BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/25/1988

Ewing Bros Auto Body / R&R Salvage / R&R Auto Sale

Find a Location

Phone: (702) 382-9261Fax: (702) 382-9455View Additional Phone Numbers1200 A St, Las VegasNV 89106-3215 Send email to Ewing Bros Auto Body / R&R Salvage / R&R Auto SaleView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/25/1988

BBB has determined that Ewing Bros Auto Body / R&R Salvage / R&R Auto Sale meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Ewing Bros Auto Body / R&R Salvage / R&R Auto Sale's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues2
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Ewing Bros Auto Body / R&R Salvage / R&R Auto Sale

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (6)
06/18/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Our stolen scooter was taken to this company. We were given wrong information by this company and then treated poorly by an employee.
On Feb. 20, 2013 Officer ******* (of the Henderson Police Dept) called us at 10:30 p.m. to let us know that our scooter that had been stolen in July of 2012 had been found and was being held at Walker Towing until we took them our title to get it out.

2/20/13 @ 11 p.m. - **** called Walker Towing and asked them about the scooter and they said that they did have it and that we would need to bring in the title and a hold release form from the Henderson Police Department.


Feb 21, 2013 - 7:30 a.m. - I called two different departments at the Henderson Police Department and they had never heard of hold release papers, they told me to just take the title to the towing company.


4:30 p.m. - I called the Towing company and I was told again that they absolutely have to have a release paper for us to be able to have the scooter.

Feb 22 - 7:25 a.m. - I went the Henderson Police Department and talked to Officer ********* at the Front Desk and she had never heard of "hold release papers".


2/22/13 @ 7:45 a.m. - Officer ********* called Walker Towing and spoke with *** and he told Officer ********* that the only thing needed was the title to pick up the vehicle.


2/22/13 @ 4:30 p.m. - We went to Walker Towing and they would not release the scooter without the written hold release papers. ******** was the cashier) I had explained the situation and that I spoke with Off. ********* and she spoke with *** earlier in the morning, and she would still not release the scooter.

I(******)left **** at the tow company and went to the police department because I wasn't able to get a hold of anyone via telephone.


2/22/13 @ 4:45 p.m. - I got to the police station and talked to Officer ********* again. She called Walker Towing and was told by ******* that we needed the hold release papers to be able to get the car out of impound. Officer ********* explained that the police department did not require this "hold release form" and that she had never even heard of it...the call ended and Officer ********* called down Sgt. *********


2/22/13@ 4:50 p.m. - ******* called back and spoke with Officer ********* and Sgt. ******** was coming down at the same time.

2/22/13 @ 4:55 p.m. - The car was released to **** but she informed us that the charge was full price of tow and 3 days of storage totaling $283.22 and they had to have it in cash and exact change. She said that if I did not make it back to the impound lot with the cash within 2 minutes that they were going to close up and we would be charged for three more days of storage and could not get it out until Monday Feb. 25.


She ended up waiving the fee and waiting for me to get back to the lot.


2/22/13 @ 5:12 p.m. - I arrived back to the towing company and the scooter was released to us for the full amount of $283.22. We had asked why we were paying the full amount of the fees and ******* had told us that the scooter did not come to them as stolen so they could not give us the discounted rate.


2/22/13 @ 6:00 p.m. - I called Sgt. ******** to ask him if the tow fees sounded right and he said that we should have gotten the stolen vehicle rate and told me to call the towing company on Monday morning and have them call him so he can verify that the vehicle was stolen.


Feb. 25 - 10 a.m. - I called Walker towing and talked with **** the manager. He said that we were not supposed to be charged full price because he had told Jeanine to give us half off. He said that he was pretty swamped and said he would call Sgt. ******** and get back to me.

I checked back on February 28th, 2013 and left a message with a man to have **** call me back. I never received a call back and the issue is still not resolved.

Desired Settlement
We (1) Do not feel as though we should have had to pay 3 days of storage when we tried getting the scooter out as soon as we found out where it was, but we had to pay additional days of storage because we kept getting wrong information which required us to obtain documents that were not required, nor did the Henderson Police Dept. know what forms Walker Towing was asking for. Also, if we are required to show a title and asked for the "release of hold" forms from the police department, why weren't we given the discounted rate for being stolen and told that the company didn't know it was stolen??

It is not all about the money, we were just so glad our scooter was recovered and it ended up being a nightmare trying to get the scooter out of impound when we had the title, and were sent on a wild goose chase for this release form. We would have liked if they would have believed us or checked with the H.P.D. when we went in circles with them for 2 - 3 days.

Business' Initial Response
On Feb 19,2013 we received a call from the Henderson Police Dept.(HPD) to tow a scooter that they had impounded at a Henderson residence. When our driver arrived the Officer on scene told him that he was placing a proof and proper hold on the scooter because it did not have any plates. With the HPD we receive impound reports via email. We didn't receive the impound report on this tow until 2/22/2013. Therefore, Moriah, our front desk clerk, (Don't know who ******* is, don't have a ******* working for us). followed procedure and and told the *********'s they needed to obtain a hold release from the HPD before we could release the scooter. The HPD does use a hold release form and we receive them quite often after a hold has been placed on an impounded vehicle. All Police Agencies use them. The officer on scene never told us the vehicle was stolen nor was it indicated on the emailed report of impounds from HPD. When we received the impound report on 2/22, there was no hold listed on this vehicle but until that date, we believed there WAS a hold.
When I,**** ******** the manager,became involved with this I did tell ****** since the owner insisted the vehicle was stolen in July 2012 and just recovered, we would reduce the storage by 1/2 as is our customary practice. I do not know why she did not. We will send a refund for 1/2 the storage of $46.13. Please advise of an address for the *********'s so we can mail a check.
Lastley, in regards to the allegation that they had to return within 2 minutes or they could not get the scooter until the following monday, I believe that was a misunderstanding. After 5 pm weekdays and on weekends there is an afterhours charge applied to any release or visit but we are required to provide access to vehicles by owners 24/7. I apologize for the trouble created by the lack of information and misinformation we received from the HPD but we wish to retify the situation with the *********** As stated above, please verify the mailing address for the refund check. Thank you.

03/10/2014Problems with Product / Service
08/20/2013Billing / Collection Issues
03/25/2013Billing / Collection Issues
11/26/2012Problems with Product / Service
10/15/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Towing - Automotive, Auto Salvage Yards, Wheel Align, Frame & Axle Service Equipment & Supplies, Auto Wrecking, Recreational Vehicles - Repair & Service, Auto Repair & Service - Diesel, Auto Body Repair & Painting, Engines - Diesel

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/25/1988Business started: 01/01/1949
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 1949, NV

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Amelia Werle (Office Manager)Mr. Rex Ewing, Jr. (President)
Business Category

Towing - Automotive, Auto Salvage Yards, Wheel Align, Frame & Axle Service Equipment & Supplies, Auto Wrecking, Recreational Vehicles - Repair & Service, Auto Repair & Service - Diesel, Auto Body Repair & Painting, Engines - Diesel

Alternate Business Names
Walker Towing
BBB Program Participation
This company has agreed to use special procedures including arbitration, if necessary, to resolve disputes through their participation in the following programs: BBB Identification, BBBOnLine.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Ewing Bros Auto Body / R&R Salvage / R&R Auto Sale

1200 A St

Las Vegas, NV 89106-3215

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 2398 Silver Wolf Dr 

    Henderson, NV 89011-4430

  • 1200 A St 

    Las Vegas, NV 89106-3215

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Nevada. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Ewing Bros Auto Body / R&R Salvage / R&R Auto Sale is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (702) 565-6220
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Towing - Automotive

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.