BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 12/21/2011

Firecut LLC

(702) 932-45295851 W Charleston Blvd, Las VegasNV 89146-1290 Send email to Firecut LLCView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 12/21/2011

BBB has determined that Firecut LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Firecut LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 12 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 10 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service11
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 12

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Firecut LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 4
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 4 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (12)BBB Closure Definitions
03/02/2015Problems with Product / Service
12/24/2014Problems with Product / Service
12/15/2014Problems with Product / Service
12/11/2014Problems with Product / Service
10/27/2014Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2
10/29/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My engagement and wedding rings have broken several times in less than a year of ownership. I want my money back in exchange for return of the set.
After receiving my wedding ring set in December of 2012, both my wedding ring and engagement ring have lost stones for a total of four separate occasions of stone loss. Each time I have sent in my rings, MoissaniteCO, a subsidiary of Fire Cut Diamonds, has blamed me for the damage caused to the rings. The last time a stone fell out of the wedding band, and I sent it in for repair, MoissaniteCO reported to me that over 10 stones in the ring were chipped, and that the damage was likely caused by the fact that the two rings were not meant to be paired together. Because the rings were not meant to be paired together, too much friction was taking place between the ring components, causing the damage. MoissaniteCO offered to repair the ring, and did so at their own expense. Five days after receiving the ring back from MoissaniteCO, another stone fell out of the wedding band. I contacted the company requesting a full refund siting the poor quality of the rings. I also sited the fact that MoissaniteCO sold the rings to my husband and I as a set, and should have known that they would cause damage to one another before making the sale. MoissaniteCO responded saying that they would only accept the return of the wedding band, and would charge me for all of the repairs they did at their own expense (that I did not request). I emailed back saying that solution was not acceptable, as I did not request those repairs to be made. The company responded only with the address for return of the wedding band with no additional information regarding the refund that I should expect. I emailed again asking for further information before I send back the ring. I warned the company that I would seek resolution through the BBB if they chose not to seek resolution with me. After 5 days, the company, whose only form of contact is via email, has not responded to me. For such an expensive, and important purchase, I am appalled by MoissaniteCO's lack of consideration for my husband and I as their customers. When they are not blaming me for a problem that they caused through improper and underinformed sales practices, they are choosing not to respond to me. I no longer am able to wear either of my rings for fear of losing further stones.

Desired Settlement
We demand a full and complete refund of the money that we originally spent on the rings, and associated costs for repairs associated with the rings for a total of $3225.00. This amount must be paid in the form of a check, as the original card used to purchase the set has since been closed. Upon written confirmation of the refund, we will send both of the rings back at our own expense. We are not seeking additional money for the several shipping costs we have accrued for repair of the rings. We have been treated terribly by this company who does not stand by their product, and we expect a swift and appropriate response. Thank you.

Business Response
First it is important to establish some facts concerning her order.

1) The customer's order shipping on 11/2/12. Therefore the returns period expired 12/2/12.

2) We offer a 6 month warranty on our jewelry which expired 6/2/13. Here is the link: http://www.moissaniteco.com/jewelry warranty.html

3) Regular/returnable items include 14k gold and palladium. These items can be returned within the 30 day returns period. 18k white gold, which the customer purchased, is clearly marked as a Special Order and is therefore not eligible for a refund, even within the 30 day returns period.

4) The customer didn't purchase a wedding set. She purchased an engagement ring and an eternity ring (band where the gems go all the way around the ring)

We received the wedding band from her around 8/28/13 (note that this is well outside of the returns period and warranty period). We immediately noted that nearly 1/2 of the gemstones were damaged (19 total), having chips and abrasions on the top and side of the gemstones. Moissanite is extremely hard, harder than any other gem save diamond, but is not indestructible. Moreover the gems in eternity rings can be subject to more damage the regular wedding bands because the stones go all the way around the ring (so if the back of the ring is hit, frequently the gems themselves are receiving the blow directly).

Nevertheless, despite our return policy and being well outside the warranty, we repaired the ring at our expense ($172) and we shipped it back at our expense (~$20).

Now the customer, having damaged the wedding band again, is asking for a full refund on not only the wedding band but the engagement ring too. We will not be able to do that.

Had the eternity ring not been a special order metal (i.e. 14k) and had it been returned in new condition last year, within the 30 day returns period, we would have issued a refund minus 15% restocking fee (there is a 15% restocking fee as all eternity rings are made to order, and cannot be resized for resale. Here is the link to our return policy: http://www.moissaniteco.com/return policy.html )

What we have offered her is the return of the eternity ring, for a refund, minus the 15% restocking fee on eternity rings. This is despite being well outside of the returns period, well outside of the warranty period, despite the eternity ring being a special order metal that isn't returnable anyways, and despite the fact that the 15% will not come close to reimbursing our company for the repair already done to the ring. Nevertheless, our offers and concessions have not been sufficient for this customer, hence here we are with the BBB complaint.

Unfortunately we have nothing more to offer her at this time. We have gone above and beyond the terms of sale she agreed to when she placed her order last year. If she would like to send the eternity ring back for a refund, we have already provided return instructions and once we receive it back, we will issue a refund, provided it is soon (and not several months from now). We will not be able to provide a refund for the engagement ring.

Final Consumer Response
We would like to please reopen this claim. Firecut Diamonds received the returned ring on 10/6/2013, and has not yet sent the refund check or let us know that they received the shipment. They need to send a check for $518.50 to our mailing address. Until this is completed, the complaint cannot be resolved. Please confirm that the complaint is reopened.

Final Business Response
The check has already been sent via US mail. If they don't receive within the next 1 - 2 weeks please contact us directly.

07/01/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I requested a custom made ring, approved the renderings that were e-mailed to me, but did not receive a ring that was made from the approved image.
On February 26, 2013, I contacted Moissaniteco.com via e-mail regarding a custom wedding ring set. After weeks of discussing what we had wanted and sending pictures of everything, I paid $400 to them on March 20, 2013 to create CAD renderings of the wedding ring set, that way a mold can then be created upon our approval to make the rings. When we received the CAD renderings, we requested stone placement adjustments. We received the new CAD renderings on March 27, 2013, which had the proper placements of sapphires and moissanites on the side of the engagement ring, and alternating on the wedding ring. After the approval and payment on March 27, 2013 of an additional $1,765.00, the rings went into production on March 28, 2013. We received them on April 10, 2013 just to open the box and see that the rings were set with the wrong stone placement. There were supposed to be sapphires on each side of the center moissanite, and they made it with moissanites on each side. I contacted them via e-mail immediately and was told to ship it back, on our dime to say the least. I shipped it back to them and they received it on April 18, 2013 and began to remake the rings on April 22, 2013. We received the newly made rings on May 9, 2013. They were extremely unimpressive and my husband and I were dissatisfied with them. I immediately sent them an e-mail that stated our dissatisfactions, which included: the rings do not interlock well, the overall craftsmanship of the rings truly disappoint us (the prongs), and the center moissanite has no radiance or fire to it. After waiting for a response, ***** e-mailed back saying that my neighbors ring and mine have the same fire and radiance, the manufacture of the ring made the ones that this was inspired by, and the prongs can differ from the CAD. I had already stated our unhappiness with the craftsmanship and that my rings did not sparkle like my neighbors. After stating over, and over again that we were not happy with the prongs, the center stone, the lacking of interlocking of the rings, ***** finally said to send the rings back to be remade on May 13, 2013. I find it very irritating as a consumer to have to repeat myself over and over again, and get delayed responses and no solutions. So, once again, we sent the rings back on our dime. I shipped them out on May 14, 2013, they were received on May 16, 2013, went back in production on May 20, 2013 and were shipped on May 22, 2013. When I got the e-mail that my rings had shipped, I immediately questioned it because I found it odd that they remade it in two days. When I asked what was done to the rings and what the outcome was, I received an e-mail response two days later stating that they were remade and my issues of the center stone, prongs, and interlocking of the rings were addressed. Well, I received the rings yesterday, May 29, 2013, and they look exactly the same as the set I had just sent back. The prongs are not from the approved image, they are extremely bulky and grainy looking, and the rings are still not interlocking. I e-mail them immediately stating this and got a response back stating "The rings were remade, and this time by the head of production of Unique Settings of NY. Unique Settings if one of the largest jewelry manufacturers in the US, and sell to most online jewelers and the majority of jewelry stores around the country. Not only did they thoroughly inspect the new rings, we did too, and we ensured that the quality of the workmanship is high...And we ensured the rings fit together, and they do.. The rings are as described, they are cast from the CAD you approved of, they are made with high quality workmanship...and unfortunately even if we remake them again or a dozen more times they will turn out the same." The rings are not of the image I approved. The prongs are bulky, grainy, and the rings do not interlock. For $2,165.00 we want what we approved and paid for, not variations of it that were not disclosed prior to buying.

Desired Settlement
I want a refund for the ring set that I had ordered. After three failed attempts of making the ring, lack of understanding our issues, and lack of empathy on the sales associates part, we want a refund. Our concerns were easily expressed through clear, concise e-mails, and whenever we got a response from *****, he would never answer in a thorough manner, and try to dodge the issues at hand. The fact that in the most recent e-mail to me he stated, "...unfortunately even if we remake them again or a dozen more times they will turn out the same." is just ridiculous and terrible business practices and customer service.

Business' Initial Response
I will try to keep this as concise as possible. This customer commissioned us to create a set of custom rings based on pictures she provided. The terms of sale she agreed upon when she placed the order. This includes that custom design fees are non-refundable and custom created pieces are not eligible for a return.

The new design was created and CAD (computer aided design) renderings of the new design were emailed to her and she accepted them. The new rings were created according to her specifications with a round brilliant FB moissanite center stone, and alternating Moissanite and sapphire side stones, set in 950 Palladium. The rings were created and sent to her.

Whenever a customer is unhappy with the quality of our jewelry we are always ready and willing to assist as we have with Ms. *****. However the nature of her complaints are such that they can't be remedied. So that the BBB can take a look at assess the quality of the rings for themselves, we have set up the following link showing no fewer than 10 different images and angles of the rings and a video.

Here is the link
http://www.moissaniteco.com/XXXXXX/

From the pics one can easily assess that the workmanship of the side stone setting is high quality, from the video that the Moissanite stone is very fiery and brilliant (even moreso than a diamond which is a scientific fact about Moissanite), and the rings fit flush together. Therefore we are at a loss as we can't fix something that isn't broken to begin with. If she would like to send them back I would be happy to have a 3rd party jeweler, one who is also a member of the BBB, inspect and provide an appraisal attesting the to the high quality of the rings, workmanship and the Moissanite stones.

We truly feel that this is simply a case of buyers remorse. The rings in her mind were envisioned differently, and not what she wanted (for example, after receiving the rings she asked if we could somehow widen them, but we told her we couldn't now that they were made).

As a courtesy only, not acknowledging fault as we have done everything correctly according to the terms of the sale, we are willing to accept the rings back minus the custom design fee which was $400 ($200/ring) as this has been paid to a 3rd party which we can't and will not get back, and minus the standard restocking fee assessed on all palladium returns of 7% (this is what the return/restocking fee would be if she was to return a non-custom item from our regular collection.

Given the terms of sale, the fact the rings are of high quality workmanship, and the money that has been invested in the rings which we cannot get back, we feel this is more than fair.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This is not a case of "buyers remorse" as MoissaniteCo has stated. They had three attempts to fix the issues that My husband and I had with the rings, and they clearly stated that the rings can be remade a dozen times and will still look the same. It was not disclosed to us that the prongs from the approved drawing would differ to the actual product. The current rings that we have, which are sitting in the box, sit flush with each other on one side, while the other side has a gap, the prongs are bulky and not smooth-looking like we had expected, and the detailing on the rings between the stones are grainy. Yes, I did ask MoissaniteCo to widen the rings, but that was as a compensation due to the rings being made incorrectly. They told me that could not be done and I accepted that, never once requesting it again, as I said this was a way of being compensated for the rings being made incorrectly and being inconvenienced. However, the current issues with the craftsmanship and prongs have yet to be resolved and every time I had questioned it they created every possible excuse as to why.

Rather than their proposed resolution, we would like the full value of the rings back, minus the $400 customer design fee. My husband and I think this is fair seeing as the main issue of the rings, being the prongs and craftsmanship are not fixable, as per MoissaniteCo. On 5/29 MoissaniteCo stated, "The rings are as described, they are cast from the CAD you approved of, they are made with high quality workmanship, the Moissanite is a very well cut, fiery and brilliant stone, and unfortunately even if we remake them again or a dozen more times they will turn out the same." Why should we have to pay for a mistake that was not disclosed to us at time of purchase or that cannot even be fixed by the company? They should have told us prior to purchasing that the prongs would vary and the detailing would be grainy, not after we sent back the second ring due to the issues.

Purchase price was $1,765 ($400 design fee was paid separately).
7% restocking fee would be $123.55.
Meaning we would get back $1,641.45.
We would accept this as long as MoissaniteCo pays for the shipping of the rings back to them, since we had to pay it twice to try and get the rings fixed."

Then, yes, I would like that sent to them. It is a "counteroffer".

Business' Final Response
Please carefully and securely package the rings, ship the package via USPS Priority and insured (US postal service), and we will also refund the postage/shipping cost:

FCD
ATTN: XXXXXX
**** * ********** ****
Las Vegas, NV XXXXX

We issue refunds within 1 business day from when packages arrive. However it can take a week+ for the funds to transfer. We will also be closed on July 4th and 5th.

Thank you

09/26/2014Problems with Product / Service
08/26/2014Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Internet Shopping

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/29/2008Business started: 04/15/2008
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Christensen (Owner)
Business Category

Internet Shopping

Products & Services

This company offers jewelry.

Alternate Business Names
Asha Diamonds, Firecut Diamonds, www.moissaniteco.com

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Firecut LLC has received 5.00 out of 5 stars based on 4 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Firecut LLC

5851 W Charleston Blvd

Las Vegas, NV 89146-1290

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 5851 W Charleston Blvd 

    Las Vegas, NV 89146-1290

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Nevada. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Firecut LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Web Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Internet Shopping

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.