BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 11/01/2013

Modern Motorcars

(417) 881-3080View Additional Phone Numbers1856 N Deffer Drive, NixaMO 65714Send email to Modern Motorcars

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 11/01/2013

BBB has determined that Modern Motorcars meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Modern Motorcars' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Modern Motorcars

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
09/26/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased a 2004 Corvette via the internet/phone, and the car was delivered with major mechanical problems not disclosed. Reimbursement not as prom.
On May 22, 2014 I purchased a 2004 Corvette from Modern Motorcars via email and phone calls. The sales process was enjoyable, and I have nothing negative to say about any interactions with the staff. As the car was purchased sight unseen, the salesman and I were very clear about the condition and status of the car because I was unable to test drive and see it in person. ****** the salesman, assured me that each vehichle the sell is mechanically sound and road ready. He was very proud of the quality and service the dealership provides. We discussed that the car has no current mechnical problems and is ready to pass a TX state inspection based on the parameters I'd given him. The transaction was completed through ******* Credit Union, and a check was sent to Modern Motorcars for the full amount. I paid a transport company **** on ******** to bring the car to TX. 2 parts to the vehicle's problem of condition. 1. Upon delivery, the car's horn was not functional, the rear tires were under 2/32" tread, and there were no catalitic converters - ALL are required to pass inspection. 2. The reverse gear (manual transmission) was failing to engage as it should. I informed Boone of the problems after taking the vehicle to a specialty mechanic garage. I received estimates to have the transmission repaired as this was the major problem with the car, and my biggest concern. After forwarding the estimates of repair to Modern Motorcars, the owner *** called me. He told me that he had 2 options - 1. He could send money for the repairs, but we'd both unsure of other furture problems that would arise. or 2. He could send purchase amount back to the Credit union, and reimburse me the **** that I paid the transport company. He said he prefers # 2 so that he could avoid any other problems I'd have with the car, and that his shop could complete repairs and re sell it accordingly. I agreed. He did infact send the bank check back, however, I have yet to receive **** refund. At this point it's cost me **** to attempt to buy a car that was not drivable. That's not acceptable. I've sent a series of emails and text messages as I did during the purchase and have not received the reimbursement as he offered. I believe enough time has passed for me to ask for help from you.

Desired Settlement
As stated ubove, I've been promised full reimbursement for the purchase of a car that was not road ready upon delivery. The over given to me by ***, the owner of Modern Motorcars, was to payoff the loan and send me a **** check to pay for the transport cost. His words were "I'd rather get the car back and send you what you're out for the transport cost, than to pay for the repairs and risk anything else coming up in the future." At this point, I have not received the payback in the amount of **** for the COD transport cost. Please help me get my money back. At this point, it's cost me **** for nothing. As reputable as the delearship displays itself, I don't think it's a lot for me to ask them to uphold their offer and promise.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *** ******** Owner
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ***@modernmotorcars.com
It appears that this has been overlooked. *** Sr., our sales manager did come to find out promise a reimbursement for transport. We will send this out immediately. Simply an inter-office oversight.

07/21/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The vehicle was advertised to have a CB. It does not have one.


This shows what they sold us.

2005 HONDA GOLD WING
*TRIKE CALIFORNIA SIDECAR EDITION 6K MILES
More Sharing Services
Preowned Inventory ‣ Motorcycles ‣ 2005 ‣ HONDA ‣ GOLD WING
Photos
1 Pictures

Click to View Large Image
View Large Image View All Large Images
Vehicle Details
Make and Model
Type Motorcycles
Year 2005
Make HONDA
Model GOLD WING

Exterior / Interior
Doors 4
Exterior Color Silver
Mileage and Type
Mileage 6,422 miles
Title Clear
VIN 1HFSCXXXXXAXXXXXX
Stock # XXXXXX


Seller's Vehicle Description
2005 HONDA GOLD WING TRIKE WITH ONLY 6K MILES.

REVERSE, FULL AUDIO SYSTEM, CB, FULL FAIRING, CHROME WHEELS AND MUCH MORE.

PLEASE CALL FOR A FULL DESCRIPTION OF THIS TRIKE.

CALL XXX-XXX-XXXX TODAY TO GET MORE INFORMATION OR TO BUY THIS VEHICLE TODAY.

MODERN MOTORCARS IS OWNED BY *** ********.

WE DO TAKE TRADES. MATTER OF FACT, WE WANT THEM
WE OFFER FINANCING. WE CAN BEAT MOST RATES/TERMS
WE HAVE WARRANTIES AVAILABLE ON EVERYTHING WE SELL
WE WANT YOUR VEHICLE EVEN IF YOU DON'T BUY FROM US
MODERN MOTORCARS IS FAMILY OWNED AND OPERATED
ALL PICTURES AND A HISTORY REPORT ARE AVAILABLE AT WWW.MODERNMOTORCARS.COM

WE ARE LOCATED 3 MILES SOUTH OF SPRINGFIELD ON CAMPBELL/160 HWY AT CC HWY. JUST 2 DOORS DOWN FROM ********** PIZZA

Modern Motorcars, Auto Dealers Used Cars, Nixa, MO

Desired Settlement
CB. Honda *******
$ ****** to install.

********* Total including tax

This is the price quoted by ***** of The ******
**** E **** St
Springfield, MO XXXXX-XXXX
(XXX)XXX-XXXX

When we paid ******* for the vehicle it was our understanding it came with the equipment they advertised. We feel we should be compensated by this amount.

Business Response
There was a mistake in the listing. The motorcycle was pre-wired for a CB. It had CB buttons and controls, but no modular. He spoke to the salesman, and they could not come to a resolution. Mr. ***** consulted an attorney, and we are willing and will be reimbursing a portion of the cost to Mr. ***** per the agreement made w/his attorney. It was a mistake on our part, and we apologize. I have been delayed in responding to this complaint, because I have been in the process of moving and I have not been in the office.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
They have not provided any payment as of 10:20 am 7-14-2014.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/29/2012Business started: 01/01/2006
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Don R. Hunsaker (Owner, Member)
Number of Employees

7

Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Alternate Business Names
Hunsaker Enterprises, LLC

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Modern Motorcars

1856 N Deffer Drive

Nixa, MO 65714

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1856 N Deffer Drive 

    Nixa, MO 65714(417) 881-3080
    (417) 848-8298

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southwest MO. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Modern Motorcars is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (417) 848-8298
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - Used Cars

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.