take the fee off.
On 11-11-13 I booked a room for Laquinta Inn at 79.00 per night. Reservation #XXXXXXXXXX thru Hotels-Rates.com website. No added fees were listed. After booking the room a fee for 22.99 popped up and said it was non-refundable. I called customer service steven #329 and spoke with supervisor ******* who cancelled my room but refused to cancel the fee. I paid with American Express. I immediately put my American Express charge for 22.99 in dispute.

Desired Settlement
Refund of the 22.99 fee that was not disclosed until after the room was reserved.

Business Response
I have reviewed your reservation. I do see that a second call into our customer service department did result in a refund in full of your service fee. However, I would like to apologize that you had to make a second call.

I can assure you that the fee is displayed before the reservation is made, however, it is clear that in your case you didn't notice it.

We do actually display the fee under the heading "Service Fee", in a red font, in all caps. It is not hidden on the page at all. It is located directly below the cancellation policy - which is also in red, but not in all caps. If you have just a moment to recreate your steps that were taken to make the reservation online in the first place, I think you'll see that the fee is there.

Regardless, it is our policy to refund this fee if the guest indicates that they didn't see it. I'm sorry that this policy wasn't followed on your first call. I am personally reviewing the calls to see where coaching can be useful for our agents involved.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I don't plan on ever going on your website but if the fee is listed it must be vague. I use American Express because I know I have fraud protection. So you were not getting paid either way. As I said in my previous response I had to pose as a new customer to get any results. That is poor business practice. It makes me wonder how many other visitors to your site paid the fee and gave up after talking to a rep. and a supervisor.

Final Business Response
I have personally reviewed your call into our customer service center and I am very sincerely sorry for your experience because it was not handled properly. We have already dealt with both the agent and the supervisor involved as this is such a simple problem to solve, I don't understand why it was handled in the way it was. ***** is correct that the fee can be waived and the first customer service agent that you spoke with should have done so as soon as you said you hadn't seen the fee.

That being said, we are not dishonest in any way with how the fee is disclosed. The fee is very clearly displayed on the website before the reservation is made. The fee is shown on the page where you enter your personal information. It is in red font - while the rest of the page (with the exception of the cancellation policy) is in black font. It is also in all capital letters under the heading of "Service Fee".

We do have an A+ rating with the BBB because it doesn't take much effort at all to go back through the process and see for yourself that we do in fact display the fee very clearly before you make your reservation. It doesn't sound like you have actually tried that yet, but if you do take a moment to look, you'll see that it is indeed there. In addition, even though we do everything we can - besides make it blink - to make sure our users are aware of the fee before they book, we make it our policy to refund the fee if a user did not notice it before booking with us.

If you notice in the other complaints about the fee, they also have not taken the time to walk back through the process to see for themselves if the fee is there or not. The BBB agents have taken the time to do so and see that it is indeed displayed very clearly.

08/19/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Hotels-rates.com uses deceptive business practices to book rooms then refuses to cancel them requested.
I booked a room thinking I was dealing with best western the customer service person booked the room but before ending the call he identity his business name. I told him right then I wanted to cancel.he said he could not cancel it that I agreed to the terms I explained I agree before he identity himself. He said that I had nochoice that iI had to call customer service. I called customer service they refused saying the same thing that I agreed to the terms and they would charge my card they said I had no options that was their policy. I did use the booking under pressure of loosing 240.00$ I believe they should have canceled when I asked so I could call best western on my own.

Desired Settlement
Change in their polices and an apology.

Business' Initial Response
I disagree that we used any deceptive business practices. We display our phone number on our own website only. The domain name of the website is Hotels-Rates.com. This name appears in the address bar, in the header of every page, in the copyright information in the footer, in our About Us, etc. That in no way implies that we are **** ******** The fact that we list hotels from all chains should also be a clear indication that we are not the Best Western chain website.

The fact that Mr. ***** didn't pay attention to the website he was on and was confused is not proof of dishonesty on our part. I would encourage him to go back to the page he found our phone number on and really look at it. There is nothing on the page to indicate that we are anything other than a booking agency. Everything on our site shows clearly that we book for many different hotel chains.

In addition to this, the fact that he didn't want to book with a third party does not change the fact that he listened to and agreed to the cancel policy before our agent placed the reservation. By making the reservation for him, our company is immediately liable to pay for the stay - whether he uses it or not. In all instances, if the hotel agrees not to charge us, we do not charge our customers. In his case, the hotel was unwilling to release us from the cancel policy - so we were unable to release him from the cancel policy that he agreed to when he made the reservation. There is nothing dishonest about the process.

I also do not agree that he used the stay only because of the pressure of the $240. The $240 was the rate that he agreed to pay at the hotel in which he wanted to stay. We did not force or coerce him to do anything. He called the phone number on our page and our agent assisted him with reserving a room at the hotel he desired.

I am sorry that he was confused and feels that we were being dishonest - however, that was simply not the case. Had he booked a rate with a more lenient cancel policy we would have been happy to cancel for him. Unfortunately, the rate he chose had a strict cancel policy and simply didn't allow for a refund at that point.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The tone has changed but not the issue. Whoever is responding, I can only hope that it is **** ****** the President of the of the company I have this dispute with, Because it should be someone who has the power to make the necessary changes that would make it so that the public is no longer being duped. They also keep falling back on their cancel policy as a defense, they don't seem to understand that the policies are the problem not to mention their ads that lead you to believe that they are someone who they are not, in this case **** ******** They do not identify themselves until after you agree to they so called cancel policy by that time its too late, according to them to cancel. any reasonable person would not see a problem with being able to cancel there and then and if it is, for internet programming inc. then they should get out of the travel and hospitality business all together. And by saying that I am not being intentionally dishonest is laughable sense all the deception is being perpetrated by Internet Programming Inc. or was that, Hotels-Rates.com or was that, Internet Hotel Reservations or was that The Reservation Desk. Yes its confusing and because its being done on the internet does not mean they have the right to deceive hard working people and get away with it. This has obviously just begun and this company is not willing to accept responsibility for its actions.

Business' Final Response
I'm very sorry that Mr. ***** is still under the impression that we were dishonest and misrepresented ourselves to him. I also did not intend to be rude in my response, however I do feel very strongly that his accusations are unfair and untrue. It is difficult to disagree strongly in a manner that doesn't feel confrontational to the other party.

I have personally reviewed the sales call with Mr. ***** and I disagree that he was mislead intentionally by our agent. Our agent made it clear during the call that he could book anywhere and Mr. ***** simply stated that he wanted to stay in a Best Western.

After the hotel was chosen, Mr. ***** then agreed to the terms and policies, and received the confirmation number. Had he, at the point he was asked if he agreed to the terms and policies, refused - he would have had no reservation and the cancel policy and our status as a travel agency would have been irrelevant.

However, he did not do so. He agreed to the terms and policies and our agent made the reservation. After the reservation was made, we were immediately contracted with the hotel to pay for the stay regardless of whether or not he used the reservation. The cancel policies are relative to the distance from the check in date and have nothing whatsover to do with the length of time the reservation has existed. This point was made very clear to him during the agent's recap. Because Mr. ***** was booking for the day of arrival, his reservation was immediately non-refundable.

After the reservation was made, Mr. ***** claimed he never wanted to stay in Santa Barbara, and that he only agreed to the terms and policies because he assumed we were the **** ******* direct. The sales agent advised him to refer back to the cancellation policy, and apologized for the confusion. Mr. ***** then requested to cancel the reservation, and the agent suggested he contact the customer service line.

Our sales agents are not able to cancel reservations because that function is part of a completely different computer system. Cancellations are only made through customer service. This is not a dishonest practice as you will notice that in most businesses, the sales department is separate from the customer service department.

I do believe that Mr. ***** is not being intentionally dishonest. He seems to be very sincere in his complaint. However, the facts are simply not as he recalls them. We identified ourselves as he suggested we should, we provided him with his request for a room, and he was able to stay in the room.

We have already processed a courtesy credit to him in the amount of $20 on 5/13/2013. I am able to extend him an additional courtesy credit of $40 as an acknowledgement of his misunderstanding, but this is the maximum that we are able to process as he did actually use the room and we have had to pay the hotel.

07/30/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
reservation cancellation. was given the impression it would be permitted and granted.
7/9/13 a reservation was made with hotels-rates.com for a double bed room at ******* *** San Angelo TX for 7/10 - 7/18, confirmation number IHSM-198 paid with a visa credit card in the amount of $1697.03. On 7/11/13, I called to see if I could cancell the reservation. ******* instructed me to contact the reservation company, if they would agree to the cancellation and refund they would honor it.I explained to both Hotels-rates.com and ******* *** we are an oilfield company and the job finished earlier than we thought. I was notified by Hotels-Rates.com ********* that they had confirmed with ******* *** the cancellation and refund for 7/13, 7/14, 7/15, 7/16, 7/17 would be honored. We would only be charged for the days our employees were actually there at the hotel 7/10 & 7/11. ******* *** contacted me 7/11 asking if they employees were already checked out because their belongings were not in the room. I assurred the hotel rep that the employees would be back their 7/11 evening to stay the night and would be checking out 7/12 morning. At 9:16pm on 7/12 I received a voicemail from ***** with Hotels-Rates.com that ******* *** still shows our employees on site. Our employees were no longer at that property as of 7/12 morning. 7/13 I spoke with the hotel and they refused to cancel because it was a prepaid reservation, I then called Hotels-Rates.com and spoke with ******* he soke with ***** from ******* *** corporate office stated in their notes I called the San Antonio location to cancel. This it not correct the only numbers I have called regarding this entire transaction have been XXX-XXX-XXXX Rodeway Inn San Angelo and XXX-XXX-XXXX Hotels-Rates.com. I was told by Westin the notes in their system reflected they would contact the hotel about a refund but nothing was confirmed. Because their "notes" in the system do not indicate the conversation happened does not mean it didn't. I was told by Marrisa that the refund would be honored by hotels-rates.com and ******* *** and we would only be charged for the dates we occupied the room. I have requested Hotels.Rates.com to conduct a call review of the phone call conversations but at this point I do not expect them to do anything but take our money. Both parties were notified the room would not be occupied from 7/13 thru 7/17 with plenty of notice to rebook the room to someone else therefore there would be no loss to either of them.

Desired Settlement
I want a credit back to the visa credit card in the amount of $924.80, the fee for the room for 7/12 - 7/17.
I normally do not use a reservation company for these types of needs. I make it a point to deal directly with the Hotel or Airline for this exact reason. I am disquested by the lies and intential misrepresentation of both companies. Whether we get a refund or not, I can assure you I will personally never use either of them and as far as the company I work for, we are a multi million dollar oil field company that does business in 6 different states WE WILL NEVER USE HOTELS_RATES.COM or RODEWAY INN EVER AGAIN.

Business' Initial Response
I have reviewed all of the calls associated with the reservation and while I can understand her frustration at having been told by someone at a Rodeway Inn that they would refund her for the unused nights, the fact is that the Rodeway Inn she booked with is within their rights to charge for the full stay. The reservation was booked on 7/9/2013. The cancellation policy that was agreed to by Ms ******* at that time states:
Persons Cancelling A Reservation Prior To 07/08/2013 12:00 Pm Central Time Will Receive A Refund For The Total Rate Minus A USD 25.00 Cancellation Fee. Persons Cancelling A Reservation After This Time Will Receive No Refund.

So, the hotel is well within their policy to charge for the entire stay.
That being said, we are sometimes able to persuade hotels to waive their policy in light of situations like Ms. *******'s. When she called in to our customer service on 7/11/2013 and spoke with *******, she stated that the hotel had already agreed not to charge us. ******* stated on that call to her that we have to confirm with the hotel that they won't charge us. If they confirm that they won't charge us, we are happy to refund her for the unused nights. We let her know that once they had actually checked out, we'd check back with the hotel to verify that they wouldn't be charging us and we'd issue the refund at that time.
However, when we contacted the hotel on 7/12 and spoke with *****, she said that the belongings were still in the room. We left a message for Ms. ******* at that time letting her know that the hotel did not verify that they'd checked out. This actually is a common occurrence. Many times guests consider checking out early, but then don't end up doing so. This is why we verify.
On 7/13 Ms ******* called our customer service upset because she had spoken with a ****** at ******* *** hotel (on 7/11) who'd told her she could check out early and be refunded. However, when we called and spoke with ***** at the ******* *** she booked with, she informed us that there wasn't a ****** at their location. There is a ****** at the San Antonio location - but she was booked at the San Angelo location. My only guess is that the guest must have dialed the wrong number and spoke with the ****** at the other location. We confirmed with the chain corporate office that there is no ****** at the San Angelo location and there is a ****** at the San Antonio location.
***** further informed us that they were not willing to waive their cancel penalty - which is their right. We let Ms. ******* know that the hotel was refusing to refund for the reservation. This situation is out of our control. We are being charged in full for the stay and are unable to refund her for the unused nights. Regardless of what she was told by the other hotel, the policy states that no refunds are possible after 7/8/2013. So, this reservation was nonrefundable from the time she made it.
I am willing to issue a courtesy refund in the amount of $300, but unfortunately that is all I can offer. The hotel has charged us in full for all 8 nights of the stay.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I will accept $462.40 which is half of the $924.80.

since "******" has been quit the excuse for the misrepresentation and lies, I would like to clarify that they are correct ****** does not work at ******* *** or Hotels-rates.com, she works at Super 8 of which we moved out business to.

Thank you
*****

Industry Comparison| Chart

Hotels - Reservations, Travel Agencies & Bureaus

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/20/2005Business started: 06/21/1999
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 2000, MO

Business Management

This company share management with Interactive Hotel Solutions. A separate report is available.

Contact Information
Principal: Doug Lurvey (President)Customer Contact: Diane Thomlinson Jeff McDaniel
Number of Employees

5

Business Category

Hotels - Reservations, Travel Agencies & Bureaus

Products & Services

This company states that it is an internet based travel agency.

Alternate Business Names
Club Home and Away. LLC, Internet Hotel Reservations, Internet Programming Inc
Industry Tips
Travel Agencies

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Hotels-Rates.com

2847 S Ingram Mill Rd Ste C101

Springfield, MO 65804-4013

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 2847 S Ingram Mill Rd Ste C101 

    Springfield, MO 65804-4013(417) 866-1670
    (877) 335-7387
    Fax: (417) 429-1133
    Fax: (417) 429-1133

  • 2847 S. INGRAM MILL ROAD 

    SPRINGFIELD, MO 65804

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southwest MO. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Hotels-Rates.com is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (417) 890-2078
  • (877) 335-7387
  • (888) 635-0211

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (417) 889-5483
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Hotels - Reservations

Travel Agencies
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.