BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Southern Nevada

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 09/27/2011

Slater Transfer & Storage

Phone: (702) 399-4444Fax: (702) 399-11176855 Speedway Blvd Unit 101, Las VegasNV 89115-1756 Send email to Slater Transfer & Storage

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 09/27/2011

BBB has determined that Slater Transfer & Storage meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Slater Transfer & Storage's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Reviews on Slater Transfer & Storage
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (4)BBB Closure Definitions
07/01/2013Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Non-delivery of services

Complaint: Since March 21, 2013 Slater has promised but failed to deliver our remaining belongings. Two months later they totally shocked us with an invoice for another $4,000.00. The household was packed on March 19. On March 21 Slater was to load the truck with the contents of our home and storage unit, but found the truck would not hold everything. So they emptied our storage unit and promised to put the rest of our belongings from the storage unit on the next truck heading east. Our household contents arrived in PA on March 30. Over the past two months I made repeated phone calls every 2-3 days looking for delivery. Our contact with the company was ****** our Coordinator. After a few weeks of phone calls to her they told me ***** was no longer with the company, but reassured me that we would get everything soon. (As a side note - we were originally told unpacking was included, but Slater refused to do it. So we were forced to pay a local moving company an additional $1,278 to unpack. They also totally destroyed our big screen TV, and Allied Van Lines reimbursed us only $45.00 for it.) Now on May 29th - more than two months later - they have charged us with a totally unexpected $4,000.00 bill, telling us we have also incurred local pick-up and warehouse and storage charges. They obviously do not intend to deliver our belongings as promised. On May 29th we were shocked to get this email from the Sales Rep **** ************ "DEAR MR. _____, ATTACHED IS A COPY OF YOUR BILL OF LADING AND A COPY OF YOUR MOVE TO _____, PA LET ME KNOW IF YOU WANT ASAP PLEASE SIGN AND E-MAIL BACK TO ME. YOU HAVE ALSO INCURRED LOCAL PICK-UP WAREHOUSE HANDLING AND STORAGE CHARGES I'LL GET THOSE" Attached to the email was a totally new and unexpected and outrageous invoice for $3,890.32 - $4,165.32 depending on the deductible specified.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: *** ***** OFFICE MANAGER
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ****************@gmail.com
On December 6, 2012 Our sales associate **** ************ went to the residence of Mr. **** ******. At that time we were still agents of Allied Van Lines. Mr. ****** was provided a total guaranteed price pledge based on the weight of 20,000 lbs with a guaranteed price of $15,902.56. Although we are not required to we did get certified weight ticket on Mr. ******'s shipment his actual weight was 21,240 lbs He was not charged for the weight difference. Packing did take place at Mr. ****** residence on 03/19-20/2013 and loading on 03/21/2013. The delivery spread on his shipment going to Philadelphia was March 29-30, 2013. Mr ****** shipment did arrive to him on 03/29/2013. While Mr. ****** Philadelphia shipment was in transit he did contact our office and he wanted us to go to a storage unit located at **** ** ****** *** LV, NV XXXXX to pick up household good for him. It was explained to Mr. ****** at that time that if our agency went out to provide this service that it would be subject to our local charges. We did send Mr. ****** a Local Bill Of L aiding reference# ******* to sign before the pick up took place to ensure that our agency was covered. Also Mr. ****** was never quoted any unpacking as part of the Allied Van Line estimate, I do have the move tracking notes and emails to reference to confirm that the unpacking was not apart of the estimate, and that My coordinator at that time was attempting to set up the unpacking for Mr. ****** for him to pay the Destination Agent in PA direct. At no time has our agency refused to ship a customer there items. Effective May 1, 2013 we did change Van Line Families (Atlas Van Lines). Once we received a call from Mr. ****** we did provide him a Atlas Van Lines estimate for shipping, he did get upset and refused to pay us for the transportation charges. We did advised Mr. ****** that he was more than welcome to book this shipment with another carrier, but as far as our local charges are concerned we did get his authorization to perform the services at the storage unit, he did sign our Local bol.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
**** ************ went to our residence on December 6, 2012, and on the same day she also followed me to our storage unit at **** ** ****** *** as these contents were to be included in the move. So *** ******* statement that they learned about the storage unit only after our shipment was in transit is ABSOLUTELY FALSE. It was NOT explained to me at that time or at any time that if Slater picked up the goods from our storage unit that it would be subject to any local charges. So that is also ABSOLUTELY FALSE. The driver had me sign 19 pages of documents on March 21, 2013 accepting the contents of the first truck, and he also presented me with Document 6407. He told me that I must sign it as well. I protested that I would not sign for the storage unit contents because I had not received them yet. So I wrote in "We have not yet received goods" on the bottom next to my signature. At no time was it indicated to me that anything would cost extra. So *** ******* statement that they sent me a Local Bill of Lading in advance is ABSOLUTELY FALSE. I was pressured into signing this document by the driver under false pretenses. I signed it because I was told to sign it in order to accept delivery of the items that day, along with the 19 other forms they had me signing that day. It was presented to me under false pretenses as being part of that day's delivery, and it was signed under duress. For over two months various people at Slater Transport promised to ship the rest of our items, and on April 17, 2013 *** ***** herself told me that, "Allied is still in the process of assigning a driver for shipment of the overflow". Then finally on May 28, 2013 **** ************ sent a new and totally unexpected document titled "BINDING ESTIMATE" for an additional $3,890.32 - $4,165.32. So *** ******* statement that, "At no time has our agency refused to ship a customer there (sic) items" is ABSOLUTELY FALSE. They still have not shipped our goods as promised as they now intend to charge $3,890.32 - $4,165.32 additional, and even if we were to hire another carrier to move our items, they are now threatening to also charge us unspecified "local charges". ******* claims don't even make sense. Our items were already in storage. Why would we want to incur additional charges for Slater to pick them up locally and put them into storage again where we would have no access to them and hold them in their warehouse for three more months? If as she asserts we were aware there would be additional charges and agreed to pay them, why didn't we simply pay them and have our items delivered immediately back in March? It is obvious that they lied to us about Allied assigning a driver for the overflow while their true intentions all along were to jack up their prices and hold our belongings hostage in order to extort additional charges from us. We had attempted to mediate a solution with them in the past, but they are not acting in good faith. Rather than attempt to mediate a solution as any responsible business would, *** ***** is now attempting to explain away Slater's criminal activities with OUTRAGEOUS LIES.

Business' Final Response
The driver that took Mr. ******* items to PA, Was not involved in the local pick up that we performed for Mr. ******. Our agency would not have picked up the items without Mr. ******* approval. I myself have not spoken to Mr. ****** about this shipment. Also the paperwork that Mr. ****** signed at destination in PA, had nothing to do with the shipment that we picked up on our local charges. Again we emailed Mr. ****** the bol to sign before the pick up took place, The pick up charges were as followed 1 van 2men @ $84.00 an hour x 3 hours for the pick up $252.00, warehouse handling @ $4.00 cwt total $102.40, Mr ****** was not charged for any storage for the month of march, he was charged April - July 1st today @ $3.85 cwt monthly - total for the 4 months 394.24. The total charges for the local pick up was $748.64. My salesman did provide a Atlas Van Line estimate going to PA, with a total charge of $4,557.78, Mr ****** was also advised that the $4,557.78 was the transportation charge, per my salesman we were going to cover all of the local charges if he booked the move with us. Mr. ****** was obliviously upset about the cost for relocation, and again was advised that he was more than welcome to book this move with another carrier, but he would still be responsible for the local charges.I believe my agency has done more than enough to accommodate Mr. ******, He asked us for a quote for the remaining amount of weight to be shipped to pa which we provided less all of the local charges our agency would have no problem covering the charge if he booked the van line shipment with us, he was also give the option to book this move with another carrier

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

12/28/2012Problems with Product / Service
11/07/2012Billing / Collection Issues
09/05/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Moving & Storage Company, Trucking, Movers

Additional Information

top

Better Business Bureau TIPS When Selecting A Moving Company

Review the information on protectyourmove.gov and link to the following:
1. "Your Rights and Responsibilities When You Move"
2. Sub Part D - Binding & Non-Binding Estimate
3. Read the agreement, including the FINE PRINT, even if it takes additional time! Don't allow you and your belongings to be "HELD HOSTAGE" because you did not understand the agreement before signing it. You are not obligated to engage the moving company until you sign the agreement - even if the company is on your doorstep waiting to load.
*REMEMBER - VERBAL COMMITMENTS AND PROMISES VERY OFTEN ARE NOT KEPT. VERBAL PROMISES MEAN NOTHING!

Consumers should do their "DUE DILIGENCE" when engaging the services of any provider. The following are "BUYER BEWARE" flags:
1. Do not withhold information on the service to be performed to obtain a lower estimated price.
2. Itemize the items to be moved
3. Do not book the move over the telephone
4. Beware of "REVISED ESTIMATES" from the company on the day of the move
5. Most major van lines do not require deposits, or partial payments prior to loading items to be moved
6. Buy the MAXIMUM INSURANCE POSSIBLE - Protect yourself and your belongings. Household (homeowner's insurance does not cover incidential damage in a move.
7. If moving interstate, mover can not charge an hourly rate. Interstate moving is regulated by the Department of Transportation.

BBB file opened: 01/22/2004Business started: 03/01/2002
Licensing

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

BBB records show a license number of MC394287 for this company. Their web address is http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov.

BBB records show a license number of 3255.1 for this company. Their web address is http://www.tsa.nv.gov.

Type: Secretary of State

BBB records show a license number of 2000001.841 for this company. Their web address is http://sandgate.co.clark.nv.us/businesslicense/businesssearch/blindex.asp.

Contact Information
Principal: Mr Craig Slater (President)
Business Category

Moving & Storage Company, Trucking, Movers

Products & Services

This company offers intrastate,international.

Hours of Operation

7am - 4pm Monday - Friday and By Appointment on Saturday

Industry Tips
Planning a Cost-Effective Move
Relocating Across State Lines? Know Your Rights and Responsibilities
Spotting Rogue Movers Before They Have Your Goods
Tips on Renting a Self-Storage Unit

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Slater Transfer & Storage

6855 Speedway Blvd Unit 101

Las Vegas, NV 89115-1756

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 6855 Speedway Blvd Unit 101 

    Las Vegas, NV 89115-1756

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Nevada. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Slater Transfer & Storage is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.