BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 07/25/2011

Colton Homes, LLC

Phone: (417) 299-2407Fax: (417) 890-6890

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints1

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
06/17/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Square feet of the house. Warranty issues.
I talked to *** ****** Sr and he tol me he could build me the same house as another one I looked at minus the 3rd garage. The cost of the house was 185,000 and square feet sixteen hundred. Cost per sq ft was a little high. What I ended up with was a 1553 sq. ft. House with a bigger patio. I paid extra for the paint and countertops and can't get a receipt from the builder. I have issues with the front door, interior doors not latching, wrong faucet on tub in master bath, the air conditioner needs to be reset, sidewalks. Need to be power washed or replaced where they ran over them with heavy equipment and there are issues with the mortar washing out between the stone on the front of the house. Also, when it rains I get water in my garage. I have called and texted *** *** And he won't call me back or answer my text. I told him I would contact you and if need be hire an attorney.

Desired Settlement
I would like the issues resolved and the warranty honored till 10/9/2017. I would like my receipts for money paid for upgrades and a refund for the difference in price between 1600 and 1553 square feet. I didn't get the extra door or the wood floors in master bedroom as promised, the shelves and rods in closets and mud room or the refrigerator that *** *** Told me I would get.

Business Response
May 18, 2016
BBB of Springfield, Missouri
Complaint Case: XXXXXX
Consumer: ***** *******
3950 W. Durango Ct.
Springfield, MO XXXXX
****** ********* has tried over and over to satisfy *****. Just when we think she
is happy, she turns on us. We know her move to Springfield from Columbia to be
with family has turned sour, so she has decided to sell her home and move back to
Columbia.
Attached:
1. ****** ********* contract signed by *****
2. Acceptance of the home signed by *****
3. Certificate of Occupancy by ****** County
4. Granite invoice
5. ***** ********* invoice
6. ****** ********* response to each of the complaints
7. Text messages from *****
After 46 years of building in Springfield, building over 900 homes, and many, many
commercial projects I try to satisfy my clients, but ***** has a negative response to
our efforts.
Page 1
Item 1. Sq. Ft. Contract states 1553, initial by *****
Sq. Ft. as per floor plan, initial by *****
(The other house she compares to was 1600 sq. ft. + 3 car garage with
sale price well over $200,000. Her contract amount was $185,000.)
Item 2.***** agreed to the extra charge for eggshell paint and the painter cost.
***** selected a more expensive countertop and was given the extra cost
amount by the supplier and said she agreed. That amount did not have any
markup for the Builder. ***** gave us a check at closing for this amount
of the two extras. She knew the amount before the work was done. All of
our invoices are submitted to the title disbursement company, I have no
copies. Her check was made out before she came to the closing.
Item ********* ****** representatives have been to *****'s house twice to
adjust the front door & interior doors. Both times she thanked them and
said she was satisfied.
Item 4.This is the first I have heard about a wrong faucet on the master tub. I
know we paid an extra charge for this faucet for her.
Item 5.The air conditioner needs to be reset. Again, this is a new item which has
just now been brought up.
Item 6.She is requesting the sidewalks to be replaced or cleaned. We kept her
driveway blocked until the day of closing. So no vehicles or heavy
equipment has ever been on any new concrete. As for the city sidewalk,
the county inspector does inspect these upon the final inspection and at
that time there was no problem.
I might add, after she decided to sell the house to move back to Columbia
she requested that we must power wash her house and all concrete. The
house had been power washed by us the week before she closed on the
house.
Item 7.Rain water does not wash off concrete mortar on the stone work. *****
requested the stone work to match another house. This is dry-stacked
stone. The mortar is hand scraped off the front portions of the stone work.
Item *********** doorworks have been to *****'s house and adjusted her garage
doors as tight as possible. Her garage door is on the North side of the
house. With a driving rain water gets into the fold of the panels and when
she raises the door water does drip out of the metal folds. This is very
common place when the door is on the North.
Page 2
Item 9.As for *** **. not responding that was not accurate for some time, he had
the following subcontractors return for warranty items including:
A. ******* Lumber
B. ********* *********
C. *** Painting
D. Roofer
E. ********************
F. ****************
G. *************
H. **************
None of these companies did she contact, *** **. did and most times he
met these subcontractors at the property.
But then on a ***** hateful day she said she had an attorney to deal with
us. Our conversations ended at that time, although we kept our
subcontractors working to resolve her items.
Item 10. Now ***** wants us to give her a 2-year warranty after all we have done
to date. This must be because she is selling the house and does not want
to pay for the usual warranty the Buyer of a usedhouse ask for.
Item 11. I don't know what extra door she is talking about, but as for hardwood
floors in her bedroom, she told us to put carpet in the room which we did.
Item 31 on our contract, she wrote "bedrooms shall be carpeted" and
again initialed by *****.
Item 12. She has shelves with rods in each closet, and utility room.
Item 13. After the price was determined, she later asked for a refrigerator. I agreed
to buy a matching refrigerator. I bought a side-by-side stainless steel
refrigerator matching all the other appliances at no additional cost to her.
I paid $1,209.30 for this appliance along with the additional appliances
at a cost of $1,257.47. Now she says I bought the cheapest appliances
possible. I spent $2,466.77 total. That is not cheap. Frigidaire brand is a
very good product. We furnish Frigidaire appliances in all our houses and
this is our first complaint.
***** moved from Columbia, MO to Springfield to be close to family, after her
Columbia house sold she moved in with her brother and sister-in-law. This did not
work out well between the two siblings. ***** stated she wished she was not moving
to Springfield and would have stayed in Columbia with her friends. The week before
Page 3
closing we were notified the house was on fire. When I arrived, I noticed ***** was
parked down at the end of the street and setting in her car. Even though firemen,
police, and neighbors were in the front yard. After the fire was put out the local Fire
Marshall and the State Fire Marshall came. When we spoke to them, they told us
whoever started the fire knew where and how to start the fire to burn the house down
(in the master closet) but they did a bad job of it. They both questioned us as to who
was the buyer and if we had noticed any remorse of buying the house from her.
When we pointed to her setting down the street in her car (which is the first time I
had seen her in her car because she had always come with family before) it was
indicated who was probably responsible for the fire. After that she never asked me
about the fire or where it was, all she wanted to know, did she now have to close on
the house? All repairs were made by professionals and we did close after her and her
family's inspection. She also had a private property inspection made. A small amount
of items came up and all those items were taken care of.
We have since learned that ***** had another construction job which later caught on
fire and burned.
We also learned in Columbia ***** worked for an insurance company. Since the
house did close, we did not pursue this any further.
***** now has decided to move back to Columbia and sell her house. She has
interviewed and selected a realtor. She complains what she paid $185,000 for her
new house was too much, but now has this used house listed for $199,000.
She has not mentioned the fire or any of the listed problems on her disclosures for
the real estate listing of her home.
***** contacted *** **. by text if we would buy her house back, she would not use
an attorney, but if we did not buy her house, she would cause trouble for us.
This is where we are at. Since her threat of an attorney, and her negative mistruths
on social media, we will not be returning her calls or returning to her home.


Consumer Response
When my family an I talked to ****** at the house at ******************** Spfld. MO, he told us that he could build the same 3 bedroom house minus 1 garage for $185,000. The house is 1600 sq ft and sold for $ 189,900 on 5/22/2015. My house would have been $115.6 a square foot which was a little high for the neighborhood. I was never told that they did not own the lot or that they would need to apply for permits that would take a month or longer. Papers signed and deposit of $5,000 made I returned to Columbia. While talking with *** that day (in front of my family) he said he would put in a fence and a refrigerator with a drawer. The Sq. ft. Of the house changed and 75 Sq.Ft. Went out of the house to extend the patio which increased the price per square foot.
I agreed to pay extra for the paint and upgrade from Granite to Quartz countertops. The invoice that was submitted with******** response shows Granite and I paid for Quartz.
The front door has been a problem since day one. Please see******** text messages where he said he had new stripping ordered for the door. I don't believe that***'s Granddaughter has a license to build but she was putting on door handles one day when I stopped to look at the house.
I never asked that a shower faucet be put in a tub with no shower. There is a difference and even though I have never used the tub in master bath I know that the faucet continues to run after you turn it off because I do turn it on when I clean.
I had a problem with the furnace when I turned it on and it took two tries to fix it and that's after they called the furnace company and were told what to do. I don't see any reference to that in the text messages and they aren't listed in the Subs that had been to my house. Also, I didn't notice that the air conditioner had a problem till this Spring when I was working in the yard.
I never received a list of the subs or their numbers so I could call them myself. I still need the name of the air conditioner company so I can get that fixed before it causes bigger problems.
I asked *** **. To fix things and after several months I asked him to fix them or purchase my house back. No response so I told him I would contact an attorney if he wouldn't honor the warranty till 10/9/2016. 2017 was a typo.
Shame on you ******. for accusing me of Arson. You know nothing about me or my life. The fire in Columbia was in a house built in 1982 not a new build. It was started by an autistic man in the neighborhood while I was in Washington State on vacation. My Insurance Co., the Columbia Police, Fire Department or Protective Inspection never thought I had anything to do with the fire. Arson is a felony. I'm not stupid and what you said is slander.
I was at the house in Springfield the day of the fire for an inspection. When I arrived with my dog, I was told by fire dept. to go to the end of the street with my family and neighbors.******** arrived much later and were more concerned with their reputation than how I felt. I had to ask my Realator what happened and I was told that it was a possible sub that started the fire since several had been at the house working prior to the inspection.
Since it took so long to build my house I ended up living with my family longer than I felt comfortable with. I thought about renting something and asked my Realator for some names of places to rent on a month to month basis. There were no harsh words between my brother and I. In fact we talked about things and he didn't want me to move into the house after the fire. He said I could stay as long as it took for me to purchase another house.
I miss Columbia and my friends but I moved here to be closer to family and health problems. I just spent 5 days in the Hospital and I don't need anymore stress.
I just want my warranty honored or the names and numbers of the subs so I can call them myself till 10/9/2016. I don't care if I ever see the******** again. I just want what was promised. The warranty is a contract and they are in violation of that contract.
Thank you

Final Business Response
June 3, 2016
BBB of Southwest Missouri
RE: Complaint by ***** *******
To Whom It May Concern:
In response to the followup by *****, it seems most of her complaints
have been taken care of by our subcontractors or ourselves. The
additional items needing attention are:
1. NC questions ****************** XXX-XXXX
2. Plumbing questions ************* XXX-XXXX
3. Weather stripping ************** XXX-XXXX
(Her door has factory installed weather stripping at this time; she
wants additional.)
4. The countertops are special order quartz, not granite.
(She knows this.)
5. My granddaughter does not need a license to install doorknobs;
she is learning the trade.
6. The time lost on getting required permits was no longer than time
lost getting her special order quartz countertops.

Final Consumer Response
I do not wish to close my complaint against ****** Homes till 10/9/2016.
I am having very little luck getting things done even with the phone numbers he gave me.
When I do close it will be under protest. So please keep the claim open till the date shown above and then close it under protest.
Thank you, ***** *******

Industry Comparison| Chart

Contractors - General, Home Builders

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.