BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 06/10/2011

Credit One Bank

Phone: (877) 825-3242

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

587 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 338 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues36
Billing / Collection Issues424
Delivery Issues2
Problems with Product / Service125
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints587

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (587)
05/09/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I had a balance with Capital One for 450.00 with a 24.99 percent interest rate . *********** was going to give me zero percent interest rate. So of course I switch over , but the problem is capital one sent two 450.00 over in the transfer. Now I'm sitting on my *********** with a 900.00 dollars balance and I haven't even used the card. *********** can't help me because it was Capital one fault . I've been calling Capital One sense April 14th. They either hung up on me or keep transferring me or tell me the checks in the mail. I am sick with a rare genetic lung disease and it's difficult for me to talk over and over again I get very winded . I am on social security disability ,and 450.00 is a lot of money to me. I just need someone to help get my money back . This has been extremely stressful for me. Anything you can do for me I would appreciate Sincerely ***** *******

Desired Settlement
I would just like my own money back

Final Consumer Response
Hello Penny, I guess just the thought of me writing to the BBB scared them. Because low and behold the check came in the mail today. Thank you, you guys are great. ***** *******

05/02/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They put authorized charges on my card and the card was cancelled and they still continue to keep it open and charge fees on the card when it was paid
The card was paid in full I called and cancelled the card They continue to put charges on the card when it was paid in full before the deadline was even reached I am going to send copies to the Attorney General's office over their practices of overcharging people without authorization

Desired Settlement
I am seeking a refund of my final bill because I am disputing all the charges

Business Response
April 26, 2016


Better Business Bureau
Attn: Rhonda *******
6040 S. Jones Blvd.
Las Vegas, NV XXXXX-XXXX



RE: *** ******* / CASE # XXXXXXXX


Dear Ms. ********

We have received your inquiry on behalf of *** *******. Our office has completed the investigation into the issues presented. Our records reflect that you provided a signed authorization from the consumer to release account-specific information to the Better Business Bureau of Nevada.

Enclosed, please find a copy of the resolution letter sent to *** *******. We have notified *** ******* of our findings and now consider this matter resolved.

If you have any questions or concerns regarding this matter, please contact our office at (XXX) XXX-XXXX, Monday through Friday, between the hours of 6:30 a.m. and 3:00 p.m. (Pacific Time).

Sincerely,




Laurie ** *****
Vice President
Customer Service

******

Enc.:

C: file



*** *******
**** ******** ****
******** IN XXXXX-XXXX


RE: Account Number Ending In: ****


Dear *** *******:

Credit One Bank ("Credit One") is in receipt of your communication dated April 11, 2016, which was received on or about April 14, 2016, forwarded by the Better Business Bureau of Southern Nevada. Please note that this letter is not an attempt to collect a debt, but is in response to your communication.

Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. Credit One continually seeks ways to improve the experience of our highly-valued customers and maintain a strong, enduring business relationship. We will make every effort to serve your needs in a manner more consistent with your expectations and our high standards.

As a result of accepting the solicitation offer, an account was established on January 13, 2015, and a credit card was sent to you along with a copy of the Visa/MasterCard Cardholder Agreement, Disclosure Statement, and Arbitration Agreement ("Agreement"). A copy of the Agreement is included with this letter for your review. The terms and conditions of the Agreement govern the account. The Agreement states in part under Section 9. ANNUAL MEMBERSHIP FEE: The Annual Membership Fee for your Account is $45.00. The Annual Membership Fee will be billed to your Account as long as it remains open or, if your Account is closed by you or us, the Annual Membership Fee will continue to be charged until you pay your outstanding balance in full. The Agreement also states in part under Section 10. FINANCE CHARGES: All purchases, cash advances, fees or charges accrue finance charges starting on the date of posting, even if the new balance from your previous statement was paid in full or even if that new balance was zero. The Agreement further states under Section 11. LATE PAYMENT CHARGES: If at least the Amount Due This Period (less any Late Payment Fee for the current billing cycle) and Amount Past Due are not received by 5:00 p.m. PT on the Payment Due Date shown on your statement, a Late Payment Fee of up to $35.00 will be charged to your Account. It should be noted, all accounts (open or closed) reflecting an outstanding balance are subject to all fees, including Finance Charges, Monthly Annual Fees, Direct Payment Fees, and Late Payment Fees. Thus, Credit One believes that the fees associated with the credit card were clearly and conspicuously disclosed.

Our records reflect that on or about May 24, 2015, we were notified of your intent to retain or your retention of legal representation. At that time, your account was placed in a permanent no contact status. Please provide us with the name, phone number, and mailing address of your attorney. If you are not represented by counsel any longer or believe that this notification was received in error, please notify us in writing.

Your monthly billing statement that closed on January 18, 2016, reflected the Annual Fee of $45.00 and a minimum payment of $25.00 due by February 14, 2016. Your monthly billing statement that closed on February 18, 2016, did not reflect a payment was received; therefore, your account was assessed a Late Fee in the amount of $25.00. This statement also reflected Finance Charges totaling $0.76 and a minimum payment of $71.89 due by March 14, 2016.

On February 23, 2016, you spoke with our Customer Service Supervisor, requesting the balance and to close the account. Due to your account being under attorney representation, our Supervisor advised you that you would have send a letter stating you were not being represented by an attorney as our Supervisor was unable to disclose any information regarding the account.

Your monthly billing statement that closed on March 18, 2016, also did not reflect a payment was received; therefore, your account was assessed a Late Fee in the amount of $35.00. This statement also reflected Finance Charges totaling $1.18, an ending balance of $108.07, and a minimum payment of $108.07 due by April 14, 2016. Your monthly billing statement that closed on April 18, 2016, reflected your payment in the amount of $108.07 was received on April 14, 2016. This statement also reflected residual Finance Charges totaling $1.48, which were calculated from previous charges until the payment was received, and a minimum payment of $1.48 due by May 14, 2016.

Our records further reflect that on April 25, 2016, you spoke with our representative in the Office of the President, requesting to close your account. At that time, our representative closed the account and processed an adjustment for the residual Finance Charges totaling $1.48.

Upon receipt of your communication and review of our records this office has processed adjustments for the Annual Fee of $45.00, two Late Fees totaling $60.00, and Finance Charges totaling $3.07. Please find enclosed a refund check in the amount of $108.07. As of the date of this letter, your account is closed with a zero balance.

If you have any questions or concerns regarding this matter, please contact our office at (XXX) XXX-XXXX, Monday through Friday, between the hours of 7:00 a.m. and 4:00 p.m. (Pacific Time).

Sincerely,

Credit One Bank, N.A.

*****
Enc.:
C: file


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Their personal were never told that I have a attorney involved I stated that I would send it to the attorney general office for the unauthorized charges when the card was cancelled. And their customer service could not understand a word I was saying when I tried to resolve this 2 months ago. That is why I should be given a full refund if I rated this company they would get an f rating they are very unpleasant to work with.

Final Consumer Response
I just received a check and a letter from Credit One Bank for the full amount I would like to thank you for your help in resolving this issue

12/11/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Receiving emails intended for other account holder.
I have received multiple emails at my yahoo address ************@yahoo.com regarding my "new account." I believe the first was addressed to a Jill ******** (sp? I no longer have it to confirm) and subsequent emails have been addressed to Jill. I do not have an account with Credit One Bank and ******** is not my last name. The most recent emails were received on 11/23 and 11/30. I do not have the first two emails any longer or the dates I received them.

I have called Credit One Bank on four occasions: 11/30, 11/23, 11/16, and one earlier date (unsure of the date) to resolve this issue. I have been assured twice that my email address would be removed from the account as I imagine the actual account holder does not want me to receive their email either. I have received email after both of those calls. During the most recent call with Credit One's customer service on 11/30, I was told that they have no way of looking up the account by email address and would need an account number, social security number, etc., none of which I could provide since I am not the account holder. I don't understand this, as the person I spoke to on 11/23 told me they pulled up the account, told me the account holder's name, and assured me that as of that day my email would be removed.

Desired Settlement
I would like for Credit One Bank to remove my email address (************@yahoo.com) from the account it is associated with and to inform the account holder of this issue. I do not want to simply "opt out" of the emails as the actual account holder should know that the email address on file is incorrect and should have the option to receive their mail.

Business Response
December 9, 2015


******* *******
**** ** **** ***
******* ** XXXXX



RE: EMAIL ADDRESS


Dear Ms. *******:

Credit One Bank ("Credit One") is in receipt of your communication dated November 30, 2015, which was received on or about December 4, 2015, forwarded by the Better Business Bureau of Southern Nevada. Please note that this letter is not an attempt to collect a debt, but is in response to your communication

Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. Credit One continually seeks ways to improve the experience of our highly-valued customers and maintain a strong, enduring business relationship. We will make every effort to serve your needs in a manner more consistent with your expectations and our high standards.

As of the date of this letter, the email address ************@yahoo.com has been removed from our records; therefore, you should receive no further emails from Credit One. Please note, Credit One did not locate any applications, solicitations, personal information or account records in your name and address.

If you have any questions or concerns regarding this matter, please contact our office at (XXX) XXX-XXXX, Monday through Friday, between the hours of 6:30 a.m. and 3:00 p.m., Pacific Time.

Sincerely,

Credit One Bank, N. A.
*****
C: file


December 9, 2015


Jill ********
*** ** ********* ****
********* ** XXXXX-XXXX



RE: EMAIL ADDRESS


Dear Ms. *********

Credit One has received notification from the user of the email address of ************@yahoo.com that she is receiving emails regarding your account. We have removed this email address from your account. Please call our Customer Service Telephone Number below to update your email address or update it online.

If you have any questions or concerns regarding this matter, please contact our office at (XXX) XXX-XXXX, Monday through Friday, between the hours of 6:30 a.m. and 3:00 p.m., Pacific Time.

Sincerely,

Credit One Bank, N. A.
*****
C: file


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
CreditOne Bank handled this complaint to my satisfaction. They removed my email address from their customer's account and informed their customer of the error, and I appreciate that they also confirmed they have no accounts associated with my name or address. I hope that they took this opportunity to adjust their customer service practices via telephone to avoid this type of runaround in the future as it seemed a simple issue to correct without BBB involvement!

10/02/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was billed to activate a card that I was not able to use. I was unable to use any of the company phone numbers to speak to a representative.
I, *** *********, activated a Credit One Bank credit card (#XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX) and one for my husband, **** ********* (card #XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX) on 9/3/15. For these cards I was billed for $94.00. The credit limit on this card is $300. The available credit after the $94.00 charge was $260.00 which I verified both by phone and on the website at www.creditonebank.com. I attempted to use the card on 9/3/15 ten times for less than $260.00 and was denied each time. I checked on the website and all those charges were pending. The following day 9/4/15, they were removed from the website. I disputed all of those charges. I attempted to use the card again on 9/4/15 twice and was denied each time again. I disputed those charges as well. In my letter to Credit One I cancelled both of the cards that I was issued by Credit One Bank, because I been charged for a service which I can never use. I attempted to call their customer service line, your payment line, and your automated account information line all of which were rerouted to an automated service where there was no option to speak to a representative.

Desired Settlement
I would like both cards cancelled, the $94.00 annual fee (and any other fees they charged me) refunded.

Business Response
September 28, 2015

Dear Ms. ********

We have received your inquiry on behalf of *** *********. Our office has completed the investigation into the issues presented. Our records reflect that you provided a signed authorization from the Cardholder to release account-specific information to the Better Business Bureau of Nevada.

Enclosed, please find a copy of the resolution letter sent to Ms. *********. We have notified Ms. ********* of our findings and now consider this matter resolved.

If you have any questions or concerns regarding this matter, please contact our office at (XXX) XXX-XXXX, Monday through Friday, between the hours of 6:30 a.m. and 3:00 p.m. (Pacific Time).

Sincerely,



Laurie R. *****
Vice President
Customer Service

LRJ/lf

Enc.

C: file

September 28, 2015


*** *********
**** ****** ***** **** ***
Golden, CO XXXXX-XXXX



Account Number Ending In: ****


Dear Mr. *********:

Credit One Bank ("Credit One") is in receipt of your communication dated September 10, 2015, which was received on or about September 21, 2015, and forwarded by the Better Business Bureau of Southern Nevada. Please note that this letter is not an attempt to collect a debt, but is in response to your communication.

Our records reflect that your account was established on August 21, 2015, upon receipt of an Internet-fulfilled application.

The first monthly billing statement generated on August 27, 2015, which included the pre-disclosed Annual Fee of $75.00, and the Authorized User Fee of $19.00. This statement also reflected an ending balance of $94.00, and available credit totaling $206.00.

Our records further reflect authorizations for SQ ********* ******* C were declined by Visa, as the merchants were identified as high-risk merchants. These preventive measures are in place to prevent fraud. Credit One has no way to determine which merchants will be declined due to Visa's preventive measures.

Our records reflect that on September 12, 2015, you spoke with our Customer Service representative, who pursuant to your request submitted your account for closure. Since the account had not been used, adjustments were submitted to create a zero balance.

Furthermore, we have verified that the account is not being reported to the credit reporting agencies.

If you have any questions or concerns regarding this matter, please contact our office at (XXX) XXX-XXXX, Monday through Friday, between the hours of 7:00 a.m. and 4:00 p.m. (Pacific Time).

Sincerely,

Credit One Bank, N.A.

LF/kl
C: file




Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I received the response I was looking for from the company for which I made a complaint about.

09/14/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I closed my account in May 2015, and they are still billing me every month for a membership.
I requested that my credit card account with Credit One Bank, be closed in May 2015. The customer service agent confirmed my account was closed. I got a call from their collection department on July 2, 2015 stating that I had a past due amount. I told her that could not be possible that I had closed the account. I then asked her if it showed my account was closed and she said that she could not tell me anything that they were just collections. That I had to call the customer service line. I paid the bill as I did not want this to effect my credit. It a monthly charge of $16 + late fees and a service charge for paying by phone for a totally of $35.02. I then called the customer service line and they once again assured me that my account was close but said they did not know the date, nor could they send me any documentation that it was closed. I then received a call today 08/31/2015. that I once again had an outstanding balance. I once again told the girl that I had closed the account and once again she said she was just collections and could not help me. I called the customer service line again and they once again said that my account was closed, but could not send me any documentation or give me a date it was closed. I feel like I'm being extorted for money by this company and they will not close my account. I have wrote them a letter and made 5 calls to them and still cannot confirm my account has been close. I have never had an issue closing an account and I feel this is illegal to do to people. They also raised my credit limit without my consent and charge me for it.

Desired Settlement
I just want this account closed and I want them to send me written confirmation that my account has been closed and cease from stating that I owe a monthly fee. Also, I want them to notify all appropriate credit card bureaus that this account was "closed by request of cardholder."

Business Response

September 10, 2015

Dear Ms. ********

We have received your inquiry on behalf of ****** ******. Our office has completed the investigation into the issues presented. Our records reflect that you provided a signed authorization from the consumer to release account-specific information to the Better Business Bureau of Nevada.

Enclosed, please find a copy of the resolution letter sent to Mr. ******. We have notified Mr. ****** of our findings and now consider this matter resolved.

If you have any questions regarding this matter, please contact our office at (XXX) XXX-XXXX, Monday through Friday, between the hours of 6:30 a.m. and 3:00 p.m. (Pacific Time).

Sincerely,



Laurie R. *****
Vice President
Customer Service

LRJ/lf

Enc:
C: file


September 10, 2015


****** ******
XXXX XXth ***
San Diego, CA XXXXX-XXXX



Account Number Ending In: **** / ****


Dear Mr. ******:

Credit One Bank ("Credit One") is in receipt of your communication dated August 31, 2015, which was received on or about September 3, 2015, and forwarded by the Better Business Bureau of Southern Nevada. Please note that this letter is not an attempt to collect a debt, but is in response to your communication.

Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. Credit One is continually seeking ways to improve our highly-valued customers' experience and maintain a strong, enduring business relationship. We will continue to make every effort to serve your needs in a manner more consistent with your expectations and our high standards.

As a result of your acceptance of the solicitation offer, an account was established on January 18, 2011, and a credit card was sent to you along with a copy of the Visa/MasterCard Cardholder Agreement, Disclosure Statement, and Arbitration Agreement ("Agreement"). Your Agreement states in part under Section 9. Annual Membership Fee: which states in part: "The Annual Membership Fee will be billed to your Account as long as it remains open or, if your Account is closed by you or us, the Annual Membership Fee will continue to be charged until you pay your outstanding balance in full." It should be noted, all accounts (open or closed) reflecting an outstanding balance are subject to all fees, including Finance Charges, monthly installments of the Annual Fee, and Late Payment Fees. A copy of your Agreement is enclosed.

Our records reflect that on April 23, 2015, you accessed your account via the Integrated Voice Response unit (IVR), at which time you were offered a credit limit increase in the amount of $250.00 with a fee of $9.95. The offer was accepted, and your credit limit was increased to $1,250.00, and the Credit Limit Increase Fee of $9.95 was billed to your account on April 24, 2015. The increase and the fee appeared on your monthly billing statement that closed on May 23, 2015.

Our records further reflect that on May 5, 2015, you spoke with our Customer Service representative who submitted a Lost/Stolen report on your account ending in ***** At that time, a new account ending in **** was established. No fraud was identified for the account ending in *****

Our records reflect that on May 7, 2015, you spoke with our Customer Service representative who, pursuant to your request, submitted your account for closure.

Your monthly billing statement that closed on May 23, 2015, reflected your payment in the amount of $18.20, which was received on April 25, 2015, and your payment in the amount of $19.00, which was received on April 27, 2015. That statement also reflected the balance transferred from the account ending in 5092, in the amount of $8.25, the Annual Fee billed for the month of June 2015, and a Finance Charge of $0.01. The statement reflected an ending balance of $8.26 and a minimum payment of $8.26 due June 19, 2015.

Your monthly billing statement that closed on June 23, 2015, did not reflect a payment received and your account was billed a Late Fee of $8.26. That statement also reflected the Annual Fee of $8.25, Finance Charges totaling $0.16, an ending balance of $24.93, and a minimum payment of $24.93 due July 19, 2015. Your statement that closed on July 23, 2015, reflected your payment in the amount of $35.01, which was received on July 1, 2015. That statement also reflected the Express Payment Fee of $9.95, the Annual Fee of $8.25, Finance Charges totaling $0.11, an ending balance of $8.23, and a minimum payment of $8.23 due August 19, 2015.

Your monthly billing statement that closed on August 23, 2015, did not reflect a payment received, and your account was billed a Late Fee of $8.23. This statement also reflected the Annual Fee of $8.25, Finance Charges totaling $0.16, an ending balance of $24.87, and a minimum payment of $24.87 due September 19, 2015.

Our records reflect that on August 31, 2015, you spoke with our Customer Service representative who submitted adjustments to create a zero balance.

Upon receipt of your communication and review of our records, this office submitted adjustments to refund your payment in the amount of $35.01. We have enclosed your credit balance refund check #XXXXXX
As of the date of this letter, your account is closed and reflects a zero balance. In addition, we have verified that your account is being reported to the credit reporting agencies as "Account Closed by Consumer."

If you have any questions or concerns regarding this matter, please contact our office at (XXX) XXX-XXXX, Monday through Friday, between the hours of 7:00 a.m. and 4:00 p.m. (Pacific Time).

Sincerely,

Credit One Bank, N.A.
LF/kl
Enc.:
C: file


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

Page 1 of 30
02/09/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I received this letter on 01-21-2016, I am canceling on 01/21/16. Cancel the credit protection today! Cancel 01-21-2016

Desired Settlement
I do not want this. Don't bill me. Cancel request 01/21/2016.

Business Response
February 5, 2016

Dear Ms. ********

We have received your inquiry on behalf of **** **********. Our office has completed the investigation into the issues presented. Our records reflect that you provided a signed authorization from the consumer to release account-specific information to the Better Business Bureau of Nevada.

Enclosed, please find a copy of the resolution letter sent to **** **********. We have notified **** ********** of our findings and now consider this matter resolved.

If you have any questions or concerns regarding this matter, please contact our office at (XXX) XXX-XXXX, Monday through Friday, between the hours of 6:30 a.m. and 3:00 p.m. (Pacific Time).

Sincerely,



Laurie R. *****
Vice President
Customer Service

LRJ/jc

Enc:

C: file
February 5, 2016


**** ** **********
XXXXX ****** **** ***
Cornelius, NC XXXXX-XXXX



Re: Account Number Ending In: ****


Dear **** **********:

Credit One Bank ("Credit One") is in receipt of your communication dated January 27, 2016, which was received on or about February 4, 2016, forwarded by the Better Business Bureau of Southern Nevada. Please note that this letter is not an attempt to collect a debt, but is in response to your communication.

Credit One states that **** ** ********** (with the last four digits of the Social Security number being ***** submitted an unsolicited application using the address of: XXXXX ****** **** **** Cornelius, NC XXXXX with an application number of *************

The enclosed online disclosure includes terms and conditions in the disclosure box. This disclosure section is federally mandated and regulated as to the content displayed regarding rates and fees for the credit card. The "Fees" section of the disclosure box states in part:

Set-up and Maintenance Fees: NOTICE: The Annual Membership Fee will be billed to your account when it is opened and will reduce the amount of your initial available credit.

Annual Membership Fee: $75.00 First year (Introductory Period) and $99.00 thereafter, billed monthly at $8.25.

Further, the general disclosure section includes the following section:

ANNUAL MEMBERSHIP FEE: The Annual Membership Fee of $75.00 will be billed to your Account when it's opened. After the first year, the Annual Membership Fee of $99.00 will be billed to your Account in monthly installments of $8.25.

THE ANNUAL MEMBERSHIP FEE IS REFUNDABLE: As long as you cancel your Account and have not used your card for any Purchases or Cash Advances and you have not made a payment.

The application was Internet-fulfilled on or about December 31, 2015, under account number ending in ***** As a result, an account was established on January 6, 2016, and a credit card was sent to you along with a copy of the Visa/MasterCard Cardholder Agreement, Disclosure Statement, and Arbitration Agreement ("Agreement"). A copy of the Agreement is included with this letter for your review. The terms and conditions of the Agreement govern the account. The Agreement provided notice of the Annual Fee on the first page under the "Fees" section, as well as in the section entitled "Annual Membership Fee." Thus, Credit One believes that the fees associated with the credit card were clearly and conspicuously disclosed.

The first monthly billing statement on the account generated on January 12, 2016, which included the pre-disclosed Annual Fee of $75.00.

Our records reflect that on January 13, 2016, your card was activated via the Integrated Voice Response unit (IVR). Our records also reflect that at that time, you enrolled in the optional Credit Protection Program and requested a credit line increase.

Pursuant to your request, the account is now closed. Since the account has not been used for purchases or cash advances, adjustments have been submitted to create a zero balance. The monthly billing statement scheduled to close on February 12, 2016, will reflect the account closure, the adjustments, and a zero balance. Additionally, your account closure cancels your enrollment into the Credit Protection Program.

We have notified the appropriate credit reporting agencies to delete the Credit One tradeline for this credit card account. If there is a need to provide evidence of the requested change prior to the credit reporting agencies' ability to update their records, please provide a copy of this letter.

If you have any questions or concerns regarding this matter, please contact our office at (XXX) XXX XXXX, Monday through Friday, between the hours of 7:00 a.m. and 4:00 p.m. (Pacific Time).

Sincerely,

Credit One Bank, N.A.

JC/kl

Enc:

C: file


Consumer Response
the offer I received in the mail was misleading in the sense that I was convinced it was capital one not this odd ball bank. The way that this card was offered to me should be investigated. the company name and even the logo ., it's a spoof of capital one and incredibly deceiving. I want nothing to do with this company. I have autism spectrum disorder and unfortunately did not recognize the fact that this company is preying on people like me.

01/26/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Fees were promised to be reversed and has not been. Company threatens collections vs standing on their word
I have been a customer of Credit One for approximately 3 yrs plus. Not so often I may have a delinquent payment, but do my best to keep up with the due date with the options they have available. I recently was advised that my account was approximately 30+ days past due in which I can't recall if it had ever fallen that far behind. I spoke to an Credit One Agent who advised m that she would apply a one time courtesy credit of $180 which would have covered the late fees that was assessed to my account from Aug-Dec of 2015. She advised me that after she applied the credit I was to pay a balance of $150.00 plus a %9.99 same day fee. I agreed. She claimed that she applied the credit and the next step was to take my payment which would have put my balance at approximately $1100.00 I proceeded to give her my debit card information to apply the $159.99 payment. I was then called today 3 days later in reference to no payment being received and only one credit of $35 being assessed to my account.; Not only that they were ow asking for a minimum payment of $207.00 plus the 9.99 fee. I said no because that was not the original agreement. I spoke to approximately at least 5 representatives who would not credit the account unless I made the payment first. In which I said I was not going to do because I was not going to make the payment of $220 and then they say the can only credit one fee. No. I repeatedly told them that once I received what was promised to me by their employee on 12/19/15 then I would happily make the payment of $150 of the ORIGINAL agreement. The lady noted in my account that I refused to make a payment and hung up in my face. Once this is solved I will be telling everyone I know, blog, social media etc regardint this experience.

Desired Settlement
I would like all late fees I was promised to be reversed onto my account and brought out of collections and I will make payments until the account is at a 0/00 balance

Business Response

January 11, 2016

Dear Ms. ********

We have received your inquiry on behalf of ****** ******. Our office has completed the investigation into the issues presented. Our records reflect that you provided a signed authorization from the consumer to release account-specific information to the Better Business Bureau of Nevada.

Enclosed, please find a copy of the resolution letter sent to Ms. ******. We have notified Ms. ****** of our findings and now consider this matter resolved.

If you have any questions or concerns regarding this matter, please contact our office at (XXX) XXX-XXXX, Monday through Friday, between the hours of 6:30 a.m. and 3:00 p.m. Pacific Time.


Sincerely,



Laurie R. *****
Vice President
Customer Service

LRJ/su

Enc.:

C: file

January 11, 2016


****** ******
XXXXX ******* ***** ***
Houston, TX XXXXX-XXXX



Re: Account Number Ending In: ****


Dear Ms. ******:

Credit One Bank ("Credit One") is in receipt of your communication dated December 23, 2015, which was received on or about January 7, 2016, and forwarded by the Better Business Bureau of Southern Nevada. Please note that this letter is not an attempt to collect a debt, but is in response to your communication.

Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. Credit One continually seeks ways to improve the experience of our highly-valued customers and maintain a strong, enduring business relationship. We will make every effort to serve your needs in a manner more consistent with your expectations and our high standards.

As a result of accepting the solicitation offer, an account was established on June 14, 2012. At that time, a credit card was sent to you, along with a copy of the Visa/MasterCard Cardholder Agreement, Disclosure Statement, and Arbitration Agreement ("Agreement"). A copy of the Agreement is included with this letter for your review. The terms and conditions of the Agreement govern the account. The Agreement provided notice under Section 11. LATE PAYMENT CHARGES: If at least the Amount Due This Period (less any Late Payment Fee for the current billing cycle) and Amount Past Due are not received by 5:00 p.m. PT on the Payment Due Date shown on your statement, a Late Payment Fee of up to $35.00 will be charged to your Account. The Agreement also states in part under Section 13. MINIMUM PAYMENTS: You agree to pay either the entire outstanding balance or the Minimum Payment Due, as shown on your monthly statement. The Minimum Payment Due is 5% of your outstanding balance, rounded up to the next whole dollar, or $25.00, whichever is greater, plus any Late Payment Fee for the current billing cycle, and any Past Due Amount. For your Account to be considered current and to avoid a Late Payment Fee, you must pay at least the Amount Due This Period (less any Late Payment Fee for the current billing cycle) and the Past Due Amount by the Payment Due Date shown on your statement. The Agreement further states in part under Section 20. DEFAULT: You will be in default under this Agreement if any of the following events occur: (1) you exceed your assigned credit limit; (2) you fail to make any required payment when due; (7) you are generally not paying your debts as they become due; (9) you violate any term of this Agreement. Upon your default, Credit One Bank can close or refuse to renew your Account, demand the return of your card(s), declare your entire balance immediately due and payable, and initiate collection activity, all without prior notice or demand. It should be noted, all accounts (open or closed) reflecting an outstanding balance are subject to all fees, including Finance Charges, Monthly Annual Fees, Direct Payment Fees, and Late Payment Fees. Thus, Credit One believes that the fees associated with the credit card were clearly and conspicuously disclosed.

Our records reflect that the monthly billing statement, that closed on September 19, 2015, reflected a minimum payment of $69.00 was due by October 15, 2015. Your monthly billing statement that closed on October 19, 2015, reflected a partial payment in the amount of $50.00 was received on October 7, 2015. Since the minimum payment amount of $69.00 was not received a Late Fee in the amount of $35.00 was assessed. This statement also reflected a minimum payment of $127.00 was due by November 15, 2015.

Our records further reflect that the monthly billing statement that closed on November 19, 2015, reflected a partial payment in the amount of $50.00 was received on November 2, 2015. Since the minimum payment amount of $127.00 was not received a Late Fee in the amount of $35.00 was assessed. This statement also reflected a minimum payment of $150.00 was due by December 15, 2015.

The monthly billing statement that closed on December 19, 2015, did not reflect a payment received; therefore, a Late Fee in the amount of $35.00 was assessed. This statement also reflected a minimum payment of $226.00 is due by January 15, 2016. For your ease of reference, we have enclosed copies of your monthly billing statements that closed on September 19, 2015, through December 19, 2015.

Our records indicate that on December 18, 2015, you spoke to our Customer Service representative, who pursuant to your request attempted to submit a debit card payment in the amount of $159.95. This payment was not approved by the payment processor; therefore, the payment never posted to the account. At that time, our Customer Service representative submitted an adjustment for a Late Fee in the amount of $35.00. This adjustment was reflected on the monthly billing statement that closed on December 19, 2015.

On December 20, 2015, our Customer Service representative submitted another adjustment for a Late Fee in the amount of $35.00. This credit will be reflected on the monthly billing statement scheduled to close on January 19, 2016.

The Credit Card Act of 2009 placed limits on fees related to the method of payment and when these fees may be billed. Credit One modified our payment processing to ensure our cardholders receive same day credit when making Express Payments, this includes payments processed with our Customer Service representatives.

We offer payment options, including Express Payment (with a fee of $9.95) and Standard Payment (with no fee assessed). Please ensure your payment is received by 5:00pm (Pacific Time) on your Payment Due Date to avoid a Late Fee. Payments received after 5:00pm (Pacific Time) will post to your account the following business day.

On December 23, 2015, and December 30, 2015, you spoke to our Customer Service representatives, but you did not want to make a payment at that time.

Our records further indicate that on December 28, 2015, we received your correspondence regarding a settlement. A response letter was sent on January 7, 2016, advising you that Credit One accepts proposals from approved agencies. For your ease of reference we have enclosed a copy of that letter.

In order to assist in lowering the balance on your account, as a one-time courtesy, our office has processed an adjustment for Late Fees in the amount of $75.00. This credit will be reflected on the monthly billing statement scheduled to close on January 19, 2016.

If you have any questions or concerns regarding this matter, please contact our office at (XXX) XXX-XXXX, Monday through Friday, between the hours of 7:00 a.m. and 4:00 p.m. (Pacific Time).

Sincerely,

Credit One Bank, N.A.

SU/kl
Enc.:
C: file

***Please see attached copy of response received by mail on 1/15/16.

10/26/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was sent a pre-approved letter from Credit One Bank stating, that my credit limit would start at $1500. It did not! It was only $300 with a $75 fee.
Credit One's pre-approved application letter made false claims. Instead of the $1500, that I was pre-approved for, I only received $300 limit. Not once did the company tell me, that I was only receiving a credit line of $300. If I had known that, I would have cancelled the application or returned the card. They also charged a $75 annual membership fee for this card! I called and faxed over a letter showing the company, that their wording in the letter was not correct. No one has done anything about it. I told them, that I want to close the account and that I will not pay the $75 fee (that was charged the day after I received my card). I asked them to remove it and tell me what to do to close this account. Still have heard nothing from the company and customer service has been horrible! You cannot send out false marketing information to people and then change the terms without the customer agreeing to it!

Desired Settlement
I would like them to refund the $75 fee, that was applied to a card, that I did not agree to. I then would like to pay off the card in full and close it completely with a letter to the credit bureau, stating that this account is no longer open.

Business Response
September 24, 2015

Dear Ms. ********

We have received your inquiry on behalf of ********* *******. Our office has completed the investigation into the issues presented. Our records reflect that you provided a signed authorization from the consumer to release account-specific information to the Better Business Bureau of Nevada.

Enclosed, please find a copy of the resolution letter sent to Ms. *******. We have notified Ms. ******* of our findings and now consider this matter resolved.

If you have any questions or concerns regarding this matter, please contact our office at (XXX) XXX-XXXX, Monday through Friday, between the hours of 6:30 a.m. and 3:00 p.m. (Pacific Time).

Sincerely,



Laurie R. *****
Vice President
Customer Service

LRJ/jc

Enc:

C: file
September 24, 2015


********* *******
**** ******** ***** **** **** ****
Charlotte, NC XXXXX-XXXX


Re: Account Number Ending In: ****


Dear Ms. *******:

Credit One Bank ("Credit One") is in receipt of your communication dated September 9, 2015, which was received on or about September 17, 2015, and forwarded by the Better Business Bureau of Southern Nevada, and your communication dated September 16, 2015, which was received on or about September 17, 2015, and forwarded by the Office of the Comptroller of the Currency. Please note, this letter is not an attempt to collect a debt, but is in response to your communication.

Please be advised that our office has addressed the issues presented by you in a previous correspondence. Therefore, we will be unable to respond to any additional correspondence addressing the same issues. We have enclosed a copy of our letter to you, dated September 16, 2015, in which we addressed your issues.

In regard to your statement that you were not told of the credit limit on your account, please note that the credit limit is displayed on the card carrier to which your card was affixed when it was mailed to you. Additionally, the available credit was provided at the time your account was activated on September 6, 2015, via the Integrated Voice Response unit (IVR).

If you have any questions regarding this matter, please contact our office at (XXX) XXX-XXXX, Monday through Friday, between the hours of 7:00 a.m. and 4:00 p.m. (Pacific Time).

Sincerely,

Credit One Bank, N.A.

JC/kl

Enc:

C: file


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
After reviewing several other complaints against Credit One, I found that most people had the same complaint, that I did. People thought that they were approved for the $1500 credit line and then later discovered, that they were given a card with a much lower line of credit. When I called the day, that I received the card, they would not refund my the $75 fee and allow me to close it that day without paying it. They are scamming people and charging them a HUGE fee for the card. Please go online and see what other complaints have been posted against this company and their practices of misleading/scamming people.

Final Business Response
As stated in the letter dated September 24, 2015, we are no longer responding to correspondence addressing the same issues.

September 24, 2015


********* *******
**** ******** ***** **** **** ****
Charlotte, NC XXXXX-XXXX


Re: Account Number Ending In: ****


Dear Ms. *******:

Credit One Bank ("Credit One") is in receipt of your communication dated September 9, 2015, which was received on or about September 17, 2015, and forwarded by the Better Business Bureau of Southern Nevada, and your communication dated September 16, 2015, which was received on or about September 17, 2015, and forwarded by the Office of the Comptroller of the Currency. Please note, this letter is not an attempt to collect a debt, but is in response to your communication.

Please be advised that our office has addressed the issues presented by you in a previous correspondence. Therefore, we will be unable to respond to any additional correspondence addressing the same issues. We have enclosed a copy of our letter to you, dated September 16, 2015, in which we addressed your issues.

In regard to your statement that you were not told of the credit limit on your account, please note that the credit limit is displayed on the card carrier to which your card was affixed when it was mailed to you. Additionally, the available credit was provided at the time your account was activated on September 6, 2015, via the Integrated Voice Response unit (IVR).

If you have any questions regarding this matter, please contact our office at (XXX) XXX-XXXX, Monday through Friday, between the hours of 7:00 a.m. and 4:00 p.m. (Pacific Time).

Sincerely,

Credit One Bank, N.A.

JC/kl

Enc:

C: file

10/09/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
over charged when balanced was paid in full
I logged into my account which stated that my current balance was $397.13. I paid that amount on 9/01/2015 which was what was owed according to their account snapshot. They applied an $7.22 interest fee on the 9/02/2015 which I felt should have reflect in their account balance snapshot. I feel taking advantage since I paid off entire remaining balance. Why the need to charge interest when paying off entire balance. They never charged that before when minimum payment is. That fee does not show up on all other payment,so why now. Its bad enough that they want to charge high interest and for an express payment the feel the need to charge $9.95 for your payment to be processed sooner. NO other credit card company does that. Why take advantage of people with lower FICO scores.

Desired Settlement
account credited

Business Response
September 11, 2015

Dear Ms. ********

We have received your inquiry on behalf of **** *********. Our office has completed the investigation into the issues presented. Our records reflect that you provided a signed authorization from the consumer to release account-specific information to the Better Business Bureau of Nevada.

Enclosed, please find a copy of the resolution letter sent to Mr. *********. We have notified Mr. ********* of our findings and now consider this matter resolved.

If you have any questions or concerns regarding this matter, please contact our office at (XXX) XXX-XXXX, Monday through Friday, between the hours of 6:30 a.m. and 3:00 p.m. (Pacific Time).

Sincerely,



Laurie R. *****
Vice President
Customer Service

LRJ/jc

Enc:

C: file
September 11, 2015


**** *********
*** ******* ***
Los Banos, CA XXXXX-XXXX



Re: Account Number Ending In: ****


Dear Mr. *********:

Credit One Bank ("Credit One") is in receipt of your communication dated September 3, 2015, which was received on or about September 4, 2015, and forwarded by the Better Business Bureau of Southern Nevada. Please note that this letter is not an attempt to collect a debt, but is in response to your communication.

As a result of accepting the solicitation offer, an account was established on May 24, 2015, and a credit card was sent to you along with a copy of the Visa/MasterCard Cardholder Agreement, Disclosure Statement, and Arbitration Agreement ("Agreement"). A copy of the Agreement is included with this letter for your review. The terms and conditions of the Agreement govern the account. The Agreement provided notice and states in part in the section titled 10. Finance Charges: "Periodic Finance Charges will be assessed from the date the purchase, cash advance, fee or charge is posted to your Account until the date it is paid in full. All purchases, cash advances, fees or charges accrue finance charges starting on the date of posting, even if the new balance from your previous statement was paid in full or even if that new balance was zero." Thus, Credit One believes that the fees associated with the credit card were clearly and conspicuously disclosed.

Your monthly billing statement that closed on September 2, 2015, reflected your payment in the amount of $397.13 was received on September 2, 2015. That statement also reflected residual Finance Charges in the amount of $7.22, which were calculated from the prior charges that posted to your account through the date the payment posted to your account. That statement reflected an ending balance of $7.22, and a minimum payment of $7.22 was due by September 27, 2015.

Our records reflect the last payment of $7.22 was received on September 3, 2015. As of the date of this letter, your account reflects a zero balance.

If you have any questions or concerns regarding this matter, please contact our office at (XXX) XXX-XXXX, Monday through Friday, between the hours of 7:00 a.m. and 4:00 p.m. (Pacific Time).

Sincerely,

Credit One Bank, N.A.

JC/kl
Enc:
C: file


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Yes I did pay the $7.22 as I did not want to pay anymore interest on $7.22. My issue is this, I made payment of the $397.13 on 9/01/15 which my entire balance was that. Payment was posted on account on 9/02/15. I feel that interest charged should have been included in balance shown of which it was not. To have the interest amount all of a sudden show up the next month is really unethical and misleading in my opinion. At the end of the day, I feel that this company is praying on people like me to take advantage of them. Here is another example. I misplaced my card and called in to have my card canceled. I was not disputing any charges. The rep said that they could cancel the card and issue another card for a $25 fee?? What other company does that?? I told her nevermind and I would continue to look for my card of which I found. Can you imagine having to pay for a card replacement fee of $25. At the end of the day, I just would like them not to rip people off and if your account balance says it's this amount and people including my self pay the entire amount off. Why should the company get upset and then charge a fee for that? Lets be fair at the end of the day.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
All that was mailed was the original contract. My argument is that full account balance including interest fee should reflect on website when it states account balance. Do not charged interest fee after account balance is paid in full

Final Business Response
October 8, 2015

Dear Ms. ********

We have received your inquiry on behalf of **** *********. Our office has completed the investigation into the issues presented. Our records reflect that you provided a signed authorization from the consumer to release account-specific information to the Better Business Bureau of Nevada.

Enclosed, please find a copy of the resolution letter sent to Mr. *********. We have notified Mr. ********* of our findings and now consider this matter resolved.

If you have any questions or concerns regarding this matter, please contact our office at (XXX) XXX-XXXX, Monday through Friday, between the hours of 6:30 a.m. and 3:00 p.m. (Pacific Time).

Sincerely,



Laurie R. *****
Vice President
Customer Service

LRJ/jc

Enc:

C: file
October 8, 2015


**** *********
*** ******* ***
Los Banos, CA XXXXX-XXXX



Re: Account Number Ending In: ****


Dear Mr. *********:

Credit One Bank ("Credit One") is in receipt of your communication dated September 29, 2015, which was received on or about October 2, 2015, and forwarded by the Better Business Bureau of Southern Nevada. Please note that this letter is not an attempt to collect a debt, but is in response to your communication.

Please be advised that our office has addressed the issues presented by you in a previous correspondence. Therefore, we will be unable to respond to any additional correspondence addressing the same issues. We have enclosed copies of our letters to you dated September 11 2015, and September 23, 2015, in which we addressed your issues.

If you have any questions or concerns regarding this matter, please contact our office at (XXX) XXX-XXXX, Monday through Friday, between the hours of 7:00 a.m. and 4:00 p.m. (Pacific Time).

Sincerely,

Credit One Bank, N.A.

JC/kl

Enc:

C: file

10/05/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have had a account with credit one bank.
I never authorized credit one bank to use my social
security number. Credit one bank has no file on me.
The
Credit One bank has ruined my credit. I am a recent college graduate. I never authorized are opened a account up with credit one bank. If you call credit one bank they will tell you I do not exist to them. In the summer 2014 the collection agency Credit one uses supposedly sent documentation of taking it off
my credit report. Credit one bank has not. I have been denied credit due to this credit card company.
I would like this taken off my credit report immediately.

Desired Settlement
For credit one bank to do what they have been promising for over a year now to take it off my credit report.

Business Response
September 21, 2015

Dear Ms. ********

We have received your inquiry on behalf of **** ****. Our office has completed the investigation into the issues presented. Our records reflect that you provided a signed authorization from the consumer to release account-specific information to the Better Business Bureau of Nevada.

Enclosed, please find a copy of the resolution letter sent to Mr. ****. We have notified Mr. **** of our findings and now consider this matter resolved.

If you have any questions or concerns regarding this matter, please contact our office at (XXX) XXX-XXXX, Monday through Friday, between the hours of 6:30 a.m. and 3:00 p.m. (Pacific Time).

Sincerely,



Laurie R. *****
Vice President
Customer Service

LRJ/jc

Enc:

C: file
September 2, 2015


**** ****
**** ******* **** ***
Kill Devil Hills, NC XXXXX



Re: Account Number Ending In: ****


Dear Mr. ****:

Credit One Bank ("Credit One") is in receipt of your communication dated August 25, 2015, which was received on or about August 26, 2015, and forwarded by the Better Business Bureau of Southern Nevada. Please note that this letter is not an attempt to collect a debt, but is in response to your communication.

Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. Credit One is continually seeking ways to improve our highly-valued customers' experience and maintain a strong, enduring business relationship. We will continue to make every effort to serve your needs in a manner more consistent with your expectations and our high standards.

Our records reflect that you were added as an Authorized User on the account on November 1, 2010. This office has submitted the necessary documentation to remove the account from your credit report.

If you need to provide evidence of the requested change prior to the credit reporting agencies' ability to update their records, please provide a copy of this letter.

Following are the credit reporting agencies to which we have provided the aforementioned information:

Experian: (XXX) XXX-XXXX
TransUnion: (XXX) XXX-XXXX
Equifax: (XXX) XXX-XXXX, (XXX) XXX-XXXX

Please note, our records do not reflect any documentation received from a collection agency requesting removal of this account from your credit report.

If you have any questions or concerns regarding this matter, please contact our office at (XXX) XXX-XXXX, Monday through Friday, between the hours of 7:00 a.m. and 4:00 p.m. (Pacific Time).

Sincerely,

Credit One Bank, N.A.

JC/kl
C: file

Page 1 of 88

Industry Comparison| Chart

Credit Cards & Plans

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.