BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/30/2013

Findlay Chevrolet

Phone: (702) 982-4000Fax: (702) 982-44106800 S Torrey Pines Dr, Las VegasNV 89118-3267 Send email to Findlay Chevrolet

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/30/2013

BBB has determined that Findlay Chevrolet meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Findlay Chevrolet's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Problems with Product / Service2
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Findlay Chevrolet

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
02/16/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Had sales tax collected from this dealer. Ended up having to pay sales tax again anyway. Out of pocket extra cost over $500.00
On November 25, 2014, I purchased a used vehicle from Findlay Chevrolet located on 6800 South Torrey Pines Drive.
I discussed in detail with the sales and finance managers that I was relocating to Arkansas. I was told, in no uncertain terms that I was paying my sales tax to Findley as required by the state of Nevada, and that I would NOT have to pay any other sales tax in Arkansas.
They wrote down my new address in Arkansas on my documents, and said they would mail the required paperwork from the sale to the state of Arkansas DMV.
The dealership did mail the required paperwork to Arkansas DMV.
Arkansas received this paperwork. When I went to register my vehicle in Arkansas, they charged me $517.15 sales tax.
I immediately called Findlay. I was connected to a woman in the title office. She stated that she would mail the money for this tax to Arkansas.
I waited a week, nothing was received by Arkansas. I called back Findlay and spoke to the same woman in the title office.
She stated that she had tried to call me back to tell me that she could not mail the money because NV state law said she had to pay them to Nevada. I never received such a call or message.
I explained to her I went over this at purchase and was told that I would NOT have to pay sales tax twice.
She said they were mistaken and I DO have to.
This is a $517.15 "mistake". This is not acceptable. I should not have been promised either that the taxes were "taken care of" or that the check would be mailed to Arkansas when it would not be.
This is and was very deceptive and costly.
At the very least I should be paid back the $517.15 that I was promised I would not have to pay to Arkansas.

Desired Settlement
517.15

Business Response
We apologize that the customer had to pay additional tax to the state of Arkansas however as mandated by the state of Nevada, we can only collect tax in the amount of 8.10% which is the tax for Clark County, NV. If the customer's tax rate is higher than 8.10%, they will have to pay the difference with their state. I will research this file a bit further and have a definitive answer as to what happened within the next 5 days.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Hello,
This response says to wait 5 days for them to research further, but it has been 5 days and this says to respond to it now. This response also had a letter that could not be delivered attached. This shows an incorrect address (I have no idea what this is?) Should I have gotten something else? Findlay did mail documents to us and to Arkansas DMV (revenue) office which were received. There was no mention of what this attachment was for so please let me know if we are missing something else.

This response says we had to pay "additional" sales tax. We did not have to pay "additional tax". We had to pay Arkansas state tax. When we purchased this vehicle in Nevada, at Findlay Chevrolet, we were told that we were paying the 8.1% tax required in NV, and that we would only have to pay any difference in Arkansas, just as this response says. That was not true when we purchased the vehicle, just as it is not true now.
I did my own research into this matter.
When we purchased the vehicle, Findlay said they would mail the required documents to the DMV - (revenue office) in Monticello Arkansas so we would not be "double charged" for sales tax. They also gave us a 30 days temporary registration sticker so we would not have to "register" the vehicle twice.
Arkansas state informed us that because we purchased the vehicle in NV and took it to Arkansas immediately, Arkansas was due the tax. Had we registered the vehicle in NV first before moving, we would not have had to pay two sets of sales tax.
Again, this was a very pricey lesson learned. As I do not purchase vehicles often, I would have researched this myself in the beginning, if Findlay had not told me that the only taxes due to Arkansas state would be anything above the 8.1% sales tax already paid. If they do not know these rules they should not advise on them. As they are the car dealer, and deal with these things daily, I took their word as good.
If they do not want to right this wrong done to my family, that is one thing. They should really educate themselves going forward,


Final Business Response
As previously mentioned, all documentation for this file was Nevada at the time of purchase therefore we are obligated to collect Nevada tax regardless of where the customer intends to register the vehicle. If the registration state is reciprocal to Nevada, then we can send them the amount of tax collected, if the state is not reciprocal then the customer has to pay that state's tax as well. We attempted to assist the customer with this case with the state of Arkansas but were unsuccessful. At this point Findlay Chevrolet does not have the ability to help any further and the customer will have to take up this matter with the state of Nevada Department of Taxation.

07/20/2015Advertising / Sales Issues
02/17/2015Problems with Product / Service
09/16/2014Advertising / Sales Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/17/2007Business started: 08/14/1959Business started locally: 12/15/2006
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Business Management
Principal: Ms. Celeste Berner (Digital Marketing Specialist)
Contact Information
Mr. Clifford J. Findlay (Managing Member)Ms. Missy Lindamood (Business Manager)Ms. Melisa Mills (Manager)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Photos & Videos

Photographs

1 Photo

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Findlay Chevrolet

6800 S Torrey Pines Dr

Las Vegas, NV 89118-3267

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 6800 S Torrey Pines Dr 

    Las Vegas, NV 89118-3267Fax: (702) 982-4410

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Nevada. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Findlay Chevrolet is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.