BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 09/01/1984

Reliable Chevrolet Inc.

Phone: (417) 887-5800Fax: (417) 887-0861

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

28 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 13 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues9
Guarantee / Warranty Issues4
Problems with Product / Service15
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints28

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (28)BBB Closure Definitions
04/20/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Bought a vehicle that had a bad engine salesman even agreed
I'm requesting a complaint against Reliable Chevrolet in Springfield,Mo I purchased a 2005 Mercury Mariner on January 2015 the problems began in March 2015 I had the oil checked at ***** **** in Mountain Grove,Mo it was 3 1/2 quartz low every week since then I have had to put 2-3 quarts in a week. I purchased a limited warranty with the vehicle that was suppose to cover all internal parts and after them confirming it wasn't leaking any oil they said they would have to take the motor apart and see what was happening because it was burning the oil and I would have to pay ***** to do this to determine if the warranty would cover the engine the warranty cost me an extra ***** I took the vehicle back on 4/3/15 being told they vehicle was a lemon that they was going to replace it with something else I spent 5 hours there and drove my Mercury home and still waiting on Monday the 6th tosee what's going to happen

Desired Settlement
Just wanting a reliable vehicle to replace the lemon I got sold the first time

Business Response





Dear Ms. *********




I have looked into the concerns raised by Ms. *******. As Ms. ******* states in her complaint to your office, she purchased a 2005 Mercury Mariner from Reliable Chevrolet in late January of this year. At the time of the purchase, the vehicle was 10 years old and had 107,426 miles. Her car, as of the last date of her visit to the dealership's service department, Ms. ******* has added an additional 4,175 miles on it. I am sorry that Miss ******* is having troubles with her vehicle.




As with any older, high mileage vehicle purchase, there exists a known assumption of risk that the vehicle will experience mechanical failure simply due to normal wear-and-tear. And, while a service contract can help to offset some of the expenses associated with upkeep and repairs, for high mileage vehicles, there are certain restrictions that apply. In the instance of Ms. *******'s vehicle, one of the restrictions is that if a breakdown of the engine to diagnose the oil consumption issue is required, under the terms of the service contract, doing so assumes a financial risk she must be prepared for in the event the failure is not covered under the terms of the service contract. It is important to note that if the failure is covered, then the cost of diagnosis would also be covered. As it stands right now, Ms. ******* is conducting an oil consumption test wherein she will check, top off and record the oil used in 500 mile increments for a total test drive of 3,000 miles.




Ms. ******* mentions in her complaint that she recently came to the dealership and asked if we could trade her out of the Mariner. Unfortunately, for reasons that she has been made aware of, and for reasons she knew prior to visiting the dealership with the thought of trading out, her circumstances have made it impossible for her to trade excepting a full cash purchase.


Again, I am sorry that Ms. ******* is in a very complicated situation; however, there is nothing more that the dealership can do other than to continue at this time with the oil consumption test.

-****
Customer Services / Compliance
Reliable Chevrolet, LLC

04/06/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
they are refusing to honer the warranty,
i dropped off my car to have the transmission fixed about 2 months ago. they keep the car for two weeks when i picked it up the moment i pulled away from the shop there was a loud grinding noise and rattling. i took it back they told me it would go away if not bring it back. the car still making that noise plus now its shifting really hard.I called this morning to take it in supervisor ***** ***** told me i was not welcomed there anymore. I asked why not he would not give me an answer he just kept repeating to take it to a different dealership. I also asked who made this decision he wouldn't tell me that either. This is not the first time I have had issues with them were they say its fixed when i pick the car up its not the same problem is still there. Last year i brought the same car in for a dead battery they told me it was fixed when i turned the key in the car would not start. When I bought the car I was pressured called many times over and over the phone until I gave in and bought it the sales manager very loudly kept repeating in front of other customers "WE HAD A DEAL!!"while pounding on the desk.At this point I felt that i as being strong armed plus he made me feel like I had to buy it because they let me keep the car over the weekend and I had put 150 miles on it. I gave them $*** in cash the minute I did that when i had questions no one would pick up or call me back. This people have talked down to me been rude to me over the phone and in person. i have talked to many people in town that have dealt with them and all of them tell me they have similar bait and switch stories of there own. I am covered by the manufacturers warranty for 36K miles and the car only has 10K there should not be any issue on the coverage.

Desired Settlement
I want to be treated with respect and have my concerns heard. I want my car to work am not asking for anything other tan for them to honor the warranty i purchased.

Business Response





Dear**************




We am familiar with the issues Mr. Morales brings up in his complaint to your office. Albeit to say that a while back, and due to events and issues that are known between us and Mr. Morales, dealership management made the business decision to refuse future service to Mr. Morales and his girlfriend. For any business that opens its doors to the public, this is the type of decision that should never be made lightly or in haste and such was the case in this instance.




As the owner of a Chevrolet vehicle, any warranty claims by Mr. Morales may be made at any of the other area Chevrolet dealerships.




It is the prerogative of any business to, for good cause, refuse service. We have elected to exercise that right. To that end, and to the extent that Mr. Morales, by the points he raises in his complaint to your office, clearly has issue with our dealership, it would seem only natural that he would elect to go elsewhere for future assistance with his vehicle.

02/09/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My son and I saw Reliable Chevrolet's commercial on T.V. about bringing up 10 cans of food for their food drive. We thought that was a wonderful idea and would take advantage of it, since it was time to change the oil. To me it was also that we would be going north of Detroit very shortly so the van would be at least a 3 1/2 to 4 hour wait. We turned in our 10 cans food, received our coupon for an oil change to come home in Branson , MO for we didn't have that many hours to wait up there.

Our appointment was for 9 a.m. on Nov. 22, 2014 with a good 2 hour wait even with the appointment. When the car was being checked in I told the man that I wanted the oil filter changed also with oil change. He told me that they would take the oil filter off to be checked and changed if necessary. I informed the man that my father taught me to always change the oil filter whenever the oil was changed. It only costs just a little more with the extra dollars being will spent. The man informed me again that they would check and if the oil filter needed to be change they would. I told him that my father had taught me that the oil filter could not be used again if removed. The oil filter would not seal properly and could not be used again. The man just looked at me a d repeated that they would take the filter off and check if it was clear. (He might have said "clean" instead of "clear".) I told him again that I wanted a new oil filter. I asked approximately how much a new oil filter cost with the reply that filters were different prices and would let me know when the oil change was completed. I told him that that would be fine and I would pay for a new oil filter for I wanted the oil filter changed along with the oil.

The oil was finally changed and I was with ***** ** ***** to finish the paper work and pay for the new oil filter. I was informed that the oil filter was taken off, it was clean/clear and it did not need to be replaced with a new filter. I told ***** that I spoke with the other man at check-in and that I had told him 4 times that I wanted the oil filter changed along with the oil and air filters with every oil change. This I have made sure that the oil and air filters were changed! Jason kept on telling me that it was not done for they took the oil filter off and checked it.

A couple of days later we noticed that there were oil leaks on the drive-way in front of the garage. The car is always in the garage at night. The garage door is 180 feet from the street and the van is never, ever parked of left way out there.

I caught a cold and not able to come back as quickly as I would have like to have done. The 2nd trip with appointment to Reliable Chevrolet was on Jan. 6,2015 for 9 a.m. and arriving just before 9 a.m. I explained to the young man about the oil leak and that we were told that the oil filter was removed found to be clear and not replaced with a new oil filter earlier as I had requested. I had bought a brand new 5 quart jug of Castrol and a new oil filter. I would like to have the oil and oil filter changed today, please. This is all I would like to have done to the van. The proper oil filter and container of Castrol were on the counter. I was referred back to Jason D. Moore. The approximate 5 quarts of oil that they put into the van had leaked out since November 22, 2014 with another 5 quarts of oil my son put in also being leaked out, for approximate total of 10 quarts of oil for the van. With that much oil going through the oil filter I was sure that the filter would come out clear. Jason said they needed to do a "walk around inspection". We were called out to the garage when the walk around inspection was completed.

The information, Invoice XXXXXX, from the walk around inspection made the van sound like a piece of junk. My son checked under the motor when the van started leaking, the only place he could find any oil was on the oil filter itself. The information on the Jan. 6th paper also states that there is oil leaking down, but does not state from where nor could Jason or anyone else tell us where it was leaking down from.

***** ** ***** showed me the coupon for the oil change and it included the oil filter. He told me that the oil filter was changed when there is an oil change always. I informed him many times that is not what he told me on the last visit and saw him as well as when we came in to have the oil changed originally. They removed the oil filter and it was clear or clean and did not need to be changed. I tried to convince him that may times but he kept lying. Jason called a lady, Dixie, over to speak with us. She told us that they always change the oil filter with every oil change. That was fine but I didn't know they did that for this was the first time the van had ever been in their garage. Dixie gave me a very stern lecture about changing the oil filters. I have known all my life that the oil filter had to be changed with the oil. This is what my father had taught me, it could not be re-used after the oil filter had been removed for the seal was broken! Again Dixie told me about the changing of the oil filter. I told her again Jason telling us about the oil filter being removed, checked, did not need a new one so they did not install a new oil filter. I had requested a new oil filter and I would pay for it at first visit. Why didn't the first man remind me about the oil filter being included with the change? Not an answer.

I know that ***** told me on Nov. 22, 2014 that the oil filter had been removed, check, found to be clear/clean and didn't require a new oil filter. It should have been clear with 10 gallons of oil going through it! Did they cross-thread it and that is why Reliable Chevrolet does not want to put on a new oil filter?

On Jan. 12, I went back to Springfield to talk with ** ********* Used car Sales Manager at Corwin Dodge for we bought the van from them on **** 27, 2014. He remembered the van and the condition that it left the lot there.

We went on over to your dealership to speak with ****, Service Manager, but spoke with *****, 1st Assistant General Manager for **** was in a meeting. I explained that we brought out 10 cans of food and drove our van up from Branson to help out on the food drive, get the oil changed and combined our other errand we had to do that day. so very easy; the oil needed to be changed in the van before we went to Michigan very shortly. Because of the distance, price of gasoline,living on a exceedingly strict budget we do not come up to Springfield just on a whim for something to do.

*****, First Assistant Manager of Reliable Chevrolet on Jan. 7th, 2015 informed us that if a customer came in and wanted an oil change, they changed it. I asked even if sounded like a piece of junk as this paper, invoice XXXXXX, made out our van to be? Why wouldn't they pull the van off of the line explain the problems it had. Again, ***** told us that when a customer came in, requested an oil change, they changed the oil! All I wanted to do was to help someone with our 10 cans of food, get the oil changed for the car to be ready to go to Michigan. I never wanted to cause any problems at all, just get the new oil filter and oil change and help someone.

I explained the problem that we had with a simple oil change, request for the oil filter to be changed also. When completed, ***** ** ***** had told us that the oil was clean and not replaced even though I requested it to be done. I would pay for a new oil filter. Jason denying that he ever told us that the oil filter was removed, checked to be found clean,oil filter did not need to be replaced! That Dixie cam out to give us a stern lecture about their procedure of changing the oil filters. I think that is great that they change the oil filter automatically but not done in our case per Jason Moore. Not even when I came up with my own 5 quart jug of Castrol with a proper new oil filter and oil in the van when we bought it June 27,.2014, per Ty Stephens, at Corwin Dodge informed us that morning.

It is strange to me that Reliable Chevrolet will do an oil change on a piece of junk, like ours as they think, with out informing the customer of the problems and possibly making more revenue. This is a loss of money for the dealership as far as I'm concerned. It would also keep a car on the road that possible could cause a wreck. I was trying to pay for an oil filter that was included in the oil change.

It is almost 44 miles to Reliable Chevrolet dealership from our house and we have made 4 trips and then this one to turn in the paperwork to you, The Better Business Bureau. The office was closed at that time. We have had to stop to get gas every time, making it over 88 miles per round trip, time 4 is 352 miles. It is 809 miles to where we want to go to in Michigan, making it only 757 miles left to go. This 5th trip, 5 times 88 is 440 therefore only 369 miles left; making us more that half way to Michigan! This is the most expensive oil change that we have ever had!! Such an easy and simple thing to do, help out someone with the 10 cans of food, get the oil & filter changed, car ready for the trip, that is all I ever wanted to do. Look how much un-necessary money, wear and tear on the van it has cost us! ***** did say that the next oil change would on him. I just looked at him, saying nothing. Our van will never, ever be in Reliable Chevrolet garage again. Our van will always go to Corwin Dodge for any type of work that is required in the future.

On Jan. 15th, we returned back to Corwin Dodge,per their request, to check the oil leak from the dye that they inserted into the van's oil system on our last visit there. We were given the invoice XXXXXX, J.D. Weatherfield, consultant, of the repairs that were required to correct the van. The circled item was the cheapest and easiest to repair of all of the items. I didn't have the money for all the necessary repairs to be made on this day. We returned home.

This was trip number 6 X 88 miles for 528 miles and only 281 left to arrive at our destination in Michigan!

On Jan. 16th we returned to Springfield, MO from Branson, MO. to speak with ** ******** about the condition of the our van when we brought it from them on **** 27, 2014. ** ******** informed us of the compressive list that a used car has to go through before it can be put on their lot for re-sale. This is per Missouri law on every used vehicle, that this list must be completed or it can not be for re-sale.

This was our 7th trip, 7 x 88 = 616 miles with only 193 miles left to drive to our destination in Michigan. This is a very, very expensive oil change.

On our 8th trip, Jan. 18th, we were told by O'Reilly Auto Parts that the oil filter AC Delco Dynagarde #XXXXXXX was the wrong oil filter of our van. It did not even cross reference with the correct Microgard MGL XXXXX. The oil filter that Reliable Chevrolet, AC Delco #XXXXXXX, inserted into our van was the wrong one and definitely shorter and smaller in diameter. The oil that was being circulated through the smaller oil filter was too much and had to go somewhere, most likely that is what was leaking and causing the problems with gaskets.

We went on over to Corwin Dodge with our proper oil filter for our van, new 5 quart jug of oil and Lucus oil-stop, that was suggested by Corwin Dodge. Corwin Dodge inserted the proper oil filter for our van and the new 5 quart jug of Castrol as I requested Reliable Chevrolet to do many weeks ago with them refusing my request. Why? If Reliable Dodge would have complied, it might have save the gaskets since the van would not have been driven a minimum of 616 excess miles.

This a very, very expensive "free oil change for 10 cans of food" considering the cost of gasoline,wear and tear on the car as well as the tires. We live on a very strict budget since I am on a fixed budget. The van gets 16 miles per gallon 809 miles/16=50.5 gallons x $1.67 = $84,34 at today's price of gasoline for one way to Michigan. In a couple of weeks there is not any telling what the price of gas will be. Hopefully when we return back home here in Missouri, the price of gasoline will still be low.

The old saying of "If it seems to be too good to be true, it probably is." We learned the hard way that this is true old saying, at least in this instant. So far 88 x 8 = 704 miles driven, with only a 100 miles to go we will be there in an hour and a half.

Our 9th trip to Springfield is to turn all the papers, receipts and show the incorrect oil filter to the Better Business Bureau.
88 9 = 792 miles, only 17 miles left !

**** ** ****
*** **** ******** *******
******** ** XXXXX
X-XXX-XXXX-XXXX

Desired Settlement
Reliable Chevrolet pay Corwin Dodge to correct the damages to the van that they caused by installing the wrong oil filter, gasotine and wear & tear on our van

Business Response





Dear Ms. *********




Mrs. **** presented a 2002 Dodge Grand Caravan to our dealership because she wanted to participate in our donation campaign for the Grand Oaks Mission Food Pantry. The dealership was exchanging a lube, oil and filter maintenance service for 10 cans of non-perishable food items. At the time of the visit, her vehicle had 121,299 miles on it.

With the utmost respect to Mrs. ****, it was evident early on that she was not fully understanding the information we were providing her. First, so there is no misunderstanding moving forward, we have always, and will always, install a new oil filter with every oil change. That is an industry wide standard whenever changing oil. To that end, we installed the correct oil filter on Mrs. ****'s Grand Caravan at the same time that we changed her oil except that we did not use a MOPAR oil filter since we are not a Chrysler franchise; but, instead used a specifications correct oil filter. The only difference between the two filters is that filter we used, an AC Delco oil filter, does not bear the part number of the MOPAR oil filter since it was not manufactured on behalf of Chrysler.




What we believe Mrs. **** was confused about stems from one of our standard processes at check in. We perform a multi-point inspection to include looking at belts, hoses, fluid levels and air filters. We are certain that Mrs. **** was confused about our saying that, at this time, her vehicle's AIR FILTER, (emphasis intended), looked clean and didn't need replacing. On multiple occasions we attempted to clarify that with Mrs. ****.




On November 22nd, we changed Mrs. ****'s oil and oil filter. As Mrs. **** states in her letter to your office, she later contacted us to advise that she had oil leaking. This was on January 6, 2015, with 121,887 miles on her vehicle or, an additional 588 miles. Now, in her letter she states that her vehicle lost 10 quarts of oil. We find this challenging to understand because the loss of only 5 quarts of oil at any given time could only be caused by a very severe and conspicuously noticeable oil leak and would have caused catastrophic engine failure. Our technician observed oil possibly leaking from the oil pan, not to be confused with the oil filter which Mrs. **** may have done. Our technician further suggested that a more intensive diagnosis would be needed to confirm the source of the leak.




It is interesting to note that two days later Mrs. **** drove back to Springfield so that Corwin Dodge could examine the vehicle at which time a technician from Corwin Dodge suggested replacing the power steering pressure line which he states was leaking, along with the lower intake gaskets, the oil pan gasket, the crank shaft seal and the valve cover gaskets. All of which might also cause fluid leaks if not properly maintained and replaced as needed. Then, eleven days later, Mrs. **** once again returned to Springfield and had an oil filter she purchased along with oil put into her vehicle along with an unknown oil additive. She also requested the oil pan gasket be replaced. From the date of her first visit to our dealership, up to the date the vehicle went to Corwin Dodge, Mrs. **** put a total of 1,245 miles on her Dodge Grand Caravan.




Finally, to be responsive to Mrs. ****'s suggestion of a fair resolution, I again affirm the oil filter used was the correct size and thread. The list of items Corwin Dodge is suggesting be repaired, as I mentioned above, have no direct, or indirect, correlation to the work we performed on November 22nd. The fact is, the list of items Corwin Dodge has suggested be done are not at all untypical maintenance steps needed for a vehicle of this age and mileage. Furthermore, the fact that she elected to travel to Springfield for further investigation of issues associated with her vehicle and to drop off, in person, her written complaint to your office, was all done of her own volition when she could have gone to Tri-Lakes motors for investigation into the leaking fluids and she could have mailed or e-mailed her complaint to your offices.




Reliable Chevrolet dealt fairly and honestly with Mrs. ****. Our flaw, if any, was that we were unable to communicate with her in a manner that she clearly understood. I am sorry for any inconvenience she encountered; and yet, I hold complete reservation to affirming any such inconvenience was the fault of Reliable Chevrolet.




Sincerely,
-****
**** **********
Customer Services
Reliable Chevrolet

01/26/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Advertise cars that are sold already and at a price not avalible bait as switch
Online had a 2015 Chevrolet Malibu Lt listed for ****** and when called said the car had sold only thing they had was ** thousand 2014 less options bait & switch just trying to offer worse deals for more money

Desired Settlement
I want that same car or one similar or better for the listed price and an investigation to make sure people are not wasting my time

Business Response





Dear Ms. *********




I apologize to Mr. ******* for any inconvenience we may have caused associated with his interest in an advertised 2015 Chevrolet Malibu that was contracted for sale prior to his contacting the dealership.




I believe, however, that it is significant for Mr. ******* to appreciate the actual meaning of the term bait-and-switch before loosely tossing allegations around. Bait-and-switch is a sales tactic wherein the seller never had, nor ever intended to have, merchandise for sale at a specific advertised price. Such was not the case regarding the vehicle Mr. ******* is referencing. Not only did we have the vehicle, we in fact had a customer contract on the vehicle last week and the deal was finalized yesterday.




I do especially acknowledge and apologize for one error that likely occurred when Mr. ******* called in to inquire about the vehicle he saw advertised. It is likely that the representative he spoke with said the subject vehicle was sold, when, in fact, it had only been contracted for sale to a customer but not finalized. This is to say that if, for whatever reason, the sale was not, or could not have been, finalized, the subject Malibu would have continued to be in our inventory and available for sale. To that end, we could have contacted Mr. ******* and advised him the vehicle was still available and was available at the price advertised. Until such time as a deal is finalized, a vehicle remains in our inventory and is, therefore, still posted on the internet. I understand that this can lead to some confusion from time-to-time, but because all internet websites draw data directly from our data bases, until the data base status is updated from contract pending to finalized, the internet websites will continue to list a unit as being in our active retail inventory.




Again, I apologize for any inconvenience we may have caused Mr. *******. To the extent that automobile dealerships are historically more aggressively scrutinized for their advertisements and advertising strategies by government and private watch-dog agencies, Reliable Chevrolet takes advertising very seriously and always proof reads and reviews its advertising to ensure it is as honest, accurate and lawfully presented as it can be.




Respectfully,
-****
**** **********
Customer Services
Reliable Chevrolet

01/19/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Mechanic did not repair the problem, instead repaired everything else on brakes. When we ret'd vehicle they then repaired problem & charged us again.
12/10/2014 2003 Saturn Vue. Our daughter ***** attends college in Springfield, MO. She experienced a problem with the brakes and we told her to make an appt to have it checked out. Appt for 7 a.m. 12/10/14, mechanic looked at brakes, replaced rotors, hoses, pads. We were charged $*** for this repair. ***** left dealership to come home and within 20 mins of Springfield, brakes were locked up again. This was the original problem. She took car back to the dealership, they told her they need to replace caliper and they don't have the parts. Repairs will be done the next day. On Dec 11th, ***** had a friend take her to get the vehicle and was charged $*** more for brake repairs. When we brought this to the attn of Reliable Chevrolet Customer Service, they said in e-mail that they didn't replace the caliper originally b/c they wanted to save her the expense. We feel they took advantage of ***** and the fact that we, the vehicle owners were 200 miles away and couldn't really see what was happening and what needed to be done.

Desired Settlement
We feel like the mechanic should have replaced only the caliper, not the rotors, hoses and brake pads. However, since this work has already been done, we do feel like we need to pay. Should we be charged $***? No, we feel this is an unfair amount. If Reliable Chevrolet would like to split the cost with us, we would be satisfied. $*** for us, $*** for them. We have already paid $****** to Reliable Chevrolet with Visa.
Also ***** waited over 7 hours for these repairs to be completed and then had to wait overnight for the 2nd repair. The Customer Service representative did send an e-mail apology for the amount of time she had to wait, but we did have to ask him to apologize. Companies that we do business with here in St. Louis do not make us wait that long! Perhaps this is the norm for Springfield, MO?
When contacted, Reliable Chevrolet Customer Service sent an e-mail detailing why they replaced rotors, hoses and pads on the Saturn vue. He made it sound as if the brakes had never been repaired on the vehicle which is not true. Several brake repairs/replacements have been done on this vehicle since we have owned it. I don't think the way to satisfy customers is to insult them. However, the Customer Service rep did insult us with his comments about our vehicle. Perhaps all of these repairs did need to be done, but they were certainly not causing the locking up problem that ***** experienced.
We have definitely learned our lesson and will never return to Reliable Chevrolet for vehicle service and we will be letting all of our friends and relatives know about our terrible experience with their service dept. Thank you.

Business Response





Dear Ms. ********,




I am familiar with the complaint of the Bagbys and I have communicated with them in writing. I submit, as our response, my communications with the Bagbys as they reflect the position of the dealership.




First Response to the Bagbys:




" Monday, December 15, 2014

Mr. & Mrs. Glenn Bagby
********************
*****************






Dear Mr. & Mrs. Bagby,





Thank you for your letter regarding concerns over the work we performed on your daughter's Saturn. As with any auto repair facility, the Reliable Chevrolet Service Department has to answer to all that it charges its customers for parts and labor. To that end, we are responsible for ensuring our Service Department does not find itself perpetuating the nefarious stereotypes often associated with auto repair facilities. It is our policy to provide the highest quality of work backed by GM parts and labor warranties and charge a fair and reasonable sum for those parts and that labor. This policy obligates us to not gouge our customers for unnecessary repairs, or over-charge our customers for parts and labor provided. To that end, we make no assumptions about the ability of our customers to discern the work and charges they will approve. Your daughter, *****, was not an exception to our policy.





Our service department was presented a 2003 Saturn Vue with over 112,000 miles and a complaint of issues with braking and stopping. An inspection revealed excessive rust in and around the front calipers along with below safe specifications for the front rotors and brake pads. The inspection also revealed damaged hoses connected between the brake lines and calipers. The front rotors were replaced, the front brake pads were replaced and the hoses between the front brake lines and calipers were replaced. Though a sticking caliper seemed to be a possible issue based on Ms. Bagby's descriptions regarding what she was experiencing with her braking, the technician could not duplicate the problem on initial inspection and so he cleared out the rust around the calipers, re-lubricated the caliper pistons and reassembled everything.





As you mentioned in your letter, Ms. Bagby returned noting that there was a violent shake and a burning smell. Inspection revealed that there was an intermittent problem with the left front caliper sticking in spite of the fact that the caliper pistons had been cleaned of rust and then lubricated. This problem will arise if, over time and extended miles without service to the braking system, the calipers get hot enough to distort the piston such that it swells beyond specifications and begins to stick whenever it gets warm even though it may only reach the point of standard operating temperature.





To the extent, during her first visit, we hoped lubricating the pistons would be enough for the braking system to function properly and therein possibly save your daughter some expense, and where we did not just immediately insist she purchase new calipers, we felt we were working with her as best we could to keep her expenses down. It became evident, however, that the left caliper was too far gone to function properly and required being replaced. To that end, at some point in the near future, your daughter will want to consider having the right caliper replaced along with the rear brake shoes.





Reliable Chevrolet is located in a college town; home to 3 major colleges and several smaller colleges. We rely heavily on the student-age population of our town for sales and service business. Beyond the fact of it being unethical, it simply does not make any business sense to take advantage of a key demographic for our livelihood. As with all our customers, the Reliable Chevrolet Service Department dealt fairly and honestly with your daughter, *****, in its repairs to her 2003 Saturn Vue.





Respectfully,
**** **********
Customer Services
Reliable Chevrolet, Inc."




I then followed up with the below e-mail.




"Mr. & Mrs. Bagby,

I apologize, not only for not apologizing in my response to your original e-mail, but equally I do sincerely apologize for the delays and inconvenience your daughter experienced at our dealership. Respectfully, however, I remain committed to the facts regarding the condition of your daughter's Saturn Vue at the time it was brought to us for diagnosis, and our technicians' subsequent handling of its mechanical failures.

Sincerely,
-****

**** **********
Customer Services
Reliable Chevrolet
(417) ***-**** / (800)****-****
*********************
*******************
Springfield, MO 65807"




The fact is, we did not "take advantage of" the Bagbys' daughter, *****. We identified the problems with the Bagbys' Saturn Vue; we made an effort to see if a less costly effort to repair one of the brake calipers would be successful, but it was not; and, we performed all of the needed repairs with ***** Bagby's consent.




In light of the facts, it is evident we acted in good faith in our dealings with ***** Bagby. We did not charge for anything that was not: 1. needed to safely operate the Saturn Vue; and 2. reasonably priced and competitive within the market for such repairs. Therefore, we respectfully deny the Bagbys' request for a refund of charges justly and fairly earned by the dealership.

-****
**** **********
Customer Services
Reliable Chevrolet


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Please know that we or want any further response from them. Every communication from them has been based on complete fabrications and we would expect any further communications to be the same. We have paperwork showing that the brakes, rotors, calipers and hoses were replaced on this vehicle in March 2014, when there were 98,000 miles on the vehicle. There is no possible way that the repairs they did were necessary for safety. They took advantage of an 18 year old woman, whose parents were 200 miles away and we don't think anyone who expects to be treated fairly should take their vehicle to Reliable Chevrolet for repairs. We certainly will not be going there anymore.

Final Business Response





Dear Ms. ********,




With all due respect to the Bagbys, their angst over our Service Department, and the necessary work we had to do, may be misdirected where the Bagbys report that another repair facility had previously performed a complete brake, and braking system, job only 14K miles earlier. At 14K miles, the Bagby's daughter should not have had the brake failure that brought her to our Service Department in the first place.




And while, by their comments in their last rebuttal, they are not interested in our feedback, I nonetheless repeat my apologies for the inconvenience their daughter encountered; but, I am confident the work done by our Service Department was necessary for the safe operation of their daughter *****'s 2003 Saturn Vue and was fairly priced.




Respectfully,
-****
**** **********
Customer Services
Reliable Chevrolet

Page 1 of 5
09/24/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Repeated repairs required to "new vehicle" that was leased.
In Sept 2012, we leased a Volt and added a warranty that cost extra but was told anything not covered by the original warranty was covered. Got a flat tire twice not due to any incident, environmental damage, or neglect from myself. No explanation was given and I was told I had to foot the bill, which was around $*** each time. Now I have a third flat tire which I assume will cost me the same. The "new" car has less than 22K miles on it and is less than 2 years old. No recalls were found according to Reliable and manager was quite adamant that I was at fault for repeated failure of tires. I tried to settle the problem by requesting an early termination of the lease as I feel they have broken the verbal agreement to pay for any repairs not covered by the warranty and for selling a vehicle which had known faults as tires were inspected during routine maintenance. Manager stated that unless I were to purchase or lease a new car (giving them more money) they would not do anything to alleviate the situation. I was told that if I wanted to terminate our lease, I would have to immediately pay off the remainder of the lease and surrender the vehicle, or in essence, pay for the rest of the lease without having the vehicle for the entire arranged amount of time.

Desired Settlement
I feel that Reliable Chevrolet should be obligated to refund the money spent to replace faulty tires and allow early termination of the lease including absolution of the remaining payments.

Business Response
The customer leased a 2012 New Chevrolet Volt in September of 2012 for 27 months. They purchased a mainenance plan to pay for scheduled services throughout their lease. Customer brought the car in for a first oil change and tire rotation on 14 January 2013 paid for by their contract. Customer brought the car in on 08 April 2013 because of a tire losing air. Technician diagnosed the tire with a hole in the sidewall and customer purchased a new tire. Customer brought the car in for an oil change and tire rotation on 12 June 2013 paid for by their contract. Customer had car towed in on 21 august 2013 with a flat tire. Tire was diagnosed with a nail in the sidewall and customer purchased a new tire. Customer brought car in on 29 March 2014 for an oil change and tire rotation paid for by their contract. While at the dealership they asked for an estimate to repair the back of the front passenger seat as it had been kicked or pushed in and also to check on the front bumper facia as it had been ripped off when coming in contact with something. Customer brought car in on 15 may 2014 because the windshield wipers were streaking. Their maintenance plan replaced the worn wipers. Customer was contacted on 09 September 2014 in order to advise them of their options with the pending lease termination of their vehicle. Customer stated they wanted a truck and would come into the store on Tuesday 16 September 2014. Customer was contacted on 12 September 2014 to confirm the appointment. Delaership was advised that customer did not want another vehicle, that customer had already purchased another vehicle and that they wanted GM to pay their remaining lease payments as "goodwill" so they didn't have to make multiple payments. Customer was informed that GM only pays leases off early when you purchase another GM vehicle. Customer became very upset and told dealership that they had never said they wanted another vehicle. Dealership apologized and ended the phone call. Both of the phone calls first asking for a truck and then denying asking are recorded. We feel it is important to note that Reliable Chevrolet routinely calls random customers after their service visit to ensure they were 100% completely satisfied. This customer was actually contacted twice. The first call was on 27 June 2013, after the first flat tire was replaced and customer stated they were 100% completely satisfied. The second time was on 10 April 2014 and once again customer stated they were 100% completely satisfied. Customer purchased a second car from a different dealership in June of 2014. It is only after the strain of multiple payments begins that customer even brings up isues with the dealership. In conclusion, the customer's entire complaint is with the quality of the tires. This would then fall under the tire manufacturer for review and not affect the Dealership in anyway. Product liability for quality and workmanship stays with the manufacturer and not the retailer. Customer states that Dealership "knowingly" sold her a car with "faulty tires" The two tires failed because of physical damage well after the customer had purchased the vehicle. Reliable Chevrolet denies any financial responsibility or product liability on customers vehicle. Thank You

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Thank you for your response, but some of your details are factually inaccurate. The first tire had a hole that was not due to my negligence or normal wear so must have been faulty in some way. I was never told a nail was found in the second tire. The tire burst at the sides and I have pictures proving this. The front bumper facia is an optional piece that lowers the clearance of the car do reduce drag and increase gas mileage. This piece I believe is a fault in the design of the vehicle. It reduces the clearance of the car so much that any sort of an incline will scrape this piece. I was contacted multiple times after receiving this vehicle to the point of harassment. We were coerced into saying we were satisfied despite almost leaving without the vehicle at the time of purchase. We were led to believe that if we had responded that we were dissatisfied it would reflect as such in the salesman's pay. I would also love to hear the recording where I discussed wanting a truck because my husband and I have never wanted a truck and do not ever wish to have a truck. We bought a Mitsubishi vehicle because we were replacing completely different vehicle than the one that we had purchased from this company. I calmly expressed this to the manager who responded at length about how any attempt at customer satisfaction would be futile as I would not be a returning customer. The implication that any of these issues arose do to my negligence or were manufactured due to my inability to pay are completely unfounded. We have made every payment on time or early. The only damage I will admit is my fault is the damage to the back of the seat. This damage is a result of using my car for work in which a disabled client damaged the seat.

Final Business Response
Without getting into a he said she said situation with this customer I would like to point out that the issues the customer brings forth are on the quality of the product purchased and not the design of the product purchased. Liability for these issues rests with the manufacturer and not the retailer. This customer should contact General Motors directly to seek any compensation for what she inaccurately believes to be a defect on the original product. This customer filled out several surveys from the manufacturer siting completely satisfied, not just the initial sales survey but several service surveys as well. We bring this up only to point out that this is obviously something that only now the customer is complaining about because their lease term is expiring and they purchased a non GM product and will now be responsible for disposition fees on the lease as well as the final payments. Throughout the entire history of the relationship between customer and business there is no mention of any problems, notes of complaints, etc. We ask that the BBB close this case as the customers issues, that we still adamantly deny, are issues with the manufacturer and not the retailer.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I believe I have stated all issues and possible resolutions I can see for this situation. I feel the company should be responsible for the product they sell and could seek the help from GM themselves if they feel it is necessary. Your incorrect assumptions about the consumer are irrelevant and unprofessional. They do not offer any solution to this problem. I am seeking the help of the BBB because my complaints have been consistently brushed aside by Reliable and I would hope the BBB would see this. I have been very upfront during repairs about being upset and confused. I gave positive responses about the repair dept because their service was courteous and fast. They had nothing to do with the original product and are not included in my complaint.

05/05/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On December 21,2014, I purchased a used vehicle and extended warranty. Within one week of the purchase I took the vehicle back to Reliable with concerns about the transmission. I waited 4 hours for the service department to look at the vehicle, but was finally told by the service writer, they couldn't get to it. I contacted them repeatedly for service, but a loaner pickup (which is necessary for my work) wasn't ever available. I was finally able to get the truck into Reliable service department, and they took it to a manufacturer specific dealership for diagnosis. The transmission is unable to be diagnosed, because the fluid is so dirty and gummed up, it will not flow through the filters sufficiently to get a repair code. A sales invoice showing that a fluid reservoir was included with the truck upon purchase, but while I have been driving the truck, it has repeatedly lost engine coolant. Diagnostics show the reservoir in need of replacement. And there is an emissions problem that requires attention now. When taking the truck in for an oil change recently, the air filter was found to be COMPLETELY clogged and appears to be original factory equipment...this is a 2011 vehicle. I have only driven this vehicle 5,000, and have not abused it in any fashion. I feel Reliable misrepresented this vehicle during the sale process and refuses to stand behind the vehicle. And, none of the needed repairs are covered by the extended warranty that I paid $***** for. I am into a 5 year loan for over $**,000 on a vehicle that has 70,000 miles and I am unsure will make it to 75,000 without some major $$$$ being put into it.
Product_Or_Service: 2011 Dodge Dakota

Desired Settlement
Repair the vehicle at no cost to me. Reliable is a long time business in Springfield MO and has made much money from the residents of Southwest Missouri. I believe they need to show good faith and stand behind their vehicles to preserve their reputation.

Business Response
Since the point that this complaint was prepared by the ***'s, they have contacted the dealership and we are working with them to resolve their concerns.






-****

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Transmission still has the same problem after being seen in their shop. At this point since I reported these problems in less than 30 days after purchasing this vehicle, I want the transmission repaired or replaced at the dealerships expense or I want the vehicle replaced or last but not least I want them to give me a full refund on the deal and get me out of my loan. I want this to be resolved within 14 business days. I feel they greatly misrepresented the said vehicle in order to make a sale. They claimed to me yesterday they don't have the ability to work on Dodge Transmissions, so they need to send it somewhere that does at their expense.

Final Business Response
Dear Ms. ********,


In my last conversation with Mr. ***, he did state that he was told by the Finance Manager that worked with him, **** ******, that the manufacturer's warranty does not carry over to subsequent purchasers of Dodge products. Mr. *** made no mention that anyone else had made that comment, which would make sense because a sales associate would have no reason to. To that end, where light and medium duty motor vehicle warranties are governed by federal law, they all are required to honor their defect warranties for the period of time and number of miles stated in the owner's manual regardless of owner or number of times the vehicle is resold. Nonetheless, I asked Mr. ****** specifically if he recalled making any statement regarding the Dodge manufacturer's warranty as to its transferability to subsequent owners and he stated he did not. He supported his response by adding that because Reliable Chevrolet offers a service contract as an available option for added vehicle protection, his discussion would focus on the benefits of the service contract making only passing mention that service contracts supplement a manufacturer warranty by covering vehicle wear and tear since manufacturer warranties only cover, and are only obligated to cover, manufacturer defects for design, installation or operation.

I am happy for Mr. *** that his transmission concerns will be addressed by the manufacturer's warranty which can only mean that there must have been some defect in design, installation or operation of the transmission in his Dodge Dakota. While I think his decision to cancel his service contract exposes him to added expense in the event of a mechanical breakdown caused by normal wear and tear, I certainly respect his right to cancel the agreement. Since Mr. *** would have been made aware of his options to cancel his service contract through Mr. ******'s presentation as well as reading the brochure he received at the time he received his service contract card through the mail, I can only believe that he would have known any cancellation would have a cancellation fee of $**.00 and a subsequent prorated deduction. The fact remains, he had coverage up to the date of his cancellation and the service contract provider, ***, would have been obligated to Mr. *** under the terms of the agreement up to that cancellation date. As such, his request for the purchase price to cancellation difference is unwarranted and I cannot agree to his request for $***.00.

With regard to his request for unearned wages because, as he states, "...(He) missed several hours of work dealing with this...", there is no stated or implied obligation made by Reliable Chevrolet or by any of its agents or associates to pay lost wages whenever a customer brings in a vehicle to address mechanical failure; and, I am certain that our position regarding such is common within the industry. Therefore, to pay Mr. *** for time he alleges he lost earnings potential, of which he has provided no proof of other than his statement, would be giving unfair preferential and disparate treatment to him over all other customers who come to our dealership for repairs or regular service.

Finally, where on multiple occasions, Mr. and Mrs. *** have stated they have intentions of pursuing an, as yet undefined, legal cause of action, I have to agree that they would be well served in seeking the advice of legal counsel. I believe such counsel would clear up all questions they may have regarding their legal rights under the circumstances of this matter.

I do not deny that the ***s have be inconvenienced in their efforts to identify the source of mechanical concerns they have encountered with their Dodge Dakota, and for that I sincerely apologize. Equally, I genuinely am glad that ****** Dodge will be addressing and resolving their concerns. As we had advised Mr. and Mrs. ***, we firmly believed that their vehicle would receive better care at a location that specializes in Chrysler/Dodge products and that is why we sent their Dakota to ****** Dodge the first time they were able to leave the truck with us for diagnosis. It should be noted that initially ****** Dodge did not find any issues with the ***s's truck and it was returned to Reliable Chevrolet as "unable to duplicate concern." It was only when, at our suggestion, we advised Mr. *** meet with a ****** technician and have that technician ride with him that it was determined there was an issue that needed to be addressed.

Should you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,
-****
Customer Services
Reliable Chevrolet, Inc.



Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
As stated in the business' reply, I did take the vehicle to ****** Dodge where a service tech rode with me. His assessment is that the torque converter is malfunctioning. The manufacturer's original power train warranty will be taking care of this replacement. I was surprised to find this out, because when I purchased the truck, I was told by 3 different people at Reliable that the manufacturer's power train warranty was no longer in effect on the vehicle because I was the third owner. So, they sold me an after market extended warrant for $*****. If I had been told the truth about the manufacturer's power train warranty, I wouldn't have spent the money for the additional warranty. Yes, the truck is being repaired, but I feel like I was misled by the business and therefore had unnecessary expenditure in regards to the warranty. I have requested a refund on the balance of the warranty, which is $***** that will be paid to the finance company. Since I have been out of pocket $*** for the warranty, I would like Reliable to reimburse me personally for that amount. Additionally, I have missed several hours of work dealing with this, I feel compensation for my lost wages would be appropriate, ($***). I am hoping for a quick resolution to this via this resource, so legal action through the courts is not necessary.

11/21/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The deal was with Tax/title/license... down the road. Not honored.
I went to Reliable to purchase a vehicle however I had to have my parents help me with the purchase. They are from Iowa so of course they had to do some things over the phone. My step father called there to finalize the deal and his exact words were "tax, title, license...down the road".. the salesman, ************** said at that time he'd have to check with the boss and get back to us. He called back 1-2 hours later and said DEAL. The paperwork was sent off, etc. Unfortunately we took his word and did what most people do and didn't read the whole contract. Another thing, if they didn't agree to the deal... why did I receive a Missouri title? (which is also wrong because they were told numerous times the vehicle was going to be plated in Iowa since that's where my parents reside and it's in their name)

Since all of this I have contacted them which they refuse to make it right. They also stated that they listened to the phone calls "3 hours worth" and there was no mention in the calls. I believe this is not the case, they are just getting over on us.

Desired Settlement
The only thing I want to see done is I want my tax, title, and license to be paid as they agreed to the day we made the deal on the phone.

Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, **********) */
Prior to our receipt of this BBB complaint, Mr. ******, the son of the purchasers, also made a complaint on our ******** page last Friday, ************. Upon seeing the complaint, we immediately investigated the matter by talking with all sales and finance personnel involved. We then reviewed recorded phone conversations and file materials. Where we did not find anything to suggest the purchase was to include sales tax or other licensing fees, we reported the same by letter sent FedEx to the customers, Mr. ******s' mother and step-father. In that letter, we also invited the customers to contact us in order to review the particulars of the purchase. We have not received a response from the customers and the only thing we have seen since sending the letter is this BBB complaint from the customer's son.


The fact is, our employees have no recollection of the issues raised in Mr. ******'s complaint ever being drawn into the purchase arrangements; and, specifically, there is no recollection of the phrase ...tax, title, license... down the road... has having been said by any of the persons involved in the purchase to include the customers or their son. This is not to say that it isn't reasonable for the customers to have thought sales tax and fees would be included because they live in a state in which dealerships do collect sales tax and licensing fees as a part of the purchase price. For State of Missouri residents the phrase ...down the road... would likely be interpreted as the cash price to drive a vehicle off the dealership's lot but does not include the sales tax and other fees that they will need to pay when they go to a Missouri DOR office and register their new vehicle purchase.


We are sorry that Mr. ****** feels frustration on this matter, and it is always our goal to ensure completely satsfied customers, but where the customer's son's suggestion that would ...make it right... means handing over money for the sake of giving it away without fair or just cause is just not something we can agree to. We respectfully reject Mr. ******'s request as set forth in his complaint to your office.

Consumer's Final Response /* (4200, 14, **********) */
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
My husband, ***********, made the deal with ************** on the phone. The deal was:our trade in, their payoff of this vehicle in return for the truck "tax, title, license down the road." **** called me, **************** to say the deal was approved. My paperwork included a MO title transfer to sign. I called and spoke to ************* who told me it was put in there by mistake. I told him I needed the IA title paperwork. The COST of the title, license and tax WAS included in the deal. After many calls to the dealership I was passed to ************** who told me there was NO record of my husband EVER talking to ****!!! He said he listened to all the recordings and even checked his phone number and it was not in the system. He then passed me over to Mr. *********** who told me the same thing. I told him it was INDEED ***** who had made that deal with ****. He said he would forward it to his boss and call me back. That was over a week ago, and although I have called every day, Mr ***** will not return any of my phone calls. I also told Mr. ***** that I have proof on *****s cell phone bill that he received a call FROM **** the day the deal was made! They are conveniently saying they have no record of any call to or from *****, but my cell phone bill proves they are wrong! I assumed the paperwork reflected the deal made on the phone, which I also discussed with ****. This deal was made to include the cost of tax, title and license. It is very rude and unprofessional that they are ignoring my calls. It is convenient that they have no record of the day my husband made the deal, and the fact that they have told me no one spoke to ***** is incredulous to me! HE did speak to ****, HE did make that deal! I HAVE the call shown on my cell phone bill!

Business' Final Response /* (4000, 12, **********) */
Dear Ms. *****,




There was a point that Mr. ****** raised, that I failed to address in my first response to your Office. He noted that he thought we had erred because he had received a Missouri title with his paperwork, and yet he had advised us that he would be registering his vehicle using the address of his parents in Iowa. This observation may reveal further evidence of misunderstanding by Mr. ****** as to the titling process generally where he was not aware that the title to the vehicle would be from the state that the vehicle was last titled in. In this instance that would in fact be Missouri. Since dealerships in Iowa handle the tax, title and licensing, the buyer would only see the resulting title issued by the State of Iowa even though, in the instance of a pre-owned car, the title given to the dealership would bear the name of the state that the vehicle was last titled in.


Again, I would venture to guess that Mr. ****** and his parents were so accustomed to the purchase and titling procedure of Iowa that what they assumed was discussed, was in fact never brought up.


Respectfully, ***************

09/14/2012Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Purchased a vehicle from Reliable Chevrolet. Met previous owner, said it had issues that were supposed to be fixed and either weren't or fixed poorly
Purchased the 2005 Ford Mustang GT on Monday the 27th of August. I had been dealing with the salesman most of the day and at 3:30 I showed up to pick up the car. When I got there another salesman had an offer on it and was trying to sell it to someone else. My salesman was very understanding and tried to get the situation resolved. However the sales management shouldn't have let it happen. After that deal fell through I was able to buy the car I had driven 65 miles to get. Over the period of the next few days I was in contact with Capital One Auto to ensure Reliable was to be paid, just to find out that Reliable hadn't submitted all of the paperwork. I called several times to speak with the Processor Mr. ****** and never received a phone call back. When I contacted my salesman Mr. ****, he was very helpful and was able to get Mr. ****** to return my call. I was then informed by Mr. ****** that there had been a lien on the car, didn't have the release and was waiting to submit all of the paperwork until the had the release. Finally the paperwork gets submitted on 8/30/2012. The following Tuesday I run into the previous owner of the car in Springfield Mo. He had asked to look over the car to see what repairs had been performed. He informed me that there were a few things, such as the upholstery on the door panels that had been falling off, there was a poor paint repair on the left side of the rear bumper, and the clutch was to be replaced. The upholstery on the door panels is still falling off, the repair on the bumper is flaking off and was done poorly. For having a full service body shop it looks like it was done with whiteout. As far as the clutch is concerned it's for sure not new, but I am not sure other than age that there is much wrong with it, but needs to be addressed by a Ford Mechanic. This put the previous owner upside down in his trade which caused financial distress on his new family. As for me I received a car that was supposed to have been repaired and wasn't, as well as repairs that had been made that are failing less than 2 weeks from being made. There are a few other issues, such as the rotors being warped that need addressed. I have attempted to contact the sales management team, which I was contacted by my salesman in regards to the problem but have not heard back since.

Desired Settlement
I believe that I should be allowed to have the repairs performed on my vehicle to my satisfaction. Whether it be by them or a shop of my choosing. If I were to get this done elsewhere I would believe the cost to be no more than $1000.

Business' Initial Response
Dear Ms. *****,




While I certainly admire Mr. ******'s youthful zeal, it does not compensate for his lack of understanding of the facts.



Mr. ****** purchased a pre-owned vehicle. It is a vehicle that, at the time of the sale, had over 55 thousand miles on it and was more than 7 years old. Mr. ****** fails to understand that when a dealership takes a vehicle in trade, it is the prerogative of that dealership to perform what reconditioning it believes will be suitable to turn the vehicle around for resale. Equally, it is the prerogative of the purchaser to make decisions about whether they will commit to the purchase of a pre-owned vehicle as-is which is to say the purchase is made with consideration for cosmetic or mechanical flaws.



Where Mr. ****** has sought out the previous owner who traded the vehicle in, Mr. ****** suggests the previous owner felt there were clutch issues. Prior to placing any vehicle on our pre-owned lot for resale, we have the vehicle thoroughly inspected by ASE Certified technicians. In the instance of Mr. ******'s 2005 Ford Mustang, the inspection and test-drive of the vehicle did not reveal any issue with the clutch or transmission. Even so, Mr. ******, as a vehicle consumer, should be aware that a clutch is a maintenance item similar to tire replacement. The typical life of a clutch ranges from 75 thousand to 120 thousand miles with driving habits being the key to clutch life longevity. It is relevant to note that Mr. ******'s vehicle was sold with a no additional cost three-month, three-thousand mile limited engine and powertrain warranty and he was offered a more all-encompassing service contract to purchase that he rejected. I will send a copy of the three/three statement to your office via e-mail for reference.



The facts are simply these: Mr. ****** purchased a Pre-Owned vehicle that was sold as-is; Mr. ****** has affirmed the inspection of our technicians by stating he also has not experienced any issues with his clutch or transmission; Reliable Chevrolet chose not to repair cosmetic issues to Mr. ******'s Mustang prior to placing it on the Pre-Owned lot for retail sale and, as such, the cosmetic flaws Mr. ****** mentions did not equate to repair costs passed on to him in the sale price of the vehicle; Mr. ****** was never under any obligation to purchase the Mustang and was free to have the vehicle pre-inspected by a mechanic of his choosing prior to committing to the purchase; and, finally, where Mr. ****** is an adult, it is the assumption of the dealership that he is keenly aware a purchase of a motor vehicle is a significant investment that should not be taken lightly, but must instead be well considered.



To date, Mr. ****** has made no factual statement to contrast statements made by dealership employees as to the condition and fitness of the vehicle at the time of the sale. If Mr. ****** believes his rights as a consumer have been violated, he is encouraged to contact legal counsel.



Respectfully,
-******

****** ******
Customer Services
Reliable Chevrolet, Inc.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The attempt to insult me and make it seem that I am incompetent is upsetting. I understand the dealership process, since I myself work at one. The previous owner sought me out, and stated these facts.#1. Door panels were to be repaired. #2. Rear Bumper to be repaired #3. Clutch to be repaired. From ym inspection those things were not. If I were told of these things, which were not disclosed I wouldn't have bought the vehicle. Either the salesman who traded for this vehicle lied, then covered it up, or this is a common practice with the dealership. To date I don't believe the previous owner has been contacted as requested due to the fear of possible repercussions. I do not take a vehicle purchase lightly, therefore I am making these complaints. THis vehicle is a financial investment that I made a decision on based on the facts on hand at the time. These facts stated above were withheld or omitted, therefore swaying the decision to buy in the dealerships favor. Reliable Chevrolet has an obligation to repair this vehicle correctly. I still wish to be contacted in a conference call with the owner of the dealership, sales manager, and the previous owner of the vehicle. The unwillingness to do so is proof in itself that wrongdoing has occurred.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Services

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.