BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

West Coast Movers, Inc.

Phone: (877) 939-7333Fax: (877) 221-8333

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

109 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 61 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues5
Billing / Collection Issues5
Delivery Issues24
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service74
Total Closed Complaints109

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (109)
11/19/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
CSI approved claim for damage on 4-15-2045. Settlement amount of $248.40 has not been received as of today, despite of several emails and phone calls.
RE: Order/Job No. PXXXXXX - Claim ID #XXXXX - Claim #XXX-XXX.
On April 15, 2015 Claims Service International (CSI) advised me in their Release Form that my claim for damages was approved for a settlement amount of $ 248.40 and that West Coast Movers LLC will mail my check to **** ******* ***** ***** ******** ** XXXXX. Despite of several phone calls to several representatives of West Coast Movers (i.a. Kathy at X-XXX-XXX-XXXX and XXX-XXX-XXXX,and Ashley at XXX-XXX-XXXX) and emails to **********************@gmail.com and ****@westcoastmoversusa.com)and several oral promises that the check was going to be mailed promptly, no check has been received as of today.

Desired Settlement
Mail me a check in the amount of $ 248.40 without any further delay.

Business Response
We mailed that check out months ago and was returned with a bad address. We will send the new check out to the address listed above.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Because the response is using the exact same words that were used when I called them. At the time they even specified that the check was going to be mailed the next Friday, or that it was going to be in my mailbox within 72 hours, even after I gave them my correct mailing address (that was mentioned correctly on the original release form, by the way). Seeing is believing. I'll keep you posted.

Final Business Response
Your check was mailed out. If you did not get it by say Friday of this week please contact our office.

Final Consumer Response
Thank you very much for your assistance. I received the check and have cashed it. The case is resolved and can now be closed.

09/21/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
terms do not fit needs there was hidden charge and unable to contact co./ customer service with the numbers provided by this Co. to cancel transaction
On 9/15/2015 I put a 100.00 deposit with west coast movers for a long distance move. Upon receiving the estimate to sign via email there was a 100.00 charge included for processing fee which I was not told about . In addition I was told that I could pay with credit card and in estimate it stated otherwise. I tried several times to call back and the person I spoke with but the number did not work. I also called the customer service number given to me with no response (always goes to voice mail) My Credit card was charge the 100.00 deposit and I still cannot get a hold of this Company. I am disputing the charge with my bank as soon as it posts to my credit card account

Desired Settlement
refund of deposit -

Business Response
I must say this is the most ridiculous complaint I have ever seen. This customer was emailed a quote that included all charges. There was nothing hidden. She made the reservation on the 15 which was the day before yesterday and cancelled the reservation the next day. This person obviously did not have any issues getting thru to our company as we have spoke with her numerous times. We do not have any problem refunding this persons money as we really do not want her business.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
the company refunded deposit after complaint

08/24/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Promised delivery date of furniture and household goods was not met. Phone calls go unanswered and are not returned.
The delivery date of August 8, 2015 for furniture and household goods was not met. Subsequent phone calls were unanswered and returned.

Desired Settlement
The delivery of furniture and household goods was promised for August 08, 2015. Delivery passed and subsequent phone calls were not answered or returned.

Business Response
We never guarantee delivery dates. You may contact our customer service dept any time Monday thru Saturday 9am to 5pm for any updates regarding delivery.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
However, with the help of your contact, our furniture was delivered Monday, August 17th. Thank you for your help.

Final Consumer Response

08/24/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My heirloom furniture was delivered broken.
On 3-25-2015 the claim was settled. I was told the check was on the way and am still waiting on 08-13-15
I created an order on 03-18-14 with Ann **** of West Coast Movers X-XXX-XXX-XXXX to move family heirloom furniture from Arizona to me in Washington state. The pick up date of the furniture in AZ was May 10, 2014. The job number is BXXXXXX and I paid a total of $900.00 using a visa card. Assuming they would do a professional job I did not purchase any extra insurance. Unloading was to be included in the delivery. The furniture was delivered on June 7, 2014, later than promised with the driver calling multiple times late at night and early in the morning to reschedule the drop off. I had to re-arrange my work schedule multiple times to accomodate his inability to deliver when promised. He also had no one to help unload. All items were unbeleiveably damaged and broken with one item completely missing. I filed a claim and was told I would receive a settelment of $108.00. The claim was processed through CSI (Claims Service International) ** *** **** ** ****** ** XXXXX phone XXX-XXX-XXXX. My claim ID # XXXXX/claim No. XXX-XXX. I received an email from CSI on 03-20-15 stating that on 3-25-15 West Coast Movers would be notified that I was to be paid $108.00.I waited until June 28, 2015 to call West Coast movers to inquire about the payment and was promised that the amount would be paid. I emailed CSI on 07-03-15 asking for their assistance in getting my claim paid, I received an email back from them re-stating that they had notified CSI.I emailed West Coast Movers on July 3, 2015 and I have called "Kassie" who answers their phones about 10 times since then. I have been told a check was mailed on July 24, 2015 and have yet to receive anything. I have asked for a superviser or other person to talk to and reference numbers for the calls. Kassie has refused all of these requests. I was given the number of the accounting department X-XXX-XXX-XXXX. I have called that number only to leave a message with a promise from "Ashlie" to be called back within 24 hours. I called on 08/11/15 and again 08/13/15 only to get the answering machine with no returned calls. I called CSI 08-13-15 and was told they would call West Coast Movers to inquire about the promise of payment but NO PAYMENT!

Desired Settlement
Be paid what they owe me for breaking my furniture
$108.00, the settlement amount and warnings to them that they change their practices!!!

Business Response
Your check has been mailed.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I accept the payment owed me and consider this resolved. I do not accept their poor excuse that they "had the wrong address." I received my check finally and only after the BBB got involved. West coast movers continues to take no responsibility for their poor service. From my very first contact with them, hey DID have my correct and current address as well as my phone number and email that have not changed in over 10 years. They say they were using the delivery address instead of my home address to mail the settlement payment. They had many ways they could have contacted me to fix their error about the addresses and did not use any of them. Further, I told them in June what address to mail the check to and they did not send it until the BBB got involved. I received my check 08-21-2015, 1.5 years after the poor delivery, 5 months after the settlement was awarded, 2 months after my constant requests began and 1 week after the BBB got involved!! Thank you BBB. I will happily spread the word!

08/04/2015Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Items not delivered within the 3 week time period.
Not answering emails and calls.

Originally we were told the furniture would be delivered within two weeks. When the furniture was picked up (one day late) we were informed via the contract it could take up to three weeks. It is now over that time limit. We have called numerous times and left voice messages. Also, emails have been sent.

Desired Settlement
Want the furniture delivered ASAP.

Business Response
The contract states we have up to 21 business days for delivery. You may call our customer service department for any updates.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The contract was signed on 6/25/2015. It is over the 21 day time period. (If you go Monday thru Friday) I have called the company and emailed them and have not received any response. The shipping of the furniture has been paid in full.
The Company needs to tell its employees not to guarantee delivery before the 21 day time period. I was verbally told it probably would take two weeks maximum.

Final Consumer Response
We finally heard back from them. The furniture will be shipped out sometime this week. (I guess we will see what happens!)

Page 1 of 3
05/23/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I hired West Coast Movers to ship my items from California to Pennsylvania, and have been regretting my decision to use West Coast Movers ever since.
DO NOT HIRE THIS COMPANY!!!
I am still waiting for my shipment from this horrible company even as I am typing this complaint.

I spoke with Joe, who drafted my contract, to have my items in their storage for two additional months before I could give them a deliver date. The price was quoted for the zip code in where I was moving to in PA, and in addition the storage rental.

On the pickup date, the movers arrived extremely late and the company wanted to move the pickup date to the next day without my consent. I had to let them know that I was going to go with another pickup company, if they attempted to move my date. The sole reason was that I had to schedule time off from being in the military, and would just have to find another company who could actually manage their time. I ended staying up and assisting the pickup crew until midnight when they finally arrived at 7pm.

When I called to have my household goods delivered, they attempted to bait and switch me. They attempted to argue that the rates have change, and that the original contract was no longer valid. I had to threaten them with a lawsuit, before their manager Ashley agreed that the original rate is still valid. Who by the ways, I have yet to speak to because she has not returned any of my calls.

The company has up to 14 days from the first available date for delivery that I have stated. I am currently on the 13th day and still have no correspondence from their company.

DO NOT HIRE THIS COMPANY!!!!

Desired Settlement
Get my stuff here!!!

Business Response
Your goods are in transit and delivery is imminent. We are well within our contractual limitations.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
A response, phone call, and an estimated week/day... finally.

Final Consumer Response
Company did not sign their check. Check mailed back to West Coast Movers. Claim remains unresolved.

Final Business Response
I have checked with accounting and unfortunately this check was sent out without an endorsement. Please return the check and we will send a new check out as soon as possible. Thank you for your patients

12/09/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Requesting 100% of deposit refunded as no service was rendered because of poor inner company communication/scheduling non-existence
Problem Date:07/29/15, Purchase Date: 07/17/15, Order number: Job#BXXXXXX, Sales Rep: Desiree/Cathy, Payment Amount:$230.00, Payment Method: Visa It is my understanding in speaking with Cathy twice this morning(7/29/15)that we will NOT receive our deposit refunded of $230.00 or even $130.00 (minus your $100.00 processing fee)for break in contract.

Desired Settlement
I will require a full refund of the $230.00 deposit (within 7-10 business days) and pray that no further action will be necessary. If you need to refund via check please mail to ***** ****** at XXXXX ********* ***** ******** ** XXXXX. I will request that if refund by check an check # as well as an mail date is provided via email and/or call. If you need to confirm any credit card information to refund in that method please contact me directly at XXX-XXX-XXXX or my fiancé (card holder) **** ******* at XXX-XXX-XXXX.

Business Response
The deposit is not refundable. The signed contract states that you must cancel seven days prior to your original scheduled pick up date. You canceled your move the day before your pick up therefore it is not refundable.

Consumer Response
I did not receive the business response back on 8/26/15 to review. The statement made by the business is false. The contract states business will schedule a pick up prior to date of pick up. Business did not attempt to schedule until I called to cancel the day of.
"Cancelations:
You can cancel your job for a full refund of your deposit. Cancellations must be made at least 7 days before your initially scheduled pick up date. All cancellations must be in writing." Again business did not schedule pick up, it was only after I canceled when not hearing from the business on the day of the move they attempted scheduling.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The business response is a lie. I called the day of verbal scheduled pick up only because the business did not schedule pick up with me prior. This business did not attempt to provide a service until THE DAY OF when I called the business to obtain my refund because they did not attempt to provide the service I was trying to hire them for. Several other complaints have been placed against this business. I pray that this business is shut down as it is nothing but a scam to take money from those in need of service when the business has no intention to do anything but again TAKE YOUR MONEY and run!!! I will not stop trying to get my stolen money back from this theif of a business!! Return our deposit of $230.00, it's not your money, your business has done nothing but cause headache and heartache to so many including myself.

Final Business Response
You placed a deposit on the 17th of July to reserve a truck to have your items picked up on the 29th or 30th. On the 29th you canceled your move. To be very clear your contract states that you must submit a written request for cancellation seven days prior to your original scheduled pick up date. You failed to do so therefore you forfeit your deposit. At no point were you ever lied to.

11/10/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My furniture was damaged by the movers. I called Britney, with the movers, she said turn it into their insurance. The insurance refused the claim.
I went through all the steps with the insurance, pictures and information. They refused to take the claim, said I should have checked all the boxes before letting the movers leave. Also my belongings were put in a storage unit and they stacked items so carelessly and rushed I have broken glass, scratches chipped furniture etc. When I filed my complaint, they said I should have opened all boxes and checked the contents. There were 2 men unpacking and 1 of me. My husband was sick with cancer and I could not check all boxes. Their insurance, Claim Service International, is their insurance to send all information to. Britney with West Coast Movers was contacted during the moving of the furniture and after. She told me to turn in a claim. Seeing that I did as I was told, they denied me still. Their insurance also said how do I know someone did not have access to our storage unit to damage the furniture. What does it take to convince these people of the damage? If my husband had been better, he would have helped me. What more could I have done? I am not someone to cheat anyone, just wanted my furniture moved.

Desired Settlement
I want what is owed to me so I may fix my furniture.

Business Response
All claims must be filed within nine months from the delivery date. The time to file a claim has expired as delivery was made back in march of 2014.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I had filed a claim within 9 months of delivery with pictures, explanations and every thing they asked for in detail. They denied my claim due to the reasons I had written to BBB about. I appealed the response and appealed 2 more times. I finally came to you for help and the complaint. They told me someone had access to my storage unit. The only access was by me as it was locked properly and I had the key. I had mentioned that my husband was sick at the time of delivery so I was the only one to check items at delivery. I did call West Coast Movers about some of the items that were visible at the time and talked with Britney. That is when she told me to file a claim. My husband recently died and that is why I did not contact BBB sooner. My response to their claim has been an ongoing appeal. Thankyou

Final Business Response
The time to file a claim has expired.

11/03/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Hi, I would like to report a complaint with West Coast Movers - 3651 W. Ali Baba Lane, Suite 106 Las Vegas NV XXXXX.
X-XXX-XXX-XXXX Customer Service.

We entered into a contract on September 3, 2015 to move my items: 23 small boxes and a bedroom set comprising of: queen size mattress and box springs, a large dresser, night stand, a mirror, 2 book cases, 5 wardrobe boxes and 3 picture boxes. From *** W **** ******* ******* ***** CA XXXXX, to **** W. **** ****** **** **** ***** ** XXXXX. My cell: XXX-XXX-XXXX.

I signed the papers - (see copies attached) that the first day to receive would be September 9th, 2015. The 21st business day ended on October 8th, 2015 and there is still NO date given when my items will be on a truck and into Minnesota. Every time I speak to one of their young customer service representatives - the story changes where my items are - in a trailer waiting for a driver, or in the warehouse. They have promised numerous times that a driver would be ready to pick up me items - only to be enormously disappointed, and find out it was another false alarm.

When I left California on September 4th to drive my car to Minnesota - it was warm with summer weather - and the same warm weather in Minnesota - so I brought clothes with me to be comfortable for 2/3 weeks while waiting; NOT the stuff needed for 6/7 weeks. I have had to purchase a new winter coat, boots, shoes and work clothes to continue surviving until my personal items arrive. I have had to sleep on the floor in a sleeping bag - waiting for my bed to arrive. I have a bad back and sore legs surviving this ordeal. I have no winter items with me to survive the 40/50 degree winter weather now going on in MN - West Coast Movers has ALL my stuff to be properly dressed and survive the cold weather in Minnesota.

When the movers loaded my items onto their truck September 4th - it was an empty truck, I asked how much weight do you think this is: they both answered "not more than 1700 pounds". This also concurs with 2 other weight estimates when given over the phone by moving competitors - when I itemized my belongings, to them over the phone. However, when I calculated the their estimate of 341 cubic feet (@$4.00) - that equals to almost 2400 pounds - so I am overpaying - based on their OWN estimate. I want to request the Truck be weighed in pounds before it delivers my items - and again after it delivers my items. OR, revise their charges to accurately reflect the weight of 1700 pounds.

I would like the moving estimate to accurately reflect 1700 pounds at their rate of $4.00 cubic feet - converts to about .57 cents = $969.00.


****** K. *******

Desired Settlement
I would like reimbursement for the winter clothes and work clothes- ($275.00) I have had to purchase to survive the cold in MN, and $30.00 a day for compensation, keeping my items over the contract of 21 business days.

Thank you very much, appreciate all your best efforts to assist in this matter.

Business Response
All our prices are based on cubic feet. We do not move based on weight. It would be illegal for us to change from a binding estimate (cubic feet) to a non binding estimate (weight based) mid move.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Weight can be converted into cubic feet - and cubic feet can be converted into weight.
Once the truck is weighed - we can convert that back into cubic feet - per the contract.

I was "over estimated in cubic feet" by over 150 - which means wasted money as a consumer.

Final Business Response
You are incorrect. You are paying for the amount of cubic feet needed nothing more nothing less. Your items are being delivered today as per your conversation with our office.

10/29/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We were charged for a Shuttle fee that wasn't disclosed.
Problem Date: 9/19/2015
Purchase Date: 7/16/2015
Sales Rep: Glenn
Payment amount: $250.00

On the day before the delivery, we were advised of a "Shuttle" fee that was not disclosed to me or advised of on documentation provided.

The Sales person, Glenn knew from the first contact on 7/16/15 that the move was from Los Angeles to Brooklyn, NY. It is now my understanding that there is a "Shuttle" fee for SOME carriers going into certain states, and NY is one of those states. This is something that clearly Glenn is aware of and this company chose the carrier. I was not made aware of any of this until the day before delivery and even then, the dispatcher didn't explain it. I thought it was to shuttle my items up the 4 flight of stairs which a believed cost $250.00 per the contract.

When I spoke with Cassie on Saturday about this fee she said that it was on the Bill of Lading that I received and signed.

On the Interstate Household Goods Bill of Lading that I received does not reflect any fee for a Shuttle. And, in fact, on the Ready for Delivery - Long Distance, it asked "is there access for 53' tractor trailer at the delivery address?" And YES was marked as there was access. Again, nothing noted or said to indicated that a Shuttle would be needed. Was this a question related to the need for a Shuttle? If so, then it should have been noted as such or explained upon my first contact that it would be needed in Brooklyn because of the area or because of the carrier that they contract with. To wait until the day before delivery with the promise of further fees if not delivered on time, etc. was essentially holding my furniture in hostage.

This was an unfair business practice which, I believe, was done with the full knowledge of the moving company and the carrier. These fees, should have been disclosed in a plain to read and understandable manner, upfront so that the consumer may make an informed decision.

When I contacted the moving company about this issue, I was told by Ashley, the manager, that she would see if their accounting department can refund the money. I have not heard back from Ashley regarding this matter and frankly, I don't know when if every I will hear from her as my calls have been avoided since my furniture was picked up on August 28th, 2015. It is now 6:40pm and I was promised a call back today and have yet to receive one.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking a refund of the entire fee of $250.00 that was charged for a Shuttle that was not advised of during the months that the company knew the delivery destination and the possibility of such a fee when contracting with the carrier.

Business Response
The information regarding the shuttle fee is listed on the contract that the customer signed. In addition to that the customer signed the bill of lading stating that there is access for our 53' trailer to make the delivery. At this point we feel this customer was dishonest with us and is now trying to get the shuttle service for free. We will not be reimbursing any part of that fee as it was clearly spelled out.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
There was access for a 53' trailer on the street directly in front of the apartment and further down the street on that morning. Dean Street is a very long street and there was room for the trailer. Further, IF the question was about a Shuttle then that was also not clearly noted or discussed as any time during the transaction. Regarding the clearly spelled out Shuttle fee. The word/meaning of "Shuttle" is not clearly spelled out. In fact, the word "Shuttle" and the fee for such wasn't ever discussed or clearing spelled out to me as any time during the 2.5 months of the transaction. I didn't know I was going to have a shuttle as I was advised that my furniture was placed on a "TRUCK" in Las Vegas and on it's way to Brooklyn. It was only said and noted to me the day before delivery.

I won't even begin to touch on the remark about dishonesty. However, I will say this; I entered into this with full disclosure and kept the moving company advised of every change, even down to the destination zip code. When providing the initial estimate and fully aware that the destination was in Brooklyn, NY, West Coast Movers did not act in full disclosure and knowing the terms of their business and the possibility of additional fees due to the delivery destination, it continued to act without full disclosure. The Shuttle and the fee for such were brought to my attention by the moving dispatcher on the day before the delivery, NOT by West Coast Movers. I believed that he was talking about shuttling my items up 4 flights of stairs and I advised him of that. When I reached out to Kassie and Ashley at West Coast Movers on the day of delivery, once I was told what exactly a shuttle was; I was told that it should have been discussed with me and that the carrier company may not have had the correct license to take the 53' truck into Brooklyn or not enough room to turn or back up the truck on the street. In fact, Kassie said that the carrier will Google the street to determine if they can turn, backup, etc. At no time, even then, was I questioned about the space on the street as there was space on the street. And that was the question I was asked, is the room for a 53' truck and YES there was room. If the additional issues, noted above, were part of that question, then NO, it was not clearly written, noted, stated or ever discussed.

I you would like to see the Bill of Lading and the other documentation were I noted that there was room for the 53' truck, please advise and I will forward that without delay.

Thank you.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
As there was access for the 53' trailer there was not a need for a shuttle and the resulting fee of $250 that was charged for the same.

I have included the Bill of Lading and the Binding Estimate. You will see that neither of the documents lists a Shuttle fee. You will also see that the Order of Service attached by WCM does not clearly detail what a shuttle is for and that it has anything to do with my move, yet, West Coast Movers knew from our first meeting that the move was to Brooklyn, NY and that (per Kassie, in customer service at West Coast Movers), a shuttle is needed in Brooklyn due to the movability of the truck, not if there is simply access for a 53' truck. Yet, that was the question posed to me without any caveat to it and the answer was "yes" as there was sufficient for a 53' truck.
Further, I would like to bring to your attention the requirements noted by the U.S. Department of Transportation as required by Federal Law:
Moving Paperwork
FMCSA REQUIRES YOUR MOVER TO PROVIDE WRITTEN ESTIMATES ON EVERY SHIPMENT TRANSPORTED FOR YOU. Your mover must provide you with a written estimate of all charges including transportation, accessorial and advanced charges. This written estimate must be dated and signed by you and the mover. I received a written estimate that did not list a charge for a shuttle fee - yet, West Coast Movers knew or should have reasonably known that since the shipment was going to Brooklyn NY and a Shuttle would be needed or that their delivery company did not have the proper license to take a 53' truck into Brooklyn, NY. I entered into the contract with full disclosure and in good faith; always keeping West Coast Movers updated on the increasing number of items to be shipped and therefore, increasing the amount that I was to pay. At no time was I not providing full disclosure even when it was increasing my costs. However, due to their lack of full disclosure; I had to have someone run quickly to an ATM as I was advised that there would be a waiting fee for the delay.
Simply putting some words onto paper and knowing that they are not fully disclosing services, charges and fees, etc. to a consumer does not exempt them from being required to provide a clear and concise contract that is easy for a consumer to understand. Additionally, I understand from the Manger, Zach, that the foreman should have discussed this upon pickup of the furniture. He did not explain, speak about, provide insight, go over, or discuss at all the shuttle fee, long carry, waiting time, charge for stairs, use of elevator or the re-handling - re-delivery. He simply did not. This is especially egregious knowing that this is/may be a charge due to the delivery destination. But, it didn't start there; it started with my initial meeting with Glenn, the salesman. The point of destination was always Brooklyn, NY.

You and your mover may agree to change an estimate of charges based on changed circumstances, but only before your shipment is loaded. I kept the mover informed whenever there was a change in circumstance. However, the last change that occurred on 8/27/15 was not provided to the delivery personal and I was charged more than the last estimate. When I brought this to the attention of Ashley Roybal, the customer service manager, on 8/28/15, I was told that the cubic feet were the same. They omitted to provide the new estimate to the delivery driver.
ORDER OF SERVICE- The document authorizing the mover to provide all of the services described in your mover's estimate. There is a document called READY FOR DELIVERY - LONG DISTANCE that West Coast Movers provided to you. This document asks two questions regarding access. One of the questions is: "Is there sufficient access for a 53' trailer at the delivery address? The answer was YES. If there was another reason for that question, then it was not discussed or made clear in the documentation. At no time was it explained what a Shuttle was and what my fee would be and that it may/would be applicable to my move. If the movers were not licensed, or could not maneuver the truck, then, that was not noted and I was not advised.

COLLECTION OF CHARGES
Your mover must issue you an honest and truthful freight or expense bill for each shipment transported. When your shipment is delivered you will be expected to pay 100 percent of the charges on your binding estimate. You will also be requested to pay the charges for any services that you requested (for example, waiting time, an extra pickup or delivery, storage) after the contract with your mover was excecuted that were not included in the estimate... The company was aware that a shuttle would/may be needed in Brooklyn, NY but did not at any time before loading the furniture, advise me of this fact.
You must determine charges for any accessorial services such as elevators, long carries, etc., before preparing the order for service and the bill of lading for binding estimates. If you fail to ask the shipper about such charges and fail to determine such charges before preparing the order of service and the bill of lading, you must deliver the goods and bill the shipper after 30 days for the additional charges. THIS WAS NOT AFFORDED TO ME - It was demanded that I pay $250.00 for a shuttle fee. I had no knowledge of what a shuttle fee was for due to the fact that West Coast Movers did not at any time make that service and fee clear and that it would be applicable to me yet the company knew or should have known that it would/could be.
If you believe additional services are necessary to properly service a shipment after the bill of lading has been issued, you must inform the individual shipper what the additional services are before performing those services. You must allow the shipper at least one hour to determine whether he or she wants the additional services performed. If the individual shipper agrees to pay for the additional services, you must execute a written attachment to be made an integral part of the bill of lading contract and have the individual shipper sign the written attachment. You must bill the individual shipper for the additional services after 30 days from delivery. I was not informed of what the additional services were for by West Coast Movers - (LOADING AND UNLOADING MY FURNITURE ONTO A TRUCK), until after I was charged and with the threat of adding an additional charge for waiting time to my delivery.

The requirement listed above was not afforded to me.

Delivery of Shipments
What is the maximum collect-on-delivery amount I may demand at the time of delivery?
On a binding estimate, the max amount is the exact estimate of the charges, plus charges for any additional services requested by the shipper after the bill of lading has been issued... again; the apartment has stairs that were not accounted for at the time of the estimate. This was an additional item that I requested and therefore I accounted for that fee, added it to the estimated charges and was prepared to pay the charge upon delivery of the furniture. I advised the dispatcher of this also so that the delivery people would be aware of the additional charge. At no time was I attempting to hide fees/charges and was ready to pay in cash upon delivery.
The maximum amount of charges for impracticable operations you may collect on delivery is an amount equal to 15 percent of all other charges due at delivery - I was demanded to pay more than 15%.
Penalties
What penalties do we impose for violations of this part?
The penalty provisions of 49 U>S>C. Chapter 149, Civil and Criminal Penalties apply to this part. These penalties do not overlap. Notwithstanding these civil penalties, nothing in this section shall deprive any holder of a receipt or a bill of lading any remedy or right of action under existing law.

The attached Letter of Release from West Coast Movers requires just that - by accepting their offer to complete the service that I contracted and paid for, they required me to agree to not file, dismiss any and all pending complaints with the Better Business Bureau and or the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration, D.O.T and remove all and any previously submitted negative public comments... stating that I am satisfied. Further failure to do so would result in serious legal actions.
I did not sign as I am not satisfied and the service that they were to perform did not occur, yet they would not perform/complete the service until I signed.
By my refusal to sign, I was not provided the service that I paid for and didn't receive reimbursement for my payment. However, I am still able to use all the resources available to me to remedy this situation. Should it not be remedied, I still have the avenues available to me to keep other consumers, who are also acting in good faith, from being taken advantage of by West Coast Movers.

Final Business Response
We have properly disclosed all costs and potential fees in writing of which you have signed and agreed to. We provided a revised estimate and a list of all additional fees should they apply to you. At this point we will not be offering any discounts or free service due to your lack of understanding words written on paper.

Page 1 of 20

Industry Comparison| Chart

Moving & Storage Company

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.