BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 04/01/1960

Nevada State Bank

Phone: (702) 383-0009

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service9
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints10

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (10)BBB Closure Definitions
10/01/2014Problems with Product / Service
05/09/2014Problems with Product / Service
01/31/2014Problems with Product / Service
06/25/2012Problems with Product / Service
09/18/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I came across some fraudulent charges from Microsoft that after speaking with the merchant it was determined I was a victim of fraud but that I had to dispute it through my bank. I called card services/fraud to let them know. Because I had some authorized charges from that same merchant it made difficult. I ended up having to call almost a week and a half later to find of that the bank had denied my claim in spite of the fact that I had provided them with the info to Microsft's fraud area. I filed another claim. I was then notified that I would receive credit for the original fraudulent charge but since that charge was more than 60 days old I would not receive the other charge because it could have been prevented bi repeatedly told them that it was mixed in with other authorized charges which is why there was a delay. So while hey acknowledge the first charge and subsequent charges were fraud they are reusing to credit my account for the remaining amount of $35. I am unable to get anything from Microsoft because the charges are from a fraudulent account not in my name.

Desired Settlement
I want the amount of second fraudulent claim returned to me

Business Response
September 5, 2013

Upon receipt of Ms. *****'s complaint, we launched a full investigation into the circumstances surrounding the claim. This response serves as a summary of our findings.

On 7/29/13, Ms. ***** contacted Nevada State Bank's Customer Service Center to report two unauthorized charges to her account. The transactions are as follows:
3/28/13: MSFT *XBOX LIVE $24.99
7/26/13: MSFT *BILLING $35.58
During the call Ms. ***** did explain that she had an account with Microsoft, but had verified with the merchant that these transactions were associated with a separate fraudulent account tied to her card number. This additional information was not included with the claim when it was forwarded to the Dispute Department, therefore on 8/6/13 the claim was denied and a letter was mailed to advise Ms. ***** that she needed to cancel the membership and work with the merchant directly.

On 8/9/13, Ms. ***** contacted the Bank again to advise that the charges were unauthorized. The dispute was reopened, and credit was issued on 8/12/13 to honor the claim for the first transaction in the amount of $24.99. Credit was not issued for the second transaction because Ms. ***** did not notify the bank timely when the fraud first occurred, and had the Bank been notified, the second transaction could have been prevented. The decision was made in accordance with rules set forth by Regulation E, which governs electronic funds transfers, and in accordance with the Bank's Deposit Agreement which states, "If your statement shows transfers that you did not make, including those made by card, code or other means, tell us at once. If you do not tell us within 60 days after the statement was sent or made available to you, you may not get back any money you lost after the 60 days if we can prove that we could have stopped someone from taking the money if you had told us in time."

We do acknowledge that Ms. ***** should have received credit for the first transaction when the claim was originally submitted, and apologize for the inconvenience this might have caused. As a courtesy, we have issued credit to Ms. *****'s account for the second transaction in the amount of $35.58. A letter was also mailed to Ms. ***** on 8/30/13 informing her of the additional credit to her account.

Please be assured that we take our service performance very seriously, and make every effort to address our clients' concerns thoroughly.


Sincerely,

***** ******
AVP, Client Relations Officer II
Nevada State Bank


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I only accept if that credit stands as I do not want to have the bank take back the credit after this complaint is closed simply because normal process could dictate that they can reverse the credit, if that makes sense.

I had explained the original delay in notifying them of the fraudulent charges due to multiple authorized accounts. I feel as though the bank is not willing to look at the entire situation which is bad business.

08/08/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Keeping me broke by charging fees for everything and amassing giant balances to the negative.

I have had an account with NSB for years to pa my bills via auto pay.
NSB started charging me little fees for everything ~ even for sending a paper statement and not doing online banking. All of this resulting in hundreds of dollars of overdraft and ISF fees. (I have to pay my mortgage and utilities before I pay fees for INF.
I do not feel that I was informed of these issues that resulted in my fees.
I'm talking about $500 one month and over $600 for june.
I tried disputing some of the fees because there were some auto pays that were supposed to not go through as per my phone calls to these individual parties.
A NSB representative suggested I dispute the items that weren't supposed to go though, which I did try to dispute and of course they found me in the wrong and citing the reason was for NSF not that the third parties weren't to try to bill to NSB, who wouldn't do anything to try to stop these things from trying to draft from my account. That is $32 each time and they allow it to happen as many times as the third party (who wasn't supposed to try to auto draft) wants to put it through.
How in the world am I supposed to pay my utilities plus all of these added fees accrued every month?
I do have accounts at another bank and I don't have these problems with them.
NSB is keeping me broke and not helping at all. They are no better than the payday loan places in my opinion.

Desired Settlement
I want my NSF fees from the items I disputed and any additional charge associated with those charges reversed.

Business Response
July 29, 2013

Upon receipt of Ms. *************'s complaint, we launched a full investigation into the circumstances surrounding the claim. This response serves as a summary of our findings.

Ms. ************* held account number ending in 2823 with Nevada State Bank.

On May 2, 2013, the ending balance in the account was $9.16. Beginning on May 6, 2013 transactions processed to the account which brought the account to an overdrawn status and the account remained in an overdrawn status until July 5, 2013 when the account was charged off and closed. In total, fourteen- (14) transactions totaling $754.28 posted to the account against insufficient funds. Nevada State Bank charges an Insufficient Funds (NSF) fee in the amount of $32.00 per item, for up to five items the business day after the items post against insufficient funds, and a daily Overdraft (OD) fee in the amount of $8.00 is charged to the account beginning the 5th day of the overdraft. Between May 7, 2013 and June 5, 2013, Insufficient Funds fees totaling $416.00 and Overdraft fees totaling $176.00 were assessed to the account. The fees were charged correctly and in accordance with our Depositor Account Disclosure.

On May 7, 2013, the branch contacted Ms. ************* to inform her the account was overdrawn and she stated that she would make a deposit that day, which did not occur. The branch attempted to contact the client on May 10 and May 14, and left a message both times. On May 17, 2013, the client was contacted again and stated that she would make a deposit the first week of June which did not occur.

On June 20, 2013, Ms. ************* filed a Written Statement of Unauthorized Debit for several of the items stating that she had revoked the authorization for the items or that the company had charged her account prior to the contracted date; however since the items had been returned NSF we were unable to formally dispute the items. Additionally, Ms. ************* did not provide any proof to the bank that authorization had been revoked prior to the items posting, or that they had posted early. Typically, fees are not reversed unless the claim is honored or we have reason to believe that unauthorized activity occurred.

On July 5, 2013, Ms. *************'s account was charged off and closed and forwarded to Outsource, a third party collection agency. As of July 29, 2013, the current balance owing is $640.53. After review of the circumstances surrounding this claim, a fee refund will not be granted. We encourage Ms. ************* to contact Outsource directly at XXX-XXX-XXXX to make payment arrangements.

Sincerely,

***** ******
AVP, Client Relations Officer II
Nevada State Bank


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The businesses that I contacted to revoke debit never gave me proof that the conversations occurred and in some cases they weren't permitted to debit my account in the first place: debiting my NSB account was the the very last option for some and they debited my account even though they had other funds available to them.
NSB allowed these debits to occur which made my negative balance even larger. I could not close the account because the banks policy doesn't allow accounts in the negative balance to be closed.
I feel this policy puts the consumer between a rock and a hard place by allowing third party businesses to debit from the account regardless.
The bank tells me I have to contact the third party to stop the transactions. The third party tells me they will stop the transaction but doesn't. The bank then tells me there's nothing they can do about it and allows the transactions to occur, which accrues more fees.
Regarding the deposits they say I said I would make - do THEY have proof that I said I would make these deposits? What would the consumer who is going through an economic hardship do in this case - pay their utilities and mortgage or pay the bank their fees only tho have MORE fees accrue because you don't have the full balance to pay off and the third party who said they wouldn't debit your account does so anyway?

08/26/2014Problems with Product / Service
06/10/2014Problems with Product / Service
01/14/2014Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Banks

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.