BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Southern Nevada

BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Mini of Las Vegas

(702) 947-4401View Additional Phone Numbers5750 W Sahara Ave, Las VegasNV 89146-3121 Send email to Mini of Las Vegashttp://www.desertautogroup.comView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Mini of Las Vegas is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Mini of Las Vegas' rating include:

  • 9 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised Mini of Las Vegas' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service6
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Mini of Las Vegas
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (9)BBB Closure Definitions
09/05/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor promised refunds, exchanges, or credit

Complaint: Business will not refund sizeable portion of purchase price paid for a car that was returned.
I purchased a used vehicle on 07/20/2013, deal ****** for a VW GTI, VIN #WVWHV71K27WXXXXXX. Total purchase price was $16,100, payment of $8,100 was made my myself in the form of a check, $8,000 was financed by a third party lender, Bank of America. The vehicle was picked up on 7/23/2013. The vehicle had mechanical problems on the drive home and was returned to the dealership within an hour. The dealership returned $8,100 of purchase amount paid by myself, but has not made payment back to bank for the financed portion of the transaction. I have spoken with the dealership on several occasions attempting to receive a full refund for the payment. The initial time I was told i would receive a full refund was on 07/23, I followed up on 7/26 and on several occasions since. I was recently in the dealership on 8/2 and spoke with the ***** ******** sales manager whom stated the dealership would send full payment to the bank. Payment was still not paid and on 8/9 I called and spoke with ***, a member of the finance department whom was going to look into the problem and submit payment, as of 8/12 no refund has been issued.

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ******* Sales Manag
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: ********@autonation.com
***** is correct that there were some difficulties in handling the unwind process. Band of America couldn't be refunded through normal electronic funds transfer processes and needed a check cut and sent to them. I've received confirmation from our business office that the funded loan has been reversed and a check sent to Bank of America as of 8-12-2013. Due to this being a funding reversal there is no interest accrued nor paid to ***** or Bank of America.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

04/04/2014Problems with Product / Service
07/08/2013Problems with Product / Service
05/07/2012Problems with Product / Service
04/27/2012Billing / Collection Issues
12/19/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation misrepresented the product

Complaint: Bought from Mini of Las Vegas on 09/21/20013. I had a lose break while driving on the highway. The car has problem on engine for 60 days can't be fix.
I am business owner who's working very hard to grow his business. I own a company for limousine service. In 09/01/2013 involved in a car accident. cost total damage to my car. In 09/02/2013 start searching for buying other car.
Mini of Las Vegas was advertising SUV Cadillac Escalade 2007 has a good Carfax history. The car has extended warranty. Everything was look like it is the best car in the market fit for my business.
I went to Mini of Las Vegas on Saturday 09/21/2013 for first time. I signed the contract but didn't read it because forget my eye classes. I just trusted AutoNation dealership for buying a car. I never thought they are going to sale me a car need a break have a major problem in the engine and the safety.
I was driving on highway I15 S when I lost the break. It was the same day of the deal 2 hours after I left Mini of Las Vegas. In my way back to the dealer the check engine light turn on yellow telling that the engine has a problem. When I reach Mini of Las Vegas explained what happened and I asked them to take the car back. They refuse to take the car back and they said it is no problem in the car. They said the car just need a gas cap. They ask me to come back on Monday 09/23/2013 for the service and they will check the car and will get the car a break. I stayed in Las Vegas for extra 2 days.
On Monday morning I left the car for Mini of Las Vegas service for checking the car and adding the break. They call me end of the day to go pick up the car because it is ready. They reported that they add new break to the car and they cleared the code for the engine. The engineer who's responsible about the car in service granted to me the car has no problem and I can drive the car safely to Burlingame with no problem.
I took the car and start driving back to Burlingame. At Tuesday 09/24/2013 2:30 am, the car engine stops working for first time. The car engine still has the same problem until now 11/19/2013. The car stuck on highway I5N blocking the lane for 1.5 hour on same the night I took the car from the dealer.
Since the I took the car from Mini of Las Vegas until now I try to resolve this problem with Mini of Las Vegas but it is not resolved. I take the car to different auto shops as Mini of Las Vegas suggest. The car now in Mini of Steven's Creek for 35 days still has the same problem. The car sited in repair for 40 day.
Since 09/01/2013 my business effected very bad and I keep losing clients and income every day because of AutoNation dealer.
Facts happened based on the deal # 6968; All approved by documents and witnesses

# Mini of Las Vegas

1) sold a car need a break to be safe driving. It was no care about my life and the public safety.

2) sold a car has a major technical problem can't be fixed for 52 days.

3) refuse to take the car back within 3.5 hours in the day of the sale.

4) advertised false information about the car.

5) printing the wrong date for the deal and printing wrong address for my address.


# for an 1.5 hours the car was blocking the lane of I5N highway at night. I spend this time outside of the car. I was expecting an accident any moment.


# 2 witnesses can approved that the car engine was not working on 09/24/2013 and 09/25/2013. One of the 2 witnesses was a police officer who check the car by himself.

* the car stayed for 32 days in different auto repair shops but not fixed yet. 52 day since had the car and the car has the same problem. It is useless.

* every day will spend with this car will cost more damages to my business and my income. You will be responsible for this damages.


I am expecting from Mini of Las Vegas as dealer of AutoNation who's should care about their product take the car back and pay for all the damages happened based on this deal


Thank you

******* A ******
XXX XXX XXXX

Initial Business Response
We are offering to buy back the vehicle and reimburse any down payment associated with the deal.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
Hi, happy holidays for every one.
Mini of Las Vegas phone # XXX XXXX XXX.
I want to pay my loan by my self. It's first loan for me and it suppose to bullied my credit not damages it
The damages now more than the car amount. I am in pain and suffering since 09/21/2013. My excellent credit history got damaged because I can't pay my bills. No income for 3 months. My respond to the Mini of Las Vegas offer is
*sling the car to Mini of Las Vegas for $105000 this amount including every thing so I can pay my lat billies fix my credited before it is too late and buy anther car.
* or I can accept $25000 cash plus replace car with any of the cars linked below http://www.bmwusa.com/standard/content/byo/byohome.aspx?tabId=5&configurationId=XXXXXXX&naModelCode=147L
or black&black http://www.cadillac.com/escalade-suv.html
http://www.gmc.com/yukon-xl-denali-luxury-suv.html.
I went throw enough pain stress and health problem
please help to resolve this problem as soon as possible so I can have happy holidays like everyone.
thank you
******* ******

Final Business Response
I spoke with ******** today on the phone and offered to pay off his current loan and take the car back and give him $5,000. He refused and that is where it has ended.

******* *****
General Manager
MINI of Las Vegas

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Mini of Las Vegas called after they respond on 12/17/2013. We had long conversation made the picture more clear. We got to the point we collected our thought together. Mr. ****** said he is going to call me today 12/18/2013 for better offer but I didn't receive any call yet. I explained to him the fact that my business licences suspended because I can't provide commercial insurance for CPUC. SFO airport will cancel my permit if I didn't fix the problem with CPUC immediately. I informed him about the opportunities and business I am keeping losing every day. Left provide me very good deal for join them but I can't get it because don't have a car. He know that because I am not working I am not able to pay my bills. This created interest and late fees on all my credits. My credit history effected bad because I can't pay for the car loan and can't pay my bills. My credit score for this period will be down for sure.he know that this problem cost me to much pain and the suffering going through. Cost me health problem sent me to ER 3 times. Last time was last night after the conversation with him on the phone. I told him that I can accept new car plus $25000 or he can fix the car at certified Cadillac dealership and pay me $50000 so I can fix the fiance problems happened based on the deal ****** Also I can accept $65000 and I will take care of the car %100. It's been clear now for every one that this problem keep growing bigger every day costing more damages. This problem need to resolve immediately please.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company made a reasonable offer to resolve the issues, but the consumer did not accept the offer.

09/12/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor a repair estimate or agreement

Complaint: Purchased a vehicle, with minor issues, my sales person said he would take care of it. Went back and used car manager said I would have to pay for it.
I purchased a 2007 Lexus GS350 on 8/26/2013 at 245pm at Mini of Las Vegas. Test drove the vehicle and mentioned to my salesman that the vehicle was pulling to the right, and the car had a little vibration, and that it needed a balancing and an alignment. After the test drive we looked at the outside of the vehicle, and I pointed out that there was a rock chip on the windshield at eye view on the passenger side. He said that all these issues would be taken care of once I scheduled the service. He mentioned putting a full tank of gas, and detailing the vehicle once we have completed the signing. After a few hours of dealing and lowering prices, I brought up to my finance manager the little issues that were not finalized in an " I. O. U", I mentioned everything I spoke about to my sales person, and he referred me to speak with my sales person again and he can take care of anything that we need to fix. we finally purchased the vehicle thinking that everything was going to be fine. I was very excited to finally purchase a car that I have worked so hard for and been dreaming about for years. Before we left it had started raining, and there were no floor mats in the car and the carpet had gotten a little dirty from the Las Vegas pavement. My sales person said he had forgotten the gas, and that since it was raining, we could bring the car back next time to finish everything off when its not raining. By this time the issue with the trunk release was resolved and we finally went home.

Today we go by the dealership to finalize some paper work on the financing side. I had made an appointment for the vehicle to go to the shop on Tuesday at 7am on the 3rd of September for all the little issues of the car. Once the resigning was through, I spoke again with my finance manager and he once again referred me to my sales person, which I went to and again mentioned all the things wrong, he then told me to go to the assistant used car manager and he would be able to take care of the problem.

Once I finally got to speak with the assistant, I told him about the issues and we walked to the vehicle so that he can "inspect" what I was talking about. After looking at a few scratched and over spray on paint I mentioned the alignment and the balancing, and he told me that "it will come out of your pocket because I inspected this vehicle". I was surprised to hear that he and or the people involved in this sale would not honor any of the things discussed several times to several people about these issues of this vehicle. Finally I said, if I would have only known this, then I would have not purchased the vehicle so quickly. He saw that I was getting a little upset, and told me that they will inspect it on Tuesday the 3rd of September

I wanted to let you folks know now, so that I can follow up with the issues on this vehicle in the next few days. I hope that the staff that are involved in this sale will stand by their word and resolve all this before it gets too late.

Thank you,
R. ******

Initial Business Response
as the pre owned manager at mini of las vegas customer service is very important to us on 8/30/13 the issues with the 2007 lexus were brought to me by mr. ****** and i asked him if he had a appointment with the service dept he said he did on 9/3/13 i told him we would have the items checked out and if it had other problems he would be resposible for the payment on them on 9/3/13 he came into service and the problems were fixed at no cost to mr. ******

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
As a customer for Mini Las Vegas, I would expect to be giving the best customer service in any department I go to, whether sales, service, or even in the parts and accessories department. Although in this scenario, it was not given properly. I would expect this same customer service from a dealership that seemed a little peculiar. But from a dealership that is as big as its sister locations, this is not what is to be expected from anyone, even in upper management. The issues were not resolved at all. The over spray on paint is still in the same place where it was left, the rock chip is still there, the carpet, and seats are still filthy, the alignment is still off, and the light bulbs were never changed. I have three witnesses that clearly saw the "repairs" including the service advisor. The form of repairs state that everything on my list was completed. But it never was. I cannot understand how the Pre owned Sales Manager can tell us that everything was properly completed when even my two witnesses, and the service advisor, saw with our own eyes that these issues were not resolved. This to me shows that there is no follow up to repairs, as well as no consideration to anything that I have mentioned this entire time. Yesterday afternoon I called the dealership to express my concerns to the General Manager. I have not a received any phone call back. Today I did get a response from my service advisor regarding the original issues to the vehicle. He told me that he had the approval to repair the vehicle promptly, and the correct way. I will have to see what will happen on this visit. For the 2nd time this week, I hope that finally the issues will be resolved properly. I will inform you folks about my visit. If by any means nothing gets resolved, I will have no other choice than to contact AutoNation's Corporate office for further actions.

Final Business Response
at this time we are working on his car to make mr. ****** happy we have also given him a loaner car to drive while his car is in service

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company provided proper verification that indicated there was no obligation to resolve the issues of the complaint.

01/28/2013Advertising / Sales Issues
07/12/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/11/2010Business started: 07/31/1984Business started locally: 01/26/2009
Licensing

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: July 1984, NV

Contact Information
Principal: Brandon Busse (General Manager)Mr. William Berman (President) Bob Phillips (Sales Manager) Lynaya Wagner (Controller)Ms. Brenda Weiss (Executive Assistant)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Alternate Business Names
Desert Value Vehicles Outlet
Industry Tips
Buying a New Car
Dont Fall Victim to Enticing Auctions Ads for Cars!
Purchasing a Car Online
Spot Delivery Complaints are on the Rise
VIN Cloning Swindles Luxury Car Buyers

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Mini of Las Vegas

5750 W Sahara Ave

Las Vegas, NV 89146-3121

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 5750 W Sahara Ave 

    Las Vegas, NV 89146-3121(702) 947-4401
    (702) 472-9414

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Nevada. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Mini of Las Vegas is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (702) 472-9414
X

Additional Web Addresses

  • www.autonation.com
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.