BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Southern Nevada

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/31/2013

International Presentation of Performers

Phone: (702) 448-2622Fax: (702) 920-8732View Additional Phone Numbers101 Convention Center Dr Ste 700, Las VegasNV 89109-2007 Send email to International Presentation of Performers

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/31/2013

BBB has determined that International Presentation of Performers meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised International Presentation of Performers' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 12 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues6
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service5
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 12

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on International Presentation of Performers

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (12)BBB Closure Definitions
06/02/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Company uses high hopes of children and high pressure sales to lock you into a program while rushing you through paperwork that does not match verbal.
After a presentation and audition, my daughter was called for a 'callback'. Like any other 8 year old she was ecstatic, especially when they took her back and told her how amazing she was and how far she would go in the industry. Then of course came the price tag. While I did some research online, I unfortunately missed all the negative feedback until after this callback when I just felt weird about how the situation was handled. They did not have my daughter do anything in regards to acting/singing/modeling. Instead, they only discussed money. When I said I couldn't afford it they offered her a scholarship and made me sign a confidentiality waver that I wouldn't share that information with the other families. Upon more research and in actually speaking with families who had gone through this program, I discovered that just about everyone receives this scholarship - it is part of their sales pitch. I was pressured into putting down $500 that day or my daughter would lose her spot. It was hard for me to say no when she was so happy even though I felt like something just wasn't right about the situation. We then filled out a payment plan for the rest of the money. In this plan, ***** stated that the first payment would come out 5/30/2014. I looked at the sheet before I signed it, but in all the confusion - as she was sure to continue talking while I filled out the paperwork - I did not look close enough. She put the first payment date as 5/16/2014. Yes, I should have looked closer but I trusted that she would write the same date that she stated. Throughout that week I did more investigating and found a lot of negative reviews. I also found people who went through the program, as I stated, and they had nothing positive to say. It is nothing like they present themselves to be. And after this first round of training there will inevitably another round costing more money for another showcase. I spoke with my daughter and she decided that she would rather pursue her career in another route. Things just didn't feel right with iPOP. I e-mailed our contact person immediately on 5/16/14 when this decision was made. She told me first that they would put her in lesser program and wave more of the cost - proving they are about the sale, not the product. When I said no, she then stated that I was passed my 3 day cancellation notice. This was never mentioned. My daughter has not attended one class. On top of changing the date I agreed upon for my first payment, they are flat out refusing to return my deposit. I am very disappointed with this experience.

Desired Settlement
The only settlement I seek from iPOP is a refund of the $1000 for services not received - $500 of which was an unauthorized payment. I have already made sure with my bank that they will not be able to collect the rest of the payments, but I find it only right that they return the $1000.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* ****** - VP
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *******@ipopla.com
Client has received a full refund of $1000. Client did sign an authorization to run $500 payment. iPOP! will not run any further payments.

05/26/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Pushed us into paying for and signing something by omitting details that would have made a difference in us signing.
After meeting with my son for 5-10 minutes on Saturday, April, 26th. We were called back to come in on Sunday. ***** ** met with me and my child very shortly on Sunday, April 27th. We were unsure that what was being offered was legit. She was over thirty minutes late and we were rushed in. She told us that he was accepted into the master prep class which was $3510.00 He was only interested in acting and modeling, the master prep was for acting, singing and modeling, it was also $1600.00 more. She then told us that he would get the best training in the master prep class. She also said that it was by invitation only so that meant we were special. We asked a few questions and then asked her for a few minutes to discuss this together. She left and came back 3 minutes later. She talked for a few more minutes about the cost of the National conference in California. We asked for a few more minutes and she left for one and came back and told us how excited she was to sign him and that he had so much potential that they were going to give us a partial scholarship of $2000.00 to that conference. She informed us that if we were to speak of the scholarship to anyone, it would void the scholarship. But, that if we were going to accept the scholarship, we had to pay the entire $3510.00 in full instead of the payment plan. She very quickly went over the contract omitting that if we accepted the scholarship we would not be able to cancel the contract within the three days given. I was told to keep checking my email, that everything he was supposed to need would be in an email. We never received anything from them.
I called on Tuesday to cancel, I was told that I had to speak with ****** I called the number she had called me from to tell me to come in on Sunday, she did not answer I left a voice mail, I then emailed her. She replied a couple of hours later with an email informing me that by accepting the scholarship, I had waived a right to a refund. She also included a number for someone that she said was another skeptical parent that she had met 2 weeks prior and how she was in contact with her regularly now. I told her again, that I wanted a refund.

Desired Settlement
I just want a full refund of $3510.00, they have sent us nothing and they conned us.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* ******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *******@ipopla.com
We are issuing a refund for $3510. The client did sign a scholarship agreement and spent two hours registering her child for the event. There was no rushed approach and all documents are clearly signed by the client. Because no services have been rendered we have authorized a refund to this client.

02/17/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
iPop advertised on Anchorage radio station that they were having a talent search. We learned that it was not iPop but Undiscovered Talent Group.
iPop/Undiscovered Talent Group came to Anchorage, AK October 2013. The fee to having acting classes and be promoted by UTG was $1950 with 50% discount for good grades. Parents and clients were told that the young acting/modeling students would be promoted. At the end of the classes taught and trained by **** ******* with Bohemia Entertainment, we were told that there would be a showcase and that talent agents/scouts would be available to offer contracts. We were told that there would be 3-5 talent agents/scouts. The show case consisted of **** and another man (*******, I think) from iPop. We were not told that the showcase would be an actual stage but I believe that all of the parents were disappointed when the showcase was in a small hotel meeting room. This was our show case. **** and the guy from iPop were our talent agents or scouts. This was very misleading.

We were told that our children would need a comp card. **** told us that we could provide our own photographer but that he had to send him samples of his/her work to be approved. **** told us that their photographer was highly professional and top notch. This was the first time we heard that there would be another cost involved in the talent search. We were given a cost for different packages. There was a price for one change of clothes, 3 changes of clothes and 5 changes of clothes. I thought that this would include the cost for the comp cards. ****** ******** the photographer, fee was $550 and the 200 comp cards were $432.00.

I complained to both ****** ******* and ******* (I've forgotten his last name). They both denied they said what I said they said. But ******* said that he would be contacting parents and I've never heard another word from him. After I called him and complained, he said that he had been busy making contacts and that he would be sending parents an email on what to do with the comp cards. I've not heard from ******** ******, upon taking the order for the comp cards, said that we should be hearing from ******* about what to do with the comp cards and who to send them to. I have not heard from ********

I complained to **** ******* the night of the show case. She sympathized with me, directed me to ******* and said that he would be promoting our children (and therefore my daughter) and took 3 comp cards. I have not heard from ******* or ****.

The other people and contact information that I have are:****** ************ ******* ***** Venice Beach, CA XXXXX or ** **** **** NY, NY ***** (www.jeremyjohnson.net
**** ******** **** ***** **** **** ***** Hollywood, CA ***** ************* or XXX-XXX-XXXX; www.bohemiaent.com)

I notice that the credit card payment I made to ****** ******* was drawn by JRP International Las Vegas. On their website I do not see an address available. I do see that they have a telephone number which is XXX-XXX-XXXX.

Desired Settlement
I am satisfied with the acting classes that **** ******* provided. He is exceptionally great with kids and very approachable. He appeared to have genuinely felt my disappointment. Although, I feel he is part of the scheme, I would like to give him credit where credit is due and that is that he is a great acting coach for the money. I would like to be refunded 50% of what I paid for that part of the service. I was charged $975 but paid $1000 cash and did not receive my change back so I would like to be refunded $500 for that service.

I am not satisfied with ****** ******* and ******* at all. I would like to be refunded the full $432.00 I paid ****** ******* for his photoshoot. And the full $250 for comp cards that they misleadingly told me I (my daughter) would need. Although, the comp cards were $550, I made arrangements with ****** ******* to deduct $225 one pay period from my checking account and $225 another pay period. He deducted $250 on a pay period. After I complained to him, the second $225 was not deducted. The first $225 was actually a $250 payment. That payment was the JRP on my bank statement. So I would like to be refunded $500 from iPop(Undiscovered Talent Group), $432 from ****** ******* and $250 from **** ******* *******

I asked ******* of UTG how the three were connected and he told me but I didn't understand and didn't ask further explanation.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* ******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *******@ipopla.com
Undiscovered Talent Group brings their students to the iPOP! convention in Los Angeles. That is the only connection between our two companies. iPOP! was not in Anchorage nor did we offer or take any fees or monies from this client. This client must go to JRP International/Undiscovered Talent Group for any refunds or complaints. Again, iPOP! was never nor has ever been in Anchorage Alaska.

01/28/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Bogus and scams. Mainly scamming children thinking that they can reach stardom
Audition in Memphis, Tn. @ one of the top hotel in the downtown area. She was giving this commercial line that she had to learn. If they like you, you would receive a call back. My daughter receive a call back. We get there and sit for about 2 hours. She had to say her own little commercial that she made up. The agencies was interested in me signing a contract. Well I did however the contract said you had 3 days to cancel. I came home immediately to cancel. It said you can cancel be emailing at a emailed address that is incorrect on the form. The telephone listed is just recording.

Desired Settlement
I would like to be refunded like the contract said

Business Response
This is the first we've heard of a request for cancelation from this client. A refund is being issued today (within 3 business day period). Client is incorrect that email is not working and all phone messages are promptly returned. We have received no messages from this client to date. All emails from *******@ipopla.com which is listed on the contract come to me directly for cancellation requests as well as the fax number listed on the contracts.

08/12/2014Advertising / Sales Issues
Page 1 of 2
01/23/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We Paid $1950 for Modeling classes for my daugther. With the promise of meeting with local agents here in Hawaii. And it was a lie.

I paid "IPOP" for modeling classes and the opportunity to meet with a local agents for my 14 year old daughter. We paid $1950 for this service that we didn't get and was a FRAUD.
Prior to the first meeting I communicated with IPOP to make sure that everything was in order and also confirmed that She was going to have the opportunity to meet with a local modeling coach. The correspondence was very nasty from their-end and very condescending.
On the first day there was not one representative from IPOP and only one acting coach that had no idea on what was going on. My daughter didn't meet the modeling coach. I e-mailed ****** ********* and he was very nasty. All I want is a full refund of $1950.
Sincerely- ****** *********


Desired Settlement
I want a full refund of $1950.00

Business Response
Miss ********* has received a full refund of $1950, written by Mr ********* the president of iPOP!. She paid to receive workshops for modeling and acting in Hawaii. No where in the paperwork or contract was there a promise of meeting local agents, only the opportunity to meet agents at our national event in Los Angeles. Her daughter did receive all training services.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
All lied.
I have not received any payment from them at all.
I need evidence that shows full refund.
Maybe it is not on the contract for promise of meeting local agents, however, the lady had promised US that there was local agents on last day of training.
My daugher never received training at all.

Final Business Response
This client received a full refund from iPOP!

08/24/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Modeling & Talent Agencies

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/11/2011Business started: 08/19/2005Business started locally: 08/16/2006
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: August 2006, NV

Business Management
Principal: Ms. Tiffany Rochel (Vice President)
Business Category

Modeling & Talent Agencies

Alternate Business Names
IPOP
Industry Tips
BBB Advises Caution When Dealing With Talent/Modeling Agencies
Beauty Pageants: The Cost of Fame

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for International Presentation of Performers

101 Convention Center Dr Ste 700

Las Vegas, NV 89109-2007

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 101 Convention Center Dr Ste 700 

    Las Vegas, NV 89109-2007(888) 879-4767
    (949) 500-0706

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Nevada. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*International Presentation of Performers is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (888) 879-4767
  • (949) 500-0706
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.