BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Seal Smart, LLC

Phone: (417) 235-4227Fax: (417) 235-8862

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

31 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 8 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Delivery Issues2
Guarantee / Warranty Issues6
Problems with Product / Service21
Billing / Collection Issues0
Total Closed Complaints31

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (31)
02/29/2016Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failure to comply with promises made relating to warranty claim due to failure of their product to perform as stated.
In November of 2008 we had SealMaxx (Now Seal Smart) of SW Missouri performed a full installation of their sealant system on our log home in Walnut Grove, MO. The salesperson, **** ********** as part of his presentation informed us that we had a 25 year, full coverage warranty on anything they sealed. "We had nothing to worry about because in the unlikely event of a failure they would take care of it."
In September, 2015 we had problems relating to failure of the sealant in two outside window frames necessitating the removal and replacing of all the wood in both window frames. I contacted Seal Smart and spoke to a lady in the company office and informed her of the problem. She informed me to obtain an estimate locally and to submit it along with pictures of the damage. These were to be forwarded to ******* one of their managers and she gave me an e-mail address to forward same.
A couple of weeks later, after a local contractor had inspected the problem and gave me a written estimate I sent the details and pictures to Seal Smart as requested earlier. After a few days, when I had not received any confirmation I called Seal Smart again and spoke with a gentleman by the name of *******. He asked if I could send the estimate and pictures again, which I did and he confirmed receipt. A short time later he called and told me to "go ahead and have the repairs made and to forward a copy of the paid invoice.
On November 8, 2015 after completion of the work, I forwarded pictures of the completed work, the now removed old frames and a copy of the invoice as requested. I called to confirm receipt and was informed that ******* no longer worked there and that they had received everything and a check would be sent out within 90 days.
On February 8, 2016 I called Seal Smart to ascertain if the check had been dispatched. I was transferred to **** and he had no real knowledge of the situation and asked to be brought up to speed. Upon doing so he informed me he would call back in a couple of hours after he talked with management. He called 4 hours later and intimated that, after speaking with management, they suggested I accept only $500 of the $995 as they really only paid for materials. I told him that that was not what the salesperson, the owner's son, had informed us and that it was not really acceptable. **** said he would meet with management and get back to me.
On February 9, 2016 around 10:00 am I called Seal Smart and asked to speak with ****. I was informed he was in a meeting and would return my call as soon as he got out of the meeting. I called again later in the afternoon and **** asked me for details of the lumber and materials used. He again said they normally only paid for materials and not labor.
We spoke again February 10 and he informed me that they would send details of the payment order via e-mail. This arrive late that afternoon and in it they informed me they would only pay $340 total.
At no time during the sales presentation or the contacts I had with this company last year relating to the repairs did the "only pay for the materials what we say they are worth" situation arise. In fact when I called last Fall and spoke to a company representative about the required repairs due to a failure with their products I was told "they would take care of it" and to just have the repairs carried out and submit the invoice. When I did just that they told me it "looked good would be paid". Now I find that they lied from start to finish. Had I understood that their "25 Year Warranty" was a worthless sale gimmick I would not have bought their product or service!

Desired Settlement
Promises made by the son of the owner as to their warranty during the sales presentation and repeated by company representative last year should be honored.
The $995 repair should be refunded in full.

Business Response
Our warranty policy covers the materials (wood) on the contracted project. We reimburse for the lumber, the Customer installs the lumber, then Seal Smart comes back to reseal the replaced wood.
The invoice was for 8 rough pine 4x4x12 for $495.00, $46.28 for silicone, and $53.72 for 2 boxes of 6 inch screws that equates to $595.28 total. The actual market price of the 12x4x4 pine is $30.00 each and can be verified at a lumber yard.
Seal Smart will pay $500.00 for replacement lumber and materials.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


10/01/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Seal Smart has breached contract on 25 year warranty.
Seal Smart LLC sealed 2 wooden decks for us on 6-8-12. The deck is now showing signs of rot and decay on almost all boards. Seal Smart LLC charged us over $3,500 for this service and gave us a 25 year warranty covering wood and fasteners against rot and decay. I have original documents to prove these facts. I have sent 2 certified letters since 8-11-15 . I spoke with Richard and he said to send him a list of materials. I sent list on 8-25-15 and as of today I do not have a resolution. I feel that this company is hoping we give up .

Desired Settlement
I would like this company to refund the original price of sealing the wood and replace ALL wood covered by their 25 year warranty.

Business Response
Seal Smart has been in contact with the customer. Our Operations Manager has come to an agreement with the customer. It's going through all the necessary channels for approval. We touched base with the customer Today and updated them on the progress of the situation. They were content with our conversation Today.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I would like a time frame for payment of the claim. I asked for original cost of sealing and replacement of rotting and decaying wood. Their 25 year warranty states they will send a representative to access damaged wood. Richard did not agree to this. In addition Richard told me that the boss is out of town and not sure when I will get a resolution. I feel that Seal Smart is not in compliance with their warranty.

Final Business Response
Seal Smart spoke with the customer this Morning 9/28/2015 regarding this issue. She stated she had received the check for the replacement boards. I explained to her that once the boards had seasoned, Seal Smart would come back out to reseal. We didn't send a Representative because she had sent us in a very detailed list of boards with issues along with pictures. Seal Smart felt we had enough information to properly handle this issue without going to her home right away. Of course, we will be out there to reseal and will see the "new" boards at that time. Seal Smart has stood up to our warranty by paying for the replacement cost of the lumber and coming back out to reseal once seasoned.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
We have gotten a better idea of how this companies warrantee works. We will replace the boards that I saw rot and decay on. We will contact Seal Smart to come 6 months after those boards have been replaced so that they can clean and reseal the deck.

07/17/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have tried to contact this company to confirm my appointment for instal and all phone numbers have been "disconnected"
On 6/12/2015 a sales rep came to my home and sold a deck protection with 25 year warranty to me. I paid ****** via check as a deposit with the remaining ***** due at the time the deck was to be finished. I tried to reach them several times at both (877)273-2511 and (417)235-4227 and the number has now been disconnected.

Desired Settlement
I feel very uneasy and frustrated now that I am unable to reach them and would like a refund because I do not feel that they are a dependable business that follow through. I am afraid this is a scam especially after looking online while trying to locate another phone number for them.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Malia *********
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ************@gmail.com
On 6/12/15 We, Seal Smart did go into contract with ***** *******. They were contacted by our company on 6/13/15 and set up with an installation date of 8/28/15 AM . On July 14th, beyond our control the phone grids went down at 4:00 pm and we immediately contacted our service provider regarding the issue. On 7/15/15 at 7:30 am the phone company had found and repaired the issue and we were back up and running. We at Seal Smart are truly sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused and will be in contact with the ******** today to ease any concerns and confirm that Seal Smart will be there as set up on 8/28/15 in the morning to fulfill our contract.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
We have been contacted by the company and will remain under contract for our scheduled time.

01/07/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failure to comply with contract. They agreed to issue a refund but refund has not be received.
on 10/29/14 a contract was written with the payment date of 11/21/14 for the amount of $750.00. The payment date was written into the contract. On 11/7/14 I spoke to a woman to make sure about payment date. She assured me that payment would not be taken until 11/21/14. When I checked my bank account later that day it showed that they had taken the payment on 11/6/14. I spoke with two separate people one a secretary (same that I spoke to on 11/7/14)on 11/10/14 she stated that she told accounting the payment date but that she would inform them that because they did not follow the contract I wanted a refund and would get back to me. I did not receive a follow up call so I called again on 11/12/14 and spoke to a woman in accounting.She stated that nobody had talked to her the payment date when or about the refund that I had requested. She said she would get the appropriate paper work done in order to process my refund. I called back on 11/13/14 I asked for accounting, the woman would not take my call but had the lady who answered the phone tell me that my refund had been approved and a check was written and mailed. Today is 11/24/14 and I have not received the refund check that I was told was mailed on 11/13/14.

Desired Settlement
I would like the refund of $750.00 that I was told I would receive because Seal Smart did not follow the contract as stated.

Business Response
The complainant's check is in the mail. We apologize for it taking so long. She should have already received it or will be receiving it an any time.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Two weeks after December 1, 2014 reply on BBB and one month after verbally telling me that the check is in the mail. No check has been received.

Final Business Response
I spoke to Rose Yesterday (12/16/2014) at the BBB concerning this issue. Seal Smart is going to void the first check that was mailed on December 4, 2014 and re-issue another check. We are going to mail the second check certified and it will go out on December 18th. This should solve the issue. Thanks

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Two weeks after December 1, 2014 reply on BBB and one month after verbally telling me that the check is in the mail. No check has been received.

08/26/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The product was applied on a very windy day and the installer stated he would return to sand and possibly reapply sealant. No one has ever returned.
We purchased seal smart for our deck at the Tulsa home show. It was applied oct. 25, 2010. It was a windy day and the installer stated and wrote on the paperwork he would return in 30 days to sand if weather permitting, if not, he would return in the spring. He also stated, due to the wind, he might need to reapply seal. No one has ever returned. We have contacted the company two times by telephone and again at the home show this spring. They always take our name and information but no one ever contacts us. The deck does not appear to have a good seal with 25yr warranty.

Desired Settlement
We want a good seal on our deck.

Business Response
We have reviewed all of the customers records and there is no record of the company or an employee of the company making any such promise to come back to sand and reapply the sealant to the deck. Because our sealant is an internal sealant, there would be no visual attributes to the sealant. The customer has not once mentioned about any type of deterioration to their wood. Because there has been no mention of any type of deterioration from the homeowner we can tell that the sealant is performing according to standard. It is because of these reasons that we feel that no acion is required at this time.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We have the bill statement and the Seal Smart employee has clearly written that he would return as I stated before. I will gladly fax you a copy if needed. When we have contacted the company, we actually read the statment to them so they know it was written on the statement when the work was done. We have reported each time we have called that we do not feel the deck had a good seal, there are cracks in the wood and one board is now curled up. If they felt no action was required, at the very least we should have been contacted. This company has just never replied back, never sent anyone to look at the deck or follow up with a telephone call or anything. The customer service has been lacking to say the least. Once again thank you for your help with this matter.

Final Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *******/Job Processor
Contact Phone: 417-********
Contact Email: ************@gmail.com
We have come to a resolution with the customer.

Page 1 of 3
12/02/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I commissioned seal smart to seal my driveway due to some current popping of the top finish coat of the concrete. The sales rep told me that the sealant would prevent any further corrosion of the concrete. Seal smart applied the sealant on 28 Jul 2015. Since then the concrete has continued to chip/pop at an accelerated rate. I contacted seal smart and sent pictures of the new and worsening areas. Their operations supervisor physically came to my residence to review the driveway. He stated that, and I quote " we should have not taken this job, their are structural integrity issues with this concrete." He further stated that he was going to get with the company owner and strongly recommend our money be returned in the sum of $2220.00. Since then I have repeatedly contacted seal smart and been told that the owner has not reviewed this issue, nor do I get a call back when I call and leave a message. Bottom line is the product did not do what the sales rep said it would, but rather had the opposite effect and the damage to my driveway is 3 times greater than it was prior to their treatment. I would like a full refund of my $2220.00 payment.

Thank you in advance for any help you could render.

Desired Settlement
Refund

Business Response
Seal Smart doesn't offer a warranty with any concrete job. We have no way of knowing if it was poured to ASTM specifications. We provide all of our customers with a Statement of Understanding Concrete which states there is no warranty or guarantee against cracks, cracking, concrete pops, or popping. This information was given to the *********'s on 7/15/15 where the Estimator went through each bullet point with the *********'s and they initialed each one.
Our sealant does not cause damage or cause pops to accelerate. We took pictures before we sealed the *********'s, Trent Bartz was one of the individuals that looked at the *********'s concrete, he stated that according to the pictures all those pops were present prior to Seal Smart sealing the *********'s concrete.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Although we understand there is no guarantee to concrete work, the sales rep did state that their product would drastically slow down the popping of the top layer of my concrete. Further the previous operations supervisor, *******, personally came to my house acknowledged that the condition of my driveway was significantly worse then it was when they took the before pictures of the damaged areas and further stated that if he would have came out and seen the driveway prior to application of their product he would have recommended that they not take this job on. He further stated that he was going to " go to bat for us with the owner of the company and strongly encourage him to refund our money". With that acknowledgment from the then operations supervisor for seal smart I feel the damage to my driveway was indeed accelerated by their product as it is now three to four times worse in the last two months after their application then in the past 5 years without it. It's one thing to not guarantee, but another to not stand by your product. My driveway is doing exactly what I paid seal smart to have it not do.

Final Business Response
When ******* *********** and ***** ***** went to the *********'s home on 9/28/2015 Trent showed ***** ********* pictures that Seal Smart had taken before we sealed his driveway. This was to show him the pops in his driveway were already there, Mr. ********* refused to look at the pictures.
******* is not authorized to give or tell anyone they can get their money back.
Our product has a silicone base, it does not cause anything to deteriorate, For example; Silicone is used for sealing around window.
In our Statement of Understanding Mr. ********* initialed each paragraph and signed the bottom line that he understands Seal Smart does not protect against, warranty or guarantee against cracks, cracking, concrete pops or popping.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
******* and ***** were at my residence at my request. Seal smart stating that I refused to look at the pictures is an outright lie, I wanted them to pull up the before pictures so I could show them the exact spot on the driveway that was ten times worse after their product was applied. Therefore I wanted them to pull up the pictures and do a comparison they were at my residence at my request so we could do just that. I understand that ******* was not authorized to give money back, but in his capacity of Operations Supervisor, when he looks at the driveway and compares the before pictures to the current state of the driveway and states that seal smart should have never taken the job and he was going to highly recommend to the owner that they refund our money. And yes I understand / understood that there may be future popping, however in the two months after application the accelerated / amount of popping is absolutely unacceptable it was directly caused by the application of seal smart product.

07/13/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failure to comply with Contract and extenuating circumstances
I signed a contract for ******** with Seal Smart to seal my deck on May 04, 2015. I was to make a ******** deposit and the balance of ******** was to be paid on completion of the contract. Seal Smart's salesperson, **** ****** was very adamant that we had to sign that day to get their special price. My home is on ******* ******** near a slide area. On May 14, the land directly behind my house became involved in the slide. The power lines are coming down and trees are falling near my home, there is a good chance that my home will become uninhabitable and will have to be abandoned.

I called my credit card company on May 22 and discovered the whole amount of the contract ********** was charged to my account on May 15, 2015. The credit card company was concerned it was fraud and was canceling my credit card and reissuing it.
I called Seal Smart on May 22 and talked with *****, the office manager, who said I needed to fax a letter explaining the situation to Mr. ********** who would decide if my reason for canceling was valid. ***** explained that they had made a mistake and would credit me the ***** they charged in error. I received no answer from my fax to Mr. ********** and I tried to call him numerous times, but he never returned my calls. I decided to send him a certified letter in case he did not receive the fax or my telephone messages to call me. I enclosed a newspaper article about the slide. ***** called me on June 11, to tell me Mr. ********** would send his "people" to assess the situation on June 19, 2015. He felt I could have faked the newspaper article.

Seal Smart breached the contract by charging the whole ********* They should refund me the additional ********* It seems they have several complaints on file for processing payments before they are due, not fulfilling their contracts and not covering their warranties

Desired Settlement
I would like a Refund of my ******** and to have the contract canceled.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ******* Job Process
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ************@gmail.com
Mr. **** entered into a contract with Seal Smart on 05/04/2015.
Our office did charge the deposit amount of ****** a second time in error and refunded the incorrectly charged amount the same day that Mr. **** contacted us and made us aware of it.
Mr.**** called our office on May 22nd to tell us he wanted to cancel his contract. After we told him that we were unable to cancel the contract and refund the initial deposit after the 3 day Right to Cancel period, he then told us of the landslide activity on Gaither Mountain. We told him that we would need to discuss this with managment and would get back with him.
In regards to the landslide issue on Gaither Mountain, we have determined that Mr. **** entered into the agreement with Seal Smart and paid his deposit after the landslide activity had been going on for a few years. The most recent news story regarding landslide activity we found showed it was written in March of 2015.
Mr. **** then called our office and sent us a letter with an attached newspaper article. This article was dated May 30, 2015. After reading the article, Seal Smart scheduled an appointment with Mr. **** to come out and take a look at the area ourselves, in order to see if indeed Mr. ****'s residence was in danger of the landslide. Our appointment to come out was scheduled for Friday, June 19th. Mr. **** did not give us the opportunity to decide how to proceed before filing the complaint with the BBB. Additionally, Mr. **** called our office and began threatening to take things further if we did not refund him his deposit and cancel his contract.
We have now forwarded this customer contract to our legal department.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I **** **** am responding to the remarks ***** ******* Job Processor made in response to my complaint about Seal Smart's failure to answer my request to cancel the contract with them and refund my ******** deposit for sealing my deck.

The original landslide on Gaither Mountain involved land far to the East of our property and was not an issue when we signed the contract with **** ******* Seal Smart's representative. We would not have signed a contract to invest ******** in a deck that was about to be destroyed. We did ask Mr. Palmer if something catastrophic should happen to cause us to need to cancel the contract after the 3 days would we be able to get our money back. My concerns were my wife's heart health issues and my own health. He assured us that the owner, Mr. ********** was a reasonable man and would refund our money should something happen beyond our control. He insisted we not wait, but sign the contract that day, May 04, 2015 in order to get the special price of ********* with ******** deposit to be paid in advance, the remaining ******** after the job was complete.
I am disabled, 68 years old and sealing the deck every year is very difficult for me, so my wife and I were receptive to a product that would protect the deck and save me from the difficult job.
We had no further contact with Seal-Smart until I called them on May 22, 2015 to tell them of the problem with the landslide and the double charge. Mr. ********** did not respond to my telephone calls, emails or to a certified letter.

I called Seal Smart's office the week after they sent a young boy employee to inspect my property and take cell phone photos of the damage. I was surprised that they sent someone with no authority that had only worked for the company for a short time.
***** was very curt when she assured me no decision had been made, but she felt the refund would be denied. She stated my account had been referred to their legal department. My comment was "I hate to see this go to court". No threat was intended. Again, she was very rude and abrupt.

On May 14, 2015, our land became involved in the landslide, each day more trees fall and the road directly behind our house has become impassable. It is now within 20 yards of our home and there is a good chance we **** have to abandon it. Insurance does not cover landslide damage so our only choice **** be to find another place to live. It does not make sense to seal a deck we **** not be able to use. Seal Smart broke the contract by charging the whole amount of the contract, did not correct it until I brought it to their attention. This is a legitimate reason for canceling the contract, even if they **** not address the landslide issue. I am asking them to refund my ******** deposit.


Final Business Response /* ****** 13, 2015/07/02) */
Mr. **** signed a contract with Seal Smart and did not cancel within the 3 day cancellation period.
Seal Smart refunded the ********* charged in error as soon as Mr. **** notified us that his credit card was charged twice. We did not break our contract with Mr. **** by charging the ****** in error, as we did refund that amount to him.
Mr. **** entered into a contract with Seal Smart having the knowledge of the landslide on Gaither Mountain, as we do not reside in that area, we were not aware of it and are not responsible for it.
We cannot comment as to what was said between Mr. **** and the Seal Smart representative he claims told him we would cancel the contract after the 3 day Right to Cancel period, we were not there. However, our 3 day Right to Cancel contract was signed by the customer, so he was aware of Seal Smart's policy on cancellations.
Seal Smart **** not be cancelling the contract entered into by ourselves and Mr. ****.


Final Consumer Response /* ****** 15, 2015/07/08) */
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I did sign the contract on May 4, 2015 with **** ******* Seal-Smart's Representative, because I believed him when he said if something beyond our control should occur I would be able to cancel the contract and get our money back. Nothing in the contract said our deposit would be forfeited. No work has been started so they have no legal right to keep my *********

Mr. ****** also stated a woman called "*****" would call us within the next few days to schedule the time for our deck to be sealed. On May 22, 2015 "*****" had not called, our first contact was my call to her to cancel the contract and make them aware of the double charge. The contract was broken when they charged the full amount of the job.

The landslides on Gaither Mountain have been going on for years, but far from our property. I had no idea we would experience heavy rains that would cause the land near my home to be endangered. I would not have signed a contract to seal a deck I might have to abandon nor would I have spent ******** on any project.

03/30/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On July 8, 2014 we signed an agreement with Seal-smart, XXX XXth St, PO Box **** Monett, MO XXXXX, to clean, restore and seal the following: wood, in our screened-in porch, concrete on our driveway, patios, sidewalk, and garage floor.

1. The company's work caused significant damage to our property.

2. We have these complaints against the company:
1. The company lied to us in their sales presentation.
From their sales notebook they showed us written evidence (albeit, false) that they were members of the local Better Business Bureau.
2. Their work on our wood porch was totally unsatisfactory.
They severely damaged much wood on the porch and the exterior steps.
They caused the remaining wood to look fuzzy. They power-sprayed-away the softer portions of porch wood.
They left the wood floor so rough that it can no longer be wiped down with a mop without continually snagging the mop.
They did not remove all of the old sealant as orally agreed.
Certain amounts of the wood still show evidence of the original un-removed sealant.
They left large amounts of sealant in spots all over the porch.
Their efforts to remedy the sealant-spots failed.
The soffits are stained.
3. They ruined the screening on our porch.
Their power washer caused multiple bulges in our screening.
Chemical discoloration of our screens leaves no alternative but to replace them.
4. Their work on our concrete was totally unsatisfactory.
The garage floor and downstairs patio appeared no different after their work than before their work.
5. Their procedures for "taping off" and removing the "tape" caused much damage.
They used "duct tape," precisely the wrong type of tape to apply to painted surfaces.
When the tape was removed;
Our down spouts had much missing paint as the tape allowed cleaned to enter the area.
Our walls had missing paint in some spots.
Residue from the tape remained around doors and windows
Repairing this will require these areas to be sanded, primed and repainted.
6. Based on our experience, he company's personnel training program, if it has one, is horrendously deficient.
7. Their personnel were rude, unpleasant, intimidating and threatening when responding to the above issues.
8. The cost for us to restore and/or replace the damage to our property by Seal-Smart personnel will exceed the amount of our contract with Seal-Smart.

The local Better Business Bureau website (http://www.bbb.org/southwestern-missouri/business-reviews/deck-cleaning-and-waterproofing/seal-smart-in-monett-mo-XXXXX) presents 28 complaints against the company in the last three (3) years.

3. We request and investigation into the practices of the company.

Cordially,
Dr. ******* H ******* ***** *******
*** N **** **** **** Springfield, MO XXXXX
Home phone: (XXX) XXX-XXXX
e-mail: ********@inbox.com

Desired Settlement
Stopped payment on second half of charges and advised them we had done so. Sent pictures of damages to them. Secured bid to repair screened-in porch area and faxed to them. Last word from Seal-Smart couple of weeks ago when couldn't come to agreement was we would be hearing from them.

Business Response
In response to the complainant:

Seal Smart and the complainant entered into a contract with them on 7/8/14.

Complaint 1: At the time of contract, we were accredited members of the BBB.

Complaint 2: The "fuzzy" wood is addressed in the "Statement of Understanding...Wood", that the complainant signed. It states "The process of stripping & cleaning may cause wood to be fuzzy...".It states in our "Statement of Understanding...wood" also states, that we "cannot guarantee 100% removal of all stains in wood". We did make every effort to remove that stain, but we "cannot guarantee complete removal".

Complaint 4: Our concrete sealant is colorless; therefore, there is no change in appearance. This is addressed in the "Statement of Understanding...Concrete", that the complainant signed. It states "After sealing, water will not bead up on sealed surfaces."

The total balance due on the second half of charges is $3,257.50. The bid for repairs that was faxed in by the complainant is $2,346.00. There was some minor damage done and our company is more than willing to take care of those damages; however, the balance of $911.50 still needs to be paid. Our company was willing to repair the damages, but the customer refused. The customers were contacted and asked to pay the balance owed and refused. The estimate to repair said damages does not exceed the balance owed as stated in the complaint.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
1. There was great misrepresentation from the salesperson.
2. The stains on the garage floor and patio under the covered/screened deck were assured to be removed. The cement was to look about like new.
3. He told us the screens might be stained. Nothing said about the soffits and downspouts being severely stained and/or paint removed in spots & streaks.
4. The workmen did not attempt to remove stain/sealant from some areas on the covered/screened patio wood. This is evident because on the framing there are many places that show no attempt was made to remove the stain/sealant.
a. High pressure equipment left the wood with a fuzzy appearance and feeling. We were told this would lay down in 30-45 days - it has not and is unpleasant to touch or walk on, in addition to being unsightly and impossible to mop.
b. This equipment removed substantial amounts of wood between the harder rings or grain of the fiber. It has the appearance of old, severely weathered wood and is starting to turn gray.

The following seems to us to be a more than fair offer to Seal-Smart for the substantial damages incurred:
Total Contract $6,515.
Less July payment -$3,257.50
Less cost for our contractor to repair the covered/screened patio to extent possible -$2,346
Less useless cleaning of garage floor -$1,572.69
Less useless cleaning of patio under covered/screened patio -$387.03
Less cost for painting bottom of garage drywall, & sand/prime/paint frame around 3 doors and 2 windows damaged by duck tape -$150
Total due us if accepted by 11/10/14 $1,198.22

This would result in total payment to Seal-Smart of $2,059.28. This is for payment of $1,081.23 for cleaning of driveway apron, $442.32 for the one patio cleaning, & $202.73 to clean sidewalk. (These 3 outside areas only had dirt on them & the company satisfactorily cleaned these three areas.) In addition, it includes $484 which is the difference between Seal-Smart's charge of $2,829 to work on the covered/screened patio & our contractor's charge to attempt to address problems created by Seal-Smart's work on this area.

We would additionally be responsible for paying our contractor $2,346 to repair the covered/screened patio. Also $150 to have bottom of garage drywall & frame around 3 doors and 2 windows repaired.

Due to a severe car accident, we were physically unable to perform our regular maintenance, and, seeing Seal-Smart's ad, we contacted them. Realizing the bid was out of line in price, we still agreed to have the work done with the assurance that the cement would be nearly like new & the covered/screened patio would be clean, sealed & no resealing for up to 25 years. After the work was done and extensive damage resulted, my wife went to the Internet & found that we are not alone in the same exact experiences.

The Seal-Smart response states there was "some minor damage". We are mailing under separate cover a few pictures to show damage which we don't consider "minor".

Final Business Response
Case # XXXXXX
******* *******
In response to the complaintant:

Per the last offer to settle from the consumer that the *******'s would not owe Seal Smart, LLC any money's and Seal Smart LLC would not owe the *******'s any money's and Seal Smart LLC would provide a receipt stating that the balance is paid in full.

We accept this offer with the stipulation that any and all Warranties are also null and void.

We appreciate your assistance in clearing this up, have a wonderful afternoon!

***** ***** Galvez

Job Processor

Seal Smart LLC

Toll Free: XXX-XXX-XXXX

Fax: XXX-XXX-XXXX

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We are in receipt of e-mail stating Seal-Smart would like to accept our offer which was made last year, but that Seal-Smart would make any of their warranties null and void.

Just a bit of background up to this time - attempting to correct these damages is proving to be substantially more expensive than had been estimated. Some of the damages cannot be brought back to like they were before Seal-Smart came. The only thing originally needed for the screened-in porch, which was in excellent condition, was to have a coat of stain applied. Most of the repair should be completed this week. We have spent in excess of $6,500 to put back into usable condition and have learned a lesson in the process.

The Better Business Bureau e-mailed us on November 19, 2014 that Seal-Smart had not made any further concessions and that BBB could not pursue the matter further. BBB stated the complaint case was now considered closed UNRESOLVED. Our decision is to leave the case closed and unresolved as BBB indicated it would need to be as of 11/19/14.

05/02/2016Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
25 year warranty is not honored

We two reputable Deck service/wood analysis
firms inspected. Wood shows deterioration within the past 2-3 years.
Two Wood deck analysis firms indicate deterioration over the last 2-3 years. This is early stages of rot.

Desired Settlement
Redo the deck treatment.

Business Response
We will always stand by our warranty.
Seal Smart is returning to the Customers home on 5/13/16 to redo the deck treatment.

11/09/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
October 6, 2015

On 8-30-14, I contracted SealSmart to remove the paint form 2 decks on the back of my house located at 206 Lillian Lane, Kimberling City, MO XXXXX. Me, my son, Bryan ****** and son-in-law, Todd *****,sat for 2 hours on that deck with the sales person, Rod ********* discussing the contract details. We were told that SealSmart would completely clean off the paint on the deck surfaces including all flat surfaces (top and bottom of the decks), support posts, rails, spindles and apply sealer with a 25 year warranty.

SealSmart did the work sometime in September 2014. I went to the Lillian Lane house to check on work and found it completely unsatisfactory. Paint remained on support posts, underside of both decks and on spindles. I call them several times to get them to come out and complete the work that was promised. The representative, Honey, I talked to said they came out and did more work and consider the job completed. I called to voice my dissatisfaction and emailed them pictures of the paint still on all the surfaces. With the arrival of winter, I waited until spring to contract them again to schedule a time for them to come out.

Again, I started the process of trying schedule someone to come out to complete the work. After talking to Honey again, I emailed another set of pictures of the deck with the all the paint remaining on it.

They finally agreed to send out a crew to work on these decks July 16, 2015. When the workers arrived, the workmen realized that the scope of work was a lot worse than they expected and did not have enough time (2 hours) to do a proper job and that they would reschedule for a full day.

After never receiving a call to reschedule, I started calling SealSmart and got a rescheduled date of August 15, 2015.

On this date the crew arrived and started to power wash the paint off spindles on the lower deck. At this time, pieces of the spindle wood started to blow off. They did not want to continue work because the power washing was ruining the wood. They said they would need to come back to put a stripper on the spindles to get the paint off since the power washing was too harshwe even discussed the fact that there was no landscaping near the decks so there shouldn't be any problem with the rinsing of process of the stripper.

August 17, 2015, I began calling SealSmart 2-3X/week to get the crew scheduled to return always leaving messages for their Operations Manager, Richard ***********. He was never in the office, in a meeting, or would call me backI never heard from him. September 28, 2015, I began calling SealSmart everyday trying to get someone to respond to me to resolve this issue. October 5, 2015, I was told that Richard *********** was no longer with the company and Trent was taking his place. I requested that Trent please return my call.

October 6, 2015, Trent called to inform me that SealSmart decided that they have done enough with my decks and consider the work completed as per the contract. They refused to spend any more time dealing with my decks.

I have enclosed copies of the contract with this letter and would be happy to give you copies of the pictures I took showing the incomplete work by SealSmart.

I look forward to hearing from BBB regarding anything we might do to resolve this issue.

Thanx so much,
*****

Business Response
Seal Smart works very hard to resolve any complaints. Just as Mrs.*****'s stated, we went to her property several times during and after the fulfillment of her contract. She was fully aware that we do not remove paint. She read and signed documents stating this fact. The aesthetic's do not effect the sealing process.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I don't accept this response. The salesman who we signed the contract with explained that some paint might.not be able to be removed because it's in the wood grain. This I can accept. I cannot accept entire support posts and areas of paint remaining larger than the size of my hand and larger. One time they returned and did nothing because not enough time was scheduled for the work necessary. The 2nd time they returned, they attempted to clean some spindles but nothing else. They spent about 20 mins at the house at this visit. They were supposed to come back to "strip " the pIant off and never returned. I expect them to schedule a time to come back out and complete the work promised in the contractit is evident bythe pictures I sent that the contract was not honored.

Final Business Response

At this time Seal Smart feels the best thing for us to do is to send out a Representative to access the situation. We have already placed a call to the customer on 10/23/2015 to get this scheduled. We are awaiting a response from her.

I just spoke with Donna ****** and scheduled the date and time. A Rep will be at her home Tomorrow between 1:00-2:00.

09/07/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They did not deliver what they promised.
They powerwashed and cleaned my deck on April 23rd, 2015 and injected their silicon spray. I was told that any fuzzy wood due to the spray would be gone in 60 days. It has not. I attempted to call the company on numerous occasions and they do not return calls to discuss the resolution.

Desired Settlement
Just to come out and sand off the rough edges of the deck wood as they promised they would do.

Business Response
We have scheduled to return to customers location on Thursday August 27 to look into the rough edges that seems to be the issue as well as address above mentioned items.

08/04/2015Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I contracted to have my deck cleaned and sealed. They did not show up and told me when I called that the next available date was another month away.
I placed a deposit for work to be done at my home by Seal Smart, 407 13th Street, Monett, MO 65708. The transaction was dated May 1, 2015 and the amount was ********** The salesman who did the quote at our house was *** *******. The service was to be schedule by their home office immediately after they received the work order. The work was to be a complete cleaning of the deck to "Take the wood to the natural state and permanently seal - with a 25 year warrantee."
I was called the following day and accepted their "first available" date of July 8th, two months away.
Seal Smart called me in late June and said they had a cancellation and would like to change the date to July 1st at 1 PM. I agreed to that change.
The work order required that we take everything off our deck. We did that in the morning and waited for the workers to arrive. When Seal Smart had not arrived by 4 PM, my wife called their office to ask what was going on. We got a cell phone call from their installer at about 5PM to say he was about an hour away and could start the work at 6 PM. I responded that it would be dark before he could finish, and he agreed. I asked him to do the work in the morning. He did not want to drive back to Nashville and then back to my location and was not sure the office would pay for him to stay in the area overnight. He said he would check with the office to see what to do. My wife and I went out to feed the horses.
When we came back in, there was a voice mail from ***** at Seal Smart saying they would have to reschedule - and the next soonest date was in August. Could we call back? I called back, and ***** had left. I talked to someone else, but she offered no help. That we would have to put all of the stuff back on the deck and take it off yet again in a month was of no significance to her. I later got a voice mail from "*******" saying he understood that we were inconvenienced by their scheduling problem. He left his cell number so I could call him back. I did, and the call went to voice mail and was never returned. In the process of these calls, the installer and ***** mentioned that the problem was that their truck got stuck and had to be pulled out by a tow truck at their morning work site. I asked again why I could not get the work done without having to put all the stuff back on the deck and clear it again in a month for the new appointment time. I was told many times, "I'm sorry," but their schedule was full and they could not accommodate our request to have the work done any time close to when they said it would be done when we paid the deposit. That they never even called when it was clear they would be at least five hours late was never acknowledged.
I requested the return of my deposit since they could not complete the contract timely. *****'s response was that there is no installation date on their contract, so they have no responsibility to refund the deposit for installation delays. She offered to put me at the top of their waiting list so we could be called if they had a cancellation before the end of the month. On this phone call, ***** said the morning client took longer than they had planned for. The tow truck excuse was no longer mentioned.
As a result of this behavior on their part, I looked up the Better Business Bureau information on Seal Smart. There is one complaint there that is very similar. Seal Smart finally arrived at 6 PM. They would not offer a timely reschedule. The workers were tired and the result was poor quality which seal Smart would not acknowledge or fix.
I want a refund of the deposit since I would have to lose the use of my deck for the summer - or move all the furniture twice more. I have no confidence that the work would be done well or when they might actually do it.

Desired Settlement
I want a refund of the deposit for the work that has never been performed. Seal Smart did even call when it was clear they would not do the work at the time they scheduled it. They made it clear that they would only reschedule for a time convenient to them with no consideration to my schedule or needs. They offered no assurance that they would show up at the rescheduled time if I did accept the additional one month delay.

Business Response
On 5/01/15 Mr. ************* and Seal-Smart entered into a contract to permanently seal his deck,rails and steps. On Monday May 4th we called Mr. ************* to Thank him for his business and get him tentatively scheduled for his installation, which we scheduled for July 8th. We had an earlier appointment come available so we contacted ************* and he accepted the date of July 1st between 1-3 pm arrival time. On July 1st, our morning job took longer than anticipated and the crew still had an hour drive to Mr. *************'s residence. The Lead man called Mr. ************* and expressed that they were running behind schedule and that they would arrive at his residence at 6pm to start the work. Mr. ************* at that time stated that the time left before dark was not sufficient enough for them to do the work. The Lead man agreed and informed the Customer that he would turn it back over to the Office to be rescheduled.
The Office called and left a message informing of the next available date and time. A response call came from the *************'s expressing aggravation over the time between available appointments. At this time it was clear that no amount of apologies nor effort on our part was going to satisfy the demands of a sooner date and time. We here at Seal-Smart have offered many dates of availability to follow through with the contract to no avail. Seal-Smart can do the work as soon as Wednesday 22nd of July. In an attempt to express our apologies for the inconvenience of prep time on the *************'s part we have discounted the total on the contract by ******** When a member of our management tried to contact and explain the discounted price as well as next available date, Mr. ************* expressed Seal-Smart is not allowed on his property nor would he be accepting anything other then a refund.
We here at Seal Smart feel we have made several attempts to rectify the issue by offering several different dates of availability and even a discount for the inconvenience. We are ready to uphold our end of the contract as soon as he is ready and willing.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I got a phone call on July 19th with an offer from ******* at Seal Smart to complete the work with a small discount. I told ******* at that time that I had already cleaned, stripped, and refinished the deck. As I stated in the original complaint, I was told by ***** at Seal Smart that the earliest they could reschedule the work was for early August. That was as of July 2nd. I had removed all the furniture, plants, etc. from the deck for the scheduled work on July 1st. I did get a call from the the Lead man at 5 PM on the 1st that he could be here around 6 PM to start the work, but not until I had called Seal Smart at around 4 to ask what was going on. He agreed that completing the work before dark was not reasonable with that starting time. It was after that call that I heard from ***** about the delay until August. The answer from Seal Smart states I was aggravated about the one month delay. That is accurate. Seal Smart expected me to do without access to my deck for a month during the summer due to their scheduling issues. The alternative was for me to more all the items back to the deck and remove them again for another scheduled appointment. I was not at all sure I would not get the same disregard for any inconvenience to me by their not showing up or giving me even a call as they did not due for the July 1st appointment. I did not hear anything after I rejected ******** offer of a day in August until after I had already stripped the deck. I could not just leave it cleared with all my belongings in the grass for a month. By the time Seal Smart made the discount offer with a time in late July, the stain was on the deck. I did not get tht offer until July 19th - 18 days after their failure to appear for their appointment. There is no way for them to do the work for which I contracted at this time. The deck is refinished. I could not wait with the deck cleared for a month for them to find the time to complete the work. I did tell ******* that I did not want Seal Smart to come to my property because the work was done - and there is nothing for them to do since I had to do the refinishing myself given their refusal to reschedule with me for a reasonably quick completion of the work delayed by them.
Seal Smart has offered future dates for their availability. None have been within weeks of their original scheduled date, and none were made other than "early August" until I made a written complaint to the Better Business Bureau and to the credit card company for the card on which I made the deposit for the work. None were made before I had to complete the work or deal with "inconvenience" of repeating the hours that it took to remove and replace the furnishings, plants, and gazebo structure from the deck. That inconvenience was many hours of work that Seal Smart expected me to do solely due to their inability to meet their schedule or get the reschedule within a reasonable time.
******* tole me that ***** was no longer with Seal Smart and that she had made customer service mistakes other than just telling me that August was the best that she could do and that I had no recourse since Seal Smart does not put an installation date on their contracts. Letting her go appears to me to be an admission of error on Seal Smart's part. I think it is reasonable for me to expect them to refund the deposit for the work not done.

Final Business Response
A decision has been made in regards to Mr.************* and he will be receiving a refund on his deposit.

08/03/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Sealsmart used inexperienced workers to clean my deck using a pressure washer which caused extreme damage to the wood surfaces
I have tried multiple times which I have kept all e-mail correspondence with ***** ****** at Sealsmart over repairing damages done to my deck. We hired Sealsmart during the home show in Kansas city. This would have been in January of 2013. On March 18th 2013 we had a salesman from the company come out to the home and give us an estimate to remove the existing stain and apply their treatment. This estimate was for $****.00 and one half would be paid up front and the other on completion.We used an **************** card for the down payment of $****.00 at that time. On April the 30th the crew arrived and started their work Talking with the crew leader he told me he had a very new crew because of the type of work they were having a lot of turn around in employment. I did not see the initial damage done due to the fact the deck was so soaking wet they had been spraying on it for several hours After drying you could see fuzzy parts in the wood which they said was common but would disappear in 30 days or so. But I was concerned in the appearance of the wood due to goughing caused by the extreme closeness they got to the surface. This has left several areas that are damaged and can only be removed by sanding down the deck and handrails. I have plenty of photos of the damage and I have sent them to ***** with Sealsmart like he ask me too. He sent out a one man crew with a light sander to attempt to fix the damage. But the one man crew saw the deck and said "Who destroyed your deck ? there is no way I can take this damage out with Light sanding" ***** has since refused to talk,e-mail or have any further correspondence with me hoping I will just go away.

Desired Settlement
I want Sealsmart to either repair or replace the deck sufaces or at least refund my money so as I can hire someone to fix their damage.

Business Response
This is the Seal Smart Response to case #XXXXXX


Seal Smart is currently working with the customer regarding the matters involving his deck.
We have been talking with the customer, and are now waiting to hear from him again.


***** ********** Job Processor

Seal Smart LLC

Toll Free: 877-273-2511

Fax: 417-235-8862

www.seal-smart.com


Consumer Response
Sealsmart has refused to repair or replace my damaged deck and will no longer communicate with me
I have filed a complaint on 5-5 14 about services that were done on 3-18-2013 the company's response states it is working with the customer and is waiting to here back from him. Well this is total bull hockey I have called Sealsmart on several occasions and have also e-mailed them . They seem to have a very high employee turnover rate which signifies there way of doing business.
*** ********** has given me his cell phone number and now will not call back or can he even receive messages due to his mailbox being full. How convenient This company is terrible and once they get their money will do whatever it takes to not fix or even remotely try and resolve an issue. Theses people need to have their advertisement in the rural Missouri paper removed and not allowed to sell their false rumor workmanship. I have been trying very courteously and have been lead into this false sense of hope by the company. I want a full refund of all money so as I can replace the wood deck that they so carelessly with incompetence employees damaged. They have not even come close to resolving this issue and the Attorney General should look into their operating ways and number of un answered complaints

I will accept nothing but a refund from Sealsmart for the total amount of ******** which is the sum I paid and now need to replace my wood on the deck.

Final Business Response
This issue is being handled in house between Mr.****** and a member of our management. They have been in correspondence with each other via email in order to reach an agreement. Seal-Smart is confident that we have and will be able to settle this issue between both parties.

Page 1 of 4

Industry Comparison| Chart

Deck Cleaning and Waterproofing, Concrete Contractors, Seal Coating, Waterproofing Contractors

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.