BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 08/01/1984

Roper Buick GMC

Phone: (417) 625-5500Fax: (417) 625-5537

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues3
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints5

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (5)
11/02/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

We were there all day and being two women I believe we were taken advantage of and everything was not explained properly. The price of the vehicle was more than it was worth and having good credit it was not explained to us that it was 18% because the vehicle was priced for more than it was worth also there were two sticker prices and we thought it was the lower one which was closer to the value of the vehicle. I checked with other dealers and they advised me to contact you because it was the worst car deal they had ever seen. What can I do.
Product_Or_Service: Kia soul

Desired Settlement
Contract redone for the value of the vehicle instead of 6000.00 more than it was wort and interest rate correction

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Jack *****
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ******
In order to set things straight.
This vehicle was purchased at ***** *** and the contact info is as follows:

***** ***
*** ** ******* ***
Joplin, MO. 64804
The proper contact person is : Jack *****

Upon my review of all the sales documents it clearly shows that all terms were clearly reviewed with the customer(s). Including the price of the vehicle, the trade in allowance and finance rate. The negative equity in the trade, of course has to be refinanced and included in the deal. We have an addendum posted on all our new vehicles, which clearly indicates the additional dealer mark up we have. As far as the claim of being taken advantage of because "being two women" is preposterous at best. Our demographic of customers is predominantly women. And besides that's unethical and illegal, and we DO NOT operate that way. As far as any dealer saying it was the worst deal they've seen: I'd say they haven't seen this deal correctly. Looks like as a dealer, after paying the salesperson a minimum commission, I LOST $106.95 on the deal. I see no grounds for any type of complaint here. No settlement will be considered or entertained.
I would however be glad to supply the customer(s) with our attorney information if they'd like to discuss further.

10/07/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

I took my 2014 Kia soul to roper body shop for a estimate to fix the back of my car where it was rear ended they gave me a estimate of *********** insurance company came out and gave me a estimate for ******** they sent me the check once roper found out how much it was i had to pay the ******** to get my car back now they are saying the insurance company owes them another ******* they almost doubled the price for the same repairs i have a copy of the first estimate and i compared it to the invoice they gave me when i picked up my car they added a lot more labor hours to it ,it was not major damage it was one small dent and they replaced the bumper.

Desired Settlement
I dont think they should be able to charge more for the damages after they gave me a estimate for ********* think they should have to refund the money to the insurance company or me. I would not of took my car to them had they told me it was going to be ******** instead of the ******** they did not tell me until i went to pick it up on 8/21/2014.

Business Response
In response to case #XXXXXX:

Roper Body shop wrote an estimate for Ms ******'s vehicle in the amount of ******* We received an estimate from the insurance company for ******** and verified a check had been sent to the customer for that amount when the car was dropped off. We performed the work the insurance estimate specified.

When we disassembled the vehicle, we discovered the rear bumper reinforcement and its brackets were damage. This was not on either estimate, as it was hidden until the other parts were removed. We took photos of this additional damage, contacted the insurance company, and they agreed to pay us directly for it.

The bumper reinforcement is crucial to the vehicle and occupant's safety, and has to be replaced it it has incurred any damage.

When the customer picked the vehicle up, we requested the amount originally paid to her by the insurance company, as we had done said repairs.

Our standards are to do all work specified on the estimate we are working off of, and to charge only for the work performed. We did not do anything dishonest, and were doing our best to repair this customer's vehicle back to pre-accident condition.

However, upon a review of the file and estimates involved, we discovered we were paid to paint the replacement rear bumper cover, when in fact it is a part that does not get painted. We will reimburse the cost of labor, materials, and tax for this to the insurance company **********

***** ********
Manager, Roper Body Shop
808 Illinois
Joplin, Mo 64801

07/07/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

See below.
I went to turn in a free raffle ticket for a chance to win an **** Mini, and subsequently approached by a salesman offering to at various cars, and even test drives. I finally agreed to look at and test drive a car only, this was around approximately 6:30p.m. I was kept there and did not end up leaving the building until around 10:30 p.m. well after the 9:00p.m. closing time. I repeatedly stated and asked both ***** ******* (Sales Consultant) and ****** ****** (Business Manager) that I was hungry, tired, and that I wanted to leave. As I was leaving the dealership, the salesman joked he would treat me to dinner and handed me two ***** gift cards to two different fast food resultants. The dealership never asked for confirmation of income or completed any type of financial background check other than a credit check. I am on disability and only draw ******* a month. Less than 24 hours after I returned home, I attempted to return the vehicle to the dealership and was eventually told by the financial company if the dealership agreed the loan would be de-funded and the contract would be cancelled. After many attempts to contact all three business managers the general manager and the owner of the dealership, I was repeatedly told the deal could not be undone. I have been diagnosed with Asperger's, Major Depressive Disorder, and Dysthimic Disorder. The day I visited the dealership was only to enter the raffle. Purchasing a car was the last thing from my mind. I am not the type of individual that makes quick or impulsive decisions. I had recently been prescribed one new medications that I realized after the fact that made me extremely agreeable to things I would not normally be agreeable to. Once I realized the effect it was having on me, I discontinued that medicine. The dealership refused to work with me to correct the deal they had somewhat forced me into. The dealership also refused to allow me to have access to my trade in vehicle. I am requesting assistance with getting out of this contract. I feel that this dealership misrepresented themselves as "dealer for the people" and took advantage of someone who is disabled. The dealership staled, lied, and misrepresented what was able to be done. I request someone from the BBB contact me for assistance in this matter. My phone number is XXX-XXX-XXXX. Thank you.

Desired Settlement
I would like to request that the remainder of the money owed, is not my responsiblity and that this be removed from my credit report.

Business Response
Please correct Submitted information.
The Dealerships correct address is 320 N. Hodgdon Road and is Roper KIA and the contact person is **** ****** I have spoken by phone and in person with Mr. ***** and explained that he entered into a legal, binding contract by signing contracts and agreements to purchase a vehicle. Also NO ONE at my dealership "made" him purchase a vehicle. He was free to walk away at any time. We do not use high pressure sales tactics here. We do however ask people for their business and fully explain what they are getting into before they purchase and sign contracts. Upon his visits back to our store the contracts had been approved by the lender and finalized, and the trade in sold. At this point of explaintion, Mr. ***** voluntarily "turned in" his vehicle to the dealership. Even at the point of being advised to not do so by myself and my staff. We then had no choice but to report that to the lender. The lender then has full legal right to exercise the terms of the contract that involve re-possession of the vehicle and a subsequent report to Mr. *****'s credit. It is very unfortunate the he is claiming / blaming medication and our staff for a error on his behalf. Even if he claims to have limited income, his circumstances still allowed him to qualify for a car loan. and again no one made him purchase the vehicle or forced him to sign anything. At this point this issue is over with from the dealerships perspective. Mr. ***** is welcome to contact the lender, however its my experience that they will hold the same position that we do.

12/27/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

installed after market cruise control on new vehicle, voiding warranty.
on 09-06-13 went to roper kia, purchased 2013 kia rio with stipulation it had to have cruise control, salesman said they would put it on vehicle. traded in 2014 nissan versa with 7800 miles.they added $***.00 to list price of vehicle. on 9-17-13 cruise control was added, when i went to pick up vehicle it an aftermarket cruise control on side of steering column.I sat in vehicle and could not see the cruise control, tried driving the vehicle and could not see the cruise control, very dangerous. On 9-19-13 went back to roper kia and told them this aftermarket cruise control voids the warrant which kia america says it does, and that it devalues the car and is very unsafe. Roper kia said they would take the cruise control off, i said the cruise control was part of the deal and they should of told me that it would not be factory on the steering wheel. One of the managers said we can trade you in another car, well for $**** more, i said that was unacceptable.I asked for my trade-in vehicle back and they said no.Now i am stuck with a vehicle with aftermarket cruise control thats unsafe, devalues the vehicle and voids the warranty. Kia america said they should not of put that on the vehicle. Roper kia did whatever it took to sell a vehicle knowing full well that this would void the warranty, they should of advised me that this vehicle can not have factory cruise control installed.

Desired Settlement
I either want another car that has everything the vehicle i purchased has and factory cruise control. or my trade-in vehicle back, or the equity i had in the 2014 nissan versa at the time i purchased the kia rio.

Business Response
Spoke with our New Car Sales Manager here at Roper KIA. His statement was that a solution was offered to the customer for the installer to correct the issue and make it easier to use, or to remove the install completely. Price add for cruise was more than fair. Cruise install doesn't void warranty of the vehicle. Customer stated to our Manager that he was talking to a lawyer and was going to seek his own advice. At this point the customer has tied our hands from being able to assist further. No further discussion of solution is in order at this time.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Kia america stated this aftermarket cruise control voids the warranty.This also reduced the resale value of car. They did offer to take it off, but when i fist discussed buying the car the deal was i had to have cruise control. I also asked for my trade in vehicle back and was told no. I have yet to see in writing that this aftermarket cruise control does not void the warranty, show me that!

09/23/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

I went in with an AC problem and check starting system light. They said they figure out what was wrong and I said fix and I will pick it up.
He called me and said the battery was bad so that why the check starting system light came on. Then he said the relay on the AC was bad so I told him to fix that too. I went up to pick up the car, started the car and the light was still there. I sat there for another two hours and he said its was fixed. I asked him what was wrong and he said some wiring was off. I was out of town so when I drove back the same two problem came back on. I guess all he did was reset the code or something.

Desired Settlement
I want my money back since they didn't fix the problem. Also now my car will need more repair since they told me it was fixed already.

Business' Initial Response
BBB comment - Company called BBB office and states they will mailing a check to the consumer today. They called the BBB office for address verification of the consumer

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.