BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Southern Nevada

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/29/2012

Starpoint Resort Group, Inc.

Find a Location

(702) 589-3486View Additional Phone Numbers235 E Warm Springs Rd Ste 100, Las VegasNV 89119-4253 Send email to Starpoint Resort Group, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/29/2012

BBB has determined that Starpoint Resort Group, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Starpoint Resort Group, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 178 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

178 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 61 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues99
Billing / Collection Issues8
Delivery Issues3
Problems with Product / Service68
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 178

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Starpoint Resort Group, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (178)BBB Closure Definitions
12/23/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I am writing this complaint in regards to lack of response from Starpoint Resorts, Inc. / GEO Holiday / Equaint Financial Services. I
November 27, 2013

Re: ******** ****** & ******** *****
1673 S. Ammons St
Lakewood CO, XXXXX
GEO Holiday / E quaint Financial
Monthly Loan Payment Acct: XXXXXXXXXXXX
Annual Maintenance Acct: XXXXXXXXXXXX

To whom it may concern:
I am writing this complaint in regards to lack of response from GEO Holiday / Equaint Financial Services. In June of 2013 my husband and I had purchased a timeshare with GEO Holiday / Jockey Club of Las Vegas, NV. Upon our application, we were given a voucher (contract # XXXXXST) that is called a "New Member Fly Away Certificate which is for ******** and me to receive a certificate which is redeemable for two adult roundtrip airline tickets to Honolulu Hawaii, plus three nights of accommodations in an economy hotel.

Carefully following the instructions, we sent our certificate by certified mail as instructed to Starpoint Resorts, Inc. Po Box XXXXX, Las Vegas NV, XXXXX-XXXX on 11/07 with a delivery receipt of 11/09. I had emailed ****** ******* Quality Assurance Representative for Geo Holiday on 11/14 at 8:02 AM MST informing her that we had followed instructions and what our next steps where. ****** replied to me on 11/15 with this response: "I see in my notes our member services received your Hawaii Cert. Please call them at XXX-XXX-XXXX and they will be able to help you on the rest of the process." Following her instructions, I called that number and left a message. I had received a call from a ******** on my cell phone instructing me that in order for us to receive our live voucher, we had to pay our annual maintenance fee of $655.40. With no delay, ******** paid our fee in full on 11/19 at 2:44pm. Since 11/19 I have called, emailed and left messages with no responses from anyone. At this point ******** and I are furious to the fact that they are quick to call us and ask us to pay our maintenance fee, but are not quick to call back or send our live voucher after we followed all instructions and requests. I want an immediate response WITH our LIVE VOUCHER as promised. Please see my tracked call logs below with no responses thus far:
1. 11/18 @ 11:23AM to Geo Reservations X-XXX-XXX-XXXX
2. 11/18 @ 11:26AM to Equiant Financial X-XXX-XXX-XXXX
3. 11/18 @ 11:32AM to X-XXX-XXX-XXXX
4. 11/19 @ 11:38AM and 1:34PM to X-XXX-XXX-XXXX
5. 11/21 @ 7:55AM to X-XXX-XXX-XXXX
6. 11/22 @ 1:11PM email to ****** ****** informing her we have not heard back from anyone who has called us or that she referred us to.
7. 11/25 @ 2:37PM to X-XXX-XXX-XXXX

Desired Settlement
We are seeking immediate responses to our many calls / emails about how to EXPEDITE our trip and REVIEVE our LIVE VOUCHER as promised.

Business Response
We sincerely apologize for the misunderstanding in this matter. We certainly do not condone the lack of responsiveness aleged in the complaint and we will investigate the matter further and take appropriate action. One of our representatives will contact Ms. ***** immediately to work on a resolution to this situation. We would like nothing more than to satisfy this members request and get her on vacation. Again we are sorry for any inconvenience this has caused. Thank You.

12/17/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
RSI Travel Services is a scam. They come off as a reputable company, having multiple indivuals involved in selling a " package deal" stating in the sales pitch, good for 18 months and they are not a "time share organization". Turns out that deal must be used with 13months. What started out as $199, continued to increase with a $75processing fee and increase more when you actually book. I was contacted by the Las Vegas office, ****** in September to set up dates to use my voucher. I was told I woud receive an email. Two months later after no email, I called, was told the dates I wanted are not available, ****** no longer handles it and I was pushed off to a new employee who received three other calls like mine. I called XXX-XXX-XXXX and straight to voicemail as well as XXX-XXX-XXXX. ****** called me back after I mentioned I was calling the boss. Nasty and defensive, she twisted what happpened and again, didn't follow through with what she said she'd do. No intregrity or accountability. Each time I asked for dates, the amount kept increasing.I am a demand to receive a refund of $199, purchased on 11/30/2012 & for $75 processing fee on 1/14/13. This organizing has no intregrity through and through.
Product_Or_Service: RSI Escapes Package
Order_Number: XXXXXX
Account_Number: XXXXXX

Desired Settlement
I am a demand that I receive a full refund for the total amount of $274.

Business Response
RSI travel services is not a scam. We have provided vacation packages for thousands of families and continue to do so. We apologize for the wat this matter appears to have been handled and one of our managers will contact this consumer ASAP to work with her to resolve her concerns.Thank You.

10/22/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have called this company twice. No one has bothered to call me back to help me. I don't want to deal with a company who will not deal with me.
I believe that this company fails to mention all the important factors in the agreement. I told them the days that I have off from work. The dates that you can only fall on my work day. Basically if they hiding information from me then I do not want to do business with them. They do not call me back. I paid an amount of $870 and I would like this money back immediately.

Desired Settlement
I would like a refund. I paid for a service and do not receive it. I don't trust this company and don't want to deal with them anymore.
REFUND Only pls

Business Response
We apologize for the communication problems but we have tried to contact Ms. ***** on several occasions to discuss her situation. We believe if she will give us a chance we can resolve any issues or concerns she may have regarding her membership. We would like nothing more than to have her as a valued member of the Club and provide her with vacations for many years to come.
Thank you

10/21/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Due to the occurrences of misrepresentation, we are writing to ask that our contract be canceled by GeoHoliday. The following is the replication of our notarized affidavit we sent to GeoHoliday about the sales misrepresentations. We upgraded our membership after owning timeshare with you for less than 3 months. Our original agreement was signed on December 8, 2012 and we upgraded to contract number XXX-XXXX on February 3, 2013. It is evident that Geo Holiday's plan to upgrade our contract so quickly was a well orchestrated plan from the very beginning. On the date of our original purchase, even before the ink on our contract had time to dry, we were told that we had to return to the resort in February, as our attendance of a "New Member's Meeting" was required. Upon our arrival, on February 3, 2013, we met with your sales team and oddly enough, we were taken into separate rooms, where we were interrogated individually for a few moments. Even this seemed well plotted. The staff appeared to be looking for their selling angle and nonetheless, they found it. We were told that the previous presenter had sold us a valueless timeshare. Considering that we were/are new owners with you, this was quite alarming. The salesman stated that he could "help us out" by selling us a "Vested" ownership package. He claimed that this package had tangible value and we would "get more for our money". To date, we have not received anything more than what we already had prior to the upgrade, which unfortunately, is a valueless timeshare. Neither the original agreement nor the upgraded agreement has a "real market value". He claimed that this "Vested" package offered an array of extra benefits and perks that we were not entitled to with our original agreement. For example, we were told that we could use our points to purchase, hotel, resort, and/or bed & breakfast stays, anywhere we wanted to go, at anytime of the year. He claimed that there would be no fee associated when using our points for travel purchases. Furthermore, we were told that we would receive room upgrades, even up to a 5bdrm unit, without having to pay a fee. Although the Vested package sounded good, we were not ready to commit to the deal. That's when your salesman turned up the pressure. He made many references regarding our existing ownership, explaining that it was merely worthless. We wondered why Geo Holiday would sell us something that was "worthless" in the first place. Before we could muscle up the courage to ask this question, the salesman got up abruptly and explained that he had "just the deal for us". He excused himself for a moment and when he returned, we were offered a vested "buyback" package, at a much lower rate. He stated that Geo Holiday had just bought back an owners timeshare, thus allowing him to extend us an even better deal. We would still have all of the previous perks/benefits, however, we would only have to pay the previous owners remaining balance. He pushed the documents at us so quickly and we felt cornered. He made it seem like we "had to" agree to this. He told us over and over "let's get this done". We were not allotted an opportunity to discuss this
Product_Or_Service: timeshare
Account_Number: Contract No. XXX-XXX

Desired Settlement
purchase, as it was quite limited and had to be done right then, right there, less the offer expire and we be stuck paying for our existing/worthless timeshare. After being there for hours, upon hours, we ended up with an upgraded agreement into Geo Holiday's Vested Ownership Club.It was not long before the reality of this ordeal was realized. Unfortunately, this was realized after our rescission period had already expired. In April of this year (2013), we attempted to utilize our vested member benefits to no avail. We sought the direction of your customer care team, explaining that we were attempting to book a hotel reservation for a funeral in El Paso, but they remained callous with their responses. Moreover, the reservationist would not assist us with making a hotel reservation with our points, however, she was willing to take $600.00 from us. Apparently, this was the standard rate for non-members and we cannot help but wonder, why did we become members, only to have to pay a no

Business Response
We apologize to Mr. ****** for any misunderstanding that may have occurred in the purchase of his membership in the Club.We certainly do not condone the the alleged actions of our owner education representative. We will investigate the matter thuroughly and take appropriate action. One of our representatives has been attempting to contact Mr. ****** to determine how we can resolve this situation. He should contact ***** at XXX-XXX-XXXX for assisstance. Thank You.

09/11/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Management of Starpoint Resorts signed a Right to Cancel of Sales under Nevada Revised Statutes 119A.410.
On May 31st, 2013, Senior Manager *** *** agreed and signed a Right to Cancel Contract of Sales while on their premises. It was agreed and acknowledged that we, customer, were misled by the salesperson's information.
We are owned a return of all monies paid for an amount of $399. We were advised to wait and a refund check will arrive in the mail in 6-8 weeks due 'processing time'. We waited and nothing arrived.

Therefore, on Aug 16th, we sent a signed receipt/certified mail to Starpoint Resorts containing a demand letter to return all monies as per signed Right to Cancel of Sales contract and that they would have 5 business days to complete this action. We did received the return signature receipt.

As of today, August 27th, neither a response nor return of all monies have been received.

Desired Settlement
We are seeking as per signed contract that all monies per returned for an amount of $399.

Business Response
It is my understanding that this situation has been resolved and the consumer has received his refund.Thank You.

Page 1 of 15
05/02/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This company is deceitful in every way possible. They based the sale of this contract on misrepresentations during our presentation.
Our ordeal began when we vacationed to Las Vegas in July of 2012. While sightseeing on the last day of our vacation, we were solicited to attend a resort presentation hosted by The Jockey Club. The solicitor offered us free beer, coupons, and a few other certificates in exchange for our attendance. She informed us that if we agreed to attend, she would earn $25.00 and stated that she really needed the money. She explained that she was a divorced mother of 2 and played upon our sympathy. Unfortunately, it worked and we agreed to attend the meeting. The following morning, July 21, 2012, we arrived at the Jockey Club Resort, where after waiting for nearly an hour, we were finally met by***** **** *******, Sales Representative. We were asked for our credit card and driver's license for identification purposes, followed by some basic qualifying questions. Thereafter, we were led into a very noisy sales center, where many other prospective buyers were already there and seated before their sales person. We sat down at a semi-private sales table and the sales pitch began; however, it was nearly 2 hours behind schedule. Mr. ******* began his sales pitch by explaining that his family owned timeshares with Geo Holiday. He showed us various pictures of a family enjoying their vacation and he claimed that it was his family depicted in those photos. The salesman told us that the Jockey Club Resort was one of the most desirable locations to own and due to its proximity; it held a great deal of value. He explained that the timeshare was an investment. Mr. ******* told us the Jockey Club Resort had a lot of history and by agreeing to the purchase; we were buying a piece of history. He claimed that "the rat pack" stayed at the resort many times and went on for a bit with his stories. He claimed that we could earn a significant profit by renting out our timeshare weeks. Moreover, he informed us that if we ever decided that we no longer wanted the timeshare, we could sell it for a profit. He said that we could sell the timeshare on our own, but Geo Holiday had a buyback and/or a resale program and they would gladly sell the timeshare for us. He claimed that this was very easy to do and either way, we had nothing to lose. We would never be stuck with the timeshare. He intentionally lied to us and his motive being to apply a false sense of security. Needless to say, following our purchase we eventually learned that this was a mere fallacy. The Geo Holiday Group offers no such rental, resale, or buyback programs. Had we known this was a lie, we would never have agreed to lock ourselves into a 45 year obligated debt, much less, would we have agreed to this without taking a bit more time to think about it and do our diligence. After declining his initial offer, we were offered a "special package" that included half the amount of points, for half the price of his original offer, and instead of a lifelong contract term, he offered us a 45 year/term package. He stated that he had to get the signature approval of his Manager before officially offering us this special, but if it was approved, we had to agree to the purchase right then and right there. Mr. ******* excused himself for a few moments and when he returned, he was accompanied by his Manger. The Manager asked us how many vacations we took per year and we told her the same thing we had just told the salesman, we took only one vacation per year. We explained that our next trip would not be until 2013. With that being said, she agreed to cut the package deal in half, half the amount of points, for half the cost. As an incentive to purchase, she explained that she would throw in 2012's points, in case we could squeeze in another trip that year. Both the salesman and his Manager knew fully that we would most likely not be able to use the gifted 2012 points, but they "gifted" them to us anyway.

Desired Settlement
Cancel our contract and refund the money we have paid.

Business Response
We must inform this consumer that we will not cancel their obligations and will not be refunding any monies paid. The agreement closed almost 2 years ago long after any cancellation period had expired. The disclosures signed and initialed by the complainant clearly indicate that they agreed they were buying the membership for their own use and enjoyment and not for investment, rental or resale. We would be happy to work with them towards an amicable resolution of this situation. To do so they should call either our Member Services Group or our Financial Services Group. Thank You.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Thank you to whomever has issued a response, but you have still neglected to address the true issues at hand and respond to our concerns. One of the major concerns is in regards to the $808 we were required to pay toward the 2012 maintenance fees and the failure of your agency to issue an invoice for those fees. Until we began receiving phone calls, we did not recall there being fees due and even if we had recalled that information, we had no invoice showing us how or to where we should submit our payments.

Additionally, we would like an explanation for the total of $808.00 due payable, AFTER late fees were waived. We can find no information within the contract supporting fees of such a substantial amount:

Access to RCI Resorts - "Your membership dues will be billed 30 days from today's date for your first year's Points allocation."
Credits & Membership Dues - "Membership Dues $630 with 1/2 due yearly"
Buyer's Acknowledgement and Understanding - "Your annual dues to the GeoHoliday Club Association are currently 0.XXXXXX cents per Credit for the 2012 use year..." .XXXXXX*XXXXX=$630.795

At the MOST our fees should have been $630 and they really should have been prorated to $52.50 due to the fact that we had only two years remaining in a 24 month usage period when the points were "gifted" to us. Despite the lack of proration, no one has ever been able to explain to us why we were charged a fee that was out of line with the terms of our contract. THE FEES ARE CLEARLY STATED IN THE TERMS OF THE CONTRACT. The fact that we were overcharged further lends credence to our statements regarding impropriety.

We must ask that someone take the time to respond to our concerns and explain WHY we were subjected to such unsavory behaviors. In lieu of the explanation, we will accept a withdrawal of the contract and a refund of all we have paid to date.


Final Business Response
We apologize for the misunderstanding regarding the annual membership dues. We will have a representative call and discuss this situation with the member and answer any questions or concerns they may have. We believe we can work out an amicable resolution satisfactory to both parties. Thank You.

03/17/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We took a tour for timeshare, and purchased it to later find out it was all a LIE.
December 6th 2013 is when the timeshare was purchased from the sales representative ***. In total we paid $540 and no longer want the service because we were lied too about our product and services.

Desired Settlement
I am asking for our $540 deposit refunded back into bank account.

Business Response
We are ready, willing and able to provide the services promised. There is no specific claims made in this complaint and no evidence of any misrepresentation in the presentation therefore we will not be cancelling the account. If they have any questions or concerns about their purchase they should call Members Services who will be happy to answer them. Thank You.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I was told on December 6, 2013 I would receive my member ID after I paid the deposit for my timeshare. I have spoken to several representatives of Geo Holiday since than and have not received a member Id Only a Bill. During the tour for the time share I was told I only needed 5,000 points to travel to ANY geo Holiday resort and Those points would be deposited in my account each year. In the actual contract Page 4, 5 & 6 state I will need from 2,653,XXX-XX,407,400 points to travel to their location. The presentation was extremely misleading. I contacted Geo Holiday requesting a refund of $540 which is my deposit. Also The Master Declaration is outdated and Unsigned which is clearly invalid. Thank you.

Final Business Response
Again this complaint is difficult to answer. The information suggested is so far off base that we don't know how to respond. First there are only 5 pages in the purchase agreement not 6. The number of credits referred to in the complaint are not close to reality and every purchaser receives the most recent Master Declaration and Bylaws for which they sign a receipt. There clearly is a misunderstanding about the membership. They should contact our Member Services Group who will assist them. Thank You.

02/18/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Despite being lied to by ***** sales staff, they refuse to help us, or at this point even communicate with us.As we explained to them, we met with a Jockey Club salesman by the name of James ******. Mr. ****** claimed to be a licensed real estate agent, selling what he claimed to be actual real estate property, and not just some timeshare program. The salesman was quite clever. Noting that we are from Mississippi, he explained that he too was from Mississippi, and had moved to the Las Vegas area following hurricane Katrina. Falling into his trap, we felt somewhat connected to the salesman. Regrettably, we felt as though he was a trustworthy gentleman, looking out for our best interests. In the end, we understand that he was looking out for himself, and his commission. He falsely described the purchase as real estate, claiming that it would be recorded as such in the Nevada State records. He stated that posing a piece of real estate in a prime location such as Las Vegas, Nevada, carried many advantages. The salesman stated that we could easily rent and/or sell our ownership at any time, leading us to believe, that we were buying something of tangible value. This could not be further from the truth. According to financial institutes, our ?ownership? is valued at zero, this membership is not real estate, and upon further investigation, we have learned that it is nearly impossible to rent and/or to sell our timeshare, much less for a profit. Mr. ****** also explained that we could allow our friends or family members to use our ownership, without having to pay any additional fees. Subsequently, we have discovered that this too is untrue. We were also told that as members with Geo Holiday, we would be entitled to receive discounts on airfare and car rentals. The salesman alluded to the fact that our maintenance fees would not come due until the following year, but to our dismay, we recently received a maintenance bill requesting payment for this year. Furthermore, we were told that we could refinance our timeshare loan at our personal bank for a lower interest rate, which was just another falsehood we were led to believe was true. Following Mr. ******?s sales pitch, we were still not convinced to purchase. That?s when we were joined by another seller, Diamond York, whom was called over to reinforce the benefits, and the reasons we needed to purchase. Diamond used many fancy?s drawings and figures, depicting how much money we would save on our future travels, by purchasing the Geo Holiday membership. We were also told that our investment held great appreciation value and hand-written charts were used to show the expected value increases over time. Still yet, we declined. We did not want to make such a costly decision, without having more time to think, or to privately discuss the purchase. At that point, Diamond reduced the overall sale price and also added an additional incentive of a ?special access privilege?, supposedly being valued at $5,295.00, but offered this to us for free, if we agreed to purchase on that day. We were told that we would never again be offered such a wonderful opportunity to purchase a membership with Geo Holiday at such a reduced price. We attempted to discuss this amongst ourselves to no avail. We were not given a moment of privacy and each time we attempted to discuss the purchase, one of the sales representatives would make some comment to distract us, gearing us away from our thoughts.

Desired Settlement
We felt completely taken advantage of. We relied on the statements and explanations made by the staff members of Geo Holiday/Jokey Club as being true. Our decision to purchase was solely based upon their statements and explanations, which we have now learned to be false, misleading, and/or exaggerated. Nonetheless, relying on their information, we ended up purchasing membership number XXXXXXX. Had we known the truth at the time of our unfortunate purchase, we would never have agreed to this. We would like for our contract to be canceled and all debt be resolved.

Business Response
We apologize to Mr. and Mrs. ****** for the misunderstanding that seems to have occurred with their membership. All our sales representatives are licensed by the Nevada Real Estate Division. They go through training to properly present our products to our customers in accordance with state and federal rules and regulations. We monitor their performance and take corrective action if appropriate. The disclosures that we present to each buyer clearly indicate that they have five days to review the documents and cancel if necessary, that the purchase of the membership is personal property not real property, that there are annual membership dues, and that the buyer is purchasing for personal use and enjoyment and not for investment, rental or resale. We regret the confusion over these matters and we would like nothing more than to keep Mr. and Mrs. ****** as valued members of the Club. We believe if they will give the system a try they will find what thousands of other families found that membership is a great way to vacation. A manager from our Member Services Team will contact them to go over any of their questions or concerns. Thank You.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Once again it seems they will take any excuse possible to try and make it seem as if they did nothing wrong.

This never should have been sold to us the way it was, and if the sales reps are licensed then they should be even more ashamed of how they sold this to us.

Final Business Response
We are ready, willing and able to provide the services promised which is a flexible Club system that allows our members to go on quality affordable vacations. We stand by our products and are willing to offer Ms. ****** 3 days 2 nights complimentary accommodations in Las Vegas with dinner and show tickets for 2. During the visit we would make available one of our Member Services representatives who will meet with her to answer any questions or concerns she may have. To take advantage of this offer she should call ***** at XXX-XXX-XXXX. Thank You.

02/17/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The sales people lied to us about how the program works as well as how the association fees would be collected.
The sales people lied to us about how the program works as well as how the points could be used. They specifically rushed us through the signing of the documents and continuously repeated to us that we could read it if we don't trust what they are saying. They also lied to us about how the association fees would need to be paid as well as lying to us about the refund process. They didn't tell us that we had 5 days to cancel either as I was just informed by **** ********

Desired Settlement
I want the money we've paid totalling $2,531.21 to date.

Business Response
We regret any misunderstanding that may have occurred during the presentation of our products to Mr. ******* and Ms. *** but it is difficult to address their concerns without more specificity in the complaint. The package of documents they received clearly disclose how the program works, annual dues, the method of payment, and the 5 day right to cancel. We would like nothing more than to keep them as valued members of the Club and provide them with vacations for many years to come. A manager from our Member Services Team will be in contact to discuss their questions and concerns. We hope to get them on vacation soon. Thank You.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We do not accept this response because although we were given the package of information, we were rushed through the going over of the paperwork And constantly told what the paper work said, although they lied about what the documentation actually said. Ultimately, like a crooked car salesman, we told what we were signing said one thing, when in reality it said another.

02/10/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The Geo Holiday Club uses high pressure sales tactics and take advantage of people when they are most vulnerable (when they are on vacation).
My wife and I purchased a timeshare from Geo Holiday Club on August 5, 2013 while we were staying at the Jockey Club on one of their free promotional packages. We had to sit though an hour presention to claim our free nights. We already had a timeshare that we were trying to get rid of so we had no intention of buying another one. We were assigned a salesperson to tell us the packages that they offered and we informed him that we had a timeshare already and were not looking to buy anything. He said that we can probably get you out of here early then and we were pleased. We first had to go over some of the benefits of Geo Holiday Club membership. Everthing seemed to be ok until our original salesman got kicked out of the room and a new saleswoman came in. She was chaotic bouncing from subject to subject. She pretended to be out friend. She didn't want to let us pass up on this opportunity. She finally offered to take our other timeshare as a trade in, knocking a significant amount off of the price. By this time 2 hours had gone by and my wife and I just wanted to get out of there but we also wanted to get rid of our other timeshare. So we fell for it. Our stipulation that we made on the deal was that they had to take the trade in timeshare before the maintenance fees were due at the end of the year. Both the salesperson and the person who recorded the paperwork said that they had plenty of time to get the transfer done before the fees were due. We still had buyers remorse and we decided to cancel the sale and brought a written signed note to the front desk that stated that fact. The front desk would not take that note and said that I had to give it to the salesperson. They made me wait and called her. Upon receiving the note she tore it up and said that it meant nothing. We had to give her back all of the paperwork that we signed. My wife and I had to meet with her again and she somehow convinced us to keep it. That is not the worst of it. When we got home I tried to give them the information on the trade in and they said that they can't do anything on trades until we get our membership number. I finally got that and faxed them my trade information on Sept 17th with a note saying to please contact me that they got it. No one contacted me I called them several times in October to make sure that this would be completed by the end of the year and finally received a phone call on November 4th that it states on our contract that we had to pay the maintenance fees for 2014 before they would take our trade. In the many papers we signed we missed that. We did sign the papers after being there for 3 hours and we were tired. You would think that our salesperson or the person recording the papers would have known this fact and pointed it out to us. I mentioned that I would not do the deal unless I didn't have to pay those fees on the trade in several times. It doesn't make sense. Our other timeshare was paid off. If we pay the maintenance fees we can just use it ourselves. It is also easier for them to sell. We were duped. They also have an annual membership fee of $340.81 that they neglected to tell us about. We want a full refund of our deposit and maintenance fees we paid on their timeshare. Thus far we have paid $970 (debit card) in a deposit, $655.40 (check)in maintenance fees, and 3 payments of $183.49 (automatic withdrawal). We are stopping payment on future payments and will not pay the annual membership fee. They were completely dishonest in their dealings with us and what they offered. Our membership number is XXX-XXX-XXXXXX. Thank you for a quick response to this request.
**** and Jill *********

Desired Settlement
We would like a full refund of all fees paid and cancel our contract with them.

Business Response
We find the comments of Mr. ********* in this complaint disturbing. We cetainly do not codone the behavior alleged and we will investigate the situation and take appropriate action. We invest substantially in training programs that insist that all our employees act in a professional maner and treat our customers with respect. We apologize if this was not the case. One of our managers will be in touch with Mr. and Mrs. ********* and hopefully resolve this matter to everyones satisfaction. Thank you.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have not heard back from the company yet so I would like you to keep this complaint open until we come to a satisfactory agreement.

Final Business Response
Our Member Services Manager has been attempting to contact this consumer for a few days now. We believe we have a mutually beneficial solution to this situation that should resolve this matter. Thank you.

Final Consumer Response
I don't know how this complaint could be closed. Geo Holiday Clubs last entry (on January 13th) stated that they hadn't gotten in touch with me yet to try to resolve the problem. I did receive a call from their office asking me to clarify my complaint and how I would like it resolved. I was told that they would contact me today with a possible compromise to resolve this issue. I have yet to hear back from them. Until I hear from them directly regarding my complaint, I will not consider this complaint closed.

Page 1 of 21

Industry Comparison| Chart

Timeshare Companies, Resorts

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/16/2004Business started: 06/24/2003Business started locally: 07/07/2010
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: July 2002, NV

Contact Information
Mr. Michael Muldoon (President)
Business Category

Timeshare Companies, Resorts

Alternate Business Names
GeoHoliday Club
Industry Tips
BBB Warns of Deceptive Travel-Related Promotions
Reselling Your Timeshare
Timeshare Scams Can Bilk the Unsuspecting
Vacation and Travel

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Starpoint Resort Group, Inc.

235 E Warm Springs Rd Ste 100

Las Vegas, NV 89119-4253

To | From

LocationsX

3 Locations

  • 235 E Warm Springs Rd Ste 100 

    Las Vegas, NV 89119-4253

  • 3700 Las Vegas Blvd S Fl 2 

    Las Vegas, NV 89109-4312

  • PO Box 4184 

    Stateline, NV 89449-4184

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Nevada. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Starpoint Resort Group, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (702) 699-5323
  • (702) 987-8125

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (702) 968-0805
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.