BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 05/31/2006

Credit Guard

Phone: (800) 525-8618Fax: (800) 525-8619

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues2
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service7
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints11

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (11)
03/26/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
When I spoke to the company agent Stephen **** he Guarantee me that our credit scores would become good enough to obtain a mortgage and that the first payment was not due till the work was done that was on 12/29/2014 it is now 03/16/2015. Both mine and my wife credit did not improve in fact it went down and they have all ready received one thousand dollars of our money. Plus they keep telling us we should receive the three company's reports any day now and still nothing. It was suppose to be done and fix in sixty days and that has not happen yet so we withheld the last payment cause we are starting to think that we fell for a scram with the blindness of getting a mortgage and improving our life by reducing the amount of our monthly payouts instead it has put us far away from reaching our dream of owning our first home because of the loan taking out to pay them. Also spoke to Dee in customer service who took our the account but like Mr. **** has given as nothing but empty promises say it going to happen next week for the past month.
Product_Or_Service: Credit Repair

Desired Settlement
We would like the money already spent on services back and not pay the remaining Five Hundred dollar payment that is due because we feel that they failed to deliver as promised.

Business Response
Both George ****** and his wife signed up with our services just on 1/6/2015. They were both informed that it takes 90 days for us to get the first results, thus we are very early in the process and more results are pending. Despite that we have already removed 9 negatives from George's 3 reports and 3 already from Dianne's. George went from 14 negatives to 11; Dianne went from 21 to 20); Our performance guarantee states that if no positive change to the credit reports occur we will refund. Positive change has occurred in this case already thus no refund is warranted. We will keep working diligently on there file to hopefully meet there expectations.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
they have done some work not 100 % happy but we will stick to the contract and hopefully she more imporments instead of our scores dropping not in the way they seem to promise.

03/10/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was told both and my husbands credit will be repaired in a certain amount of time and it wasn't. Credit Guard just took my money and did nothing.
On the first week of September of 2014 I contacted Credit Guard to fix both mine and my husbands credit. I was told by Steven that the cost for this would be a total of $1,400 that would be payed in two payments each for $700. I was also told that I wouldn't have to pay anything up front that they charge until everything is done but just about a week after I contacted them they had already withdrawal the first payment. I was supposed to receive a packet in the mail from Credit Guard that came about a month and a half later. In it along with paperwork was supposed to be some kind of certificate with a supposed lifetime warranty meaning if either me or my husband ever needed service again it would be at no cost. Well that never came. They had me waiting and waiting I sent everything I was asked for by them and nothing. They didn't even had the courtesy of returning my calls. At any time of day you call Credit Guard you need to leave a message but funny how you don't get a call back. The agents are extremely rude and showed no type of concern or interest in helping me. The agents I spoke to always dodged my questions and spoke over me always telling me how sorry they were for the amount of times I had to call and that they were going to note that someone will get back to me shortly with better info about my case. A couple of times that I did manage to get a hold of someone I asked to speak to a manager or supervisor and one was never available and I would be transferred to "Dee ********* who claimed was in charge there but to my understanding she is just a receptionist. I am extremely unhappy with the results I got because there wasn't any to begin with and really upset with the unethical and unprofessional customer service. It is shocking to me that such people like Credit Guard have knowledge of peoples personal and private info to according to them are there to help but its more like they are running a circus playing games with my money, personal info, and most important my time. Shame on you Credit Guard and your lies and crappy results and customer service.

Desired Settlement
I demand an immediate refund of ALL $1,400 I payed Credit Guard. It is February of 2015 meaning that in a total of 6 months and counting since I originally payed for their services and nothing was done. I have been forced to seek services elsewhere for something Credit Guard has already been payed to resolve and did nothing but take my money. I feel I was robbed blind. The last call I got from 'Dee" was back in February and she said to give it a couple more weeks and I will FINALLY see results .....well I saw nothing. I just wasted too much time dealing with you guys. Enough is enough. I will go as far as filing a claim to the court, contacting the federal state commission, and contacting the financial institute of Nevada whatever it takes to get my money back and make sure Credit Guard doesn't take advantage of more people. I think me asking for a full refund is pretty fair since really nothing was done and Credit Guard failed to keep their end of their deal and not to mention all the stress I was put through in the process, my time, and money to fax all that paperwork.

Sincerely,

An extremely disappointed customer.

Business Response
At Credit Guard, we have a Performance Guarantee that states "if after we fully perform the contracted services and there is no positive improvements to your credit reports, Credit Guard will refund all monies paid."

According to current credit reports, the following improvements have been made to her credit:
EXP- 1 negative account deleted
EQU- 4 negative accounts deleted.
TRU- unable to obtain from customer

Based on the improvements made to her credit, Credit Guard unfortunately has to deny the refund request based on our Performance Guarantee. We would be more than happy to continue servicing her account with her cooperation in the matter.

Consumer Response
Since the last complaint filed, credit guard has yet to contact me in any way. I call every now and then and leave voicemails which always leads in such company not returning my calls. It is nearly impossible to get a hold of a live representative and when you do you are greated by very rude and extremely vulgar individuals speaking over you and complaining about how is not the first time you called. Phone operators claim they are leaving notes in the system but credit guard never returns the call. In their last response they claimed they did some work to my husbands credit ok this is according to them (credit guard) which is totally false since my husband and I contacted the beraus and also seeker helped elsewhere, they have never done anything on my credit and when I payed for their services they said they would. I never received any certificate of lifetime warranty like they claimed I would. This company takes your money up front which according to my lawyer should not be done in such way. Credit Guard never sent me any type of correspondence which leads me to believe is done for their own convenience to not leave a paper trail of their lies. This is the second and last complain I will submit asking a full refund of my hard earned money before I take legal action and take them to small claims. Enough is enough. I don't understand how such foul and deceiving company is still in business just ripping people off. The money Credit Guard is denying to refund me can go towards their lawyers. I WILL NO ACCEPT ANY FURTHER WORK FROM CREDIT GUARD.

Final Business Response
We stand by our last response. The work was preformed according to our signed agreement. Results were made so she does not qualify for our Performance Guarantee. We have spoken to her countless times trying to explain that we will keep working on her file until we can get a result she is satisfied with, but she is not being reasonable.

12/16/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
When I 1st enrolled for this credit service the salesman told me that my file would be clean and ready for use after the 1st 45 day run.
I purchased a credit cleaning service and the salesman at the time specified that my credit would be clean and ready after the 1st 45 day run. However, here we are at the end of the year and my file is still not ready. SO i decided I wasn't going to pay the balance which was $250, then this company sent me a threatening letter stating if I didn't pay the balance i would forfeit all the money I paid and then they would report the balance to all 3 credit agencies. I have tried to be patient with this company, however my patience has subsided. The Manager D stated she would send send me a paper to fill out for a refund, however I still have not received it.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking a full refund from this company in the amount of $1500. Or for my credit to be completely fulfilled by before the time this complaint is resolved.

Business Response
At Credit Guard, we have a Performance Guarantee that states "if after we fully perform the contracted services and there is no positive improvements to your credit reports, Credit Guard will refund all monies paid."

Mr. ***** has been with our company for 10 months. Considering we have had multiple payment issues, we have still made great improvements to his credit file.

According to current credit reports, the following improvements have been made to his credit:
EXP- unable to obtain.
EQU- 7 negative accounts deleted.
TRU- 3 negative accounts deleted.

Based on the improvements made to his credit, Credit Guard unfortunately has to deny the refund request based on our Performance Guarantee. We would be more than happy to continue servicing his account with his cooperation in the matter.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
1st- the payment issues only stemmed from me not being delivered what was promised to me in the time I was given which was 45 days.

Every time I call this company for an update, if I get an answer, I'm told that it would be another 45 days every time. Even when I called on December 10th, I was told the same thing. I was told that the agencies didn't address what they wanted them to so it will be another 45 days.

So how am I suppose to handle this situation? My account is paid in full, and I was even told I would receive a refund form in the mail which I have not received yet.

In addition, the items that were deleted were not enough to obtain what I was told I would be able to obtain with was a refinance on my home, and a car. His was promised to me by Jason **********



Final Business Response
We stand by our first response. Nothing to add. Mr. ***** has been working with us for 10 months we have made substantial results and have fulfilled all contracted services. No refund per our performance guarantee is warranted.

08/18/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This started in April. They continue to with drawl money out of my account. I moved to Missouri from Wisconsin, and I keep getting all of these bogus hospital bills. I contacted the company, and the owner said, "We ****** up." They keep withdrawing $500 a month out of my account. They have taken $1000 out already, and I can not afford this. I am disabled. I originally contacted them because I tried to purchase a vehicle for my caretaker to take me around. I was denied, and I have never been denied. I contacted them to help me out and I was only supposed to pay a total of $1500 to them and they said they would take out $500 per month for three months, and this was back in April 2014. The payments were supposed to last between April, May, and June. I talked to my bank, too and they told me that they have indeed been taking the payments and they could do a stop payment but that would then cost me another $35.

Desired Settlement
I would like them to refund me the extra $1000 they took out of my account, and for them to stop accessing my account.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *** *****, CEO
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX x105
Contact Email: ********@creditguardco.com
Mr. ********* enrolled in our services on 5/5/14. He signed a contract to pay $1,500 in installments for our services. To date he has only paid $1,000 of the $1,500 owed us. We fully completed all contacted services by 6/18/14. Our system shows that we have had 13 customer service contacts with Mr. *********. He was explained very clearly to be patient that his results will arrive to his address no later than 8/18/14. He acknowledge this fact many times and told us that he was perfectly fine with that. We have a Performance Guarantee in place to protect consumers but we need the results first to be able to invoke it. At this time no refund is authorized.

Consumer Response
*Please see scanned document received from consumer not satisfied wit hthe response. Thank you.

Final Business Response
We have contacted this customer directly and offered him a full refund of a $1,000. We are currently trying to expedite this through another consumer protection agency out of Missouri.

07/23/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This company is a fraud. They asked me to pay they $500.00 upfront for credit repair services. They did not provide the services they agreed to.
This company is obviously ran by a husband and wife team. Every time I attempted to contact them in regards to the status of my credit repair, the would never answer the phone but would immediately email me back stating that my status was "in progress". They charged me $500.00 up front to start the process and because I am more knowledgeable now about how the credit repair process work, they were NOT supposed to ask for money up front! The y disputed everything on my report instead of the items that needed to removed. They continued to try and withdraw from my account evens ending me bogus invoices stating I owed them $1000.00! I notices some of the documents they emailed me had different addresses-
some said Dallas, Texas while others said Las Vegas. This company is ripping people off of their hard earned money by promising something and not delivering it! I now have to start this process over again. It is very frustrating that their are companies out their that don't have the heart for people and can sleep at night knowing that they $500 richer!!! Its sickening.....

Desired Settlement
I am seeking the $500.00 I paid them that according to the fair credit act they were NOT supposed to request. I am a single mom trying to get my life together and I don't have money to give away like that!

Business Response
Ms ****** is correct there is no advance fee allowed in credit repair by law. Ms ****** signed a contract for our services on 11/1/13. Our work which is clearly outlined in the contract was 100% completed on 11/03/13. We began billing Ms ****** on 11/04/13, 3 payments of $500. Ms ****** subsequently defaulted on her 2nd and 3rd payment with us and her account was suspended and sent into collections. Our system shows that we had 9 customer service contacts with Ms ****** in which she attempted to make payment arrangements with us; in fact including in January 2014 giving us brand new banking information? Clearly Ms ****** was satisfied with our service for at least the first two months now 9 months later she decides to file a complaint? Bottom line is our company preformed all contracted services; Services in which Ms ****** has failed to pay for and still owes us $1000. This complaint seems to more about being bitter about the fact we put her in collections than anything else? No refund will be given.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
As stated in the previous complaint the company DID NOT perform the services they promised. The company, knowing that It can not request money up front, they asked for the money 5 days later. They stated they started the process on the 3rd which is incorrect according to the information received form the credit bureaus. The misrepresented themselves and the services they were able to perfume. The contract that was sent has two different addresses listed and when reviewed by a REPUTABLE company in the Houston area, I was told it was all template and doctored. Credit Guard went in and disputed "everything" and that is not how credit repair is supposed to work. The process is supposed to dispute negative items or statue of limitations items and have them either deleted or updated. They failed to do this thus causing me to have to go though another company to have to corrected which is very time consuming and costly. It was stated in the reply that "Services in which Ms. ****** has failed to pay for and still owes us $1000. This complaint seems to more about being bitter about the fact we put her in collections than anything else?" This is NOT about bitterness! Its about a company advertising a service and not performing that service, but yet wanting to get paid for it! And it seems to me by the "tone" of the reply that the company is the one that's bitter because they were reported to the BBB! If you advertise a service, them PERFORM THE SERVICE THAT THE CUSTOMER IS PAYING FOR!

Final Business Response
We stand by our last response and have no more to add. In the interest of compromise, we are willing to forgo the $1,000 still left unpaid by Ms ****** and declare her account paid in full, take her out of suspension and continue her services. If she is indeed demanding we perform the services as promised like her last line insisted then this will be more than an adequate resolution to this matter. Ms. ****** feel free to call us anytime M - F between the hours of 8a - 4p PST at (XXX) XXX-XXXX and press 1 for customer service. We will reactive your account at no additional charge and go back to work on it.

04/04/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Hired this company to fix my credit, paid $1500. Company did nothing for me and does not want to refund my money as per the agreement.
My husband and I hired this company to fix our credit scores on 11-06-2013. We were told that it would take 45-60 days from Dec 6th, 2013. I called the company on 03-06-2014 to ask about the progress and why our scores have not changed, why are there still discrepancies on our credit report, etc. While attempting to ask about the issues the person on the phone (Tim- The Owner) start to belittle me. He said, "you are like a woman who just hit the lottery for 2 milliom dollars and you are mad because you wanted 4 million." I then got upset and asked him if he thought insulting me and being sarcastic was the answer to resolving our issue.He said that he didn't think that was an insult to me. I then asked to speak with the manager/owner of the company. He replied, "you are speaking to the actual owner." I asked him if this is how he conducts business on a daily basis, and stated that I was not satisfied. The 2 of us argued at that point. He then said that I need to ask for a "request for refund form" and get my refund because he is no longer going to do anything with my account. He then stated that the conversation was over at that point and hung up on me. I tried calling back several times for at least 5-10 minutes, and they picked up the phone and hung it up on me at least 5 times. The last attempt in calling them, I then got a woman. When I tried to explain to her what was going on, she also insulted me and said that I need to request a "request for refund" form to get my refund. I then asked her to send me one, she stated that they were going to send me one by mail. The next day (03-07-2014) I faxed them a letter asking that they please send me the request by fax and left my fax number within the fax. I got no response from them at all today since 7 a.m this morning. I'm trying to call and they are just picking up the phone and hanging up on me, or sending me to voice mail now. I believe that he (Tim- The Owner) has breach our contract by refusing to continue with my case and not doing what was initially said would be done, as well as not even giving me the attention needed as a already fully paid customer awaiting results.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking a full refund because they did nothing for me but cause me and my hubby more anguish within these past months. The rudeness, the unprofessionalism, and the insults have all been truly a terrible experience for us and we truly don't want anything to do with this anymore....as they have clearly made it known they feel the same by completely ignoring a fully paid customer and not doing what they promised.

Business Response
At Credit Guard, we guarantee that our program will produce a positive change to your credit report. In reference to the Client Agreement which you signed on 11/6/13, the Performance Guarantee states, "If after we fully perform all contracted services and there is no positive improvement to your credit reports, Credit Guard will refund all monies paid ."

According to the credit reports provided by you, we identified the following positive changes:

Victorino *****:
EQU: 7 negative accounts deleted
EXP: 8 negative accounts deleted
TRU: Report not provided by customer

Sarah *****:
EQU: 9 negative accounts deleted
EXP: 4 negative accounts deleted
TRU: Report not provided by customer

These deletions all represent positive changes made to your credit reports. This confirms that we have honored our Performance Guarantee and therefore your request for a refund is denied.

We have attempted to contact you on several occasions to review the status of your case, but have been unsuccessful. An official written response was mailed to your residence on 3/18/2014.

Please feel free to contact us between the hours of 8:00am and 4:00pm PST and we would be more than happy to discuss your file with you. We appreciate the opportunity to address your concerns and look forward to hearing from you.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not accept their response because this company is lying about 2 things. As per the contract, yes it was stated that after they "FULLY" perform "ALL" contracted services and there is no positive improvement to our credit score, then the company will refund all monies back to client. Yes there were some positive improvements in our credit scores, and no the contracted services were not "FULLY" perform...because the owner himself dully stated to me (verbally, over the phone) that he wasn't going to complete the process because we got into an altercation. So that in itself is the company breaching their own contract. The process of disputing is to dispute, receive and dispute again until all items on the contract were deleted. That was what I was told, and that isn't what happened because they refused to finish and fully complete their end of the contract. Secondly, this company states that they have tried to contact us on several occasions with no response. That is an outright lie! I have with me both the contact numbers (cell phones) to which none have repeated calls from Credit Guard at no given time since November 6th. 2013. Since that date I can assure you that Credit Guard has only contacted us once, and that was because they were responding to the second payment that didn't go through my bank at that time. I have gone through my calls since Nov 5th (the initial call I made to them for services), and here are all the calls made to and from Credit Guard since Nov 5th, 2013.

Nov 5th, 2013: From me@ 12:31 p.m. 3 mins
Nov 25th, 2013: From me @ 11:59 p.m. 2 mins
Dec 16th, 2013: From me @10:20 a.m. 2 mins
Dec 16th, 2013: From them @ 10:28 a.m. 1 min
None in Jan, 2014
Feb 3rd, 2014: From me @ 12:05 p.m. 1 min
Mar 6th, 2014: From me @ 10:37 a.m. 3 mins (spoked to Tim who told me he's done with my case)
May 6th, 2014:From me @ 12:57 p.m. 1 min (hangup)
May 6th, 2014: From me @ 1:04 p.m. 4 mins (spoked to a woman who insulted me and hung up)
May 6th, 2014: From me @ 1:08 p.m. (hangup)
May 6th, 2014: From me @ 1:08 p.m. (hangup)

These were all of the calls ever made between myself and Credit Guard, and as you can see, I was the one calling constantly! They never called me but once, and that was to make sure I got their pymnt in the mail. Why would I pay someone $1500 for services and then ignore their calls, would you? That's just crazy for this company to believe that anyone would do that.
This company is unprofessional, unorganized, rude, and liars. I do believe that I am entitled to a refund because the process was not fully finished due to the owner himself (TIM) breaching the contract by not finishing the process.
I agree they did bring our credit scores up by 20-40 points but that wasn't the full process and our credit scores could have more than likely gone up a lot more if they had finished the process.
So I am going to be fair and ask that they reimburse at least $1000 of our money back because I truly believe that what they did was only worth about $500, if not less then that. I don not think that it's fair for me to ask for a full refund when they did in fact help a little. However, I truly believe that it's not fair of them to lie, cheat, and try to steal a perosns money when they did not do what was promised and finish the process fully as noted in the contract. The inquiries that were supposed to be disputed in the 2nd phase are still on our credit report. The inaccuracies with our jobs,home addresses and names are still on our credit report. Also, some of the items that they are saying they took off are still on our credit report and I have those documents as well to prove it.

Final Business Response
Dear Mrs. *****,

Please review our previous response to your complaint carefully. We have addressed all of your concerns thoroughly as it pertains to your service contract with Credit Guard.

Credit repair is a process and requires your cooperation in order to obtain the best results possible. We also ask for a little patience from our clients during the process.

Again, we stand by our initial response and unfortunately must deny your request for a partial refund. Please contact us between the hours of 8:00am and 4:00pm PST so that we may continue to help you on the road to restoring your credit.

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Credit Repair Services - No Advance Fee

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.