BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 04/02/1984

Republic Ford Lincoln

Phone: (417) 732-2626Fax: (417) 732-6307

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues3
Problems with Product / Service2
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints5

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (5)
06/30/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Print media but not on camera
We purchased a new 2015 Ford Explorer XLT from Republic Ford.

The price before rebate shows ******* on the paperwork. The online sales price was suppose to be ******* for the vehicle. If you take the rebates off the ****** it would be ******* I am unclear why the discrepancy in addition to the in house funded credit (new vehicle bonus rewards of ******** could not have been applied. IF they had applied that would bring the price to ************** still not the ****** online sales price. The total amount financed is ********* which also includes the admin fee.

I know it was not added into my trade in either because the ****** is what **** told me he would give me prior to the rewards balance. They said they gave me the **** new rewards credit but it is not showing that in the numbers in addition I still have it in my new rewards account. If they took it off the price I would like to see how they did it because it is not on my paperwork and again I still show the money in my new vehicle awards account..why would they not take it out if they credited it to me. IF they in fact did give it;why do I still show the money in the account.
The finance manager first acklodedged and said they would move it over to my service rewards. I have emails showing this.
I need assistance with this.

****** *****

Desired Settlement
Paid the **** by check or moved from the new vehicle rewards to my service rewards.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** **** General Mgr
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@republicford.com
We appreciate Mr ***** and the business he has done with Republic Ford over the recent years. It is unfortunate that we have this misunderstanding but I have explained to him that the extra savings he is requesting was given to him in a discount from the dealership. The numbers he refers to from the online Explorer was different than the one he bought. I also mentioned that their would not be any credit shown on the paperwork because it was discount from the dealership. I do acknowledge that his *** is still in his rewards account and it is available towards another purchase but only towards sales and not service. I have tried to go over this with Mr ***** several times that he did receive the credit and that the deal he received from us was very very aggressive and he knows this because no other dealer in the area would touch the deal that was offered to him. The extra savings from the in house promo enable me to give him the exceptional offer that he took advantage of. Mr. ***** is a Police officer here in town and we did everything we could to make his buying experience the best we had to offer. Once again it is unfortunate that this occurred but I simply cannot help him any further. Thank you

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
.

03/24/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Republic Ford Lincoln has lied about VIN ***************** 2013 Ford Explorer XLT. As we drove over 700 miles to buy this Ford Explorer and it has none of these options as listed.439 - Dual Panel Moonroof - $******** - Wheels: 20" Polished Aluminum - ************** P255/50R20 AS BSW61N - Radio: Voice Activated Navigation System - ************ in-dash screen, single CD/MP3 player, SD card for map and POI storage, SIRIUS Travel Link includes 6-month pre-paid subscription 48 contiguous states. Service not available in Alaska/HawaiiUG - (0 P) White Platinum Metallic Tri-Coat - ******* - Trailer Tow Package (Class III) - ************ Engine Oil Cooler, 4.7 Pin Wiring Harness18P - Power Liftgate - ****
Product_Or_Service: 2013 Ford Explorer **************
Order_Number: ********

Desired Settlement
If would be nice to get the price of gas back $***** round trip.

Business Response
Better Business Bureau
Case#: XXXXXX

From Republic Ford Lincoln,

First, we want to apologize for the inconvenience the ***********'s experienced with our dealership. Understandably, there was a high level of frustration when it was discovered that the online website information about the 2013 Ford Explorer did not match the actual vehicle stock number that was displayed online.

Again we want to express our apology and our actions to hopefully prevent this from happening again in the future. In addition we are sending the ***********'s a reimbursement check for ****** to cover their gas expense traveling from Omaha, Nebraska to Republic, Missouri with intention to purchase a vehicle.

We have discovered the problem that caused the website listing on the 2013 Explorer to be incorrect. We put all vehicle inventory into a computer software program that identifies detailed information on each vehicle. The description and features of each vehicle is different and identified by code numbers and letters within the V.I.N number. Due to unknown reasons the descriptions pulled on this vehicle were not correct. Unfortunately, it wasn't until the customer pointed out there were differences in the description online and the actual features on the car.

Please be assured we did not intentionally try to mislead the customer. We have addressed this problem with the software provider and expect they will do all that is necessary to prevent this from happening in the future.

We appreciate your concern and we are doing everything possible to prevent an occurrence from happening again.

10/20/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Zero customer service.
i purchased a 2011 f150. i engaged the "mykey" feature. Now i am unable to disengage mykey as the truck was sold to me with one key. When i contact the dealership i am told i just have to buy a new key. The service department is NOT friendly either. The gentlemen who sold me the truck called me not long ago for his follow up about the vehicle but really wasn't interested in helping. I emailed ford.com and they just told me to contact the dealership which is now ignoring me. Also, when i bought the vehicle, it had about 1/4 tank of fuel. I know dealerships aren't required to fill up the vehicle upon purchase, but when you drop more than 20k on a vehicle, that would sure be a nice gesture.

Desired Settlement
an admin key that shouldve been provided during the initial sale. Should have provided the knowledge of the trucks features before i drove off the lot.

Business Response
Will call the customer and offer to get him a new key so he can shut the mykey off.

02/10/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We requested a vehicle with the backup package the salesman said it would have it, was delivered and it did not, dealership will not make good,
The car we wanted was not on the lot, they said they could get it. They had us fill out all paperwork ahead of delivery. When we picked it up the salesman was demonstrating the features, and then said "oh no", ***** is going to be mad. The car did not have the backup package. *****, my husband call and spoke with the salesman who advise that they would take care of it and made an appointment with "*****" to get it installed. ***** as the salesman "this will be the same, it will have the lines and make the beep beep noise", the salesman response was "it should". two week later ***** installed and when we picked it up it was only the camera and not the sensors as well. The salesman knew what we wanted, made multiple mistakes and then did not follow through. What is worse he had us sign the docs advising all features were there on the car, prior to the car showing up. We called and spoke to the sales manager Trent and this has been a week since he advised he would see what he could do and call us back, and big surprise no call.

Desired Settlement
I want what was promised and have the backup package with the sensors installed.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** *****, Office Mana
Contact Phone: **********
Contact Email: ******@republicford.com
I would like to first start by apologizing for this situation and wishing we could go back to the first day the customer was here. Our goal is to be a benchmark dealer in this area and have the community's trust and maintain a solid reputation, so situations like this are upsetting to hear about.
Having read both the responses from the ****'s on the Ford Survey and the BBB response, and then having interviewed **************** and ************ about the situation, I have come to understand the situation as so:

The ****'s originally test drove a 2014 model with a backup camera, but they decided the payment was too high on that particular model, so ***** found them a similar vehicle but in the 2013 model year and with a few less options. ***** and ***** went through the window sticker line by line and had the customer sign off on all the options since the vehicle was not on the premises to look at in person. However, when the vehicle arrived it was clear that the ****'s were under the impression there was a backup camera which they voiced to *****. It was then determined that the $650 backup camera would be installed at the dealership's cost. The backup camera, however, did not make the sensor notification beeps like the ****'s wanted and they are now requesting the additional $400 sensors to be installed.

I have concluding that splitting the cost on the $400 sensors would be reasonable if that is acceptable with the ****'s. I know they are requesting the full amount to be covered by the dealership but because there is evidence that the window sticker did not show the backup package and the dealership already made a good faith effort to install the camera, a split seems rational. If that is not acceptable, I urge the customer to contact me directly so we may begin speaking face to face about it. Being a local customer, I would truly like to earn back their trust and maintain a relationship with them.


Final Business Response
Lydia came by the dealership today and picked up a PO to take to ****** and have the sensors installed at our cost. This case can be marked as resolved.

01/19/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We were extremely dissatisfied with our purchase and felt taken. We tried resolving the issue, but were blown off by the manager.
Bought a used car for our 16 year old son around March 10, 2015. The car is old and has miles, but we were repeatedly assured it was a safe car for a new driver and that it checked out great in their garage. It is expected that an old car with miles will have some issues, but we trusted that it was safe and reliable based on what *****, the sales manager kept telling us. We have had the car for about 9 months and only driven it around 1000 miles. The car is falling apart and has so many issues, the repairs total the same amount we paid for the car. We went back to talk to terry about making a reasonable deal with them. Tried to give them a chance to make things right. We don't want a refund. We don't want them to repair the car. We just want them to take it off our hands and put my son in a safe vehicle. ***** was not willing to spend any time with and pawned us off on one of his salesmen (who was clearly embarrassed by******). The salesman told us to go higher up, which we did. My husband emailed the general manager, who basically blew us off. They have no interest in trying to meet us somewhere in the middle and get my son into something safe and reliable after selling us a car that they won't even buy back from us at a fair price. Very disappointed and annoyed by this lot and will not do business with them ever again. We didn't even dignify their offer with a response, as it was too offensive.

Desired Settlement
Our goal was to reach a fair trade agreement that would get our son into a much safer and reliable used vehicle. The dealership is only willing to give us half of what we paid for the car. We felt it was fair to trade as close to straight across as possible, but they're not willing to come anywhere close to meeting that. We were treated like we were just coming in to make a trade. Not like we were coming in to make things right. This car is not safe. Thankfully we caught the fact that it was sold to us with a bad tie rod before the tie rod broke with our son behind the wheel. Unfortunately, this is not the only issue with the car. The issues total to over $4000.00 on scar we paid $6500.00 for. We were never interested in taking the car lot for a ride. We only wanted them to make things right. We feel taken, cheated, and lied to. When we confronted them, they attempted to take us again.

Business Response
12/30/15

Dear Mrs. ****,

Regarding your concern with the mechanical problem that has occurred with your vehicle. BBB Case XXXXXX

We want you to know that our sincere effort to inspect and make them road ready every vehicle we offer for sale. We base repairs on the guidelines required to pass *** Missouri State Automobile Inspection Act. If we find basic maintenance issues that need repaired we fix them giving both the customer and the dealership confidence the car or truck is safe to drive. Older vehicles with higher accumulated miles can present situations that cannot be recognized during a normal inspection.

We again, apologize to you and your husband for your feelings that we were not trying to help you to the fullest of our ability. We have a very limited number of vehicles at the price point of your vehicle you purchased. Although you may not have considered our suggestions viable options, we were trying to help you to find a vehicle that would be satisfactory for you and your son.

Every customer we work with is important to our business and we want happy satisfied customers when a deal is done. We don't always have a perfect solution when a mechanical issue arises such as did in your situation.

Sincerely
*********
General Manager
Republic Ford Lincoln

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.