BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Southern Nevada

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 12/08/2010

Explore Talent

(800) 598-75003395 S Jones Blvd # 15, Las VegasNV 89146-6729 Send email to Explore Talent

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 12/08/2010

BBB has determined that Explore Talent meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Explore Talent's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 20 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

20 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 11 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues5
Billing / Collection Issues4
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service10
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 20

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Explore Talent

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 2 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (20)BBB Closure Definitions
12/02/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Customer Service Complaint Issue

Complaint: I am writing to complain about the illegal and unauthorized posting of my picture and personal information on Explore Talent website.
On October 29th, 2013 I was contacted by a friend who had asked me when I started into the acting field. Not having had EVER been interested nor involved in ANY acting or modeling I asked why he thought this. He advised that he had seen my pic and personal information on the "Explore Talent" website. I immediately went to said site and sure enough there was my pic and some personal information regarding me and that I was a member with my own sub website and credentials.
I have NEVER visited this website nor have I ever submitted any picture or personal information to this site .... or any other affiliated site at ANY time. I did not authorize this publication. I want my picture and personal information removed from this website and any / all use of my name, pictures and personal information removed from this website.

Initial Business Response


At 5:57 am PST on 8/7/11 an individual, visited our website
www.exploretalent.com and created a free profile. During the creation of
their profile they entered their name as being ******* ******, located in
********** NY, with a phone number of XXX-XXX-XXXX, and an email address. As
Explore Talent is a community for actors and models, further voluntary
descriptive information is asked of those signing up, which in this case was
provided; gender, date of birth, and ethnicity. The final step of
voluntarily signing up for a free profile to our community is the option of
uploading pictures, which were uploaded. A courtesy call was attempted on
12/3/11 to the owner of this free profile, to follow up on their desire to
be a part of the Explore Talent community; however the phone number provided
was a wrong number. No other attempts were made to contact the profile owner
and no login attempts were made by the owner of the profile.



On October 30, 2013 our Customer Service department received an email
message from ******* ****** requesting to have his online profile removed
from the Explore Talent website. We immediately complied with his request
however we were unable to communicate that with ******* ****** due to
invalid phone number on file. Upon receiving ******* ******'s compliant, we
completed an investigation into ******* ******'s profile and his claim of
never having created this profile on our website. We can assure your
department as well as ******* ****** that we do not fraudulently create
profiles or use people's pictures, email addresses, and information to
create profiles. We have no access people's personal information, except for
what is volunteered on our website. Further research also revealed that the
IP address from which the profile was created links to the New Jersey and
New York areas, the area in which Mr. ****** is currently residing.



We are always available for our customers by phone or email and more than
happy to provide solutions to any problem brought to our attention.
Unfortunately, ******* ****** did not give us that opportunity prior to
filing his complaint with your department. We have not been contacted by
******* ****** via telephone to resolve this matter and the only
communication we have had from him is the 10/30/13 email. We regret that Mr.
****** is not interested in utilizing our services, however, as requested;
******* ******'s profile has been removed from the Explore Talent community
and will be removed from internet search databases in approximately thirty
days. We cannot offer any further information as to how ******* ******'s
name, location, date of birth, and pictures got on our website other than
what we have provided in this response. We understand people have remorse in
creating online profiles after the fact, however with a quick phone call to
us we could have taken care of this for ******* ******. In any case, we wish
him well with all his future endeavors.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

11/11/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Unauthorized credit card charges

Complaint: I agreed for a 6 month trial and they assured me that there would be no additional charges. Come to find out they just charged me $119.94.
The proceeded to charge me after 6 months $119.94. When I called to dispute, they were completely rude saying that I agreed to this verbally. I asked where the contract was and they could not produce it. I used the audition service one time and the "Producer" asked me to take my clothes off. This is website is such a scam and takes advantage of people. They make their money on automatically taking the credit card that you tried the service out with and then automatically charging it with no authorization. The customer service representative and her manager were screaming at me saying that I agreed to this and that I have been using their service. In reality, if they knew anything about my account they would know that I hadn't used it in over 4 months. I would like my money back and cancel my service with them. They also need to be warned on to not be misleading to their customers. Once you give them your credit card number, they will keep charging you no matter what they say at first to get you interested in the service.

Initial Business Response
In regards to BBB Case# ********* ***** ****
Ms. **** activated her 6 month Pro Membership on January 25, 2013. Promptly after activation Ms. **** was transferred to our Verification Department - at this time Ms. **** was made aware of the Recurring charges and her renewal date of July 25, 2013, she was also advised of the cancellation process. Ms. **** also acknowledged and electronically agreed to the online "E-Agreement", which reiterates the Verification script (advising of Recurring and that the Talent will cancel membership If no longer interested prior to renewal).
On October 3, 2013 Ms. **** called our Customer Service department inquiring about July 25, 2013 charge demanding to have it refunded. The Customer Service Representative advised Ms. **** of the charge details and the reasoning for the renewal (verified for Recurring charges, lack of cancellation request until that day). Upon hearing this Ms. **** became very argumentative and would not allow the Representative to speak or offer a resolution to her. As call escalated, the Customer Service Manger took over the call to assist Ms. ****, the same explanation regarding the renewal in the account was provided to Ms. **** and a resolution of a partial refund (as charge was over 2 months old) was offered and accepted by Ms. ****. She had no other concerns and appeared to be happy with the resolution offered.
Upon receiving this complaint, our Customer Service Manager has called Ms. **** several times to discuss her concerns and the resolution sought, unfortunately we have been unable to reach her, and she has not returned any of the calls. As a Courtesy to Ms. ****, the remaining amount will be refunded to her, and her profile will be removed from the data base. We regret that Ms. **** is no longer interested in our services and wish her luck in all her future endeavors.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

10/17/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Product Quality Complaint Issue

Complaint: This site is a big scam and dont follow through with what they are supposed to do.
I enrolled on the explore talent free site, then got a call promising me all sorts of great benifits if I become a pay member. I foolishly did and they told me theyd send me business cards and have a dedicated person to help me with my resume and all my questions. I spoke with this person and they set up a date to speak with them. I called back at the time given and wow they were in an important meeting. I next found out they were a ex con and didnt even get a call back. I never recieved my cards any resume help and no one ever even looked at my site! I want my money back and an apology, and hope to expose these people for who they really are!

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

09/23/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When we registered we were not told that casting directors could not contact us through AOL.
We were never told when we signed up for this that we should have another email other than AOL because most if not all the casting directors emails would not coming through to an AOL account.

Initial Business Response

In regards to Ms. *****'s complaint,

Our Customer Service Manager has made several attempts to contact Ms. ***** by phone regarding her complaint; we have also left messages asking her to call; however we have been unable to discuss her concern with her.
Ms. ***** claims that she was not made aware of AOL's tendency to reject emails. As different Email providers have different security/filter settings, it is unknown if emails are received or not. We have tested this issue with several different Email providers and have found that Emails coming from the Casting Directors are received. If Ms. ***** were to have called Customer Service with the concern of not receiving emails, we would have been able to assist her in troubleshooting the problem.
As part of our Verification process, we make the Talent aware of the importance of having a properly functioning Email address, as this is the main form of communication with the Casting Directors and can be pertinent to a talent's success.
Ms. ***** purchased her membership in April 2013 and has been actively using the website. We have had no communication from Ms. ***** until recently, which has been by Email on 07/01/13 and 08/19/13, we have tried numerous times to contact Ms. *****, and have left several messages for her, with no return call. Unfortunately, when our calls are not returned we cannot assist in resolving any concerns Ms. ***** may have.
We would have liked to assist Ms. ***** and resolve this with her however; we have been unable to speak with Ms. *****. As a courtesy we have processed a full refund for Ms. *****. We regret that Ms. ***** is no longer interested in utilizing our services and wish her luck with all her future endeavors.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This will resolve the issue once I get the refund. I will respond to you when I have received the refund.
Thank you ****** N. *****

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

09/20/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Unauthorized service

Complaint: This company without my permission/authorization has taken my information and photographs and posted on their website. This is copyright infringement
I have never used this website, paid this website or come across it until searching my name and noticed my private picture was posted on this absurd site. I was astonished and disgusted that a website stole my information and PERSONAL photos for their own entertainment. I have no interest in modeling or acting! I am a federal employee with Customs and Border Protection and want this removed asap! They will not remove my information nor did they have my permission or authorization to hack into my facebook which is where I'm assuming they stole my photos. I understand the internet is public but this is unethical. This is fraud and copyright infringement. This company should be removed from the internet. I read other reviews they have used children and mothers have put in complaints as well. Absolutely horrible! I'm embarrassed and mortified. I noticed this on August 20th and have never logged onto the website until that date (2013). Please help in this matter.

Initial Business Response
On the evening of August 20th 2013 our Customer Service department received an Email and Voicemail message from Ms. ********* requesting to have her online profile removed from the Explore Talent website. Her profile was immediately removed at which time she was called and a voicemail message was left for her confirming removal of the profile.
Upon receiving this compliant our Customer Service Supervisor also called, and was able to speak with Ms. *********. During this conversation Ms. ********* was advised of the profile details(ie: date of creation, contact information listed, IP address that profile was created from was also offered) she was also advised at this time that her profile was immediately removed as requested and a confirmation email was sent to her at the email address provided.
Upon further research we found that the IP address from which the profile was created links to the New Jersey and New York areas- the area in which Ms. ********** has and is currently residing. The contact information that was provided on the profile (ie: email address and phone number) is also the same as provided in Ms. *********'s compliant. It appears as if the profile was created but never logged into after that- it was suggested to her that she may have forgot or did not realize she had began creating the profile.
We regret that Ms. ********* is not interested in utilizing our services; with respect to her career, Ms. *********'s profile has been removed from the data base as requested. We wish her well with all her future endeavors.


We are requesting this Complaint is marked "for info only" as the complaint appears to have been filed at the same time of her request. We immediately removed the profile as requested the next business day and confirmed this with Ms. *********.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

Page 1 of 4
05/01/2014Advertising / Sales Issues
02/26/2014Advertising / Sales Issues
02/08/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Talent Listing Service

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 11/20/2007Business started: 08/21/2002Business started locally: 05/30/2007
Business Management
Principal: Ms. Jennifer Smythe (Manager)
Business Category

Talent Listing Service

Products & Services

This company offers online talent subscription

BBB Program Participation
This company has agreed to use special procedures including arbitration, if necessary, to resolve disputes through their participation in the following programs: BBB Identification, BBBOnLine.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Explore Talent has received 5.00 out of 5 stars based on 2 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Explore Talent

3395 S Jones Blvd # 15

Las Vegas, NV 89146-6729

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 3395 S Jones Blvd # 15 

    Las Vegas, NV 89146-6729

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Nevada. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Explore Talent is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Talent Listing Service

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.