BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/22/2003

Preventive Pest Control

Phone: (702) 649-0019Fax: (702) 649-29362838 Marco St, Las VegasNV 89115-3466 Send email to Preventive Pest Control

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/22/2003

BBB has determined that Preventive Pest Control meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Preventive Pest Control

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
09/28/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

This company has lied and are billing me incorrectly from what I was todl and almost harmed my service dog!
so the sales guy told me to sign up for $1 and then I would not be billed till June, they billed me in May which was incorrect and I have disputed this with them and they are telling me I am wrong but I confirmed with my friend who also got the service and is being over charged as well from them. Also I did not permit the bug guy to come spray yesterday (09/21/15) they jumped my wall and sprayed my back yard, I have a doggie door in my house and my Service Dog - ID Code XXXXXXXXXX could have been affected by them spraying. You see the other couple of times they came I was home and this time I wasn't and they did not even contact me before they came like they are supposed to do.If they were to contact me like they are supposed to I would have refused service and that is why they did not contact me, and are trying to bill me for $130 which I have not authorized them to do. They actually were trespassing when they came onto my property yesterday and could have really harmed my dog or even killed her and I would have had a lawsuit on my and their hands, if anything would have happened to my service dog!!

Desired Settlement
I want them to adjust their records to what I was told by the sales rep and this last bill for $65 to go away, I was in a dispute with the company and did not permit them to come to my house to spray, they never contacted me advising they were coming, the reason for that they are money hungry!

Business Response
***** ****** called our office on September 15, 2015 in regards to her past due balance of $65.00. We explained to the customer that she had a service completed on May 15, 2015 which is why she had past due balance, customer was under the impression that she would not be charged for that treatment. We explained to her that it was her 4-6 week regular service and let her know that it is also written down on her service agreement. Customer was mailed a service history as well as a payment history for her to review. ***** continued to be upset and not understand our billing, she also had a service completed on September 21, 2015 which again was billed for and her account was brought to a total of $130.00. She was also upset that our service tech jumped her gate to complete her service and was worried about her service dog being harmed; the product we use to service the home is organically derived from the chrysanthemum flower so it is human and pet friendly. On the service agreement it states that if no one is home, the exterior of the home will be serviced.
We came to a mutual understanding with *****, we let her know that we were going to credit the account for the full balance owed of $130.00. We also let her know that we will make the appropriate notes on her account so this does not happen again. Attached will be a copy of her service agreement and e-mails.

If you have any questions or concerns, please feel free to contact our office at XXX-XXX-XXXX.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I do want them to understand from the start they were NEVER to jump over my gate due to me having a service dog and the spray could harm her!! I do still want this to be on their record so it warns other people to watch them because they do lie and could have killed my Service Dog!

10/05/2016Guarantee / Warranty Issues
03/23/2015Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Pest Control Services

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 01/22/2003Business started: 06/07/1997Business started locally: 06/01/2002
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jeff Burns (Owner)
Business Category

Pest Control Services

BBB Program Participation
This company has agreed to use special procedures including arbitration, if necessary, to resolve disputes through their participation in the following programs: BBB Identification, BBBOnLine.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Preventive Pest Control has received 5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Preventive Pest Control

2838 Marco St

Las Vegas, NV 89115-3466

To | From


1 Locations

  • 2838 Marco St 

    Las Vegas, NV 89115-3466

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Nevada. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Preventive Pest Control is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


Industry Tips for Pest Control Services


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.