BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

BerryThin

Phone: (888) 868-4601

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

18 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues5
Billing / Collection Issues8
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service4
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints18

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (18)
12/02/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Asked for a refund for a 3rd bottle of Berry Thin sent after account was canceled. I called and finally got $45 refund instead of the $89 paid.
I received a second bottle of Berry Thin and returned it. I did not have any contact information from the company. They said there was a phone number on the bottle but I threw the bottle away after the pills made my son feel strange after taking them. I sent the package back unopened. About a month later, I had received a third bottle of Berry Thin. I had returned the second bottle without a refund. I called on 9/29/2013 and the representative said my account had been canceled several days before when they had received the returned bottle but they had not refunded my money. The representative then gave me a $81(minus $8 restocking fee) refund for the second bottle and an RNA # to return my third bottle for a refund of $81. I returned the third bottle and did not receive a refund. I do not understand why if I could not receive a refund for the third bottle I was not told so at this time instead of being given a RNA# to return the bottle. I called on 11/18/2013 about the promised refund and was refused a refund. I was told I could only receive one refund and it was my problem. I asked to talk to someone of higher authority and she also refused to give me a refund but then said I would receive a $45 refund which was the best she could do. I asked again to talk to someone in a higher position and was refused. The purchase date 9/25/2013. The RNA # I was given for the third bottle was XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX. The payment amount was $89 and was paid for by debit card through my checking account.

Desired Settlement
I would like a refund of at least the $81 that I was given for the first bottle. I understand a restocking fee but not of half the purchase price.

Business Response
To whom it may concern,

I would like to preface by stating that the customer has been refunded in full for the amounts of $4.95 (shipping and handling) and $89.97 (the first bottle). Please allow 2-7 business days for the refunds to process and post back to the consumer's account. We apologize for any inconvenience this matter may have caused the customer. Again, the customer has been refunded in full for the amounts of $4.95, $89.97 and their membership completely cancelled. Should you have any other questions, please feel free to contact us again.

Regards,
Complaint Department
X-XXX-XXX-XXXX
*********@tryberrythin.com

11/14/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I paid $4.95 for a trial and was billed for $89.97.
I tried numerous times via email and phone calls to cancel the subscription and to have my money refunded but I have not had the issue resolved and it's now been a month. I sent an email that I never received a response to and I've called three times. The first time I was put on hold and no one ever came back to the phone, the second time I was transferred to a line that went to a voicemail which I left and has still been left with no response. The third time I called was just the other day and I was again placed on hold, after 30 minutes I had to hang up because I had to go to class. I reported the transaction to my credit card company as to have the money temporarily refunded until I could get the issue resolved with this company but I have yet to have spoken to anyone who can help me. I want my money refunded.

Desired Settlement
I want the 4.95 refunded as well as the 89.97 as soon as possible

Business Response
BBB Case #: XXXXXXXX
To whom it may concern,
I would like to preface by stating that the customer been refunded for the amounts of $89.97, and $4.95 as of 11-04-2013. Please allow 2-7 business days for the refunds to process and post back onto their account. On XX-XX-XXXX the customer signed up for the BerryThin weight loss supplement 14-day trial and paid $4.95 for shipping and handling. As covered on our order page and within our terms and conditions the customer has 14 days to try the product to see if it suits them. If the customer does not feel they have enough time on the trial they are urged to contacts us via email or telephone to extend their trial. If we are not contacted by the customer before the end of their trial they will be billed the full retail value of the product on the 15th day, which was the $89.97 charge. Our terms and conditions clearly states that after the 14-day trial they will be billed for the product they have received, which is what happened in this case since no contact was made before the end of their 14-day trial. Again, the customer has been refunded in full for the amounts of $89.97, $4.95 and their membership completely cancelled. Should you have any other questions or concerns, please feel free to contact us again.

Regards,
Complaint Department,
1120 W Butler Road
Unit I
Greenville, SC XXXXX
X-XXX-XXX-XXXX
*********@tryberrythin.com

11/08/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I did not receive the trial order I placed with Berrythin, and did not realize I would be billed an additional $89.97 for the product.
I ordered a trial of Berrythin for $4.95 on 10/10/13, I did not realize there was an auto-ship component of this order. I never received the order and discovered I had been charged $89.97 on 10/24/13. When I called the company to complain that I had not received the order and request a refund I spoke with ******* who informed me that since I didn't call to cancel within 14 days I was charged $89.97 for the 30 day supply that was shipped to me. She informed me that the trial period started when I placed the order and as per tracking at USPS I received the order on 10/19/13. I will be following up the Post Office as well since I did not receive the package. I requested to speak with a supervisor and was first offered a refund of 35% by ******** I declined and again requested a supervisor. ******* told me that she was authorized to give me a 50% refund and ship another bottle, but if I insisted on speaking with a supervisor I would lose the refund offer and would only be referred to the tracking number. I accepted the 50% refund but declined the offer to resend the product as I am not interested in doing business with this company.

Desired Settlement
I would like a refund of the original $4.95 and the remaining 50% that I have paid for this product.

Business Response
To whom it may concern,
I would like to preface by stating that the customer been refunded for the amounts of $44.97 (the remainder of the $89.97 that had yet to be refunded) and $4.95 as of 11-05-2013. Please allow 2-7 business days for the refunds to process and post back onto their account. On XX-XX-XXXX the customer signed up for the BerryThin weight loss supplement 14-day trial and paid $4.95 for shipping and handling. As covered on our order page and within our terms and conditions the customer has 14 days to try the product to see if it suits them. If the customer does not feel they have enough time on the trial they are urged to contacts us via email or telephone to extend their trial. If we are not contacted by the customer before the end of their trial they will be billed the full retail value of the product on the 15th day, which was the $89.97 charge. Our terms and conditions clearly states that after the 14-day trial they will be billed for the product they have received, which is what happened in this case since no contact was made before the end of their 14-day trial. Again, the customer has been refunded in full for the amounts of $44.97, $4.95 and their membership completely cancelled. Should you have any other questions or concerns, please feel free to contact us again.

Regards,
Complaint Department
1120 W Butler Road
Unit I
Greenville, SC XXXXX
X-XXX-XXX-XXXX
*********@tryberrythin.com

11/06/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Unauthorized use of my debit card.
I signed up for the " free trial " with just only having to pay the 4.95 shipping, I did not see anywhere where I would be charged later a larger amount of 44.98 or that I would be included in a membership with automatic recurring payments and shipments. They have it in such fine print it is not surprising that anyone would miss this. It is hidden and not in plain sight for the consumer to read as I am sure it would change the consumers mind to purchase .... I did not get a refund but I am off their membership list ... I will now have to close the card I use and apply for a new one. The advertising is misleading to say the least of it. I can't afford such an expensive lesson to have learned...

Desired Settlement
I would like a refund for the full amount I was charged plus the shipping costs...

Business Response
To whom it may concern,
I would like to preface by stating that the customer been refunded for the amounts of $44.98 and $4.95 as of 11-04-2013. Please allow 2-7 business days for the refunds to process and post back onto their account. On 10-06-2013 the customer signed up for the BerryThin weight loss supplement 14-day trial and paid $4.95 for shipping and handling. As covered on our order page and within our terms and conditions the customer has 14 days to try the product to see if it suits them. If the customer does not feel they have enough time on the trial they are urged to contacts us via email or telephone to extend their trial. If we are not contacted by the customer before the end of their trial they will be billed the full retail value of the product on the 15th day, which was the $44.98 charge. Our terms and conditions clearly states that after the 14-day trial they will be billed for the product they have received, which is what happened in this case since no contact was made before the end of their 14-day trial. Again, the customer has been refunded in full for the amounts of $44.98, $4.95 and their membership completely cancelled. Should you have any other questions or concerns, please feel free to contact us again.

Regards,
Complaint Department
**** W ****** Road
**** I
Greenville, SC XXXXX
X-XXX-XXX-XXXX
*********@tryberrythin.com

02/20/2014Advertising / Sales Issues
Page 1 of 2
02/17/2014Problems with Product / Service
02/10/2014Billing / Collection Issues
02/03/2014Billing / Collection Issues
02/03/2014Problems with Product / Service
11/11/2013Billing / Collection Issues
Page 1 of 3

Industry Comparison| Chart

Health & Diet Products - Retail

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.