BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 08/19/2011

411 Locals

Phone: (866) 391-0622Fax: (702) 920-8052

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

56 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 17 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues16
Billing / Collection Issues16
Delivery Issues3
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service20
Total Closed Complaints56

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (56)
02/29/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was charged $149, which I don't believe I should have been charged because the company's initial service offer was not provided.
I agreed to a free month of services from an advertising company called Locals 411, located in Las Vegas, NV. They lead me to believe I was going to have my business, ****'s ******* ******** posted on the first page of ****** as soon as my membership started. They mailed me a confirmation code to activate the ****** listing. I called to activate and they said it would take 24 hours. It has been over a week, and it still is not posted. I asked them to get rid of the website, ******** page, and ******* video they created for me, because they looked unprofessional, and I already one of each of those. The website and ******** page they created had false photography and false testimonials about my business. Although positive, the testimonials were obviously fake. The video had nothing to do with my fitness program. They did not post my business name on ****** as they advertised. I told them, if they wanted me to pay for their services, they would have to give me another free month with my ****** listing posted as promised, and delete the website, the ******** page, and ******* channel. They failed to delete the ******* video and the website. They hung up the phone and still charged me $149 for the worst services I've ever heard of.

Desired Settlement
I would like a full refund of $149, an immediate cancellation of their services, and no further charges. I would also like for them to delete the ******* video and website with my business name that they created. Below is a link to each:

*********************************
https://***************/*****?v=55yI_sjvkp8

Business Response
As of February 22, 2016 a refund has been issued and Mr. **** ********'s account is deactivated. Should he have any further questions or concerns please contact us at X-XXX-XXX-XXXX or X-XXX-XXX-XXXX.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

11/04/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Ad without a contract, and they refused to close the contract, they are even sending me more invoices
I responded to this company 411locals after reading an ad where they promised to place me in the first pages of Google for a monthly fee without a contract, I could cancel whenever I wanted. After three months I decided to close the Ad, as it did not worked for me as I expected.
There is a very big resistance from 411locas to stop. Not only the Ad is still there, but they keep sending me invoices after I sent them even an email asking them to stop. They keep calling me to the point of harassment.

Desired Settlement
I need them to respect their Ad. stop the calls and take down the Ads they did for me. Stop calling me and invoicing me

Business Response
We have made contact with ***** on 11/3/2015 in regards to his concerns and was able to come to a mutual agreement. The account is concluded and closed with no further charges.

Consumer Response
Dear BBB.com

I am sending you this email to state that my complaint has been resolved satisfactorily.

08/03/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I contracted for SEO services. 411 Locals failed perform as advertised and failed to return calls and even failed to place scheduled calls to me.
After having too many problems in my initial experience with 411 Locals, I called to cancel the "at will" contract. But after their kind admission of their mistakes during set-up of my initial search engine optimization service, they seemed sincere in their promise to do better, and purported to assign two dedicated people to work on my ad campaign. I agreed to a second chance, and at their request, I also agreed to and did schedule a specific date/time follow-up call from them. On the scheduled day and time, I waited by the phone but that call never came. I responded by calling to cancel service as their terms to cancel say "no cancellations via email or letter will be accepted, that cancellations are only accepted by calling customer service." When I called customer service they refused to cancel saying I must speak with a "senior representative," who would call me back. None ever did, even though I called an additional four times asking to speak to a senior representative, none were available. On the last call I refused to hang up without speaking to a senior representative, so customer service scheduled a specific date/time to call back. That call came two hours late by a very apologetic customer service rep who said the senior representative was unavailable to speak with me then, so I agreed to a scheduled call for the next day at the same time. That scheduled call never came at all, so I filed a dispute with my credit card company. Several days after I filed the dispute, "****" from 411 Locals called. I asked if he were a senior representative and he said yes. I notified him that I was cancelling our service. He responded by arguing with me about my credit card dispute. **** refuted my claims of bad service and said his "notes" said that we had a "good relationship." **** never asked or offered me the opportunity to tell him my side of the story. My current problem with 411 Locals is that during the set-up process for search engine optimization, they asked for the password ** my google+ page that I created. I trustingly gave it to them. Now I have learned that they took ownership of my google+ page (that I created) and they have either failed or refused to give ownership back to me.

Desired Settlement
Return ownership of my ********* *** ******* ***** google+ page to me, and also any other aspects of the online campaign that was my exclusive ownership and control before I entered into a service agreement with 411 Locals.

Business Response
We have communicated with ***** ********* 7/30/2015 in order to resolve his concerns. We do apologize for the inconvenience. Should the customer have any questions or concerns from this point forward he may contact us at X-XXX-XXX-XXXX.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I m satisfied with the company's response and would like to withdraw this complaint.

07/01/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We have been trying to cancel our account since January and they continue to harass us and ignore the cancellation.
Once we decided to cancel after 8 years or so, they ignored us and there was one day they called out company 15 times and told me they would call until we gave them payment. After that my phone messed up and when I printed the incoming calls so I could try to get this stopped every call they made was replaced by my number like I called myself. Now for 6 months they have been texting me which I texted back and told them we cancelled and do not owe anything, they call all the time. A supervisor called and said we wanted him to call us. We did not request a phone call but let him know what was going on. He was rude and told me he needed a cc number to pay up our balance or they would continue calling. We have no balance, it is not our fault they choose to ignore our cancellation request. I feel like they want to bully me into staying with them and I do not want to. I am not sure what. I don't know my account number because the only thing that shows up on the draft is 411 locals XXX-XXX-XXXX NV 7880. The 7880 may be the account number.

Desired Settlement
I want the account cancelled as of Jan 2015 and I want it in writing. I do not wanted to be contacted by 411 locals ever again and I do not want them trying to sabotage my business.

Business Response
From the date the client states he has requested to discontinue service January 2015 we have had multiple phone calls 1/14/2015 phone call was in regards to payment due and at this time ******* at the phone number XXXXXXXXXX advised us to call back for payment. 411 Locals agreed to this arrangement and made contact on the following dates 1/15/2015, 1/16/2015 along with sending a reminder email on 1/19/2015 additional phone calls made to contact the customer after this date 1/20/2015, 1/22/2015, 1/23/2015 in addition another reminder email has been sent. On the date 1/23/2015 a representative here has spoken to ***** being ******* ****** who then made agreement to pay the amount of $573.97 for the past due balance covering the months of November, December and January including late fees. On this date 1/23/2015 ***** being ******* ****** asked if his accounts would be active at this time. The agent who assisted with the payment assured customer the that accounts would be made active and explained how the billing worked. The agent then asked the customer if he could assist with anything further and the customer requested to speak with someone to assist with changes on all accounts in hopes that it would not affect his good placement online. Since this date we have made contact with the customer on the following dates 1/27/2015, 2/09/2015 at 9:52am pst which on this date ***** being ******* ****** states he is in a meeting and call back after 2 hours. On 2/09/2015 at 3:47pm 411 locals again made contact with ******* and at this time he stated that a family member has passed and asked for a call back as he will be paying Febuary's billing. Since this time we have reached out to assist this customer on the following dates 2/10/2015 reached vm, 2/11/2015 and at this time we have reached someone by the name of Shannon who states ******* is at a funeral and to contact him the following week. We have then made additional contact dated 2/18/2015 again making contact with ******* and explain the urgency of the account and fees applied and she requested to make contact with ******* the following day. On 2/19/2015 we've reached another voice mail. We have attempted to contact ******* since this time with finally making contact with the customer dated 3/10/2015. At this time ******* requested a tracking report on the phone numbers being advertised and claiming to not see company information being listed on the first page of Google which are one of the many services that 411 Locals offers. Since this date the reports have been sent as the customer has requested and multiple phone calls have been made to resolve not only the balance left on the account from February but to ensure that the customer has received the reports as requested. Until now receiving this complaint we have not had any communication with the customer about cancellation of the service we have provided. Attached you will witness necessary information of the customers agreement.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This is not even our account there is no ******* or ******* ****** at this business and as you can see in the complaint our phone number is not XXX-XXX-XXXX. We were drafted for Nov, Dec and Jan and have the bank statements to show this. Obviously we are not the only customers they will cancel when requested. I absolutely do not accept this and they are not even talking about our company.

Final Business Response
We have made contact with Angie **** on 6/29/2015. At this time we were able to come to a mutual agreement. We apologize for any inconvenience that any phone calls from our company caused. We have discussed a payment arrangement and there will be no further contact in regards to billing or account matters. Should Angie have any further concerns she is more than welcome to contact 411 Locals at any time.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
As we discussed I will send $50.00 paying the account in full and thete will not be any more contact from 411 locals. The cashier check was mailed this morning.

06/23/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Misrepresentation of products and services to customers.
Start was approximately 3 years ago. I called 411 Locals from an ad that was sent out promising a web page, ******* account, **** **** page and search optimization for the web site. They promised to get me a web address that would be mine. They then proceeded to promise to build it with my input, pictures, and some of my content. When I sent them content it was never used. When I tried to ask them what happened my calls were not returned. I just ignored it for a while and decided to get a new company to build a new website and help me build it with local content and my services. I called to get 411 Locals to switch the web address to a new company and they proceeded to let me know that they owned the web address and did not want to sell it. They then went on to say that if I stayed with them they would not have me pay for the current months billing and would pay for the billing already collected from the new company. They then said they would give me an account specialist and that he would help me build the site. They did start to help build the site but not without reservations. They then told me that I still needed to pay the bill and that they never told me that. They also said that they never said that they would pay for the other companies bill. They basically come out and said that I was lying. They said they went back and listened to the more than 1 hour of taped conversation that said all of this and said it was not on the tape. I am tired of being played by a bunch of people who promise and cannot deliver.
They then said that I am now being noticed on my web site and that I should stay with them anyway. The only calls that I was getting was an occasional call for sprinkler repair. The reason I am getting noticed now is because I am doing my own advertising locally and it is driving people to look at my web site. But the 411 Locals is claiming that it is their search engine optimization that is doing that.
I keep asking how much they would sell the web address for and they will not tell me. I have spent over 2700.00 on their service and it only seems to help when you want to leave them.

Desired Settlement
I would like to have the web address to continue using. I would also like to have the ******** and ******* accounts with information if they ever did anything with them except put them up. I would also like an apology from them.

Business Response
Contact has been made with ***** on 6/11/2015. We have gathered any necessary information to resolve the customers issues. On this day 6/11/2015 the customer has agreed to move forward with compensation in order to give 411 Locals the necessary time to produce better results. Should the customer have any further questions or concerns we are more than happy to assist.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

Page 1 of 5
04/12/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Supervisor TODD ********** promised that my credit card would only be charged one dollar one time. They billed the card $ 149/mo for numerous months.
On 10/15/2015 we spent an hour and a half responding to a telemarketing call which they said was recorded. Several high pressure sales people in a noisy boiler room including Kyra, supervisor Todd Richardson and others took turns on me. Their pitch was one dollar one time; then one forty nine if we liked their work after 90 days. Never did anyone say ONE HUNDRED AND FORTY NINE dollars per month!

Supervisor TODD ********** repeatedly vowed that my credit card would never be charged more than one dollar one time. I demanded to pay by check. They stressed the urgency.

I have received hang up calls from numbers all over the place; including my local area code 714. I don't believe they have a location in 714; and had expected 411 LOCAL to have a LOCAL presence. Almost all of the calls were outside the open hours we repeated to several of them. One call AXED what color we liked for our website on the answering machine.

I returned another call to LOIS; but nobody could find her; and I have not received a return call.

Desired Settlement
AFTER I REALIZED WHAT THEY WERE DOING; I FILED A DISPUTE WITH AMERICAN EXPRESS. I EXPECT 411 LOCAL TO PROMPTLY REFUND ALL CHARGES TO THE CREDIT CARD AND APOLOGIZE IN WRITING TO ME AND TO AMERICAN EXPRESS.

THEY TOLD ME THAT THE 88 MINUTE CALL WAS RECORDED; SO WE CAN ALL HAVE A LISTEN TO KYRA, TODD AND OTHERS.

Business Response
We have been in constant communication with **** ***** and his brother ****** ************ in order to resolve their concerns. At this time the customers have blocked their telephone numbers in order to avoid concluding the account. Should either **** ***** or ****** ************ have any questions or concerns regarding the account, we can assist by them calling X-XXX-XXX-XXXX. Thank you

02/22/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
All the information that was put on the website was wrong, they also didn't send us any notice that they put a website together with our business info
They had the wrong phone number on the website, wrong town, they didn't use our pictures that we sent to them to use of our trucks, they didn't send us a mock up of the website for our approval. But they took their payment.

Desired Settlement
I would like a full and complete refund of all costs incurred by us.

Business Response
We are unable to track the name ***** ******* in our data base. Please assist us with additional information so that we are able to better assist. We can assist with phone number used for the account she/ he has with us, an email address used when the customer purchased service or the proper name used by the account holder. Thank you. X-XXX-XXX-XXXX

02/01/2016Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We wanted a custom site, we were told that the site should be up a week ago and we are still waiting for everyone to get on the same page for our site
This has been going on since November. Been working with Azurri ******** and Lois ************ $400 for the site and credit card was the payment.

Desired Settlement
I WANT THE SITE UP AS PROMISED. I AM OUT OF PATIENCE AND TIME.

Business Response
We have made contact with our client and we are happy to develop a strong business relationship. Should there be any questions or concerns please contact 411 locals at X-XXX-XXX-XXXX.

01/25/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They did not cancel my account when they said, and months later they send me a bill.
I was contacted by 411 locals with a very shady sales pitch. $1.00 for the first month, they build me a website, business listings, ETC. After the first 24-25 days I called up asking "Where is the work you said you would do?" They said the web site is almost ready, So I told the salesman that if I don't see a website in the next few days I am calling and canceling, He agreed. After the next few days I waited and nothing with the website or any chances to my ******, *****, or **** account. I called them back up and said I do not want to do business with you, you lied when you said you would build a website within the fist 2 weeks, and its been almost a month. For that was the end of it.

Few months later I get a email send to me for $400-500. I called them back up and tell them, I canceled with you within the fist 30 days because you did not provide the service your sales guy promised or that I was agreeing to.

They then begin to explain to me that I never called to cancel they don't have anything on record, and I though oh how convenient that you don't have anything regarding my cancellation.

They are telling me I have to pay for services(the service they say they did but no proof of it.)

Desired Settlement
Stop billing me for services that I canceled with in the fist 30 days.

Business Response
We do apologize for the inconvenience. According to our records we spoke with Mr. ******* ******* dated 9/24/2015 on this date the customer was concerned about the work we promised to provide for his company. On this day we were able to communicate and compensate with 2 free months of service in order to make sure all areas of advertisement were covered prior to any additional charges. Since this date we have contacted the customer on the following dates in order to follow up, 10/2/2015, 10/14/2015, 10/21/2015 and 11/2/2015 with no returned phone call from the customer. Since then we have been able to develop a website on behalf of the customer under the following domain http://*************.com/. We have also provided the customer with first page placement on ******, Business ******** Business ******** and Business ******* video slideshow. After multiple phone calls we were able to finally speak with Mr. ******* ******* dated 12/4/2015 where he then requested to cancel our service. Mr. ******* *******'s billing date is the 3rd of every month in which that **** was due on the requested cancel date 12/4/2015. At this time there are additional fees due per our terms of service: http://411locals.com/online-presence-package-terms-of-service. With this being said the billing for the month of December is justified. Being that 411 Locals values our customers business, we again would be happy to compensate Mr. ******* ******* by waiving the balance due. Should he have any questions or concerns please contact us at X-XXX-XXX-XXXX.

12/21/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Called to cancel service in September, told them to cancel after the month was up. They will not cancel & try to keep charging me.
Called to cancel Sept 17, since billing date was on the 10th, agreed to pay for one more month which was billed on Oct 9. On November 10 they called & said we needed to pay the bill; I told them we already cancelled & made the final payment on Oct 9. They said we didn't cancel & kept getting us to keep their service. Finally after being badgered by the person on the phone, I told them we canceled, had already paid & hung up.

Today they called again & said we never canceled & hadn't followed the correct procedure - they said the correct procedure was to call to cancel and then they would send an email that we would have to confirm & send back - the terms of service just said we had to call, you can't cancel in writing.

After being on the phone with two people for at least 30 minutes and them saying we hadn't cancelled, the guy finally agreed he would send the cancellation email in a few minutes. I still have not received their cancellation email. So I assume they are going to call again & say we still haven't cancelled.

Desired Settlement
Cancel their service & don't charge me any more than I have already paid.

Business Response
We do apologize for the inconvenience. After further research on ***** ****'s previous account with 411 Locals, we are happy to conclude that the past due balance has been removed and the account has been confirmed canceled with no further charges. Should ***** have any questions or concerns regarding this matter please contact our customer service department at X-XXX-XXX-XXXX.

Page 1 of 7

Industry Comparison| Chart

Internet Marketing Services

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.