BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Southwest MO

BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

CoxHealth

Phone: (417) 269-3000Fax: (417) 269-3222

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

22 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 10 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues14
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service7
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints22

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (22)BBB Closure Definitions
10/06/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper collection practices

Complaint: Several bills for one event lumped into one. Payment plan set up, been paying for a year and now a collections letter?
I had an event that spawned many bills. I physically went to the billing department and set up a payment plan. I was told that I would continue to get bills and to just ignore them and that my payment would start on a specific date. I have been paying monthly on time with no missed payments now for a year and yesterday I got a collections notice for a bill that occurred the same time as the rest. I was told all my bills were "taken care of" by a "billing specialist". Apparently they were not.

Business Response
I spoke with NCO Collection agency regarding son's account with CoxHealth Systems. The account will be closed and returned as of today. Incorrect placement of account will be reported to collection agency and letter will go out to patient from the credit agency in 30 days.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

04/01/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Credit, Billing or Collection Complaint Issue

Complaint: I asked to speak to the financial office few time before i went into surgery. No one talked to me. Everyone's response was "Don't know!
I had hernia. The doctor said i need to get it fix asap. The surgeon gave me the exact price that he charges for his services. My surgery was scheduled for 03/042014. Asked the doctor how much will the hospital bill be approximately. He did not know. On 03/03/2014 i had to go in the hospital for the pre-admission. When i got there i talked to numerous staff members. No one knew how much my bill would be. I asked to speak to a financial Service Rep. That did not happen. Everybody's response was either "I don not know" or we cant tell you at this time we need to ask". They never did come back to us. So i went into surgery with no clue how much my bill will be. The total just for the hospital came to $*****.55. i was there for only 4-5 hrs. They are charging me $***** for the operating room only (i was in there for 1 hr). after i got out of there i was sent home right away. if knew how much were they going to charge me, i was going to look for other options.

Initial Business Response
I have called the patient at 417 ******** and left a message for him to call me back. when he calls back i will left him know about the uninsured discount of 46.47%.

Complaint Resolution: Company offered a partial (less than 100%) settlement which the consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

02/11/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to correct billing errors

Complaint: I have continually had problems with Cox Urgent care billing my insurance twice, leaving me with a double co-pay.
On multiple occasions when any of my family goes to Cox Urgent Care, they keep billing my insurance, once for the doctor and once for the hospital. Then I get a bill for a second copay. I had one on 12/16/2012 that I was told was "taken care of" but I am getting told it could be sent to collections. Then, I went to Urgent Care on 12/26/13 and my claim shows that Cox filed it separately again, leaving me with 2 copays. I don't feel this is right, because how many people would just pay it if they get a bill in the mail a month or so after going to urgent care. I know for sure it has happend to several of my coworkers. Some have even ended up paying twice. My insurance card states that Urgent care is a $25 copay. How can they get away with billing for it twice?

Initial Business Response
The Urgent Care is billed as provider-based, or hospital-based outpatient. This is a status for hospitals and centers meeting specific regulations and is billed in two parts, the provider fee and the facility fee. Depending on the particular insurance coverage plan, it is possible a patient's insurance may applied copays and deductibles. The insurance applied a $25.00 copay to the facility charge and $25.00 to the provider charge leaving a balance of $50.00 for date of service 12/26/2013.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
My insurance states $25 copay for Urgent Care for my plan. Period. They have told me that it is incorrect multiple times, and I have spoken with people through Cox who have told me it was sent in wrong. My insurance is currently working on re-filing the claim, as it is incorrect. Additionally, my HR department gets these complaints all the time and also contacts people to fix them. I do not accept $50 when it should be $25 total.

Final Business Response
BBB Comment - The BBB spoke with the company and they state the following: The complaint has been resolved and the customer has been refunded.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

11/15/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor promised refunds, exchanges, or credit

Complaint: Failure to return $50 deposit paid for services 7/8/13.

Services were rendered 7/8/13. at that time $50 deposit was made. The claim was paid by insurance 7/30/13. I spoke with ********** 10/21/13. She said the note would be sent to the credit dept. I called again 11/4/13 and spoke with "******". She said that for 2-3 weeks they hadn't been able to do refunds. I need to wait another 30 days before they can send the $50 refund.

Initial Business Response
To Whom it May Concern:

This letter is in response to complaint case number XXXXXX from **** *******. We apologize for the delay in **** ******* receiving his refund check. We have comleted a review of the refund request. The refund was mailed to **** ******* ** **** **** ****** ****** ******** XXXXX on 11/11/2013, check number XXXXXXXXX for $50.00.

Sincerely,
*** ********
Customer Service Supervisor
*** Medical Center
XXX-XXX-XXXX

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

03/26/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to correct billing errors

Complaint: I went in for a mammogram in August 2012 under ****** ******. My insurance took quite a bit of time to pay. In October 2012 I received a letter indicating that I owed $224 and some change to ******. I called the number on the paper and told them that I would make monthly payments and asked them to document that. They wanted me to set up a payment plan however I told them that I had done that previously and it was not done correctly which left me with overdraft charges and other issues. They said they would document that I was making payments but couldn't stop it from being sent to a collection agency and onto the credit reporting. This upset me as I told them as long as I am making payments I don't feel that it is appropriate to send it onto a collection agency. I began making payments in November 2012 making sure to ask what account number to reference on the check when I sent it. Everything was fine until my payment in January 2013. In December 2012 I went to the emergency room for trouble breathing and when I filled out the paperwork it was entered as ****** ****** becuase I had gotten married. I paid my copay and they sent everything else to be billed through insurance. I never received a bill saying that I owed anything under that account. So when I sent my payment in January for the mammogram just as I had the previously two months a part of the January payment that I had a specific account number on was taken and applied to a bill of $15. and change for the account from December 2012. I have been on the phone with them trying to figure this out every month since November 2012 always talking to someone different and them telling me they would have to call me back. Finally in February I was able to talk to someone who told me what had happened and that I owed $74.84 and I paid that amount in February 2013. I called back in late February to make sure that everything was paid and was told it was and I had nothing owed. I was upset that I wrote a letter to dispute the way things were handled.
Product_Or_Service: mammogram

Business' Initial Response
The patient recently contacted our office about her concern. We informed her that the check she sent in which she wrote an account number on was not the same specific account she was wanting the payment to go to. The patient previously refused to set up a payment plan on her account and said she will just send money monthly. During this time her insurance had paid on other accounts that she owed a balance on. The last payment the patient made went toward her balance owed and left her with a $12.52 balance. I do not show that anyone ever informed the patient that she had a zero balance. The balance remaining is the correct patient responsibility. However due to the misunderstanding as a onetime courtsey we have adjusted the $12.52.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

Page 1 of 3
10/14/2014Billing / Collection Issues
10/06/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to substantiate charges

Complaint: My daughter was born on at Cox . About a month after, I received a bill that I could not substantiate. Tried for 4 months to get itemized bill,REFUSED
My daughter was born on at Cox on 11-3-13 . About a month after, I received a bill that I could not understand. I requested an itemized bill that was no more descriptive than the original invoice. Tried for 4 months to get itemized bill, literally 4 months and was REFUSED. I have talked to three separate billing offices that say they will call me back and never do. I eventually called the administration and received some help from "*****" ( meaning that she at least called me back)however, even ***** has been unable to get me an itemized bill. I have called approximately 50 times over the last 4 months and have sent letters requesting the same. I cannot pay for a bill that no one can substantiate. I have spent countless hours on the phone with no avail. It is utterly ridiculous and no one seems to care in the least

Business Response
Patient compliant has been review by corporate compliance. The charges for the newborn room & board have been reviewed and conclude the charges are correct. The newborn infant charge is to pay for equipment, nursing care and supplies.
Patient paid account in full on 07/17/2014 in the amount of ********


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
While it is true that I paid the bill in full, the basic complaint was never resolved. I was in constant contact with Cox for 6 months before I finally paid the bill outright in order to avoid wasting anymore time waiting on hold. Cox sent me to over 7 different offices, I spoke to over 20 different people and nothing was ever done to resolve the problem (explaining to me what I am being billed for). I waited on hold for a total of over 5 hours and couldn't waste anymore of my time on Cox hospital. They never did itemize the bill further than what is in their response above. They were unable to, an flat out refused, to give me details that added up to the amount they charged me. They said all hospitals bill an average rate regardless of what facilities, services and materials are actually used. Which if true is completely unfair. Basically some patients without major issues pay for the more serious patients problems.
Their response is also misleading. Basically stating that since I eventually paid the bill, my complaint is not longer. So false. Cox is a very sketchy hospital and will bill you for services never received. They will then refuse to tell you exactly what the bill is for other than very very general vague description. I will never go back to Cox unless it is absolutely necessary.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that while the company addressed the complaint issues, the complainant was dissatisfied and the matter was outside BBB Rules of Arbitration.

05/09/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Cox Health, a network provider for ****************** failed to provide a treatment plan for consideration
****************** refused to pay for shoe inserts for my daughter because a treatment plan was not submitted by Cox Health. I made several calls to ****** and Cox Health trying to resolve the issue after I received a bill for over $***. Cox Health and ****** officials refused to communicate directly. Cox health representative promised to request provider submit a treatment plan documenting shoe inserts were part of a comprehensive treatment plan to avoid surgery to correct a foot deformity. I received no further communication from Cox Health until yesterday when I received notice the bill had been turned over to a collection agency

Business Response
We have sent an appeal to the insurance and sent Medical Records as well for the insurance to reconsider; we asked insurance about sending the records for them to reconsider why the patient needed the inserts; per insurance the arch supports or inserts are not covered even if the foot changes; we have sent an appeal to the insurance and sent medical records for them to possibly reconsider; we have put the account on 45 day hold pending insurance.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I just got off the phone with ****** Healthcare. The representative I spoke with said they haven't received any documents from the provider.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that while the company addressed the complaint issues, the complainant was dissatisfied and the matter was outside BBB Rules of Arbitration.

10/28/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior service

Complaint: We have very good insurance, yet still our trusted Physician's office turned my wife away when she needed them most.
We live right across from Cox - Chesterfield Village, we applied there, Dr. ***** ******* was our primary physician.

My wife was feeling very ill from the medication that Dr. ******* had prescribed for her, she was very disoriented and felt like 'passing out'. She took it upon herself to go over to her family medical center unannounced. Dr. ******* was not in, but her partner (Dr. ******** in and asked to see her...he refused. In my opinion he showed no compassion or a duty of care. My wife could have died. Dr. **** could have at least checked her vitals and made sure that she would have made it to the ER safely, at least without an ambulance. My wife did end up at the ER.

We complained to Cox main office, and *** (XXX)XXX-XXXX gave us a call back, she apologized and confirmed that; (paraphrasing)"this will never happen again".

My family and I look up to this amazing institution, this is because we expect the best for ourselves and appreciate the work they do. We've talked about our experience to friends and professionals... this does not sit well with any of them. We haven't even received a phone call from our physician (Dr. ******** whom we feel personally owes us an apology because her team had a duty not to turn my wife away in the state that she was in.

Initial Business Response
We always welcome feedback, so we can learn and improve our practice.
It is a bit challenging to try and answer your concerns, due to the restrictions place on us under HIPAA.
I cannot speak to your wife's case directly; although, I have already personally spoken to her, twice.
I found no standard of care issues.
I can, however, speak to our general policies and practices.
Our CoxHealth Clinic Chesterfield is a Family Practice model of care. We are not set up as an Urgent Care or Emergency Department, walk-in type model of care. We respect our patients' time for their appointments, and do hold a few appointment slots available each day for more acute illnesses-on a first come, first served basis.
We are proud to serve as a cooperative network of care centers to provide exceptional care for our patients. CoxHealth offers Urgent Care, Emergency Department and Wal-Mart walk-in clinics to augment our family practices.
If a patient presents to our clinic without an appointment and/or outside our scope of practice; we refer them to the appropriate place, so care is not delayed.
The type of insurance a patient has plays no part in our attention to the care of our patients.
I hope this helps you better understand and addresses your concerns.
Best regards,

*** Hoffmeister
Clinic Manager

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
***** ****** (Director of the Chesterfield Clinic),

I suspect that if your spouse or significant other had gone in to see his/her trusted family physician (2mins away - walking) with what they thought to be a life threatening situation and was turned away and shown no duty of care (NO ambulance called and NO vital signs checked), I'm sure that your response,"the staff followed our procedures appropriately", would be much different.

It is now confirmed that my wife did have a bad reaction to ************ prescribed medication, and by the way, Dr. ******* still hasn't called to see if her patient is doing well.

You see ***** ******* it only made perfect sense for a healthy woman who suddenly became very sick after taking her doctor's prescribed medication, to want to visit the same person who treated her, and expect that if she (Dr. Roberts) was absent, then she would still be taken care of. But like you said, "the staff followed our procedures appropriately".

And NO, you did meet our expectations, but REALLY...is this the kind of service others should expect????

We are still seeking an apology from Dr. Roberts and her staff.

Mr. & Mrs. ******


Final Business Response
As the Director of the Chesterfield Clinic let me apologize for not meeting your expectations of the services that a family practice clinic should offer. We basically accept patients into this clinic by appointment only. We are not considered a walk in or urgent care clinic. We are limited in the scope of care and services that we can provide based on equipment and staffing limitations. Staff are trained to direct potential patients away from the clinic and to the closest emergency room when the caller is complaining about symptoms that we are not equipped to address on site. We do not want a patient delaying their care by stopping at our clinic when we can't provide the services needed. There were no immediate appointments on Dr. ******* schedule so the best option for the patient was to seek care elsewhere. As you already know, Dr. ******* wasn't even in the building and was not directly involved in any way. Once again I apologize that we did not meet your expectations, but the staff followed our procedures appropriately. ***** ******

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

10/18/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to provide promised assistance or support for products or services

Complaint: ****** Health Insurance requires using ****** Health physicians to receive full insurance benefits. Timely service is unavailable.
July 1,my insurance switched to ****** Health Plans. I visited the ER July 4 with chest pain and SOB. On dismissal, the ER staff told me to follow up with a PCP in three days. I called numerous offices and was told my wait as a new patient would be 3 weeks to 3 months. The ****** Info line was unable to help despite repeated phone calls. Due to a cancellation, I was finally able to see a PCP on July 11. The doctor told me I needed to see a cardiologist and a pulmonologist. I had arranged for follow up care with a cardiologist beginning in August as I had had heart surgery June 29. The appointment could not be moved up because no appointments were available. The pulmonary office told me I had been seen by Dr C in their office 6 years ago and must return to him. I asked for the first available appointment with anyone, but was told it was against office policy to see another doctor. They told me the first available with Dr C was 10 weeks away, in September. I had 2 visits to my new PCP and 2 to the cardiologist. I visited the ER again on August 24 for similar problems. On August 30, the cardiologist said we should go ahead with heart catheterization and not wait for the pulmonary appointment, still 3 weeks away. The test showed no cardiac abnormalities, other than arterial oxyhemoglobin levels from 66-74%, normal range is 96-98%. Pulmonology still refused to see me sooner despite increasingly severe shortness of breath, chest pain, and edema. ****** Health Plans, ****** Hospital, and the Physicians Offices under full coverage by the insurance are all under the general management umbrella of ****** Health. I can go nowhere else in the area and receive full insurance benefits for my medical care. Yet, I cannot receive timely medical care within this system. Ten weeks is an unreasonably long period to wait to see a doctor when O2 levels are routinely falling into the 80s, and sometimes below, with minor activity and with greater frequency and duration. I asked one of the ****** doctors whom I saw why the wait was so long for an appointment. He said it was because many of the specialties were understaffed because ****** Health could not offer the same salaries and benefits as larger cities. So, why is ****** Health soliciting new members to their health plans if they cannot serve the patients they have in a timely manner? I consider a 10 week wait to see a specialty doctor unreasonable, especially with my symptoms. I also consider a wait of 3 or more weeks unreasonable to see a PCP for the first time. Patients are forced to go to UC or ER for care within their first 2-3 months of care because appropriate care isn't available due to understaffing. This cost me a $200 copay versus a $30 copay, plus additional costs for labs, tests, etc amounting to approximately $6000 each visit. Now, I'm told I must see the pulmonologist for care, but must wait an additional two weeks. It is not the prompt, adequate medical care I was promised with the insurance plan to withhold such care for weeks. The pulmonary office told me again today that I should go to the ER if I was having problems. That is not what I pay $485 a month for insurance to do. I pay for prompt care from appropriate providers. The ER or UC (who will not see me because they said my health problems are too complex, and who put me on a gurney and took me to ER when I went there) is not appropriate care. The ER told me their job was to treat immediately life threatening problems such as pulmonary embolism or heart attack, not to diagnose and treat chronic problems. Since that care is not available to me in a timely manner, where do I go for treatment when symptoms need medical attention? I have incurred $$$ of bills for care that would not have been necessary if I had been able to see the pulmonologist in a timely fashion. I want the care I deserve when I need it and not so far in the future I risk permanent damage or disability because of their staffing problems.

Business' Initial Response
Initial comment . . . . . The ability of CoxHealth to respond in public forum to the concerns of this consumer is limited by federal privacy regulations governing protected healthcare information.

I met with this consumer on September 19, 2012 and learned her healthcare insurance is through a consortium of local school districts that converted to CoxHealth as of July 1, 2012. ****** has an established process to facilitate the transition of covered lives into our health system and such a process is in effect for this consortium. On the CoxHealth webpage there is currently a link personally welcoming the school district consortium members and their families to our health system. This on-line tool includes resources assisting individuals on how to establish care with a physician.

This consumer's medical care has now been established with a CoxHealth primary care physician and the appropriate specialist providers. The initial appointments for the necessary specialists were scheduled according to the direction (i.e., appropriate urgency) of her new primary care physician. The initial specialist appointments have all occurred and appropriate medical care is being provided under the direction of her new physicians.

Due to an increasing national shortage of physicians CoxHealth faces the same physician recruitment challenges as every other healthcare system in the country. It is estimated that the shortage of physicians will exceed 91,500 across the nation by 2020. Despite the competitive recruiting environment nationally, CoxHealth continues to be very successful in attracting well trained and highly skilled professionals to southwest Missouri. In the last twelve months alone our local community has benefited from 34 physicians (21 primary care physicians and 13 specialists) that have joined CoxHealth and we continue to aggressively recruit primary care physicians, medical specialists and surgeons.

CoxHealth apologizes for the experience this consumer encountered.

Consumer's Final Response
Communication within CoxHealth is very poor. Among other things, I tried Patient Advocacy, the Info Line, talking to office managers, requesting supervisors in all areas I called for assistance, and requesting a Case Manager from the insurance arm of the corporation, but received no assistance. All told me there was no assistance they could give me. I was misled and, at times, outright lied to. On the last phone call to the insurance company, I was told that all supervisors were out of the building and refused access to anyone but the customer service person who answered the call at the Member Services number.

I have established care with both a primary physician and a pulmonologist, but communication still remains poor. The pulmonologist seemed very competent. He was able to diagnose the problem after reviewing my symptoms and performing a physical exam. I tried to ask him questions regarding his suggested diagnosis at my first appointment, but he said he would answer my questions after the test results were available to prove his diagnosis. He waited 2-3 days to review and communicate the first test results after they became available. A nurse was delegated to telephone me and give me the diagnosis and tell me no treatment was available and I was not a candidate for surgery. She either could not or is restricted from answering patient questions regarding the diagnosis, treatment, and reasons for my not being a candidate for surgery. The second test has been completed, and the results available since September 28, but I have not been contacted regarding its abnormal findings. I don't understand the test results, and I don't know what steps need to be made next in treating my problem. I've had to resort to the internet to find answers, but that has just raised more questions. The internet seems to indicate that there is some urgency in getting the problems found addressed. I have emailed the doctor via ******'s patient-doctor interface program, ****** Express, and requested interpretation of the test results and any future treatment that can be performed--but still haven't received a response. No follow up appointment has been suggested or scheduled. It was so difficult to schedule the first appointment, that I know my attempting to schedule such an appointment would receive low priority and be months in the future.

I am discouraged with the system. A welcome to CoxHealth banner on a website with links describing their services provides no real assistance in acquiring services. The humans I contacted in all three arms of the CoxHealth corporation, hospital, clinics, and insurance, all said they could offer no help. There is no follow-through on the promises they made regarding continuity of care when my group accepted ****** Health Plans as their insurance provider.

During my conversation with the representative from ****** Health on September 19, all that was said was that the situation wasn't their fault. They were working on improving communications and recruiting new physicians. That is no help to me in my quest for medical care in their system. It is little comfort to me that I had unnecessary tests and procedures performed because the wait to see the correct specialty took 8 weeks to occur. CoxHealth became aware of my Mayo Clinic referral in June when I called them to find out what benefits would apply under my new insurance. They became aware of specific health issues at the time of my first primary care appointment and prevented me from obtaining appropriate care from the Mayo Clinic when I was told I had to be seen by their physicians and receive a referral from them before ****** Health Plans would pay for that evaluation. They were made aware on that date, July 11, that my pulmonary referral to the Mayo Clinic was scheduled for August 18. Yet, the pulmonary referral received such low priority that it was scheduled 10 weeks in the future, a full month after I should have been seen at the Mayo Clinic. If I were independently wealthy, I could have acquired medical care without the use of CoxHealth physicans or insurance, but I am not. I do not care who diagnoses and treats my problem as long as the medical care is prompt, appropriate, covered under the full coverage terms of my insurance, and communicated promptly and effectively. However, this has not occurred.

CoxHealth is unwilling to make any changes or concessions as regards their corporate policies or this situation. Their rebuttal reflects this.



****** ******

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that while the company addressed the complaint issues, the complainant was dissatisfied and the matter was outside BBB Rules of Arbitration.

08/17/2012Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to correct billing errors

Complaint: Was told one price but was billed much higher.
Have called over 10 times but no response or a call back.
Called for pricing at Walnut Lawn Urgent Care before service on 5/11/12and 5/15/12. Was told starts at $200 minus 44%. Was told on 7/3/12 by Paula level one is $170 minus 44%. All that was done was look at a spider bite. No procedure was performed. Saw doctor less than 5 minutes. Received bills for $298.70 and $214.70.
I have talked to ************* twice and ************* as well as others. On 7/23/12 and 7/26/12 Betty said that a ********* would call me. I have called over 10 times and have always been told I have the wrong person but not sure who is the right person but someone would call me back.
Patient acct. no. XXXXXXXXXXXX and 118.

Business' Initial Response
We will be following up with Mr. ****** per our normal issue resolution process.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have talked to ****** which is the first person I have talked to that identified themselves as management. He said he would look into the situation and get back with me. Never have I not given my name when asked and I was not asked my name when I called about pricing. Every person that I talked to before Mr. **** told me that I was talking to the wrong dept. I was told first I should talk to this dept. then that one. Audit and Compliance, Urgent Care, and Patient Financial Sevices all said that I had the wrong dept. They all said that they had nothing to do with pricing and were not the correct dept. to complain about a discrepancy in price told and billing. For them now to say that all these departments reviewed this is very disingenuous at best.
There is still no explanation for the discrepancy
in price quoted to price charged in their answer.
I await **** ****s resolution.

Business' Final Response
The patient has spoken to multiple people at ****** about his concerns and we feel that we have answered his questions. The patient has health insurance which we filed and the amount that is due is patient responsibility as it was applied to his deductible according to the explanation of benefits we received from his insurance provider. The discount the patient is referencing is for uninsured patients so the patient would not qualify for this as he has insurance. The director of Audit and Compliance has reviewed the patients concern that he was told the wrong price when he called before his visit. After review she has said that when patients call the pricing line they are given a range high to low of what the urgent care level charge could be depending on the level of care. This price range does not include any labs or medications or anything beyond the facility level charge as they do not know what is going to be done for the patient when they present themselves for care. This is all explained to the patient when they call.

Audit and compliance informed me that they keep a log of inbound calls for pricing quotes and the patients name was not on that log before his 2 service dates. The director did say that they will get anonymous calls sometimes where patient wont give their name. The patent accounts in question have been reviewed by management in Audit and Compliance, Urgent Care, Administration and The Patient Financial Service department. All reviews have found that the level of care that was given to the patient was appropriate and the charges associated with the care he received are appropriate, so there will be no reduction in the bills. This has been explained to the patient but he was not satisfied because we will not reduce any charges. We consider this patient concern closed as we feel we have done everything we can to answer the patients questions and resolve his concerns.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

Page 1 of 2
09/02/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Unauthorized bank debits

Complaint: Knowingly overcharged and owe a refund since march and will not refund
Long story short , surgery in march and lady at pre-admission said I need to pay my full max out of pocket which was 1500.00 I told her I had spent money on other stuff and needed to pickup some scripts and I paid 1465.00. I actually only needed to pay around 800 to them. I got a bill the end of that month from Ozark Anesthesiologist saying I owed 400 to them and that is when I put it all together. I called *** and they said after all billings was through they would send me the difference. I wasn't till May that I realized every time I was going to Physical therapy is was extending that refund by 30-60 days because they were saying they have to wait until those billings go through insurance before I get paid. I assumed because it was all apart of the same surgery. I escalated got to supervisor Ravonda and thought it was going to be taken care of. Finally get to June and Anesthesiologist says they are sending me to collections I tried to explain but they wanted there money so I call back and tried to escalate refund and I was informed I went to urgent care in June so then I will have to wait another 30-60 days. I had another appointment at my doctor for follow up but cancelled because I was informed that every time I go anywhere in the *** organization they will wait the 30-60 day to get the remittance back from insurance before sending my refund. I have already hit my full max out of pocket and they can confirm this with insurance still nothing. I ask for a higher sup she said not one and I asked about 5 times explained the logic and hung up. If you can't do anything its okay and I am sure i did not make friends with that department.

Complaint Resolution: Company failed to respond to BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Hospitals, Clinics, Insurance Companies

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.