BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Southwest MO

BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 05/01/1991

Reliable Toyota Lexus BMW Audi Scion

Phone: (417) 889-9000Fax: (417) 889-6446

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

16 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues5
Guarantee / Warranty Issues3
Problems with Product / Service8
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints16

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (16)BBB Closure Definitions
06/02/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation misrepresented the product

Complaint: Dealer has owned car from day one. Vehicle has been wrecked ($8,000 worth) yet this has not been reported to Carfax, etc.
My sister and I went to look at 2013 Toyota Camry (*** 4T1BF1FK7DUXXXXXX) that showed "Certified" on Saturday, May 3. After test driving car and talking for 1.5-2 hours, my sister wanted to proceed with purchasing. Before paper work was signed, they came back saying they "failed to look at car's folder," and it wasn't a certified car. There had been small damage ($8,000!) so they could not certify. (Keep in mind they have owned from day one). We left that day very upset. I called back the following Monday asking when they were going to remove the "Certified" label (and they finally did). I'm curious as to when they will report the damage to the appropriate organization(s). Sadly, they are waiting to drag someone through the same process in hopes they will eventually overlook the repairs. This car would be very difficult to sell when it's labeled wrecked. This isn't a simple case of overlooking the details. This is intentional. They do not overlook a car that has damage when someone wants to trade it in.

Initial Business Response
The vehicle went through the certification process and met all physical and mechanical requirements. The technician that did the certification did not know the car had prior damage. The prior damage was only discovered once the vehicle file was pulled and the prior damage information was notated. This information was disclosed to the customer at that time. Many vehicles have prior damage, from slight to more severe and it is our policy to disclose all known prior damage at the time of sale. Contrary to Mr. ******'s claim, it was not intentional. Cars with prior damage are priced accordingly and as long as the damage has been properly repaired they do not need to be sold deceptively, as Mr. ****** claims. We apologize for the inconvenience.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I will not dispute that the damage information was disclosed to us, but my point is this should've never hit the lot as certified. Furthermore, disclosing all information means telling us the minute we walked on the lot to inquire about the car (that's been owned from day one!). If the technician didn't catch it, that's fine. However, the Carfax shown on the Web, as well as in the car, is 3,000 miles old. This is no accident that a current Carfax does not show an accident reported. Dealers look for every possible thing to take away trade-in value, but a car owned by them is simply overlooked? I understand there is a lot about vehicles we may never know because people can manipulate things. Again, the is a dealer-owned car and this should have never happened. The fact the dealer apparently knows nothing about the cars placed on their lot (until someone is signing to purchase) is scary and all potential customers should take note.

I'm not asking for any kind of future compensation or discount because my Corolla's service will be moved elsewhere. I'm simply asking for honesty. And, I do not feel this was 100% accurate. Thank you for your response.

Final Business Response
I do not dispute that the disclosure should have taken place up front, unfortunately it did not, for whatever reason, our apologies. The issue has been addressed internally. The facts are, the damage was disclosed but the timing could have better. We have been in business 23 years and this was a rare occurence. If he has had no issues with his service prior to this we would appreciate the benefit of doubt and his continued patronage.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

09/30/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Product Quality Complaint Issue

Complaint: Poor Miles Per Gallon less than what was sold.
The MPG is much less than others are reporting and less than what was sold when I bought the vehicle. There is no way to get Toyota corporate to listen to the complaint since they always forward you back to the dealership. The dealership has done all they can to find a mechanical issue and cannot find one. I still have never gotten closer to 4 MPG to the HWY rating on a good day. If the vehicle will under deliver then please say so before allowing a tight budget family to purchase and believe the lies.

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ************
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *************@vtaig.com
The estimated MPG is printed on the factory window sticker. It is determined by government mandated testing. Many variables can affect the MPG such as vehicle condition, driving habits and type of driving. The dealership does not set the estimated mileage. Mr. **** might want to examine his driving habits or take it into a local Toyota dealership and request someone look at the vehicle to determine if their is an issue with the vehicle. Since he lives in Florida it is difficult for us to assist him.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

04/22/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Contract Complaint Issue

Complaint: I leased a car in June 2012. I was told there was a way to get out of my lease and the options I have found are not getting out of a lease.
My sales rep was *********. I am leasing a 2012 **************. I lost my job at the beginning of this month. I contacted the dealership to see what my options were for getting out of my lease, because the sales manager told me there were options for getting out of my lease.

I was told by the finance department that I could lower my payments to **** or I could let the car be repossessed by ****************. I was told that I would take a hit on my credit, but that would be all.

When I called ****************, I was told that to have the car be repossessed it would cost me $1000 processing and that they would sell the car at auction and come after me for the difference, in addition to taking a huge credit hit, and advised that I should sell the car or have someone take over my lease.

I put an ad on ***** and put an ad on ********** to try to sell the car. I then contacted my original sales associate to see if he could find out any more options for me. He told me he hit a brick wall at every question and could not get any information from anyone.

None of these options are getting out of a lease, like I was told was an option. It doesn't make any logical sense for them to come after me for the difference of the car at auction when I'm not buying but leasing the car. That's like coming after someone who is renting a house for the total amount of the house.

Today I left a message with the business manager at Reliable Toyota about the situation. I do have someone coming over today who is interested in taking over the lease possibly.

I need help. I need options. I don't have a job right now. I put ***** down on the car as a deposit. I don't understand why no one is telling me more options for getting out of my lease. It doesn't make sense.

Thanks,
*************

Business' Initial Response
Unfortunately, *********** signed a lease agreement and she is responsible for fulfilling the terms of the agreement contractually. Her lease is with ************************* and other than obtaining the payoff for the ***** and then selling the vehicle and satisfying the loan agreement I do not know of any other way to get out of her obligation.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Call it being lied to. Call it being misinformed over and over again. If your employees tell me I can lower my payments to **** and then I find out it isn't possible, that's a lie. A lie is telling someone something that isn't true. It's not that that person or any person involved in this has intentionally lied to me, but I have had to talk to a lot of people to get the truth of what I actually have to do.

I was told I could sell the vehicle by ****************. I found a buyer. I got all of the paperwork in the mail. Today I found out that I can't just sell the vehicle. I have to buy the vehicle before I can sell it. Please explain to me how it is possible for you to buy me out of the lease agreement when I have to buy the car first. According to ****************, the only person who can buy the car is me. No third party will be issued the title. Only I can be issued the title and then I can sell the vehicle to someone else.

Now, you may not be intentionally lying to me or the better business bureau when you say you can buy out my lease agreement, but according to the information I found out today the only person that can buy the vehicle is me. So either you don't have all the necessary information or you've been lied to or misinformed or **************** is lying to me or misinforming me of what is possible for a third party to purchase the vehicle.

But I can't just sell the vehicle like I was told and advised to do by people from Reliable Toyota and ****************.

Business' Final Response
I have nothing more to add. We are closing this case.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

04/01/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior service

Complaint: Oil filter was not replaced on oil change.
Money not being refund.
oil change on 03 camry always overfiled after changing oil. Had oil changed on toyota truck
charged for oil change and new filter checked
after done same old oil filter steel on truck.
They said they would refund the bill.This was
Feb.14 2013.I called back March 14/2013.
I would like a responce or a check in the mail.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ************, CRM
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: *****************
Dealership shows record that the filter was in fact changed during the customers requested oil service, however, in the interest of customer satisfaction the customer was refunded their cost and offered to bring vehicle in to have another service performed at no charge. Check was mailed 3/26 and Mrs. ******* was notified.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

10/15/2012Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor service under the terms of warranties

Complaint: Advertised "Tailored Seat Cover" for my vehicle with a lifetime warranty (total warranty). Seat cover ripped (wear) - they will NOT honor warranty
I purchased a 'tailored seat cover'for my 1988 Toyota pick-up on 04/24/1995 from Reliable Toyota of Springfield, MO. They advertised this item to have a 'Lifetime Warranty' ('Total Warranty'). I purchased said item on 04/24/1995 using a Dicover Credit Card in the amount of $158.92. Item/Part/Description is "NPPER-FORMA-NCE SEAT COVER" (blue in color). The seat cover ripped from use approximately 1 month ago. I attempted to return and have said item replaced during the week of Sept 24, 2012. I was told by employees of Reliable Toyota (parts dept.), that the manufacture of the item is no longer in business and there is nothing they can do. They also stated that it had a 'limited' lifetime warranty. I showed them that, no where on the advertisement or receipt does it mention the word 'limited'; only the words "Lifetime" and "Total". However, they did state,'... if I would like to purchase a new seat cover in the amount of $200, with a 2 year warranty, they would gladely order it for me...' I find this not only to be misleading, unscrupulous and of a dispicable business practice, but totally unacceptable.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: *****************
Contact Phone: **********
The seat cover the gentleman is referring to was purchased 17 years ago. He would need to contact the manufacturer of the seat cover to seek warranty coverage. We did not offer any warranty on the product.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

Page 1 of 2
06/26/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation not consistent with the written agreement

Complaint: Not honoring a reservation for a rent a car.
Late last year my husband made a reservation for a van to be rented in July 2014. ***** sent us an email reservation stating total of ********
On March 4,2014 my husband spoke to another lady and everything was ready to go. On June 12, 2014 my husband called and spoke to ****** the manager of the rental car area to find out that he would not honor the reservation we had already booked.
He even told my husband that Sonya was no longer with the company. He was not willing to give us the first reservation but was willing to increase it by ******** He also stated that the mileage would be .25 instead of.20 . Our first reservation stated we had free mileage. On the companies website it states .20 a mile as well. We asked to speak to the manager of the dealership only to get transferred to his secretary. She was the only person that we talked to that was kind on the phone. She was going to pass everything on to ******** *** who was a customer relation manager. After several hours of waiting, 3 phone calls from us to them ******** *** called back and stated they could not do anything, but give us a later return time. We feel that this is a bait and switch, the only way we would have known about the increase in price would have been when we arrived on the picked up day and could not have done anything about it. A large company like Reliable should just eat the **** for the mistake that was made by one of their employee. The bad reputation that they will receive is not worth ******** Poor customer service, poor customer relation experts, and horrible human beings for trying to extort money from families.

Initial Business Response
The customer called for a reservation last fall and rates were quoted based on rates then. The reservation rate quoted was ****** including sales tax. This did not include additional days or excess mileage charges. Our posted rate clearly states how many miles are alloted and anything over is .20 per mile penalty. The mileage penalty was recently raised to .25 but the information on the website was not updated. The customer wanted us to honor the rate quoted but provide unlimited mileage for a round trip to NY. I apologize but demand for vans during the summer vacation months are always more than we can accomodate and we simply cannot rent one at the rate quoted and provide unlimited mileage. The website information is being updated today.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
There was no apology, " I will not honor the rate previously given to us by someone that no longer was employeed by the business was the statement of the manager of the rental department. I have a written reservation from March 4 2014. I tried to give the associate a credit card number to hold the reservation but was told on 2 previous occasions that it was not necessary that the van was not in stock yet. New vans were being sent to the rental area. The first written quote on March 4 2014 was for a total of ******** It was then changed ( on June 12,2014)when I called to make sure of the time for pick up. I would consider this a bait and switch. I would not have been informed of anything unless I would have called. To my surprise on pick up day that the prices would have changed and I would have had no other option to use the van because of no way to make other arrangements on such short notice. What poor business practices.

Final Business Response
The written reservation from March 4th, 2014 did not state that it was for unlimited mileage nor did it state ******* as Ms. ****** claims. I've included a copy of the email sent that day.

RELIABLE TOYOTA RENT A CAR
3521 E SUNSHINE STREET
SPRINGFIELD, MO 65809
417-655-9709

****** ***CONFIRMED,
*******
MO
XXXXXXXXXX
********@CLASSICNET.NET
CONFIRM. NO.: XXXXXXC BOOKED DATE: 03/04/2014
RENTAL VEHICLE
Pick-up date 07/09/2014 05:00 PM Unit type/description IVAR / INTERMEDIATE VAN
Return date
Total Days
07/18/2014 05:00 PM
9
Agency code
Total Miles 0
Unit XXXXXX
Description Total
1 Week(s) @*************
2 Day(s) @************
0 Charged Mile(s) @0.20 0.00
SALES TAX (7.60%) *****
Total Charges ******
Total Payments 0.00
Balance ******

Our vans are brand new and our rates are more than competitive. I hope this clarifies any confusion.



Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Please see separate email with documentation of the original rate ******* sent 3/4/2014 for the reservation of the rental van. Since this process has began we have canceled our reservation with Toyota. We do not need to do business with a dishonest dealership lacking integrity in honoring a prior reservation agreement. Even with written documentation the dealership is still wanting to deny that ******* was the quoted rate and refused to honor that rate. This is why I would consider this a classic bait and switch. It is a shame that a multi-million dollar business has to swindle hard working honest people for their benefit.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that while the company addressed the complaint issues, the complainant was dissatisfied and the matter was outside BBB Rules of Arbitration.

05/09/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor service under the terms of warranties

Complaint: Reliable toyota refuses to honor the warranty on the used car we purchased February 18, 2014.
On February 18 my husband and I purchased a 2000 Jeep Grand Cherokee from Reliable Toyota Used Car Center. The vehicle had a 3000 mile warranty. Three days after purchasing the car I was driving it and it died in traffic. I immediately called the salesman, ****, to tell him what the car did. I told him if they dont fix it, I just want my check back and they can have the car back. He assured me that the warranty would fix the problem.

**** gave me the number to ***** at the Audi dealership to make an appointment. I call ***** *******. I took the first appointment that she had available. The day before my appointment my daughter came down with the flu and I moved my appointment to the next available appointment after that. When I brought the car in they had it a couple of hours and then called me to say that their computer will not produce a code giving any indication what is wrong. they also could not get the car to reporduce it. They sent me on my way.

The car continued to do the same thing. I spoke to ***** again on april 18th. She told me that her mechanic was no longer with them, therefore they can not work on the car any longer. She said I would have to start the process over with the service center across the road. Then she told me she did talk to someone that was giving the guess that is was a wiring problem with the ECM.

On Tuesday April 22nd. My husband went into the dealership to have them fix the car. When he got there he was sent to 4 different people at the dealership, but while he was there they would not look at the car. They told my husband that he would have to take it somewhere else to get the car fixed and refused to help. That same evening I went to Toyota and spoke this time to ****, the sales manager on duty. **** was very understanding. He called the mechanic to see what was going on with the car. I heard him tell the mechanic that if the car is having that problem then it is dangerous to drive and we need to fix it. **** assured me that if we brought the car back to him on April 25th he would get the car repaired. I even agreed I would pay the deductible, but he said that I would not need to.

My husband called the dealership the morning of the 25th to let **** know what time he would be there with the car. When he called he found out **** was no longer with the company and was told that since he is not here, they will not help with the car. I called the dealership and to talk to the person filling in as the sales manager which was **** ***********. He was in a meeting. I told his secretary what was going on and that it was very important that I speak to him. I left my name and number and said if I don't hear back I will try later. Within the hour **** ************ called back. He was very defensive. I told him I was just trying to get his help. I told him that we bought the car from them and we are just needing help in getting it fixed. He had pulled my file and he read to me what the complaint was with the car. I told him that what he read to me was not what I told ***** the car was doing. He got very aggitated at that point and stated: that if I can't have a civil conversation then it can end now. I said to him that I am very calm. You are the one that is aggitated. I told him that I was just looking for Toyota to have the intergrity to help me with this car. He got even more aggitated and told me that his mechanics have no way of finding out what is wrong with the car. He continued on to tell me that if I wanted the car fixed then I need to go to the Jeep dealership or a mom and pop shop to have it fixed.

We still do not know what is wrong with the car because they refuse to find what is wrong. They can't even tell me that it is not covered under the warranty because they refuse to diagnose the problem even though I have to pay for the diagnosis time.

Initial Business Response
The customer purchased a used 14 year old Jeep, with well over 100,000 miles for a little more than $*****. The vehicle was a new car trade with exceptional service records and a clean ****** report. All of this was disclosed to them before purchase. It was sold with a 3 month or 3,000 mile limited Powertrain Warranty. They complained of an intermittent problem of the engine dying. We looked at it, scanned it, was unable to duplicate their concern but none of which would have been covered by the limited 3 month, 3,000 mile limited warranty. We did not sell this as a new car with full warranty and that is apparently what they expect. It is not uncommon to find issues that need addressed when purchasing a vehicle with that many miles or that old. Unfortunately the prior owner does not tend to disclose these types of things when they trade them. We experienced no problem during the trade appraisal or during the reconditioning process. Ms. ********'s description of our phone call is inaccurate and she failed to mention the threat she made to harass me with repeated phone calls until I fixed her vehicle. That is the message she left for my assistant.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not accept the response because it does not address my complaint. My complaint was that they can not tell me it is not covered under the warranty since they refuse to diagnose the problem. The looked at the car once and refused to take in the car after that. We were actually told that they do not have the means to find out what is wrong with the car and told us that we need to take it to a jeep dealership or to a mom and pop shop that has the ability to find the problem. In order to tell me it is not covered under warranty they would need to diagnose the problem.

As for the statement of our phone conversation the respondent is either misinformed by the assistant or blowing it out of proportion. I said to the assistant that I needed to talk to **** *********** and that if I don't hear back that I would try again later. Nothing more. I'm sorry if she misinterpreted that as something more. The assistant was very nice and polite. **** was the furthest thing from even respectful for the moment I answered the call.

Final Business Response
I said in my earlier response that the customer's concern was not covered by the limited 3 month, 3,000 mile powertrain warranty. We did not need to look at the car repeatedly to know that. It is reasonable to assume that there are certain risks involved when purchasing a 14 year old vehicle with well over 100,000 miles. The FTC Buyer's guide clearly addresses this and the customer signed it and received a copy.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
As States before he was can not tell me what is wrong with the car in order to say it was not covered under warranty. They stated to me they put it on the computer and it did not throw a code then they gave it back to me. They refused to investigate further. By refusing to investigate they can not indefinitely say it is not covered. If he can tell me what they determined is wrong with the car and show documentation of such (with proper dates and my signature) then I will be satisfied he can say it is not covered. I have not seen such documentation. If they refuse to find the problem then they can wait out any limited warranty and not honor it.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that while the company addressed the complaint issues, the complainant was dissatisfied and the matter was outside BBB Rules of Arbitration.

01/10/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought my used 2005 Honda Pilot from Reliable Toyota. When they sell cars they do an oil change. When it was time for my next oil change I took it to Honda where I have been getting my vehicles serviced for years and have a great relationship built there (my previous car was a Honda as well). From the previous oil change (done by Toyota) the drain plug was the wrong length and as a result the threads came out. I tried to call Toyota (it was Christmas Eve) and the managers were in a managers meeting that I was told could last one or three hours. I was leaving town and both Honda and Toyota closed at noon that day. If I were to have left Honda my vehicle would have been leaking oil. I spent 252.87 to get this fixed. Prior to authorizing that I called Toyota at least three times but there was no one available with any authority to help me. Since then I have been trying to get in contact with the service manager to see what should happen next. Finally got in contact with her today where Honda was blamed for the oil leak. She also said they cannot reimburse me because they would have to do repairs in their shop at their discounted rate. In the state of my situation, no one being available, and the shops closing early I did what I had to do.

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* *******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ********@vtaig.com
The customer purchased 2005 Honda Pilot on 08/19/2013. The vehicle went through an inspection process which included and oil and filter change. The drain plug used was the drain plug that was used with the vehicle when it was traded in to us. The vehicle was sold with a 3 month 3000 mile limited power train warranty which covers the power train only. Customer was offered a 24 month XXXXX mile mechanical protection plan which was declined by the customer. We did close on Christmas Eve at 12:00 p.m. to allow our employees to be able to spend time with families and friends for the holiday. While we are sorry for the inconvenience on Christmas Eve the customer authorized the work at the Honda dealer therefore is responsible for the repair. We do not feel that we need to reimburse the customer for any repairs. Before the delivery of any pre-owned vehicle the customer has the right to have the vehicle inspected by and independent mechanic of their choice at their expense. As stated before the drain plug was the same one on the vehicle when it was traded to us.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I'm going to say the same thing, as has Toyota. When you get a vehicle if it is not the correct size plug (oil, or drain, whatever it is, I'm not the mechanic)then a shop with integrity would have corrected that issue before selling the vehicle. The risk was not in buying a used vehicle, the risk was taken when the oil change was done at Toyota.

Final Business Response
The customer purchased an 8 year old Honda with a 3 month or 3,000 mile power train warranty. The customer experienced no problems with the vehicle until they took it in for an oil change at Don Wessel. The technician at Honda apparently stripped the threads when removing the plug, certainly not our fault. As stated before, when we did the initial oil change the drain plug was not changed, it was the same one on the vehicle when it was traded to us. The customer claims it was an improper oil plug yet she had no problem with the drain plug, leakage etc. prior to her oil change. An improper drain plug would not have sealed properly. I am sorry that she has an issue with her vehicle but part of buying a used vehicle is taking responsibility for needed repairs since there is no warranty.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

12/30/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Service Complaint Issue

Complaint: procedure on receipt not done on vehicle
Maintenace of oil change, tire rotation with multipoint check done 12/3/13. We are jappy with that & happy with ****** ******* who waited on us. We also told them about a rearview mirror problem that is under warranty & that is in process of being dealt with. But our paynent receipt of $**.26 for the oil change included "it is not recommended to stack floormats on the drivers floorboard to avoid pedal interference. For your safety we have removed your extra mat and placed it in the trunk of your vehicle." This is not true! We did not have an extra mat on any of the flooring area; let alone in the driver's side! When asked today on the phone (Dec 6, 2013 about this; (******) said it cannot be taken off their system & off our paperwork as it is in their system this way; & he said this is routinely done all the time. He said Toyota makes them put that on the paperwork. But our complaint is: we do not want any untruths in our paperwork as though it was done on our vehicle. We have a 2010 Venza & our customer number is: ******

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ************
Contact Phone: 417-********
Contact Email: *************@*****.com
It is a generic statement to all customers that Toyota does not recommend the stacking of floor mats because it can cause pedal interference. I will review Ms. ****** invoice to see if it says something specifically about her vehicle and if so we will correct it. The statement is printed on all invoices. It is not accusatory and is not meant to offend anyone, it is simply there to inform customers.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We are happy he said they would change the wording on future paperwork from them. Yet,we felt the phone call from them on the 24th was rude and the caller was upset from the beginning and there was no listening to explanation of complaint. Even though he suggested toward the end of the conversation to use a different service provider, we had decided ahead of time that if there was no appropriate response to our complaint, we would do that anyway. The original statement he quoted is not the only one that was on our paperwork but he never acknowledged that. Ours included the saying that we 'did' have an extra mat in our driver's side and they removed it and put it in the trunk; which was the only reason we had a complaint in the first place, but I guess he didn't understand that even though it was repeated on the phone, besides being in the original complaint. We are sorry there was not an understanding on this and he would have told us that they would change the wording and accept the responsibility for some wrong wording on our paperwork we would have no problem.

Final Business Response
Toyota ************, USA recommended that we put a reminder on EVERY repair order that using more than one floor mat can be hazardous and has asked us, the dealer to inspect every vehicle at time of service to make sure that two mats were not stacked on top of one another. If we find that condition we are advised to remove one of the mats and place it in the trunk of the vehicle. So, we printed the warning and a notice saying that if two mats were being used, one was removed and placed in the trunk. This is the first complaint we have received in regards to this and we have revised our wording to say, "If" this condition exists, we have removed a mat and placed it in the trunk. I have also advised the customer that they have another Toyota dealer close to them and that maybe the other dealer can do a better job satisfying them as a customer.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

08/07/2012Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation misrepresented the service

Complaint: I want to share an experience I had at Reliable Toyota in Springfield, MO. My husband had wanted a Toyota Tacoma for some time; I decided that I would surprise him at Christmas with a brand new vehicle, something he has never had. I went to the dealership on 12/16/11, knew what I was looking for, the salesman was really nice and said that he did not have one on the lot but that they could get one brought to the dealership. I explained that it was a Christmas present for my husband but that I would not need the vehicle until 12/30/11, as that was when my children would be in for our Christmas. A person from the financial part of the dealership came out and ask if I wanted to go through Toyota to finance the vehicle, I told him no, that I wanted to use my credit union from where I worked. He asked about the interest rate I was going to receive from the credit union and I convinced him that I was going through my credit union to finance the vehicle. I talked to my salesperson on 12/27/11, I ask about arrangements from my credit union; he said that the dealership would expect payment upon my arrival to pick up the truck. I explained to my sales man that I was in a catch 22, that the credit union was not going to release the money until I had the truck and the dealership was not going to release the truck until they had the money, I ask what I was to do. My salesman assured me that he would get the finance department involved and that he was sure that my credit union and their people could get something figured out.
I had started to Springfield (I live two hours away, in North Central, Arkansas) on 12/28/11 when I received a call from a man names, "****** ******", who said Mrs. ****** I understand you are trying to buy a vehicle from our dealership. I said yes sir, I sure am. He asked loudly, why are you not going to finance through Toyota? I explained that I like my credit union. Mr. ****** proceeded to tell me that he was only making a $100.00 over the dealer cost and that he was not going to sell me the vehicle. I said what are you taking about do you realized that this is a gift to my husband to two days and that I do not have time to find another vehicle at this time. Mr. ****** again said I am only making $100.00 over the cost and it is not worth it to me to sell you this vehicle. I said sir can I talk to your manager, he stated "Mrs. ****** I am the owner of this dealership". I explained that I did not understand what was going on that the deal had already been made, again he ask if I wanted to finance it through Toyota, I said no, I want to use my credit union, I have been preapproved and the money is there waiting for me to find the vehicle. He went on to say that he is not selling the vehicle. He said that my "good" credit union had caused them nothing but grief and that he was not making enough money on the vehicle to put up with it.
By this time I am mortified and crying, this man had told me at least 5 times that he was only making $100.00 over the dealer cost, and that he was not going to sell me the vehicle and has made several attempts to make me finance the vehicle under Toyota. Crying, I ask Mr. ****** what I could do to be able to get this vehicle for my husband before Friday (two days), he told me that I had two options, that I could finance the vehicle through Toyota or have a check for the vehicle there today, he said Mrs. ****** I am not going to let you take this truck to Arkansas with payment. I explained that the credit union is a financial institution could overnight a check or send it electronically, again he said why you don't just finance it through Toyota and this will be all over. I ask if he had talked to my credit union, Mr. ****** said "no, and I don't intend to", ( I was not sure how my credit union had given so much grief is no one had called them). Mr. ****** then said "Mrs. ******, if I were to sell you this vehicle, what kind of working relationship would we have after the conversation we have had today (swallowing my pride) I said " I guess it would be a working relationship". He then said he would speak to my salesman and would call me back, then he hung up on me.
About an hour after this conversation by salesperson call back and apologized, he said a very important man would be calling me in a few minutes, I ask him who could be more important that the owner of the dealership. He assured me that this man would call me back. Approximately 1 hour later a man by the name of Matt ******* called and stated "Mrs. ******** do you still want the vehicle, we do not want to pressure you into buying anything you do not want", I explained whether I wanted the vehicle was never the issue that it was the owner of the dealership that tried to force me into financing under Toyota and that he needed to work on his customer service skills. Mr. ******* said it was all a misunderstanding; he had received the wrong information from two of the salesmen. I explained that he should never try to force someone to finance through Toyota.
Devastated, I called both of my son's; I couldn't call my husband since it was a surprise to him. My sons were both upset and did not want me to buy the vehicle. I explained that I wanted Dad to have this new vehicle for Christmas. To tell the end of this long horror story, I did not buy their vehicle but I had put $100.00 down for good faith because Reliable Toyota had to find this vehicle from other dealership, currently I have not been able to get that refunded.
I have been working since December to get my $100.00 "good faith" money refunded but this has not happened to this date. I am submitting this letter now in hopes, what I went through will never happen to another female who is trying to secretly buy a present for their loved one. I also want it to be know about the amount of pressure I experienced to finance a vehicle through their specific dealership.
Sincerely,
****** ******

Business' Initial Response
When Mrs. ****** ordered the vehicle, we told her upfront that we would expect payment at time of delivery. When the vehicle arrived and it was time for her to take delivery, she wanted to pick up the truck without paying for it. We explained to her again that we do not deliver vehicles until we receive payment and we gave her the option of either getting her financing thru Toyota Financial Services or waiting on a check to be issued by her credit union. She did not want to do either and so we simply told her that we had no other options to offer. She became irate and so we mutually agreed that this was a bad business transaction. It is true that we sold her a truck for $100 over invoice in an effort to earn her business. We did not refund her $100 since we spent more than that to transport the truck she ordered. Mrs. ****** has not tried to contact anyone since that day in regards to her $100 deposit.

Consumer's Final Response
When I ordered the Toyota Tacoma for my husband I already had been pre-approved through my credit union as I had stated in my letter. It does not take a rocket scientist to know that a person cannot purchase an item without paying for it; I never intended to take the vehicle off the lot until an arrangement had been made with my credit union. I guess if crying is considered ''irate'' then I most definitely was irate, but I would say I was more mortified that something like this could happen. I did not agree with ****** ****** on any type of bad business transaction and he was right, I had no other option if I was not going to finance through Toyota. I have no idea about how much the vehicle was over invoice. What I can tell you, is that when ****** ****** refused to sell me the vehicle that had been transported to his dealership; I bought a 2012 Toyota Tacoma in Fayetteville, AR that same day and drove it home.
The response said that I had not tried to contact anyone since that day in regards to ''her $100.00 deposit''. On 1/20/12 I contacted Toyota's customer experience center at X-XXX-XXX-XXXX, my reference number is XXXXXXXXXX, and I was advised to contact a ****** ****** at Reliable Toyota which I attempted. I then called the Toyota customer experience center back in February and was told that ****** ****** would be calling me back within 24 hours. I personally talked to ****** ****** on 2/24/12 who said that she would investigate and report back her findings. I have not received a response since.

Business' Final Response
I was unaware that Ms. ****** had spoke with
****** ******. Regardless, Ms. ****** knew the terms before she placed the order and knew that she would need to pay for the vehicle before we could delivery it. Why she chose to try to do
otherwise I do not know. We do business with allot of credit unions and I have never heard of a credit union telling a consumer that they need
to have vehicle first before they would issue a check. Ms. ****** had several options to choose yet she insisted on the one option not available. The $100 deposit has been forfeited, (per the sales contract) to help pay the cost of acquiring a vehicle that she requested and contracted for.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.