BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Planet Hyundai Sahara

Phone: (702) 938-1400Fax: (702) 940-3374View Additional Phone Numbers7150 W Sahara Ave, Las VegasNV 89117-2835

! There is an alert for this business !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Planet Hyundai Sahara is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

This business has no rating because it is out of business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

19 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues5
Billing / Collection Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues2
Problems with Product / Service11
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 19

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Planet Hyundai Sahara

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (19)
05/12/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Internet price advertised was 11,500 - when I got there they told me it was a mistake and they were working on fixing the problem.
I only went there today because of the price. I was not feeling well and had called in sick that day. If it wasn't for the price I would have NEVER left the house.

Desired Settlement
To honor the advertised price :)

Business Response
The Internet Department, in this instance, entered typographically incorrect information. It is regrettable but does sometimes happen as people make mistakes. In this singular matter, we will honor the advertised deal with this customer. Our General Manager, Jason ********, will be contacting the customer today to arrange an appointment.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID accept the response from the business.)
They already called me yesterday and offered to honor the internet price so I have a new car today:) Case closed.

Final Consumer Response

03/05/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Planet Hyundai failed to delivered what was promised. They assured me that I would be able to get a refund I was entitled to receive. They lied to me
On December 4th I went in to Planet Hyundai to trade in my car. The sales representative, *** ********** was very friendly and professional. I had a 2013 Hyundai Santa Fe that I purchased in Avondale, AZ. back in October 2012. A few months after I purchased the Santa Fe I received a notification from Hyundai advising that there was an issue with the fuel ratings of the vehicle and that I would qualify for a lifetime reimbursement program where I would get a reimbursement for the additional costs associated with the rating change. I was aware that I would only receive compensation as long as I owned the vehicle and the mileage needed to be verified by the Hyundai service department. When I was in the process of trading in the vehicle, I asked the finance advisor about the program and he assured me that I would be able to get reimbursement until that day because the odometer statement would show the miles the vehicle had at the time of being sold and that everything would be just fine. I told him that I did not want to lose the money I qualified for because it was about $250 and I needed that money. I trusted him and when I got back to the dealership the next morning I was advised by the service department that I would not receive anything because the car was no longer under my name. I talked to the service department manager and one of the sales managers, **** *********, and they told me they would talk to Hyundai and correct the issue. I was asked by **** to send him an email with the information and he would reach out to me. I first contacted **** on Dec 17th advising him of what happened. I have never received a call or email from **** until this day. I called him numerous times and he only answered the phone once. He told me Hyundai was not going to do anything and that is when I asked if Planet Hyundai would fix the error but he has never reached out to me at all.

Desired Settlement
I want them to take responsibility for the promises they made to me. I understand Hyundai corporation might not want to refund the funds directly but they did not promised me anything, Planet Hyundai did. I did not have to purchase the car right that minute, I would have gone back to purchase the car after the next day after getting settled the issue with the refund when the car was still under my name.

Business Response
Please extend our sincere apologies to the customer. We expected the Hyundai Corporation to fulfill their obligation and to have already satisfied this customer's $250 expectation. As it is our customer, and he has waited so long for the promised $250 from Hyundai corporate, we are going to send him the $250 directly from Planet Hyundai and hope he understands how much we value his business.

(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Thank you so much for helping me with this issue. I have received a check from Planet Hyundai today. Once again, thank you so much for all your help!

10/21/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Given a 2 month, 2000 mile warranty. Dealership would not fix mechanical issues found within this time frame
When I purchased the 2006 Ford Fusion on August 21, 2014, I was told that I had a 2 month 2000 mile warranty that covered any problems that I found within that time frame. After I got the vehicle I took it to ********* to get inspected because I wanted to make sure there were no issues. I informed them I have a warranty and will not get any work done there. They told me the tires are old and cracked, the transmission and engine mounts need to be fixed, the tie rod ends need to be fixed and it needs a brake flush. Also the power locks on the back door did not work. I took it back and the service department at Planet Hyundai who said all of these things were just recommended. They also told me that the warranty only covered the engine and transmission. The engine and transmission mounts needed to be replaced so I asked if they could at least do that. The people at ********* said these repairs were necessary. I spoke with ***** who was rude and acted like it was not her problem. I spoke with the service manager ****, who yelled and laughed at me. I was transferred to ******* who tried to sell me a newer car and told me he would not do anything else. He argued with me and was extremely rude. ******* said the warranty basically only covers the car if the engine blows up. He did offer to do the repairs at the dealership's cost but why would I give them more money? Who knows if they will do it right? They gave me a bad car and I didn't know, so how do I know if they will do the work? Finally my husband went to pick up the car and spoke with another manager who had the service department do the brake flush and fix the door power locks. The cost of the repairs that ********* quoted me (with a military discount) came to almost $2000.

Desired Settlement
Do all repairs listed in the above complaint (tires, tie rod ends, transmission and engine mounts)

Business Response
The 2,000 mile warranty the customer is referring to only covers the the power train. We feel ********* made recommendations for repairs but found those repairs to not be covered under the limited warranty that we offered on the sale of an 8 year old vehicle. We would like the customer to contact our dealerships service manager, **** ***** at XXX-XXX-XXXX, his direct line. His office is at the adjacent building at **** ** Sahara Ave. We would like **** to inspect the tires himself and we will determine at that point what we will do. Having ********* recommend new tires or merely wanting new tires do not necessarily create the need for tire replacement. That is an assessment we would prefer to make ourselves and are prepared to do so if you would have the customer schedule a meeting with ****.

(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I spoke with the manager, **** ***** who was very polite and listened to my complaint. He had the mechanic look at the issues I asked about and he said he would recommend that they replace the tires and the tie rod ends. I appreciate that he took the time to fix my car and the situation that was created by the used service department. He showed me the tie rod ends and showed me the engine mounts (which I had asked about) and informed me that these were in good condition. The only thing I dont like about this is that I am now wondering if the used service department even looked at it. If there legitimately are problems, then they just blew me off. I am glad that I spoke with **** **** though, and that he was so helpful and polite. The situation would probably not have escalated so much had the other department had half as good of an attitude.

06/26/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Vehicle has many issues within 3 months of purchase and no one will help!
I purchased a 2006 sonata on feb. 28 2014, after losing my other car to an accident. Within one month, I had to have the control arm replaced (as my new car was squeaking terribly and shaking), sun visor replaced, door actuators replaced (as my alarm and electronic locks stopped working and I was locked out on lunch break for over a hour) and am still having issues. At time of purchase I had a CD jammed in my stereo. They promised to fix this then and all 3 times I took my car in for service and it is still broken. They also promised to fix my screeching brakes those times, and today I still have an ABS light on. Mind you, this is after already taking the car back three times for service and many times to show them what was wrong in order to GET that service. I have barely owned this car for three months. The service manager is rude. It took several calls (which were not returned) and several trips of "just showing up" in order to get anything done. The car was never detailed and there were still spoons, crumbs and stains from previous owner. I feel terribly regretful for ever having purchased this vehicle. I put my faith in a nationally recognized dealership and feel like I got worse than a mom and pop shop vehicle and customer service. I want to deter others from trusting in their name and "multi-point safety inspection" because it is misleading. All I wanted was a safe and reliable vehicle and now have an unsafe unreliable vehicle and cannot even get a call back from the service advisor or store manager to have these issues addressed.

Desired Settlement
I would simply like my brakes and radio to be looked at and a simple detail wouldn't hurt. After all, I've been polite and passive for months and deserve what I'm paying for. I don't want any compensation, just a well working vehicle.

Business Response
Our service manager had never spoken to this customer and we can't determine who she previously spoke to. Upon reading her complaint I had my service manager call her and arrange an appointment. We are repairing the items she was unhappy about. It's our understanding she is now happy with our resolution.

Consumer Response
I am not happy as I dropped my car off last Monday to have brakes and radio repaired and have been driving around with no turn signals or hazard lights for over a week. i was told my car would be completed by Friday 6/20 or today Monday 6/23 at the latest and now find the radio was water damaged and have no ETA. I had already made arrangements with my boss for today now my work will have to be disrupted again once it is finished. The vehicle is not safe as there are no turn indicators or hazard lights and there is no loaner car for me to use and I have politely and patiently been driving this unsafe car for a week. If this is how you handle a complaint, its horrible.

Final Business Response
Her radio had to be removed and shipped out for repair. It will take about 3 weeks. When my service manager learned her radio removal resulted in the turn signals becoming inoperative he contacted her, apologized for the confusion and error, located a loaner car for her to use and placed her in the loaner car while we await the return of her radio.

(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
****, the Service Advisor was incredibly helpful. I realized that a lot of the issues were communication based and that my initial complaint didn't specify that I was having issues with the Used Car Service Center. I received my car back today with new brakes, working radio and signals. **** was courteous and actually cared during this process. He didn't just try to "get me out of the door" and I appreciate it very much. I am now happy and driving a safe reliable vehicle. Thank you for everything!

11/30/2015Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2
11/10/2015Billing / Collection Issues
05/25/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The dealer failed to return the $365 first month's payment on a lease contract that was not consummated.


The dealer failed to return the first month's lease payment of $365 despite the lease contract not being accepted/consummated by their bank. The GM, Paul *********, personally told me that the payment would be refunded, but it has not.

Desired Settlement
$365 for first month's payment on a contract that was never consummated.

Business Response
As is customary, our staff had to wait for the customers check to clear the banks before we could process a reimbursement. The company check has been now issued and sent to the customer. The precise resolution this customer requested has been accomplished.

12/15/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They have been advertising on the Radio and TV Hyundai Sonatas for $ 12,892.00 @ $ 59 per month lease for 36 months.
I spent two hours at the dealership to be told that it would be $ 122 per month, I responded you have advertisement @ $ 59 per month and i read the fine print, they told me I had to be either active duty or retired military etc. I showed them they add from their web page and then they showed me another add with the fine print I told them this was a bait and switch they told me do you want the car @ $ 122 I said no I want it for the $ 59 per month as you have on your web page tv commercials and radio commercials and they walked away.

Desired Settlement
I want them fined and to honor all the people that went because of this false advertisement that either paid the upcharge or walked away to honor what they advertised.

Business Response
All dealerships promote pricing and financing specials. All these promotions carry with them certain qualifying conditions. This customer did not meet the qualifying requirements for the specials he sought. He is unhappy about it but there is nothing to be done if he fails to meet certain qualifying necessities of the dealer, manufacturer and lender.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have a copy of their advertisement and at no time does it say you have to be a military personnel or retired veteran the TV commercial and their radio ad did not say anything about being a retired military or active duty military

Final Business Response
The ad that the consumer responded with states in the disclaimers that the monthly pricing was based in part on a $2,900 HMA Rebate. HMA is Hyundai Motor America. The Military discount that this customer has referred to in his complaint as being omitted from the ad he produced is contained within that $2,900 HMA Rebate. He was told the details at the dealership. He didn't meet the requirements of the rebate. He didn't like the facts of the matter but his lacking the necessary requirements to obtain the rebate is simply not our fault. His complaint is entirely without merit.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Radio & TV ads also saiod the same thing as the newspapaer. You may obtain those from the TV stations and radio satations.
This was a simple bait N switch to get you in the dealership they should have disclosed all of this in the print ads , radio ads, and tv ads. they know they are wrong!!!!

11/19/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
charged for an upgrades, and work on a new car that was part of an addendum. car did not receive this work or upgrade. I was refused a copy of addendu
I was charged for upgrades and work for a new car that was in an addendum. This work and upgrades were not done. I was refused a copy of the addendum. I was not told this addendum existed as part of the car. Also, an extended warranty was added to the price of the car without authorization.

Desired Settlement
I did not receive the car that I paid for. And I do not wish to buy from this establishment. I want money back for return of merchandise.

Business Response
We've examined the paperwork on this deal. There is no extended warranty in the transaction and we don't know what equipment the customer is referring to in his complaint. We need him to provide more specific detail as to what he is unhappy about. What added equipment is he describing? With that detail we wish to make every reasonable effort to satisfy the customer.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have since been able to receive a copy of the addendum with charges. Tint, Interior protection, exterior protection, nitro-fill at a pricetag of $1,589.95. This was not disclosed to me. And it is clear that at least one item was not done. The only noticeable difference is that my vehicle does not have tint. The rest is clear coat, and so I require work orders. I was finally contacted by the general manager, but no paperwork has been given for over a week now.

As for the warranty, when I went to sign the paperwork, I was told that the normal 3year, and 5year warranties have been upgraded to 10 year, 10,000 miles included in the price quoted. After further investigation, i found that the price was included in my monthly payment quote, but not the price. The price was increased by over $2,000. I refused at that point, and my monthly then dropped by almost $50 a month. This is without a doubt deceptive practice.

Final Business Response
We have repeatedly requested this customer return the vehicle to the dealership to enable us to inspect and assess the voracity of his assertions. To date, he has not done so and as a result and until he complies, we can do no more to advance a resolution.

10/13/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Service personnel lied. Management disrespectful. Caused $2,652.80 in damages to our brake system which had to be repaired at another dealership.
We brought our 2008 Hyundai Elantra into Planet Hyundai on April 21st and they diagnosed a faulty master cylinder. On April 23rd we paid $810.14 (Invoice # HYCSXXXXXX) for the repair and drove off the lot. We were surprised, however, to discover that our brakes were still very soft and still required pumping. We immediately returned and a mechanic took our car back into the shop. The mechanic eventually explained that they bleed the brakes again. The brakes seemed much better when we left; however, a few miles down the road they started getting soft again, and they were just as bad as before by the time we got home.

The next day I returned to Planet Hyundai and almost immediately Planet Hyundai's Service Director, **** ***** came out to talk with me. He told me, in a most condescending way, that the brakes on our car were just fine, and that ALL of the Hyundai Elantras had soft brakes.
I asked Mr. **** if there was, indeed, nothing wrong with the brakes, why did he charge us over eight hundred dollars for a new master cylinder? He finally 'fessed up and said that he did not know. At that point I thanked him for insulting my intelligence and wasting my time, and I demanded a full refund.

I then spoke with the General Manager, **** ********* Sr. He agreed that we had been treated poorly and acted confused about the diagnosis and repair. He asked to keep my car a little while longer. His supposition was that the brake lines just needed to be bled properly once or twice more. He promised they could quickly fix whatever the problem was and he offered to provide me with a loaner vehicle. I reluctantly agreed to his proposal.

I called daily over the course of the next several days, in order to get updates on our car. I received one excuse after another. I eventually started leaving messages for Mr. *********, but he never returned any of my calls. Finally, on April 30th, I returned for our car. Mr. ********* was nowhere to be found, and the brakes were still soft and still required pumping.

I drove the car directly from Planet Hyundai to Henderson Hyundai. They said the brake electronic control unit (ECU) needed to be replaced and said it would cost about $2,500.00. We tried over the course of the next couple of months to find a more affordable repair option, but were unsuccessful. We eventually took our vehicle back to Henderson Hyundai . We dropped it off on July 7th and they completed the repair for $2,652.80 (Invoice # HYCSXXXXXX).

According to Planet Hyundai's computer diagnosis, the ECU was fine when we brought it to them. After they bled the brakes again it worked fine for a while, so clearly the ECU was working fine at that point. After the brakes went soft again, and I brought it back to them, and they had our car for almost another week. During that time they claim they could not figure out what the problem was. Yet, when I picked it up from them at the end of that time and drove it straight to Henderson Hyundai, it was immediately, and correctly, diagnosed with a damaged ECU. How is it that Planet Hyundai, using the same Hyundai computer diagnosis equipment as Henderson Hyundai, was unable to make the same diagnosis? Clearly the ECU was damaged, either intentionally, or unintentionally, while it was in the possession of Planet Hyundai, and that is why they pretended for almost a week to not know what was wrong with it. They stalled and delayed and ignored me until I finally gave up and returned for our car. They did not expect me to drive it straight to another dealership and have their incompetence revealed. Fortunately for us, I did.

So, to summarize, the maintenance department damaged our ECU and it cost us $2,652.80 to repair it, the service director, **** ***** was condescending and lied to me, and, the General Manager, **** ********* Sr., failed to return any of my phone calls or follow up with me in any way.

Desired Settlement
Reimbursement for damages in the amount of $2,652.80, for the repair of the ECU in our 2008 Hyundai Elantra, which clearly occurred while in the possession of Planet Hyundai.

Business Response
The following response has been prepared by our Service Director,**** ***** Based on the facts in this matter as recalled by Mr. ***** the customer's assertion that we caused damage to his system is false. We've already refunded what he spent with us and he demostrates no gratitude for us doing more than he deserved. If some piece of equipment failed after he left our business, we have no responsibility for that failure. For the reasons identified below, there is nothing more we can do for this customer.

Mr. *****'s 2008 Elantra was brought in for service on 4/21/2014 for a brake concern. Mr. ***** stated to my service advisor ****** ******* that the brake pedal intermittently would go to the floor when stopping the car. Service advisor Guevara generated a repair order (HYCSXXXXXX) for this concern and it was dispatched to a Hyundai master Technician for diagnosis. The technician found that the brake master cylinder was faulty, fluid was leaking past the seals on the primary piston assembly inside the master cylinder causing the pedal to go to the floor. Mr. ***** authorized $810.14 for a new brake master cylinder and brake fluid flush to remove any contaminates that may be in the system. The work was completed and Mr. ***** was notified the car was ready, He picked up the car and left. Mr. ***** returned a few hours later and said the pedal felt soft. My shop foreman went for a ride and did not see anything wrong with the brake pedal. Mr. ***** became outraged and belligerent and demanded to see the service director. I (**** ***** Service Director) came out and met with Mr. ***** I checked the Brake pedal myself and did not see anything wrong with the operation of the brakes. I am a master certified technician and have 30 years of experience repairing cars. I did explain to Mr. ***** that the elantra braking system feels a little softer than most cars braking systems but this did not indicate a problem in the brake system. Mr. ***** than demanded to talk with the general manager, I introduced Mr. ***** to **** ********* the General manager. Both Mr. ***** and **** ********* reached a decision that Planet Hyundai would keep the car for a few days Bleed the Brakes again and drive the car to make sure everything was ok, Mr. ***** was given a loaner car at planet Hyundai's expense while we looked at his car. During the time we had Mr. ****** Elantra we bleed the brakes performed a pressure test on the brake system and drove the car 50 miles. The brake system performed without fault during this time. Mr. ***** returned to pick up his car and was using foul language and was very aggressive with planet Hyundai's employees. It was decided that the best thing to do for all involved was to refund Mr. ****** money. On 4/24/14 repair order HYCSXXXXXX the service director (**** ***** refunded Mr. ***** $810.14. As for Mr. *****'s claim that we damaged what he calls the brake electronic control unit, that's just not possible. The braking system in a car is a mechanical hydraulic system. The only electronics in the brake system is the HECU which is used for antilock braking and does not operate during normal braking operations. This unit cannot be damaged by working on the brake system. It is a self-contained unit and has an ABS warning light on the dash that illuminates if there is a failure. This warning light was not on at any time while the car was in our possession; also the reason for this warning light is to warn the driver that the ABS system has failed. Again an ABS module failure does not affect normal braking operation.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
In my original complaint, I provided a cogent argument, and all of the events I outlined and all of the details I provided can be verified, either through numerous documents, eye-witness testimony, and/or security camera footage. Planet Hyundai's response to my complaint consists of nothing more than, "the customer's assertion that we caused damage to his system is false." **** ******* subsequent retelling of the events is riddled with inaccuracies and misdirection, and serves only to further discredit himself and Planet Hyundai.

The following quotes from Mr. ******* response highlight the most arbitrary and egregious falsehoods and inconsistencies, and what can only be described as flat out lies.

1. "Mr. ***** returned a few hours later" - In fact, we paid for our car at approximately 6:30 p.m., left a few minutes after that, and returned within about 10 minutes, before the service department closed at 7:00 p.m. If we had returned a few hours later, as Mr. **** claims, that would have us returning at around 9:30 p.m., long after the entire business had closed.

2. "My shop foreman went for a ride and did not see anything wrong with the brake pedal. Mr. ***** became outraged and belligerent and demanded to see the service director. I (**** ***** Service Director) came out and met with Mr. ***** I checked the Brake pedal myself and did not see anything wrong with the operation of the brakes." - The foreman (or whoever he was - he did not identify himself as a foreman, and he acted more like an apprentice at best) did *not* take it for a ride. He sat in the car and drove it a few feet in the service department driveway and agreed the brakes were still soft. He took it straight back into the shop and eventually started to bleed the brakes. I never became outraged or belligerent. Perhaps Mr. **** has me confused with one of his many other dissatisfied customers. We never demanded to see the service director. We did demand to see the General Manager - but he was not there. We talked with the Assistant General Manager and he assured us they would correct the problem shortly and get us on our way.

3. "I did explain to Mr. ***** that the elantra braking system feels a little softer than most cars braking systems but this did not indicate a problem in the brake system. Mr. ***** than demanded to talk with the general manager, I introduced Mr. ***** to **** ********* the General manager. Both Mr. ***** and **** ********* reached a decision that Planet Hyundai would keep the car for a few days Bleed the Brakes again and drive the car to make sure everything was ok, Mr. ***** was given a loaner car at planet Hyundai's expense while we looked at his car." - Here Mr. **** implies that his lie about the Elantra braking system occurred on 04/23/14, the night we originally picked up the car. It actually occurred on 04/24/14, the next day when I returned by myself after work. He did not introduce me to Mr. ********* Sr. on 04/23/14, or any other day. I sought the General Manager out myself when I returned on 04/24/14.

4. "During the time we had Mr. ****** Elantra we bleed the brakes performed a pressure test on the brake system and drove the car 50 miles. The brake system performed without fault during this time. Mr. ***** returned to pick up his car and was using foul language and was very aggressive with planet Hyundai's employees. It was decided that the best thing to do for all involved was to refund Mr. ****** money. On 4/24/14 repair order HYCSXXXXXX the service director (**** ***** refunded Mr. ***** $810.14." - When I left our car with them on 04/24/14, the mileage, according to their own records, was 52,795. When I picked it up on 4/30/14, I drove it straight to Henderson Hyundai. Their records show the mileage at that time was 52,824, a difference of only 29 miles. When you subtract out the 23 mile route I took from Planet Hyundai to Henderson Hyundai, that only leaves 6 miles. According to Mr. ***** there was absolutely nothing wrong with the brakes. So, why did they need to road test perfectly functioning brakes for *50* miles? That inconsistency notwithstanding, there is absolutely no way they could have performed 50 miles of road testing and only put 6 miles on my odometer. I was neither aggressive nor did I use foul language with any employee when I picked up our vehicle on 4/30/14. In fact, during all of my conversations with Mr. ***** Mr. ********* Sr., and Mr. ******* on 04/30/14, I was seated in a chair - hardly an aggressive posture. Once again, maybe Mr. **** has me confused with one of his many other dissatisfied customers. They did not decide to refund our money for the master cylinder repair at this time (04/30/14), it was refunded almost a week prior on 04/24/14. Please refer to my original complaint - the timeline there is extremely accurate. Mr. Luse completely ignores the fact that they had our car for almost a week, and during that week I called on almost a daily basis for updates. Every time I called I was told by Mr. ******* that they could not figure out what the problem was and that they were still working on it. If the brakes were perfectly fine, as Mr. Luse contends, then why did they hold on to our car for nearly a week? Mr. ********* Sr. never returned any of my calls during this time.

5. "As for Mr. *****'s claim that we damaged what he calls the brake electronic control unit, that's just not possible. The braking system in a car is a mechanical hydraulic system. The only electronics in the brake system is the HECU which is used for antilock braking and does not operate during normal braking operations. This unit cannot be damaged by working on the brake system. It is a self-contained unit and has an ABS warning light on the dash that illuminates if there is a failure. This warning light was not on at any time while the car was in our possession; also the reason for this warning light is to warn the driver that the ABS system has failed." - Being a master certified technician with 30 years of experience repairing cars, Mr. **** should know that a malfunctioning ECU, which is part of the ABS, can cause soft brakes. And why is it so impossible, given what we now know about this company's employees' recent history of ineptitude and deception, that our vehicle could have been damaged while it was in their possession? No, the ABS does not operate during normal braking operations, but that is irrelevant, because if it is damaged, it can cause a soft pedal, and Mr. **** knows that (or he should know that). No, the ABS cannot be damaged by honest, competent repairmen, but it certainly can be damaged by incompetent and/or disgruntled repairmen with an ax to grind. Yes, while the ABS warning light does normally illuminate when there is a problem with the ABS unit, it does not always. In fact, the ABS light was not on when Henderson Hyundai diagnosed the faulty ECU on 04/30/14. As a side note, I am sure a skilled mechanic with many years of experience repairing cars would have the knowledge and skill to bypass a simple warning light, if he were so inclined.

Once again, all of the events I have outlined and all of the details I have provided can easily be corroborated through multiple sources. Using the same sources, almost all of Mr. ******* statements can be proven to be misleading, contradictory, or, in some cases, completely fabricated.

In Mr. ******* response, he has misinformed you about dates, time frames, distances, my actions, my words, his actions, his words, and other employees' actions. He appears to have tried to mislead you about the general operation of the ABS and ECU systems. Most abhorrently, he has flat out lied to you, telling you that on 04/30/14 I used foul language and acted very aggressive with multiple employees. This baseless assassination of my character should offend you just as much as it has offended me.

So, it is up to you to decide what is more likely. Is it more likely that this highly suspect service department, lead by what is quite possibly a compulsive liar, damaged our ECU while they were replacing our master cylinder, when they hastily tried to bleed the brakes the night we picked it up, or possibly over the course of the week during which they were doing who knows what to our car after having been caught in a lie and embarrassed and/or angry over having to give us a refund? Or, is it more likely that our car really was fine the whole time? That both my wife and I, after driving this car for six years, suddenly could not tell the difference between firm and soft brakes? And, then *coincidentally*, *somehow*, during that 23 mile trip from Planet Hyundai, to Henderson Hyundai, the ECU just happened to go out?

When you consider all the facts, it is plain to see that our ECU was somehow damaged while in the possession of Planet Hyundai, either intentionally or unintentionally, and they have been trying to cover it up ever since.

Final Business Response
Sometimes in the car business, customers encounter mechanical malfunctions and rather than accepting the fact that fate delivered them some bad news, they seek a culprit where there is none and want that fabricated scenario to provide a solution rather than accepting the bad luck that befell them. Some personal resposibility would dictate them just paying for their equipments mechanical repair. In this instant case, we have just that scenario. Planet Hyundai did not cause his problem. The timing for an expensive repair is never good but this customers repair is his sole duty to absorb. We accept that sometimes, no matter what the facts are or what we offer to the consumer, some customers can simply not be satisfied. We regret that we've concluded that is the case here.

09/01/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Tires were not balanced correctly after Planet Hyundai replaced the tires and the smog was expired
I purchased a 2011 Nissan Maxima from Planet Hyundai and part of the deal Planet Hyundai would replace the tires. After the tires were replaced my 2011 Nissan Maxima had a bad shake when driving on the freeway. I called the used car sales person ******* and was told she no longer worked in the sales department and was transferred to the used car manager I let the used car manager know of the problem with the shake and that the smog was expired and was told he would look into this and call me back. The used car manager called me back the next day and told me that there service department had balanced my tires twice and everything is good and there is nothing they can do. I took my 2011 Nissan Maxima to ******** **** to have the tires balanced and my car drives normal with no shaking on the freeway after ******** **** balanced my tires correct. ******** **** said that the dealer balanced the tires incorrectly and called the job Planet Hyundai was counter balanced on the tires. I had to pay $40 to have ******** **** balance my tires and $20 to get my car smoged

Desired Settlement
I'm looking for a refund of $40 for having my tires balanced correct form ******** ***** And $20 I had to pay to get a smog check that was expired. Total of $60 the money I had to pay because Planet Hyundai could not fix the problem that was promised along with selling a car with an expired smog check

Business Response
I regret our service people appear to have let this customer down. I have issued a $60 check today to fully meet this customers resolution request. It is being mailed directly to him.

Page 1 of 2
12/16/2015Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/29/2010Business started: 05/12/1999Business started locally: 03/01/2010New Owner Date: 02/04/2010
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

BBB records show this business has a registered license with .Their web address is http://www.nevadadmv.state.nv.us.

Type: Dept of Motor Vehicles

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Alternate Business Names
TC Dealership, L.P.
LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 7150 W Sahara Ave 

    Las Vegas, NV 89117-2835(702) 938-1400
    (702) 483-2487
    Fax: (702) 940-3374

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Nevada. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Planet Hyundai Sahara is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (702) 483-2487
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

According to information in BBB files, this company is no longer in business. If you have an unresolved dispute with this company you may wish to seek legal advice.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.