BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Southwest MO

BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

O'Reilly Auto Parts (Headquarters)

Phone: (417) 862-3333Fax: (417) 829-2978

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

224 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 78 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues17
Billing / Collection Issues2
Delivery Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues41
Problems with Product / Service163
Total Closed Complaints224

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (224)BBB Closure Definitions
06/27/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: bought a complete drop-in engine for 2 year unlimited warranty now they don't want to warranty the motor paid over ******** dollars. been trying too work with them for two months. but today they told me they could not do nothing for me today 4/25/2014. I need help please. I may have to go see a lawyer .I have my truck at a shop they don't want to pay the mechanic either. long block only unlimited miles 100% parts & labor that's what my paper work says. somebody is lying to me. **** is the manager at oreilly
Order_Number: ***

Initial Business Response
I have spoken to the district manager of the store that was handling this issue.The manufacturer spoke to the mechanic that was working on the engine and came to the conclusion that the damage was caused by faulty fuel injectors that was reused from the original engine and not a problem with the building of the engine at all. There was no manufacturing defect on this product. We, O'Reilly's, paid the mechanic for the diagnostics even though we will not get credit since it was not a qualifying warranty.

Final Business Response
O'Reilly Auto Parts
PROFESSIONAL PARTS PEOPLE
*****************************************************
Phone **************
*******************

06/09/2014

BBB of Southwest Missouri
*************************************************

RE: BBB Complaint Case#: ******, Consumer: ***** ******

To Whom It May Concern:

We have received the BBB Complaint Case #: ******, Consumer: ***** ******. We apologize for any inconvenience he may have experienced following the purchase of a engine from our store. Our customers are extremely valuable and w are committed to providing them with the highest quality products possible.

We have received the Engine Inspection Report from the manufacturer, *********************. The engine had been inspected, enclosed is heir report. Based on their findings the manufacture has denied the claim.

We apologize for any inconveniences or frustrations the customer may have experience, but we are unable to assist him any further.

Sincerely,

***** *******
Customer Satisfaction

Enclosure



*********************.

O'Reilly Auto
*************
*******************

RE: 2003 Ram Vin# ******************
Dear *****:

On 5/9/13, ***************** sold a remanufactured 5.9L long block for your customer's 2003 Dodge Ram 3500. On 3/13/14, we were contacted regarding a knocking noise and a smoking concern. Upon removal of the cylinder head, there was scoring found in the #6 cylinder and an abnormal fuel spray pattern on the piston top. Based on the remanufacturer of this engine, those are indications of a failed fuel injector. Fuel injectors were not included as part of the engine we sold, therefore,damages to the engine from a failed fuel injector would not be covered under the customer's long block warranty.

Sincerely,

******* ****
Warranty Supervisor


*****************************************
*************************
****************


Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

06/27/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor refund, exchange or credit policies

Complaint: Refused a return only ten minutes after purchasing a car battery.
I bought a car battery, drove it home and looked online to compare are prices. I found it for ****** dollars cheaper elsewhere, so I drove immediately back to the store to return. They refused the return or to even offer a discount to come close to the competitor's price. It does not state that returns are not accepted on the receipt, the website, or in the store. Nor was I told it was a final sale.

Initial Business Response
*** *****

O'Reilly Auto Parts apologizes for the inconvenience and frustration this matter has caused you and appreciates the time you have taken to let us know.
I spoke to the store manager ***** of the ******************************** store location. He said he apologizes for his store team members not assisting you with the battery you were returning for refund or assistance on the price adjustment.
As a gesture of customer good will, I will send you a $***** O'Reilly gift card for your time and troubles. You should receive the gift card within a week or two.
We are truly sorry for the inconvenience, and we hope that you will shop our stores again and let us prove to you that we can and will take care of our customers.

Sincerely,
***** *******
Customer Satisfaction

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

06/26/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Guarantee or Warranty Complaint Issue

Complaint: O'Reilly failed to its life lifetime warranty for which they charge more for same part that has one year warranty
I purchased a CV drive shaft with lifetime warranty (invoice # **********) for my 2002 Hyundai Elantra in 2009 from O'Reilly Auto Parts located in **************. The above part recently went bad. I had my mechanic remove the bad CV shaft and I took it to the nearest O'Reilly located **************************************** on June 11, 2014. When the store clerk could not find me in her computer, she called her manager "******". He also said that he looked through everything but doesn't see any record of me buying the CV shaft in 2009. I told ****** that the O'Reilly store located in ******************************, found the record a week earlier using my phone number. ****** replied, "I don't know and you need to go to that store and get it from there". So,I drove to the O'Reilly located in ***********. Here, the store clerk found my record using my phone number but they were out of stock of that part. I got a "reprint" copy of the invoice and went back to ******'s store. This time, ****** was able to find my record. I asked him how the record is in his computer at this time, he replied "I don't know". ****** didn't have the part also and ordered it.
Next day, I went to ******'s O'Reilly but found out that he ordered the wrong part even though I gave him the old part and pointed at the reprinted invoice and told him please order the right cause i dont have a car to drive. He told me to come back in three hours while he orders it again. Later, I went back to the store, ****** had the part but now he says that I must pay for it. I reminded ****** that the CV shaft that I purchased from O'Reilly (invoice # **********) has lifetime warranty. He told me that I need to take it up with the other O'Reilly store where i purchased in 2009 and I must pay for the cv shaft that he ordered.

Initial Business Response
Mr .*****,


We apologize for any inconvenience and frustration this matter has caused you and we appreciate the time you have taken to let us know.

That said, your thoughts and concerns will be forwarded onto the district manager of the location that store manager ****** works at so they can be addressed.

We are truly sorry for the poor service you received and we hope that you will shop our stores again and let us prove to you that we can and will take care of our customers. If you have any concerns about our team member, please let us know.





Sincerely,

***** *******
Customer Satisfaction

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

06/24/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Defective, damaged, or incorrect product received

Complaint: I went to this store yesterday about 6:45 pm and purchased a valve cover set. The box is a set, which means two. I purchased the set for $*****. The man who waited on me was named ********. I bought the part and the glue. We put one of the parts on and reached in the box to get the other and it was not there. I called them and they said to take it off the car and bring it back. You cannot do this. This was also $** worth of work. I called the company HQ and they talked to me real nasty and weren't willing to help me out.

*******************

Initial Business Response
Have You spoken to the store manager regarding this? Please supply us with the invoice number forom the purchase of the gaskets. This will give us the part number, the manufacturer, the date , and the store that they were purchased at.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

06/17/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ***** ****** purchased a battery for a 2006 Toyota Corolla on 4/8/14 from O Reilly Auto Parts located at 6650 East Shelby Drive, he was given the wrong battery which was an inconvenience because he had to return to the store to get the correct one. He needed an alternator also, but went to the store located at 5950 Winchester Road to purchase the alternator because he had more confidence in this location since the other store gave him the wrong battery. The alternator was installed on 4/9/14 which ***** took off work to get the car repaired. After installing the alternator, the battery light became illuminated which it wasn't illuminated before. ***** took the car to ******* Tire & Service Center because he didn't understand why the battery light would be on & a new battery & alternator had been installed. ********** diagnostic fee was ******* They recommended replacing the alternator. We were in shock because we just had a new alternator installed. The car was then taken to ********* Toyota where to make sure there wasn't anything else wrong with the care, they too recommended replacing the alternator, their cost was ******* for diagnostic testing. We purchased another alternator from O Reilly's 6650 East Shelby Drive location. *** & ***** at that location showed great customer service in trying to help all they could with the matter. Though an initial labor fee was paid by the Arnetts, we had to pay an additional *** labor fee to uninstall the faulty alternator & get another one in on 4/13/14. The second alternator was purchased on 4/12/14. After the second alternator was replaced the battery light went off. ***** loves O Reilly Auto, he feels like they have quality parts, however in this situation we were very disappointed because Auto Zone is actually closer to us than O Reilly but ***** likes O Reilly Auto Parts better & has never had a problem until now.
Product_Or_Service: Alternator

Initial Business Response
I have spoken to *******, the store manager, regarding this. He would like for you to bring all of your receipts in to him and he will get them into the hands of the district manager.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have spoken to ******* on 2 occasions, nothing was accomplished,he requested that I contact the district manager, I called the number he gave me,the district manager was not at that location. It's aggravating to keep going in circles. ******* did not show great customer service toward me at all, he never updated me on what was going on, I ***** ******) had to keep calling him & that's what prompted me to contact the BBB for assistance.I will take the receipts to *******,but I'm afraid he won't take care of it like previously before I contacted the BBB.

Final Business Response
I have spoken to the district manager and approved the refund. It is being processed and mailed to the customer's home address. They should be receiving it within 7 to 10 business days.

Final Consumer Response
I **** ****** have taken the receipts to *** at O Reilly to give to ******* because ******* had left for the day. Receipts taken 5/12/14.
Thanks!

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

Page 1 of 36
04/23/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Customer Service Complaint Issue

Complaint: We ordered the CORRECT auto part, and were delivered the WRONG part. After acknowledging they sent us the wrong part, they failed to make it right.
We ordered a 2007 Mazda CX-7 4 Cylinder head gasket (with a turbo), and they sent the WRONG HEAD gasket for a 4-Cylinder Mazda B2300. The only difference in these two engines, and the two gaskets - is 1 small 1/3 inch hole which allows oil to flow through the extra components which are there for the turbo... otherwise they are identical and fit the same. When we addressed the problem with the store manager, he acknowledged that they sent the wrong part # and then exclaimed "how did we do that?" Well, by then it was to late, the Mazda dealership had charged us $**** and stated "it looks like the wrong head gasket is on here." We were "wronged" enough for them to send their "Regional" supervisor out, to which he also acknowledged "How did we make such a simple, yet such a BIG mistake. I was out 3 weeks of my car being at the dealership, $*** for rental cars, and $**** for repair bills due to them sending the wrong part, not to mention the time and frustration from our local mechanic dealing with trying to correct this whole issue, and the best that "corporate" would allow the "regional supervisor" to compensate us was not $****, not $***... but $0.00 I will never use this excuse for an auto parts store and I strongly advise against trusting them with your vehicle repairs!

Initial Business Response
We will need to know what store this has happened at so we can make the correct contacts in regards to this. Can you please supply the invocie number for the purchase so we can look into it.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The address for the store was listed in the complaint, we will provide any documents in the very near future before the 10 day waiting. I will provide the invoice number - and or receipt but the address was plainly stated in the complaint.
********************* Bixby, Ok - 74008

Complaint Resolution: Company failed to resolve the complaint issues through BBB voluntary and self-regulatory process.

02/04/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Failure of O'Reilly to stand behind a warranty given on a rebuilt engine sold by them.
September 14, 2012 -I purchased a rebuilt engine (Ford V-8 351 long block)from O'Reilly Auto Parts. After installation of engine, truck was running rough and smoking heavily. It was checked by those doing installation - diagnosis was one cylinder had low compression - below 25 psi. Contacted O'Reilly's with the results. I was assigned claim number XXXXXX. After multiple calls to both O'Reilly and engine re-builders (************ Engines) owned by ***, we are no closer to resolution than a year ago. This engine came with a 3 year unlimited mileage warrant. So far O'Reilly's has used up one year of that by stalling and failing to do anything. All I desire is a "good engine as promised and install the engine this time." They may pick the shop.

Initial Business Response
01/07/2013

BBB Case #: XXXXXX

Mr. ****,
I have received your complaint dated 12/30/2013.
O'Reilly Auto Parts is always concerned when one of our customers experience a problem after a purchase made in one of our stores. We apologize for any inconvenience or frustration this may have caused you.
After reviewing your concerns we have found that the original purchase, invoice number XXXX-XXXXXX XX/07/2012 account # XXXXXXX on your engine was turned in for a claim to the manufacture ***. That claim was denied by the manufacture. Therefore the engine related to your current claim# XXXXXX #XXXX-XXXXXX XX/14/2012 that O'Reilly location 48 Green Springs Highway Homewood, AL XXXXX-XXXX provided you after the original claim was denied. That second engine you received has no warranty due to the original engine being denied by the manufacture.
Thank you for the opportunity to respond to this matter.

Sincerely,
***** *******
Customer Satisfaction


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not accept your resolution to this problem. Just because the original engine was defective and was replaced does not negate the warranty on the second engine. I have been without the use of this vehicle for over a year now. I have been more than patient with O'Reilly'.
We have local TV stations that love to broadcast this type of story. I have given O'Reilly's plenty of opportunity as I can prove by your response through these e-mails.
I will go the media route through the internet and TV, before I go through the courts. It has become more a matter of principal and honesty at this point.

Final Business Response
The warranty was on the original engine not on the replacement. Your request for reimbursement stands denied.

Consumer Response
Thank you for talking to me this morning. As I stated in the
conversation I am not satisfied we the response from O'Reilly. There
has not been an effort on their part to resolve this matter.
The engine in question has a "3 year unlimited warranty". The
original engine ran good for a time. I put close to 2000 miles on it
when it quit and I had it hauled back to the shop. It would spin over
but would not crank back.
The local O'Reilly's ordered a replacement which I had put in the
pickup. This second motor is the issue.
It has been bad from the start. It was not hitting on one cylinder
so checked the compression and that cylinder had less then 25 lb.
compression. Bad cylinder from the start.
This engine they refuse to warrant saying the warranty was on the
original engine. My stand was and still is that if the first engine
failed and was replaced, then the warranty would continue to the
replacement.
O'Reilly advertises these rebuilt engines with a three year-
unlimited millage warranty.
I placed less than two thousand on the first and the second was bad
when installed. It will be two years this spring when the first engine
was installed. Over a year ago the engine was replaced and I"ve not
had the truck to use since.
Thank you for reopening this case for their consideration.
As a self employed / business owner most of my adult life, I try
to treat others as I would like to be treated, and that includes
businesses. I believe I have given O'Reilly"s every opportunity to
make it right. After this I will take the next step to take legal
action to get restitution and local media to let others know that do
not want this to happen to them.
Thank you for your help in bringing this to their attention.
*** ****


Business Response
After reviewing your concerns we have found that the original purchase, invoice number *********** 03/07/2012 account # ******* on your engine was turned in for a claim to the manufacture ***. That claim was denied by the manufacture. EXTERNAL VISUAL INSPECTION:
Engine, serial # Q428498 with no oil pump, received and examined. This unit
no longer rotates freely. Timing marks are properly aligned. Heat tabs are
present and in normal condition. Intake ports are wet with oil.

INTERNAL VISUAL INSPECTION: 1st engine #***********
Head gaskets are correct for the application, installed properly and sealing.
There is no discoloration under the piston crowns. Camshaft and lifters have
no abnormal wear or damage.

DIMENSIONAL, PARAMETERS AND OBSERVATIONS:
Cylinder heads and block are not warped. The #5 intake valve is stuck in its
guide and has bent its pushrod. Carbon deposits in all combustion chambers are
sticky and have a strong odor of old or bad fuel. Intake valves have excessive
carbon deposit build up behind the valves. Intake guides are now abnormally
worn.

CONCLUSION:
No factory defects are found. Claim is denied.

Therefore the engine related to your current claim# ****** #*********** 09/14/2012 that O'Reilly location 48 Green Springs Highway Homewood, AL 35209-4902 provided you after the original claim was denied. That second engine you received has no warranty due to the original engine being denied by the manufacture.
Thank you for the opportunity to respond to this matter.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The gas was drained and new put in at the time of the engine exchange and several tanks of gas were run through it after. However, nowhere on the installation instructions does it say anything about changing the gas. I read it from cover to cover and have it here. If O'Reilly deems old gas as the problem, I do not see how that can be used to deny the claim since it is not listed as a prerequisite. It is not a disclaimer. O'Reilly's owes me a good rebuilt engine as purchased.

Complaint Resolution: Company failed to resolve the complaint issues through BBB voluntary and self-regulatory process.

04/16/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor promised refunds, exchanges, or credit

Complaint: I bought fuel pump didn't work had professional Auto Mechanic put it in ********** from his auto repair I grand it back to OReilly they gave me a new one Olive put it in I worked I told OReilly he had two pull gas tank off again two replace a new pump and I have two pay labor again Oreilly *********** (Manag said thay will pay ******* the 2nd time for labor Thay called ******* and told him not two charge me again fill out a labor claim and OReilly will pay it ******* said no thay had filled out 2 cliams in 3 years and never received a penny I pd two times *********** keeps blowing me off its been over 4 months just want my $105.50 I pd 2 times ******* repair said thay buy no parts from Oreilly any more because how thay roll he said Napa is a lot more worthy.
Thank you,

Business' Initial Response
We contacted our store's District Manager and he was aware of this matter. He has already reviewed with store and though labor is not covered in our warranty he agreed to pay a portion of the customers labor. The store has attempted to contact the customer to let him know they have a check for him however other than leaving a message have been unable to reach him.

Consumer's Final Response
Thay still owe me $55.50 because their fuel pump was faulty and had to be replaced twice and why did they call Olivers and tell him they will take care of the whole bill if they would of pd him on any of his claims we would not be here.

Complaint Resolution: Company failed to resolve the complaint issues through BBB voluntary and self-regulatory process.

04/08/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Repairs resulted in additional damage

Complaint: I purchased gear oil at the recomendation of employee when company computer required special fluid, resulting in over $4000.00 in damage
I had gone into the Oreilly auto parts store in Kingman Arizona with the intention of purchasing new fluid for my Transfer Case on my 2003 GMC Sierra 2500 HD Diesel pickup. When I went into the store an employee searched in the computer and was able to determine that I needed a special transfer case fluid which was Dex Merc, upon checkout I discovered that I had left my wallet at home and would come back or send a friend to pick up the Dex Merc fluid, The employee said ok and put the Dex Merc to the side on the customer counter for later pickup. A few hours later I send my Friend over to pick up the Dex Merc fluid which was on counter ready for pickup. My friend arrived and located the Dex Merc fluid and proceeded to check out, when a different employee told my friend that my vehicle does not use Dex Merc and uses generic gear oil. My friend called me on the telephone and told me this information, I asked him to have the employee to double check in the computer because the first employee I spoke with located the Dex Merc as the special fluid for my transfer case. While on the phone My friend asked the employee to double check and the employee replied that he had looked in the computer and my vehicle required genneric gear oil and the employee also said that he has never heard of putting Dex Merc into a transfer case, I asked my friend to ask the employee why when I came in earlier the computer showed Dex Merc as the fluid to put into my transfer case, the employee replied that generic gear oil is required, I informed my friend to purchase what was recommended and to inform the employee that if my vehicle has any problems then I would hold Oreilly Autoparts liable for any damage as a result of improper fluid being installed. My friend delivered the generic gear oil which I installed in my transfer case and began driving to Las Cruces New Mexico, and stopped in Tucson Arizona for the night. The next morning I began my travel again and upon pulling out of the motel parking lot my truck went out of gear and i had to coast into the Waffle House parking lot, I turned off the truck and began looking at engine compartment for any trouble, after sitting for a while I started up my truck and everything seemed to be fine. I arrived in Las Cruces New Mexico and checked into the motel. The next morning I left the hotel parking lot and experienced a loud clicking noise and the truck would not go out of first gear. I was able to drive my truck to the local GMC dealer to look at the problem. The GMC dealer was able to determine that my transfer case, transmission control module, associated filters were all bad and needed to be replaced, the GMC dealer was able to determine that the cause of the failure and damage was a result of improper fluid being installed into the transfer case. I had my vehicle repaired at a cost of over $4000.00. I presented my claim to Oreilly Autoparts and they have refused to claim responsibility. My truck had no problems prior to this and I am very upset and demand Oreilly Autoparts to pay for the cost of repairs as a result of the neglect by the second employee at Oreilly auto parts, When I presented the claim to the General Manager he was quite rude and said "Here we go" suggesting that I was trying to pull a fast one and I told him that I would pursue legal action in which he responded "go ahead and sue us" I was dumbfounded and tried to work this out. The blatent neglect and disrespect I have experienced is unacceptable and I demand that Oreilly auto parts pay for the cost of repairs. I had called Oreilly corporate and had spoken with the local district manager and was told nothig can be done. I tried to contact Corporate Management and was always given the 800 number to submit a claim. I am at wits end with this and need action immediatly before I file a legal action against Oreilly.

Respectfully,
Richard Wiglesworth

Business' Initial Response
O'Reilly Auto Parts has reviewed this matter with the Team Members involved in each transaction and have concluded that we are not responsible for the damages to Mr. ******'s pick up.

According to our Team Members, Mr. ****** came in to purchase the fluid but was unable to do so because he had left his wallet at home. When his friend arrived to get the fluid for him he came in and picked up the gear oil and JB Weld on his own accord. No mention was ever made to our Team Member that he was there to pick up what Mr. ****** had left at the counter earlier and no connection had ever been made between the two. Our Team Member who processed the transaction for Mr. ******'s friend recalled the incident very clearly because he had come in for gear oil and a package of JB Weld. Our Team Member asked the customer what the JB Weld was for and was told that it was for the transmission where the check/drain plug is because the plug leaked. When asked what he needed the gear oil for Mr. ******'s friend said it was for an "old GMC pickup" Our Team Member then asked him about the color of the fluid and was told he was not sure in which our Team Member told him that if the fluid was red then it would not be gear oil.
Mr. ****** was not present when his friend came in to pick up the fluid and no mention was made about the previous visit or we would have given him what was already waiting for him at the counter. No discussion regarding the fluids had been done with Mr. ****** while his friend was at the store via telephone and our Team Member who processed the transaction never looked up any vehicle information.

Based on the aforementioned information, while we regret that Mr. ****** experienced the trouble he encountered with his vehicle, but we are unable to honor his request to pay for the repairs.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The response received from Orielly Autoparts is not accurate and contains untrue statements. I prepared a statement upon filing the claim and it was submitted as well as a statement from My friend which are accurate and detailed. The counter sales person in both instances looked up the proper fluid for my 2003 GMC Sierra 2500 HD which was told to both sales reps. At no time was the statement "Old GMC Pickup" stated by myself or my friend. And as far as the JB Weld there was no mention of a transmission drain plug leak, in fact there were no problems with the drain plug on the transmission. If Oreilly Autoparts does not assume responsibility based on the facts which I have provided then I will pursue litigation to seek damages due to the neglect on behalf of the second Orielly Autoparts Employee who sold the improper tansfer case fluid when the correct fluid was on the counter ready to be picked up. It has become apparent to me that Orielly Autoparts is attempting to make up statememts which have been created to make it appear that the damage was my fault. For the record I have only one vehicle and have had since 2004 which is a 2003 GMC sierra 2500 HD diesel, I have never owned an "Old GMC pickup" which would require the use of Gear Oil in the transfer case. I have full documentation to prove Orielly's neglence. I will give Orielly Autoparts one week to assume full responsibility and if they do not then I will follow thru with litigation. I am very disgusted that Orielly Autoparts has chosen to make up statements based on the actual facts, statements and interactions between My Friend, myself and the Orielly Autoparts store in Kingman Arizona.

Business' Final Response
We have reviewed Mr. ***********'s response with our Team Member that had assisted his friend when his friend came in to pick up the items for him and verified that the friend never mentioned anything about Mr. ****** and the products that were on the counter from him and it was his friend that made the decision about what products to purchase and it was not at his suggestion. Our decision stands and is final. We will not be able to pay for Mr. ***********'s repairs as we are not responsible for the damages to his vehicle. If Mr. *********** had questioned the integrity of the information that he was given it would have been advisable to seek a second opinion and at the first sign of trouble should have avoided driving the vehicle until the fluids could have been changed. Based on his own statements he claims that he questioned the fluids. If that be the case he should not have installed the fluids so confidently and taken his vehicle on such a long road trip without having the vehicle inspected or at the very least researched his concerns. Again, we regret that Mr. *********** experienced the mechanical failures as a result of putting the wrong fluid in his vehicle however we are not responsible for said damages and cannot assist with the cost to repair it.

Complaint Resolution: Company failed to resolve the complaint issues through BBB voluntary and self-regulatory process.

05/01/2012Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation misrepresented the product

Complaint: Purchasing Phase I
On the XX-XX-XX I have Purchase two CV shafts: one new one and the other one was remanufacture and I have repeatedly informed TROY (sale person who sold me the product) to make sure that he sales me a right CV shaft for my car (Honda ACCORD DX 1996) many time and his respond was yes they are; Both shafts are the right part for your car and I told him again if they are not you will have to pay for my time and my labor for replacing them with the right part. And his response again was: yes they are.
Installations phase II:
I took both Shaft (Old one and new one) the reason why I bought two of them because I did not make up my mind if I want to put the remanufacturer or the new one. But I decided to install the new one to avoid early break down and avoid the labor cost more frequently. After I installed the new one and have a professional mechanics inspect my work and he said it is good work. I drove the car less than mile .. The Shaft pop out of the transmission housing and the car will not go anywhere. I have to tow the car back to shop to check out what it is happen! I found out that the new part (Drive shaft) was then too short and come out of the transmission's housing which almost brook down my transmission case then I would have been need to change the transmission which be very costly. This negligence giving me a wrong part to my car is extremely unsafe especially if my family was driving and it beakdown in the middle of the HWY.

Resolutions Phase II:
Attempt to resolve: make several attempt to contact District Manager but No Phone call at all was returned to me to discussed and resolved the issue with settlement:

Business' Initial Response
Case:XXXXXX
Our store's District Manager was aware of this issue and via the Store
Manger had requested documentation of customer expenses related to this
repair. He indicated he would reimburse Mitchell flat rate labor time at
$45.00 per hour, the tow fee, and assist with his hobby shop rental
expense. To our District Manager's knowledge there has been no follow up
from the customer since that time. In order to precede further we will
need copies of the customer's tow and hobby shop bills. He may send this
information to the address listed below for further consideration.

O'Reilly Auto Parts
Customer Satisfaction Dept.
ATTN: *****
*************
Springfield, MO XXXXX

Consumer's Final Response
sd. BBB Comment: Complainant is forwarding requested documentation: -------------------------







Claim ID# XXXXXX





Subject: O'Reilly Auot Complaints ID# XXXXXX


In the attachment is the towing receipt for the Car and below cost estimate
for shop to install BOTH AXLE. As I mentions to you O'Reilly is not allowed to benefit of using my
privilege low price for Auto skills is strictly forbidden useing my personal
member ship, O'Reilly is not member,neither affailiated with the Auto skill facility.
So the company has to use the estimate below as regular standard professinal shop.
The total compensations company has to pay shown Below:

1) $ 301 for the installation fees
2) Towing fees $124
3) Compensations for the day I have spent is $150
4) Extended compnesations fees for collecting these bill
$90
5) Car Alignment $ 89.9
The total compensations $ 754.99 No Exceptions.

Thank you
****** ******
XXX -XXX XXXX



-----Original Message-----
From: *************** Subject: FW: ESTIMATE FOR BOTH AXLE



FOR 1996 ACCORD

SHOP CHARGES ARE NOT TO EXCEED 25.00




Sent: Friday, April 6, XXXX X:04pm
To:Subject: ESTIMATE FOR BOTH AXLE

estimate for repairs are 3.0hrs at 95.00 per hour

total labor charge 276.00 plus shop charge.

thanks again,


************
**************
********************
Savannah, GA XXXXX

Main Number (***)XXX-XXXX
Direct Number (***)XXX-XXXX

Fax Number (***)XXX-XXXX

Business' Final Response
The additional information provided by the customer has been forward on to our stores District Manager for review. Once reviewed our District Manager will contact the customer at the phone number provided in his complaint.

Complaint Resolution: Company failed to resolve the complaint issues through BBB voluntary and self-regulatory process.

Page 1 of 2
07/03/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A week ago, I purchased a product on the O'Reilly shelf ( ********* store ) called************, which is a specific for ALL electric cleaning (that it was NONCONDUCTIVE).I used it to clean my master switch panel in my Lincoln Town Car. The RESULT: the product totally damaged the master switch panel and door window motor. I sent thesepeople a polite e-mail, requesting that they have their insurance carrier contactme. That was not good enough for Mr. *********. They had a man who claimed to be (1) the District * Manager, and (2) an electrical "guru". ( " YEAH!!!!", ******* said to me: " I have ALWAYS LOVED ELECTRICAL THINGS " ). When I used the cleaner product, it created a short-circuit, the whole panel got too hot to touch, and smoke roiled out of the switch panel. I thought it was going to burn my car up in a conflagration. ANOTHER MAN, a **** *******, BULLIED AND HARASSED me on the telephone. He wanted to play me CHEAP, and wanted to BULLY ME into taking a door motor, and just going away with my little problem. After that, I called the Corporate office, and a woman named ***** ****, PROMISED she would take care of EVERYTHING. When I called ***** **** back, she REFUSED to speak to me. This woman even gave me her personal number. Terrible, dishonest people.
Product_Or_Service: ************

Initial Business Response
**. ****** used the product incorrectly and tried to clean out a switch, which it is not intended to do. We have,out of customer service, given him a switch and a motor at our expense, and offered to file a labor claim with the manufacturer for him. At this point we have gone above and beyond to try and help this customer.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)

NO I DO NOT ACCEPT.

O'Reilly's response, is one that is
TYPICAL of the way they treat their
customers, historically.

" Above and beyond " is just another
lie, and deception. I said, at the beginning, what the problem was, and that
I POLITELY asked that they have their
insurance carrier contact me.

I never asked for ANYTHING from this
outfit that constituted ANYTHING more than a
a telephone call to their insurance carrier.

But, I will say again: this is TYPICAL of
O 'Reilly.

I took the time to read approximately 50 (
FIFTY ) complaints from Oklahoma customers,
Florida customers, Missouri customers, with complaints ranging from a $******* dollar car engine, to a $**** dollar light bulb.

In almost EACH AND EVERY CASE, there was an initial LIE, and continued DECEPTION about what O'Reilly told the customer would be done, then, O'Reilly's complete FAILURE to handle the situation, and then BULLYING the customer, when the customer, like me, would not just "go away", with whatever these people want to dole out.

ABOVE AND BEYOND ?

No. They are going to handle my problem,
because I, also, am " not going away ".

O 'Reilly Auto Parts has a business model that is totally set-up on evasion of responsibility, lies, deception, and BULLYING.

Again, my answer is NO !!!!

No deal, ********* MUST repair my car. They can make ************* handle this, through them; or they can handle this through their insurance carrier, or they can handle it through petty cash. HOWEVER: I am NOT taking my problem, and " just going away ".

I am NOT going away. I have spent THOUSANDS of dollars in their stores, but they DO NOT CARE.

I can't make them care. But, they WILL repair
my automobile.

*** ****. ******, ***
****************

Date: June 20, 2014 10:40 p.m.






Final Business Response
As said in the previous response, we have provided the customer with the parts that he has asked for. We have went above and beyond our responsibility trying to help this customer. We will not offer any more.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
O'Reilly Auto Parts, is a company which has built a fortune on LIES, DELIBERATE DECEIT, AND UNDER DELIVERY. They handle customer satisfaction problems, as if they have no idea who is buttering their bread.

I said earlier, that I cannot make them care. Of the fifty - plus complaints I read, of customer complaints in three states, the theme was the same:
ONE: Make the customer a promise that everything will be handled, and that the
customer will be treated as a human. Then: TWO: The company flips on the customer, and treats the customer like a criminal or troublemaker. Either through intimidation, or through scamming the customer, or BOTH. THREE: Then, when the customer decides not to just "walk away", then, the BULLYING starts, and company jokes, like NICK SCIMECA, have the miserable job of BULLYING the customer, and perpetrating lies, on a public forum like the BBB. Well, I have another solution. One that will embarrass **. *********. They have scammed the WRONG citizen.

*** H. E. ******, Jr.
****************













Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that while the company addressed the complaint issues, the complainant was dissatisfied and the matter was outside BBB Rules of Arbitration.

05/28/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid ********* plus a ******* core for a rebuilt motor and had someone install it. The motor did not run right at all & the mechanic said it was a bad motor. O'reilly sent out an inspector who told the mechanic the motor was bad but then according to **** **** at ******************* (part of Oreilly) filed a report saying the motor was fine. After trying for days to get help from the Oreilly store, then the ************ customer service (10+ calls) I got nowhere. Both actually said "I dont know what to tell you") Not being able to get a straight answer from anyone I was finally forced to pay another ****** at the local ***** dealer for an objective 3rd party diagnostic and straight answer. Of course they found the motor to be defective. After getting this news I thought OK, now that I have proof, surely they will replace the motor. No such luck. Even after all of this *** **** @ ************ said the ONLY WAY for me to get a good motor from them is to take the motor out again, ship it to them, they will inspect it and if they find it to be defective will then send me another. Because they have been so unethical and untrustworthy I am very uncomfortable with this, I could wind up with nothing. They have already inspected it and said it was fine. This is a newly rebuilt motor with no miles on it. It doesn't run and they wont replace it. What happens when a motor a year old fails? There is no way I would ever get justice. I cant get anywhere on a motor I never even used! Their warranty and customer service are a joke so I no longer want a replacement I want a refund + the diagnostics cost.
Product_Or_Service: rebuilt motor
Order_Number: ***********

Initial Business Response
O'Reilly Auto Parts apologizes for the issues you have had with the engine you purchased from us. Per your request we are willing to issue a refund for the engine and core charge. We will do this at the store when you bring the engine to that store and it will need to be refunded to the same credit card that it was purchased with. We will send the engine back to the company that remanufactures them and open a claim. If they approve the claim and deem the engine as a factory defect we will then issue you the remaining **** for diagnostic fees that you are requesting. If it turns out to not be a factory defect then we cannot reimburse the ****. Please visit the same store that you purchased the engine at and see store manager ******, he will take care of this for you.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
It is way too late for that. It cost ******* to have the motor installed, I had to pay again to have it diagnosed by *****, then pay to have the defective motor removed then pay again to have a good motor reinstalled. Your customer support should have handled this at the local level. They made it impossible for me so I had to handle it myself because after 2 weeks I could not get anywhere with ****** or ************.
After I finally got it taken care of I filed a claim against O'Reilly with my bank and only then got a response saying you would replace it - 2 weeks too late. I should be suing you. A lifelong customer of ****** - then O'Reilly but at this point will never go there again and neither will anyone I know.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company made a reasonable offer to resolve the issues, but the consumer did not accept the offer.

03/20/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On sat 2/8/14 call store at 6:43 pm about a part and if it was in stock and if they price match ******** on same part. I was told yes and went to store to get part and tool. I made the purchase and left. As I was getting close to the house started thinking about the price I was charged and call back to store at7:23 pm and the older guy that answered the phone what had happened that the guy that helped me didn't give me price match. He gave the guy that helped me the phone and we discussed that he didn't give me the price match and if he could make the adjustment over the phone and I would come later to the store at a later time to get difference. He said no that I had to come back up there. So I went back to the store and as the guy was trying to make the adjustments, the older guy was trying to tell the younger guy how to make the adjustment , he looked over at me and asked why did I do a price check on a part after bought it and left. I told him that I had already called about the price match before I had even came to the store and that I thought the other guy had already made the call and done price match. I told him that I had already explain that to him on the phone before I arrive back at the store. He said nothing and walked off . The younger guy was going to do the price match but after thinking how the older guy approached me. I told him to give me my money back and that I would go to ********. The older guy should have asked the younger if I had had asked about the price match before I got back to the store. Not call himself chastising me about the price match that he had no knowledge about. He was out of line to talk to a customer like that

Initial Business Response
We will pass this information along to the district manager for further investigation and corrective actions. All matters will be handled internally and the results are not disclosed to the public. Thank you for letting us know what happened and we will handle this from here.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I talked with the district manager **** ****** on 3/18/14 and he advised me that he just found out about the situation . And I told him that ****** had told me that a complaint form had been filled out and that he would be calling me. He told me that he had seen ****** and that he had not said anything about what had happened. Frankly I don't think anything will be done about it at all. I personally believe that it's a good ole boy attitude at oriely and nothing will be done about it. The only reason I got contacted was because I contacted the better business got involved. They had ample time to call me and they didn't . I had made several calls to the store and talked to the employee ****** twice before and told that someone call me .

Final Business Response
I have sent a copy of your complaint to the district manager along with your contact information. The employees will be coached at the store level.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

02/24/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: see Attached document
Click Here to Get the File
**************************************************************************.pdf

Initial Business Response
We apologize for any of the inconvenience that this matter with your engine has caused you. We will need to know more information on this matter such as what was damaged so that we can work with you on possible resolutions. If you would please contact Customer Satisfaction at Phone# 1-800-******** we would like the chance to speak with you on this matter so this can be addressed appropriately.

We look forward to hearing back from you.

Thank you,


Consumer Response
BBB comment - Attached is the repair bill from the consumer for engine repairs made by ***** Auto Repair, Inc., ***************., Round Rock, TX *****. Phone # 512.********
Material Used
Piston Ring set 253.42
Head gasket 660.00
Head Bolt set 120.00
pko(? cannot read) 110.00
Oil pan gasket 41.38
Total 1275.80

Removed Engine Assembly 700.00
and overhaul 900.00
Total Labor 1600.00
Total Parts 1275.00
Accessories 45.00
Gas, Oil, Grease 45.00
Tax 112.61
Total Amount 3077.61

Date on Repair Order 1/25/14


Business Response
O'Reilly Auto Parts apologizes for the inconvenience and frustration that this matter has caused you. A Claim has been filed and the engine was shipped to the Manufacture (claim # ******) to be diagnosed. The Manufacture thoroughly inspected your engine stating that the unit has been correctly built and all components are within factory specifications. The Manufacture could not find any factory defects so the claim has been denied.

We were contacted by you stating the oil pump screen was damaged shipping the engine back to you. We offered to replace the oil screen pump as a goodwill gesture but you declined our offer. Based on the fact that no manufacture defects were found your claim for reimbursement has been denied.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I ***** **** do not agree with the decision you took. The motor was not in good condition because when I bought the motor,It worked well for 3 months, then the motor started throwing blue smoke. At the moment of turning it on,the motor started having a knocking sound. I then took it to a mechanic who said that the motor was bad on the valves and piston rings. It is not fair that I payed over $3,000 to get it fixed when the motor has a warranty of 3 yrs. I many times went to O'Reilly's so that they could hear the noise the motor was making and they never came out to see. Thei is and I have proof of the motor getting fixed. I also have fotos of the motor damaged when shipped back with many parts damaged. Also have some of when the motor was taken apart.If you have any questions to this situation,you can call the mechanic who fixed my motor at 512-********. What I want is for O'Reilly to be responsible for the costs of the motor getting repaired. Now that the motor has gotten fixed, it is working very well than before and I am no longer hearing the sound it made. I would like for O'Reilly to reimburse the money I paid and that I had to borrow and now I owe back. I only know how my truck was failing because I have had my truck for years. So when I took it to O'Reilly's,they should have came out to see what was going on. In the moment of getting in a vehicle,you know and feel when it is working or not. Also,**** **** told me that they no longer wanted to invest in the motor. Do you think it is fair that after paying $3,400 for the purchase of the motor and then paying another $3,000 toget fixed,I not get reimbursed? Also,O'Reilly has said that they have sent me a letter which I have not received by mail and they have not tried communicating with me either. So to my conclusion,what is the use of having warrany when the part doesn't even get covered?

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

01/21/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Inappropriate behavior by customer service personnel

Complaint: ***** the manager lied to myself and my mechanic about having the parts ordered. And laughed at both of us over the phone. Was rude and snide
***** the manager of said part store ensured to my mechanic and myself the customer the spindle wheel hub assembly was one part. Then order and received half the products needed to repair the car. I was quoted **.99 for the part. Then she rudely says she could charge me 180 for the part. While awaiting the second part she took it upon herself to send the first part back. Never have I been treated so disrespectfully by a store manager. She was laughing at me and found it amusing she sent the part back. She is trying to open a commercial account with my mechanic *************** Repair. Which they were considering, but their customer service is so poor. The manager is apathetic to customer service issues. She needs to he replaced with some who cares about customer shops and values their job.

Initial Business Response
We apologize for any inconvenience that this matter has caused you and for the poor service that you received. I can assure you that we will be addressing the service you received at our store. After reviewing this matter our records show that you are not the purchaser. Unfortunately we are not able to compensate on this matter due to the fact that you are not the purchaser.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Doesn't help me I already paid them for the job. The fact is the customer service is a mudslide

Final Business Response
Unfortunately we cannot assist you do to the fact that you are not the purchaser. I can assure you that we have worked with our customer *************** Repair on this matter. Again we apologize for the inconvenience and frustration that this matter has caused you.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

Page 1 of 9

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Parts & Supplies - New

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.