BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/01/1986

Anthony & Sylvan Pools

(702) 736-13273019 Saint Rose Pkwy Ste 120, HendersonNV 89052-3887 Send email to Anthony & Sylvan Pools

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/01/1986

BBB has determined that Anthony & Sylvan Pools meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Anthony & Sylvan Pools' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

25 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Anthony & Sylvan Pools

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 25
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 25 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
05/04/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Anthony Sylvan saved a few hundred bucks by giving us a pool filter too small for our pool costing us thousands of dollars and stress.
We bought our pool for around 30K in Feb of 2010. It included a single cartridge filter. We experienced pool pressure increase problems from just about the first month and were told by the Pool Service Co. recommended by A & S that we needed to clean our cartridge more frequently. That did not work so they told us to acid wash the cartridge and we paid them $65 a few times to do it. Still having issues with pressure increase they recommended replacing the cartridge after only 18 months for $285 when these are normally supposed to last 3-5 yrs. A few months later we still had same issue and same responses by Pool Service Co. Again paid $65 a few times for acid washing. The pressure continued to rise so we were told we probably needed a new cartridge so in Feb of 2014 we bought one from our local pool supply store at $220. During the first 5 months the pressure increased again and I paid the Pool Service Co $100 to check pool and they recommended an acid wash and drain. I called A & S and our rep recommended a different Pool Service Co for a second opinion. This Co. told us the filter may be too small for the pool or a defective cartridge. He also stated he was a long term personal friend of our A & S rep. I went back to store and they recommended they come out and look and said cartridge looked fine. I paid $85 and they immediately told me the filter was too small for pool. In the meantime the pressure rose to 30 which is nearly 3 times normal and the water was barely coming out of the returns. I left an emergency message on the 2nd Co machine and no call back. I had to call A & S rep and finally he called a day later. He said we probably needed a bigger filter because it was too small. When I asked him to call A & S Rep to let him know because I felt we should have been given correct size filter everything changed. He said he would but never did. Then we called A & S rep and he said needed to talk to Co. We never heard from either one so sent emails and no response. We finally called and got the Rep and he said the filter was correct size and Co did not tell him otherwise. I feel we were stuck in between personal friendships here and asked A & S Rep what to do. He said he would send the mfr out to look and see if it was defective He never did. We finally ended up purchasing new 4 cartridge filter for $1000 in Dec 2014. The pool pressure has been fine ever since. We also just paid another $450 for an acid wash that was needed because of the filter being too small. Acid washes are usually done after 6 years. We are very disappointed in paying about 30 K for a pool with the incorrect size filter. The pool right now never looked this good since it is being circulated correctly. Also we are afraid to even know what damage has been done to the plumbing and pipes running on such a high pressure. We feel we got stuck in the middle of a long term friendship and were not treated fairly.

Desired Settlement
We would like some kind of reimbursement for all expenses occurred due to this insufficient filter.

Business Response
********* BBB Response (Case# XXXXXXXX)

Melinda ********* purchased the pool (no spa) from Anthony & Sylvan Pools

The pool was plastered and finished (filled with water) on January 22, 2011

All Anthony & Sylvan swimming pools use the manufactures guidelines on installation of the pool equipment. In pool hydrology, the filter is sized to the gallons per minute (gpm) flow of the pump. The pool pump is sized to the pool and the water capacity. The owner's pool is 348 square feet and holds 10,350 gallons of water. The Jandy Stealth 1.0 hp pool pump that was installed on the pool is properly sized for the pool and produces a maximum of 90 gpm. The Jandy CS250 filter installed on the pool is perfectly balanced to the pump with the ability to handle up to 125 gpm. This balanced system is installed on a majority of our pools (no spa) less than 400 square feet.

The area of town that the pool is installed in has a lot of open desert. The inordinate amount of wind and dust that blows in the pool is the issue. The amount of dust that gets into the filter over a short period of time causes the pressure to build in the filter requiring frequent cleaning ("acid wash filter"). If the service company does not clean the filter frequently, this will cause damage to the filter element and release dirt back in to the pool that eventually stains the floor (requiring acid washing of the interior plaster finish).

When the customer was instructed to change the filter, this was only to increase the capacity of dust/dirt that the filter could hold, creating less cleaning ("acid wash filter") cycles for the service company.

I am not aware of any personal friendships with our service and warranty company ******** **** *********** The plumbing in the pool is fine; it is designed and balanced with the entire plumbing system to handle pressure exceeding 125 gpm along with being warrantied for life under the structure of the pool.

I will be more than happy to visit with Ms. ********* and review the pool. If there are any issues that are Anthony & Sylvan's responsibility outside of my response to the complaint, I will work with our customer as this is the first time in 4 years that I have heard of this issue

Sincerely,

Mitch ********
(Anthony & Sylvan Pools, General Manager)
(XXX) XXX -XXXX extension ****


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We were told when we purchased the pool to clean the cartridge about every 3 months and it would probably need to be replaced after 3-5 years. We were also told that the plaster would probably need an acid wash every 6 years. This was not true. We needed to clean the cartridge every month and sometimes twice a month due to high pressure. We also had lots of stains in the plaster and the pool looked horrible after only 3 seasons and needed an acid wash. Now we are being told that the reason for all of these problems is due to dust and wind in our area. If this was the case why were we not informed at time of purchase and even given the opportunity to purchase a filter that would be able to handle this? We would have been much happier to even pay extra to have the proper filtration which would have cost us less money, stress and work in the long term. At the time of the final contract we were told to upgrade to a better pool cleaner (vac) which we paid extra and did. When spending 30 K for a pool if A&S would have told us about the possibility of dust and wind requiring more cleanings with the filter they sold us we would have asked at that time for a better one.
As for the personal friendship, as I stated it was the 2nd Pool Service Company I was referring to not the 1st Admiral Pool. As I stated our A&S Rep referred Pool One and Rick ****** came out and he is the one that told us he had been a personal friend of our A&S Rep for many years. Later after the pressure kept rising he was the one that said the filter was too small for the pool and recommended a 4 cartridge filter system. When I asked him to let A&S know what he found that is when I never heard back from him or my A&S Rep. I then got a 3rd opinion and that Company also recommended a 4 cartridge filter system stating that the one I had was just not big enough for the pool and that is why I was having to keep cleaning/replacing the single cartridge due to high pressure. I did purchase the 4 cartridge filter system in Dec. of 2014. It is now 3 months later and I have not had any issues at all with the pressure being high and I only had to clean the cartridges ONCE like I was originally told when I purchased the pool. So obviously it was the filter that was causing all of the pressure problems and not the wind and dust.

I specifically waited at least 3 months to be absolutely sure it was due to the insufficient filter before filing this complaint and after also being told by 2 different Pool companies.

If A&S is willing to discuss some type of reimbursement then I will be happy to have A&S come out to visit and review the pool.

Final Business Response
We have made contact with the customer and we are currently working with them on a positive resolution.



Final Consumer Response

07/29/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design, Swimming Pools - Private, Spas & Hot Tubs - Dealers, Swimming Pool Manufacturers & Distributors, Swimming Pool Enclosures, Swimming Pools & Hot Tubs

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/14/2008Business started: 11/14/1985Business started locally: 07/12/2006
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

BBB records show a license number of 0023414 for this company. The expiration date of this license is 11/30/2016.

Type: State Construction Lic.

Check License Status: https://www.nvcontractorsboard.com/datamart/nvscbSearchDetails.do?anchor=aaf466a.0.0&returnPage=

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Mitch Martinez (General Manager)
Business Category

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design, Swimming Pools - Private, Spas & Hot Tubs - Dealers, Swimming Pool Manufacturers & Distributors, Swimming Pool Enclosures, Swimming Pools & Hot Tubs

BBB Program Participation
This company has agreed to use special procedures including arbitration, if necessary, to resolve disputes through their participation in the following programs: BBB Identification, BBBOnLine.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Anthony & Sylvan Pools has received 5.0 out of 5 stars based on 25 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Anthony & Sylvan Pools

3019 Saint Rose Pkwy Ste 120

Henderson, NV 89052-3887

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 3019 Saint Rose Pkwy Ste 120 

    Henderson, NV 89052-3887

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Nevada. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Anthony & Sylvan Pools is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.