BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/01/2011

Hawthorne Creek Homes, LLC

(417) 724-9880View Additional Phone Numbers570 E Katella Circle, NixaMO 65714Send email to Hawthorne Creek Homes, LLC

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/01/2011

BBB has determined that Hawthorne Creek Homes, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Hawthorne Creek Homes, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Hawthorne Creek Homes, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 2 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
02/24/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Driveway damaged by chert rock
June 16,17,2014 driveway installed,walked outside after cold temperature found chips in concrete waited till another cold day found more chips contacted owner who contacted his concrete guy and ***** materials who said this is common practice,we've been told by other contractor 5 years driveway have to be replaced because of chipping,builder said he will patch spots his manager said they only responsible for house not driveway,builder sent email from concrete co said it is not his problem.what good is his warranty if it covers nothing

Desired Settlement
We just want a new driveway that is not chipping,that's why we built new house so we don't have to replace driveways,we paid over ******* for this house and have no rights?

Business Response
To the ********************** in response to the complaint filed by Mr. Jim and Donna Meyer, complaint case # ****** regarding "Chips in Concrete" Hawthorne Creek ****s submits the following:
1. The "Chips" in the concrete Mr. Meyer is referring to are surface indentations about 3/8"-1/2" in diameter and 1/16"- 1/8" in depth and are a result of "Chert Rock" found in the aggregate used in the concrete mix from the batch plant. See ******* Email below:


*************
***************************

2/11/15

To:**************

Please email to J. Meyers


Mr. Meyer,

I have been reviewing the documentation on concrete that was placed on June 18 & 19 in ******** Subdivision. My review has included all of the delivery tickets, batch weights from the plant and weather reports from the days in question. I have also discussed the project with my Sales Manager, ***** ****** who physically looked at the concrete.


It appears that we are all on the same page that the issue with the slab is Aggregate Popouts. All quarries in Southwest Missouri have a stone in their geology called Chert. Chert is a hard, opaque rock composed of silica (chalcedony) with an amorphous or microscopically fine-grained texture. It occurs as nodules (flint) or, less often, in massive beds. The is a sedimentary type of rock that is lightweight and more absorptive than limestone. The reason these popouts occur is that when moisture collects on the surface, some of this moisture finds its way into the concrete. When the temperature drops below freezing, the chert that has been infiltrated by water expands - causing the aggregate to fracture and pop out of the concrete. In addition to the geology and climate issues of this region, adding too much water to the concrete, over-working the concrete (bringing this aggregate to the surface) and not applying a proper curing compound all increase the likelihood of chert popouts. This is why you can see a small, typically white, aggregate in the bottom of each popout. This is a very common issue in this part of the country and while we take certain steps to reduce the amount of chert in our mixes, it cannot be eliminated. The industry standard is below 3% and our quarries strictly adheres to that standard.

Fortunately this is purely an aesthetic issue and should not affect the long term durability of the concrete itself. As previously stated, this is a common situation in this area due to the nature of the aggregates that are available.

Here is a link to a specific document called Concrete In Practice. It is published by the ***************************** Association and deals directly with the issue of Aggregate Popouts.


http://www.nrmca.org/aboutconcrete/cips/40p.pdf

If there are any other questions I can answer, don't hesitate to call.


*************
Vice President of Sales & Marketing

*********************

************************************************

P: (***)*********

F: (***) ********


**********************



2. At this time there are approximately 20+/- of these small indentations in his driveway, walkway and patio, over a 1,000 square feet of concrete.
3. This condition is not an isolated incident to the Meyer's. It can be seen throughout the area as a common occurrence including in the public sidewalk and in many of drives and walks of Mr. Meyer's neighbors throughout his community.
4. Mr. Meyer's concrete is structurally sound and is not weakened by this condition. Mr. Meyer is mistaken when he states that this condition will cause the concrete to deteriorate over the next 5 years and have to be replaced due to structural failure. Additional chips MAY occur later on but normally the majority will show up after the first winter.
5. We have offered to patch these small chips in the Spring of this year after the Winter has passed even though we are not obligated to. Mr. and Mrs. Meyer. They both initialed our ****owner Warranty Program at walk-thru which specifically states that chipping/cracking of concrete is common and that this condition is NOT WARRANTABLE. (See
verbiage from our Warranty Program below.)

*Seller warrants materials and workmanship for one (1) year from the date of close of escrow and will repair any material defect arising during such period without charge to Purchaser following written notice by Purchaser to Seller delivered within forty-five (45) days after defect arises. This warranty does not cover cracking, peeling or pitting of cement work, damage to concrete or asphalt due to ground settling, frost heave, road salts or other conditions beyond Sellers control, cracking of drywall due to wood shrinkage or ground settling, or material or labor supplied by Purchaser.* (a copy of this initialed Warranty Program is on file in our office and is available to the**** upon request.)
6. Mr. Meyer has refused our offer and continues to pursue his complaint through the **** ******************** and now the ********************** for the complete removal and replacement of all his concrete. Even if Mr. Meyer chose to replace the concrete on his own there would be no guarantee from the concrete supplier that the same result would not occur.
7. Hawthorne Creek ****s is not obligated by contract, signed by Mr. & Mrs. Meyer, nor by industry standards to even further address this situation.


Consumer Response
Jim and Donna meyer responces to mr. ********
1 In responce to 20 chips that's our point I tryed to explain to him,if he would look again today there is lots more
2 he compares my 7 month old concrete to 10 year old and 15 year old concrete.If he would come out of his office for himself he would see these drives are from roadsalt damage and have not been sealed
3 he missed my point again,we don't trust the concrete is sound,even if it is it will have to be replaced from all the chips

Final Business Response
The following comments are in response to Meyer's latest comments received by the**** on Feb. 18, 2015:

1) On or about February 6, 2015, representatives from Hawthorne Creek ****s (***) (Builder) and ***** (Concrete Supplier) examined all of Mr. & Mrs. Meyers flatwork both front and back and at that time noted approx. 20+/- popouts in all of their concrete. If more popouts have occurred, as Mr. Meyers stated, we are unaware of this change in condition. Regardless, as per our purchase contract and industry standards, this condition is not warrantable. (See attachments)

2) We are not comparing his 7 month old concrete to 10-15 year old concrete as he states. We are comparing it to his neighbors and new and existing homes throughout the area.

3) Every article that we have read relating to popouts in concrete, states that "Most Pop-Outs are aesthetic defects that do not impact the structural performance of the concrete members." (taken from "Concrete in Practice" by the NRMCA). "The good news is that Pop-Outs in concrete are a cosmetic defect that doesn't affect the structural integrity of the slab. You can patch the small holes by cleaning out the loose material and filling each one with a concrete patching material." (taken from "Ask *****?, How to Repair Popouts in Concrete Patio Caused by Freezing") "Pop-Outs are a cosmetic distraction and typically do not affect the function or service of the flatwork." (taken from "Concrete Construction, Minimizing and Repairing Popouts"), "This is nothing to worry about since the integrity of the slab is not compromised." (taken from: "******************** on Concrete Surfaces"), "In as much as **** (Illinois Dept. of Transportation) specifications permit to 5% deleterious material, Pop-Outs may occur. This condition is not grounds for rejection of the concrete." (taken from: "From the Findings of the************************** on durability, March 2012.").

4) On Item #6 of our first response, I stated that Mr. Meyers has refused our offer.... Mr. Meyers is correct, he did not refuse our offer at that time. I wrongfully assumed that because of his subsequent complaints to the**** and****, that he was in fact, refusing our offer of patch repair.

5) It's not that *** (Mr. ********) stated that "they are not responsible", it's that we stated, "Pop-Outs" are not warrantable. (see attached our "***'s ****owner Warranty Program disclaimer for cosmetic defects in Concrete", acknowledged by the initials of Donna Meyer, Jim Meyer and Regina ********, President of ***). We have never treated Mr. & Mrs. Meyer "SMALL" as he states, if anything, we have gone above board over and over and over and over again throughout his entire building process to accommodate his incessant, aggressive attitude toward ***, our employees and our subcontractors.

Because we again have spent an exhaustible effort addressing the Meyer's behavior, we are seriously considering rescinding our offer of patching his existing Pop-Outs in the Spring time. This is a non-warrantable issue and we are afraid that we are opening************** over non-warrantable items that in good faith, we have attempted to address.

*** Comment - see attached documents

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
1 mr ******** missed my point again our concerns are it going to and it is getting much worse as the weather gets colder. 2 the houses that were built the same time as ours has no chips 3 again the chips are getting worse 4 he said he was not the one that was going to patch it in the first place 4 I complained to**** because he did not want to respond to issue other than we're not responsible 5 we just wanted to be treated fair,he talks about my behavior,lets talk about his behavier and how we were at my house because they would show up once a week and how they didn't have the knowledge to know how to put my house on my lot would cost thousands,how I got upset when their sales lady would bring people in our house without permission and I would find door unlocked,how they would check house and not know my vents were getting covered,where wre they when neighbors threaten to sue me,how their subs would complain about them,

Industry Comparison| Chart

Home Builders

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/24/2011Business started: 10/01/2009
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Business Management
Regina Gutshall (Co-Owner)
Contact Information
Principal: Stan Gutshall (Managing Member)
Number of Employees

4

Business Category

Home Builders

Products & Services

This company offers building of residential homes and community development.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Hawthorne Creek Homes, LLC

570 E Katella Circle

Nixa, MO 65714

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southwest MO. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Hawthorne Creek Homes, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (417) 761-0559
  • (417) 761-2017
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Home Builders

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.