BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 06/22/2005

Sting Alarm Inc

Phone: (702) 737-8464Fax: (702) 457-84647120 Rafael Ridge Way, Las VegasNV 89119-4002 Send email to Sting Alarm Inc

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 06/22/2005

BBB has determined that Sting Alarm Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Sting Alarm Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues2
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Sting Alarm Inc

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
07/18/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Continue to received invoices stating 1-3 months past due and every month is automatically billed to my credit card.
I have had this service for over a year and 8 months ago started receiving notices that I was 30-90 days past due. Every month has been billed on my Visa credit card. Have called with my sales rep., accounting department, etc. to no avail. Last month Sting Alarm requested I filled out new paperwork with same credit card information due to a new billing system and a referral for ***** and ***** ***** that would provide me with a free month of service. I just received another invoice stating I need to submit payment for May 2014 and I have not received my free month of service for the referral. I called my sales rep Tuesday afternoon and asked him to handle this matter or I want to be released from my contract. He stated that the Manager would call me first thing Wednesday morning and settle the problem as they have had issues with some of their billing employees. I never received a call like always,this has been nonstop for 8+ months.

Desired Settlement
I would like my free month of service for the referral of ***** & ***** ****** And stop sending me invoices stating that I am 30-90 past due when they bill my Visa credit card every month. They also need to stop telling me that they don't report people to the credit agencies when they are past due, so I should not worry???

Business Response
I talked to Ms. *******. Everything is fine and the issues were all cleaned up by Accounting. Her account is current. The referral credits were issued. She is happy with our service and thanked me for the follow-up. She had thought she squared us with the BBB. I will access the link and respond. ***

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
The billing issues were resolved and the appropiate credts were issed. Thank you for your assistance.

06/14/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
A test signal kicked all my cameras off line. Been trying for 5 days to get service. Appointment (8 AM today) not met.
Trying to cancel account
May 12 - Test signal sent and activated alarm. It was a system test. But it kicked off all my video cameras. Needed to schedule a repair. It was scheduled for 8 AM today. No one showed up. Been trying to talk to accounting to cancel my account and remove why credit card. No one there. Tried to talk to GM. He was not there; has not called back. No one seems to be available for anything! I always get put on hold. I am trying to refund my payment for June; then I want to cancel my service. No accountability whatsoever in that company. No semblance of customer service. No one has called to even attempt to solve my technical and now accounting problems. You can't do business like that!

Desired Settlement
I want the GM to call me. I want to cancel my account. I want to refund my credit card for the June payment mistakenly made when they switched from *** to Sting.

Business Response
Customer was contacted about late response to service call. Technician in route. Arrived and re-set WIFI router and tested system to Customer's satisfaction. Account was removed from auto-pay at customers' request. The service that was requested was out of warranty but done at no charge. A 2- month service credit was issued on the account to off-set customers' inconvenience.

11/17/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Retire and asked it they could lower payment amount. They could but services would be cut too. Asked to cancel service.
The alarm went off three times; once because of our grandson being curious with the panel. Two other times, not knowing why. I stopped payments in March 2014 after requesting cancellation and asked them to remove their equipment; Sting called continuously from March to June insisting I had to pay $159.96; I paid that amount an again insisted it be canceled and wrote it on my check. I told them they could removed their equipment which they never did, therefore we finally disconnected the alarm ourselves so it would quit going off and informed Sting the same. We have now received several letters stating that we owe a cancellation fee of $199.99. I was told all I owed was what I previously paid in March. We are still receiving calls and letters from Sting Alarm, which is harassment for money we do not owe and will not pay.

Desired Settlement
Paid in full as per previous payment made to Sting in the amount of $159.96 along with second cancellation request on check. We are on a fixed income and will not pay them any more.

Business Response
Sting offered a reduced monthly service fee that would have included basic monitoring service. This was declined. The Service Agreement included a fee for early termination that was billed through the contract anniversary date of January 2015. Although this fee is due Sting, in this instance we will cancel the early termination fee and credit his account.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Security Control Equipment & System Monitors

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/22/2002Business started: 02/26/2003
Business Management
Mr. Jonathan Fine (Owner/Manager)
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Perry (Vice President/CEO)
Business Category

Security Control Equipment & System Monitors

BBB Program Participation
This company has agreed to use special procedures including arbitration, if necessary, to resolve disputes through their participation in the following programs: BBB Identification, BBBOnLine.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Sting Alarm Inc has received 3.7 out of 5 stars based on 2 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Sting Alarm Inc

7120 Rafael Ridge Way

Las Vegas, NV 89119-4002

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 7120 Rafael Ridge Way 

    Las Vegas, NV 89119-4002

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Nevada. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Sting Alarm Inc is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Security Control Equipment & System Monitors

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.