BBB Business Review

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/10/1989

BBB has determined that Chapman's Las Vegas Dodge Chrysler Jeep Ram meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Chapman's Las Vegas Dodge Chrysler Jeep Ram include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 35 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

35 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 11 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues9
Guarantee / Warranty Issues4
Problems with Product / Service22
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 35

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Chapman's Las Vegas Dodge Chrysler Jeep Ram

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (35)
10/18/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Vehicle taken in for repairs. Initially changed spark plugs, followed by the Manifold intake. CEL still flashing causing Head gaskets to go out
Check engine light started flashing in the vehicle, so I had it towed into the dealership. They advised I needed new spark plugs. I had those repaired, then on the retest, They stated that they found I would need a new manifold intake as well. Getting this repaired would fix the engine completely, and I shouldn't have had anymore issues with the vehicle. I authorized this repair, and paid a total of $946.26. When I picked up the vehicle, I drove approx. 20 miles to my next destination. During this time, The engine light started to flash again, and I proceeded to stop. I called in to the dealership and advised of the situation and let them know to come and pick up the vehicle and take it back in to correct the problem. They then alerted me that there was another issue with the vehicle that they missed. This was the head gaskets on the engine. This is caused from the engine getting too hot, and driving while the CEL is flashing. The shop advisor, **** ******* told me this would cost me approx. $3600. If the repairs had been done correctly the first time, I would not be having this issue, but they were not. It is not something that is simply missed, it is an added problem caused by the technician not doing the work correctly the first time, and trying to get more money from the customer.

Desired Settlement
I would like to get a refund of the $946.26 that was paid for the repairs, have the vehicle fixed at dealers cost due to their negligence, or have the total amount already paid ($946.26) taken and placed towards a new vehicle.

Business Response
Thank you for forwarding Ms. ******* concerns to our attention. Please allow me to clarify what occurred while repairing her vehicle.
The vehicle was towed in to us, presumably because it wouldn't run. It had a check engine light (CEL) on as well. The code in the computer indicated a P0302 misfire @ cylinder 2. When checking the plugs it was discoverd that they were all worn (the vehicle has 119,000 miles & had not been in our shop since 41000 miles in 12/10)& it was recommended to replace them to address the misfire. After the plugs were replaced the car was tested and the CEL light returned a little while later upon testing with a P2017 code for intake manifold valve circuit high. Replacing the manifold was recommended & after that was performed the CEL light did not return upon testing & the vehicle performed properly. Shortly after picking up her vehicle Miss ******* had the light come on again. Please understand that the CEL is a bit of a "catch-all" and can illuminate for various reasons, many of them unrelated to each other. This time the computer indicated a P0301 code with a misfire at the #1 cylinder. We performed a number of diagnostic tests in an attempt to determine the cause of the misfire. Star Network (Chrysler's national hotline for service) recommended a procedure that we followed that cleared the misfire, extinguished the CEL & returned the vehicle to proper operation. This was performed at no charge to Ms. *******. In addition the vehicle was towed in at the dealership's expense & a complimentary rental was provided to her as well. In reviewing the file & considering all of the circumstances it appears to me that the dealership & it's personnel acted admirably in addressing Ms. *******' concerns. There was no negligence or misdiagnosis. There were different causes presenting similar symptons but the dealership addressed the other cause at no expense to our client and even minimized the inconvenience along the way. Nevertheless, Chapman will be happy to apply the cost of the repairs actually paid by Ms. ******* towards the purchase of another vehicle is she so chooses. We would also insure that she recieves the full market value for the '08 Sebring she is currently driving. Please let me know if she would like to take us up on my offer.
Thank You,
*** *******
General Manager
XXX-XXX-XXXX
**********@chapmanchoice.com

06/29/2016Problems with Product / Service
03/15/2016Advertising / Sales Issues
06/03/2015Problems with Product / Service
02/06/2014Problems with Product / Service
11/17/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I bought a brand new 2014 dodge dart and had it for 4 days. Then the transmission went out while I driving. It has been in the shop 1 month.
I bought a 2014 dodge dart on 8/20/2014 I drove it for 4 days then while I was driving the transmission went out 2 cars came about an inch of hitting me. They towed it to Chapman and found out it was a faulty transmission. The mechanic said it was dangerous to drive. I asked them to swith it with the same car but they said the wouldnt I had to wait for lemon law. The whole time nobody called back or would take my calls.
It has been 1 month I just want to trade it for the same car. I do not feel safe in that car after almost getting hit. Plus all the driving to the dealership because nobody answers my calls.

Desired Settlement
I just want a different car then the one that was fixed. I just want to swap it out for the same car but new.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Don *******, GM
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: **********@chapmanchoice.com
Good Morning Ms. *****,
1st, I'm very disappointed that you have even had an issue with your new Dart. We have 100s on the roads now & have experienced very few issues. I'm sorry that this happened to you.
2nd, please understand that as your dealer, Chapman wants to do everything we can to assist you.
We are not permitted to make "exchanges" unless the manufacturer authorizes it & the lemon law is designed to resolve issues where a vehicle has been unable to be repaired after numerous attempts. This issue falls outside of both of those situations.
Anthony ordered the transmission the moment it was diagnosed as being needed. The transmission could have been repaired but Chrysler has had so few "failures" with this transmission & your vehicle was brand new so they authorized a brand new unit be pulled off of the assembly line & shipped to us for installation. They want the unit from your car so that they can inspect it and determine what caused the failure. This process added several days to the time to get a transmission here for you. Anthony could have certainly kept you better apprised of what was happening behind the scenes, so I also apologize that he didn't communicate this to you better.
I'm happy to report that the unit came in on Thursday, 9/18, & is being installed as I type this. I expect that we will road test & insure that everything is perfect then get your Dart back to you later today or tomorrow.
I will also forward your concerns on to our Business Center representative to see if there is any consideration they can offer you for what you've been through.
Please rest assured that you have nothing to fear with the Dart after this new transmission is installed & I am confident that you will have many years of enjoyment driving your Dart once this is completed.
Thank You for notifying us of your concerns & I will keep you posted on what I hear back from our Chrysler representative.
*** *******, GM
************ (Direct)
**********@chapmanchoice.com (email)


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Don ******* will not answer my calls or return my e-mails. I have been trying for a week. He told me he would talk to the Chysler dealer and get back with me when I picked up the car. I sent him the papers he asked for and e-mailed and called he will not respond.

Final Business Response
To my knowledge we've resolved everything with Ms. ***** to her satisfaction. We were able to get Chrysler to pay her 1st payment & pay for her 1st year's registration.
This was an unfortunate situation but I feel that Chapman & Chrysler responded very well in assisting Ms. *****.
Her car is now performing without incident & my last conversation with her was positive.
Thanks!
*** *******, GM

09/12/2016Advertising / Sales Issues
07/28/2016Problems with Product / Service
06/24/2016Advertising / Sales Issues
06/21/2016Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 6

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/10/1989Business started: 01/01/1977
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Don Hamrick (General Manager)Ms. Nicole Alsnauer (Billing Dept. Representative)Mr. Kevin Mackey (Finance Manager)Mr. Chris Strahan (President)Mr. Mike Strahan (Fleet Representative)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Alternate Business Names
Chapman Dodge

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Chapman's Las Vegas Dodge Chrysler Jeep Ram

3470 Boulder Hwy

Las Vegas, NV 89121-1501

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 3175 E Sahara Ave 

    Las Vegas, NV 89104-4302(702) 432-2434
    (888) 207-1749
    (702) 457-3446

  • 3470 Boulder Hwy 

    Las Vegas, NV 89121-1501(702) 432-2450

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Nevada. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Chapman's Las Vegas Dodge Chrysler Jeep Ram is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (702) 432-2450
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.